Folks get their own twisted ideas about innovation based totally ancedotal evidence and declare kenyans are not innovative? Like really?
Talk to your side-kick, Robina. She wrote this:
Kenya has no innovation culture. How many patents are filed every year? Very few going by KIPI records. How much do companies spend on R&D? Very little indeed. Any patent laws?
Maybe you can giver her direct answers to her questions. Tell her about the patents and R & D spending and whatever. (I too would be interested in the number of patents issued by folks in Kenya. Please help with the innovative info.)
How did M-pesa thrive?
One good idea from a mzungu. Can't dine on that alone forever. Any other examples? What exactly are the innovations?
Kenya for it's economy size and stage of development is very innovative. Just look at data out there. Emperical data that compare economies of our scale and size.
If you specify what you mean by "size" and "stage of development", then we can have a fruitful discussion. For example, should we compare with South Korea in 1960 or 1970 or whatever? Or some other countries of your choosing.
For example - World Economic Forum - regularly ranks kenya ahead of South Africa and Nigeria in innovation.
So? Doing well among a questionable lot. Big deal.
Beyond that, I would encourage you to look around a bit more and get what you call "the big picture".
Now, please read this carefully:First, I encourage you to read a bit more widely and to work on a better understanding of whatever is in front of you. Aim for a broader and deeper understanding of what is being discussed; don't immediately start jerking off on the basis of one report.
I thought it would be obvious, especially given my examples, that I was commenting on ... R & D and especially with respect to innovations that lead to the sort of industrialization etc that produces significant improvements in economic and social well-being.
Please read that again and make sure you get it.The report you refer to does not give a great deal of detail on country. For Kenya, I would suggest last year's "shared prosperity" report from the World Bank. (I have the .pdf but will later find and post a link.) Pay careful attention to the points that Robina and hk (?) have also made.
Like most of its reports, this one from the World Bank tries to "focus on the positive", but pay careful attention to the rest. It says that Kenya is innovative. But in what exactly?
The results from a 2014 innovation survey (World Bank Enterprise Survey 2014) suggest that the likelihood of Kenyan firms to innovate is high compared with firms in several other countries (Figure ES.11), although the subjective nature of the results makes cross-country comparisons challenging (Spotlight 4 at the end of chapter 4).
Nevertheless, although most firms say they have introduced some type of product or process innovation, only a few have actually come up with things that are new to the domestic market. The fact that these innovations have not been accompanied by productivity gains in most cases confirms the point that Kenya still has a long way to go. And when actual investment in innovation is compared across countries, the magnitude of innovation of Kenyan firms becomes less impressive. The share of firms spending on research and development (R&D) in Kenya is 40 percent lower than in Ghana or the Arab Republic of Egypt, and less than 50 percent that in South Africa. And a relatively lower share of Kenyan firms acquire machinery, equipment, and software, and the same argument holds for spending on training.
That's the sort of stuff on which we can have a reasonable discussion beyond basic rankings. I also do a lot of work that is related to IP, especially in Asia, so I'm doubly keen to hear more of these great Kenyan innovations you have in mind.
So, if you wish to proceed, a starting point would be to contradict the report by stating and giving examples of how:
(a) Kenyan innovation has actually produced "
actually come up with things that are new to the domestic market".(b) how whatever innovations there are contradict the claim that "
these innovations have not been accompanied by productivity gains".With respect to the type of innovation I was discussing, Korea has grown rich from IP, all sorts of new stuff that the rest of the world is willing to pay big bucks for, etc.
What are Kenya's innovations that anyone outside Kenya (or within Kenya but with a choice) is willing to pay real money for? No need for a lengthy back-and-forth. And, please, not M-Pesa again!
Innovation is not an end to itself. That's a long discussion, but I will first wait for your responses to (a) and (b). We'll then move to, say, comparing Kenya and Korea---on both the type of innovation I was focusing on and whatever type of innovation you have in mind. But let's keep it small to start with and work on (a) and (b).
OK, let's go.