Author Topic: Laptops-for-toddlers, Ajira Digital, Konza City, Silicon Savanah ...  (Read 6720 times)

Re: Laptops-for-toddlers, Ajira Digital, Konza City, Silicon Savanah ...
« Reply #20 on: August 30, 2017, 04:59:43 PM »
Not any different from say Albania kids.

That does not answer the question that I asked.

MPESA is not invention. It very simple App. Many had invented it, tried it and failed at it. In kenya it worked because kenyan (people, gok, safaricom) were visionary enough to experiment on it.

It is not an invention, but many had invented it.   Pure Punditism!   :D

Many countries have tried to copy it - but they are still far from kenya.

Name for us, say, five of the "many".   Then we can take a look.

Offline bryan275

« Reply #21 on: August 30, 2017, 05:05:00 PM »

MPESA is not invention. It very simple App. Many had invented it, tried it and failed at it. In kenya it worked because kenyan (people, gok, safaricom) were visionary enough to experiment on it.

MPESA worked more due to the environment (lack of adequate banking and by extension absence of electronic/card based transactions), and our kadogo culture ya kuomba omba.  In the UK, the best way they have managed to sell it is by making it convenient to share a restaurant bill..proper first world problem.  Even then it hasn't worked as the Brit is too polite to be honest.

« Reply #22 on: August 30, 2017, 05:05:41 PM »
We are in the usual hair-splitting territory. You need to learn that I don't do that kind of splitting of a thread. You get the gist of argument. You are just another Omollo. Learn from Kichwa here how to make arguments.

Many countries have tried to copy it - but they are still far from kenya.

Name for us, say, five of the "many".   Then we can take a look.

« Reply #23 on: August 30, 2017, 05:07:28 PM »
 It worked because we were brave enough to experiment it. For a micro-dude - to trust it and send money. For Safaricom to try it. For GOK to allow it.  And we had MJ - possibly one of the greatest technology marketer. If it wasn't for MJ leadership - GoK would long have pulled the plug on it.
MPESA worked more due to the environment (lack of adequate banking and by extension absence of electronic/card based transactions), and our kadogo culture ya kuomba omba.  In the UK, the best way they have managed to sell it is by making it convenient to share a restaurant bill..proper first world problem.

« Reply #24 on: August 30, 2017, 05:09:59 PM »
I think Mpesa is not a measure of technological advancement. Mpesa is a technology that works for the Kenyan market because of all reasons that sociologists and economists can indulge in.  I know Mpesa works for me in Kenya but I do not think I really need it in the USA. In the USA there is very little exchange of money between individuals. Most of the transactions in the USA is between individuals and businesses/businesses and business and there are all kinds of ways to do that easily without a system such as Mpesa.

MPESA is not invention. It very simple App. Many had invented it, tried it and failed at it. In kenya it worked because kenyan (people, gok, safaricom) were visionary enough to experiment on it. Many countries have tried to copy it - but they are still far from kenya. That is the advantage that come with being visionary. Many tried to copy spain and made expedition to South America - but they found all the gold mines gone. They had to become poor farmers :). The same with those trying to compete with US in tech - it always a catch up.

Kenya has a chance here. These kids in 20yrs will be amongst the most sought after workers of 21st century.

At the time, how were Estonian kids doing in terms of food, health, clothing, shelter, etc.?

And if you're not convinced - look at M-pesa.

A neat invention by the British.

« Reply #25 on: August 30, 2017, 05:15:03 PM »
The point is Kenya is a leader of something - aside from althetics - it leader of mobile money - which basically does what your fancy systems in US of A does - it allows for p2p (person to person), c2b (customer to business), b2b(business to business) transactions for everyone - and it now undoubtedly one of world most busiest payment systems - processing tones of payment every second - and soon nearly the equivalent whole of Kenya GDP (70B dollars) is wired through it.

Laptop for kids - 1m laptops - is another bold move - that could potentially pay-off.

Otherwise booring ideas like school feeding - we have tried those - and it takes us to step 1 or 2 step ahead. We need something that like MPESA takes us from A straight to Z. From having really crapy financial systems to having one of world acknowledged most advanced payment system.

That is whole point - leapfrogging - through experimentation/R&D/Innovation/bold ideas.

I think Mpesa is not a measure of technological advancement. Mpesa is a technology that works for the Kenyan market because of all reasons that sociologists and economists can indulge in.  I know Mpesa works for me in Kenya but I do not think I really need it in the USA. In the USA there is very little exchange of money between individuals. Most of the transactions in the USA is between individuals and businesses/businesses and business and there are all kinds of ways to do that easily without a system such as Mpesa.

« Reply #26 on: August 30, 2017, 05:33:38 PM »

I would see that---external hacking---as a very different type of issue from the type that is being discussed in Kenya.   

The global superpower had its democracy literally sabotaged by an opponent. Still you're not calling for the disbandment of her cybersecurity. Why? - cause you must spare that venom for Kenya.

« Reply #27 on: August 30, 2017, 05:48:19 PM »
The global superpower had its democracy literally sabotaged by an opponent. Still you're not calling for the disbandment of her cybersecurity. Why? - cause you must spare that venom for Kenya.

As I indicated, external hacking is very different from the type of issues that are being discussed in Kenya.   

Second, I don't know about "democracy literally sabotaged";  I don't even know how you came to that conclusion, given that, as  I understand it, a great deal is still under investigation.   Regardless,  I could be wrong, but I don't think that there are many Americans who take the view that Russian hacking really had much of an impact on the outcome of the elections.

Third, I have not called for Kenyans to disband their technological systems, not even for elections.  I have merely suggested that they could, for example, make first sure that kids are fed and healthy, instead of buying them gadgets and then begging the rest of the world to feed them.   

« Reply #28 on: August 30, 2017, 05:50:04 PM »
Development is a very complex concept - that can be simplified as chicken & egg. Which came first? Noone is suggesting stop feeding kids - Mwangi wa Iria is doing that for schools in Murang'a - but simultaneously invest in big things with huge potential. GoK has cash to spare and can afford 17B for that. Safaricom has started Innovation Lab at Karen headed by MIT/IBM alumnus - I forget his name - and is a shareholder in iHub. Equity had the equivalent of R&D to upstage M-pesa with Equitel. Dying cows like KQ probably have nothing like research team o board and rely on the "sensible" and "normal". Even at individuals level - with disposable income - you should throw some $$ into Bitcoin and such unicorns - and forget about it - it could just explode.

« Reply #29 on: August 30, 2017, 05:59:26 PM »
Development is a very complex concept - that can be simplified as chicken & egg. Which came first?

If you care to give us examples of countries  that have managed to really develop without first being able to feed themselves, then we could perhaps discuss successful examples of the "Kenyan model".

GoK has cash to spare and can afford 17B for that.

Cash to spare? The idea of a country like Kenya having cash to spare is quite amusing.  And if it does indeed have cash to spare, why is it not going to ensuring food security, health, etc?

Safaricom has started Innovation Lab at Karen headed by MIT/IBM alumnus - I forget his name - and is a shareholder in iHub. Equity had the equivalent of R&D to upstage M-pesa with Equitel.

Sounds great, and I'm all for such things.   

« Reply #30 on: August 30, 2017, 06:29:54 PM »
Development is a very complex concept - that can be simplified as chicken & egg. Which came first?

If you care to give us examples of countries  that have managed to really develop without first being able to feed themselves, then we could perhaps discuss successful examples of the "Kenyan model".

China & Estonia. Chicken and egg - nutrition and leapfrogging programs are not mutually exclusive and are in fact complimentary.

GoK has cash to spare and can afford 17B for that.

Cash to spare? The idea of a country like Kenya having cash to spare is quite amusing.  And if it does indeed have cash to spare, why is it not going to ensuring food security, health, etc?

With 2.2T budget GoK can spare 17B - about 1% - for digital R&D... can you spot the point somewhere?

Online Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants

« Reply #31 on: August 30, 2017, 06:56:12 PM »
I am opposed to lap tops for government primary schools simply because we cannot afford it and it is really not that necessary for a good education. I'd rather the government introduce a lunch program for children so that they do not have to run home and back to eat during lunch time and come back hungry for the afternoon classes.  I believe that from std. one to around std. 8, the government should concentrate its resources on basic fundamental education for all.  I believe all children in Kenya are entitled to an education until at least 12 years of education. However in secondary education, the government can include laptops if they can afford it. Some of our most brilliant minds in computer today probably never interacted with computers until they reached university.  Kenyan kids are already interacting with all kinds of computer based gadgets at a very early age privately and we do not need to take away monies that could be used to educate all children and to feed the children to introduce them to technology.

There are indicators that we use to measure progress - of malnutrition, food insecurity, name it. You quote the figures or graph showing we are doing badly and we can discuss. But to suggest that we should stop everything else and focus on 1 or 2 problems is to take a country for singleton simpleton. A Gov is a gov with varied and complicated needs. Of course we have priorities - maybe 1,000 priorities in each sector - but we must invest in Nuclear Technology (even if training 5 nuclear scientist) as much as we invest in Galana.

It also help to devolve GOK - because if you look at this country - there are many counties (majority) who've never had serious problem with food insecurity ( I am yet to see my eyes on yellow maize!!) - those have advanced and need laptops and such kind of stuff - then you have the turkanas or manderas - who need nutritional intervention.

Do what exactly?   Galana?   

If you have good basic education, you will not have problems if you want to delve into computers/technology what have you.  If I see a good argument that laptops will improve basic education, and are the best options available, I have no problem with it.  I am still waiting for that argument.

« Reply #32 on: August 30, 2017, 07:14:39 PM »
China & Estonia. Chicken and egg - nutrition and leapfrogging programs are not mutually exclusive and are in fact complimentary.

I did not say they were mutually exclusive.      As to what might go before what, one has to look at the dates.  Taking just China. Its modern development is largely in the last 20 years.   Now, take a look at the periods during which it underwent major agricultural reforms: the years fall in 1978-1997.    And simply looking at "food aid" doesn't help without also looking at exactly where the food was going, why, and in what quantities.   Officially, China was receiving food aid from the WFP until around 2004-2005.    How much food aid and to what end?   More importantly, take a look at where in 2005 China ranked in the world as a donor of food.  (If you look at USAID's budget, you will notice that even in 2017 China still receives "aid" from the USA, but I wouldn't really get excited over such facts without taking a closer look.)

We could also look into Estonia, and especially where it was with respect to things like food in the mid-late 90s, but I'll skip that for now.     That's a country with a population of around 1.3 million.  One-point-three million.   A part of Nairobi.   Why anyone would think that a European country with a population of 1.3 million might provide a good model of development for an African country with a population of 48 million is beyond me.   

With 2.2T budget GoK can spare 17B - about 1% - for digital R&D... can you spot the point somewhere?

It's not just the percentages; the raw numbers also matter.    One person is struggling to feed himself and has only 100 shillings.  Another person is living it up and has 1 billion shillings.   The significance of 1%, in terms of basic welfare,  will be very different for the two.   

In any case, my question has not been answered: why is a country with "cash to spare", as you put it, going around always begging for food.   

« Reply #33 on: August 30, 2017, 07:39:13 PM »
Hair splitting.Ohoo this is small country.Like Burundi is any better.

« Reply #34 on: August 30, 2017, 08:13:03 PM »

Yes, indeedy!  But it's one heck of a thick hair, I think.  Needs a proper axe.   :D

And Burundi is relevant how?  Because it is small?   Two quick ones: (1) models that can be scaled; (2) the advantages of being in the middle of Europe vs. some place in Africa. 

Still, I'll humour you and give you one on Estonia: You wrote that

country like Estonia that in 1990s -as early as 1995 - made a bold bet and gave every kid a computer.

1995.   Some date.   

Up there, I asked:

At the time, how were Estonian kids doing in terms of food, health, clothing, shelter, etc.?

And you also wrote that

MOi fed us with milk and we didn't go far ... Otherwise booring ideas like school feeding - we have tried those

The Estonians did get to the milk, with the establishment of a "School Milk Project" ... around 2001.   Before that, in 1995!, the government had issued a "Public Health Recommendations for Dietary Services", with a part that primary and nursery schools had to follow in regard to the nutritional needs of their wards. ("Regulation on health protection requirements and nutrition in catering facilities in pre-school institutions and schools. Ministry of Social Affairs, Estonia".)   

So, even if one accepts the strange notion of Estonia as a model for a highly-populated, hungry African country, there is little there to suggest that starving, unhealthy kids will do the nation much good just because they can wield a laptop.

Offline bryan275

« Reply #35 on: August 31, 2017, 05:50:30 AM »

Yes, indeedy!  But it's one heck of a thick hair, I think.  Needs a proper axe.   :D

And Burundi is relevant how?  Because it is small?   Two quick ones: (1) models that can be scaled; (2) the advantages of being in the middle of Europe vs. some place in Africa. 

country like Estonia that in 1990s -as early as 1995 - made a bold bet and gave every kid a computer.

1995.   Some date.   

Up there, I asked:

And you also wrote that

MOi fed us with milk and we didn't go far ... Otherwise booring ideas like school feeding - we have tried those

The Estonians did get to the milk, with the establishment of a "School Milk Project" ... around 2001.   Before that, in 1995!, the government had issued a "Public Health Recommendations for Dietary Services", with a part that primary and nursery schools had to follow in regard to the nutritional needs of their wards. ("Regulation on health protection requirements and nutrition in catering facilities in pre-school institutions and schools. Ministry of Social Affairs, Estonia".)   

So, even if one accepts the strange notion of Estonia as a model for a highly-populated, hungry African country, there is little there to suggest that starving, unhealthy kids will do the nation much good just because they can wield a laptop.

Not only are these kids hungry, but often times they're are studying al fresco.  Those laptops better be weatherproof and hard wearing.

« Reply #36 on: August 31, 2017, 07:32:05 AM »
These are the same looping arguments that you come here to express. Kenya education systems is already not bad - quality wise (you can check ranking by wakina World Economic Forum)- it's competing with middle-income countries - In Africa - when PISA test have been attempted - it came either no 1 or 2 to Mauritius - beating even South Africa.

And Kenya GoK already do most of what you're talking about - there is long running school feeding programme now ran exclusively by ministry of education for kids in arid and semi-arid places- there is de-worming for kids nationally - there is some work being done on infrastructure through CDF and model schools - etc.

And then there is laptop project which is the most exciting.  Estonia started it and proved it works. Kenya is doing it and we shall see if it works.

While you're splitting hairs - Estonia has moved to next stage - teaching class 1 kids programming :) and here you're arguing about us teaching them basic computing.

1995.   Some date.   

Up there, I asked:

And you also wrote that

« Reply #37 on: August 31, 2017, 11:12:02 AM »
I've heard the same arguments against Thika Road. I think it was Ndii who argued that the 40B (38B to be precise) for 40KM could have been better used to dual Mombasa-Nairobi highway.

There will all ways be opportunity cost for everything,and I think that's where Ndii thrives; painting the alternative as more novel and better. The alternatives of course will never be experimented so nobody ever gets to know whether they would work.

« Reply #38 on: August 31, 2017, 11:23:23 AM »
Precisely nailed.
I've heard the same arguments against Thika Road. I think it was Ndii who argued that the 40B (38B to be precise) for 40KM could have been better used to dual Mombasa-Nairobi highway.

There will all ways be opportunity cost for everything,and I think that's where Ndii thrives; painting the alternative as more novel and better. The alternatives of course will never be experimented so nobody ever gets to know whether they would work.

« Reply #39 on: August 31, 2017, 11:41:43 AM »
MOON Ki is a funny dude. He believes we must be analog - 1.Reform agriculture & achieve food security 2.Feed kids  3.Fix public health... 300.xyz...  1000.Go digital

He says we cannot follow Estonian example because it is tiny and in Europe... he however wants us to start with food security like the same Estonia  :D

Right now Estonia has one of the best per capita income in Eastern Europe, highest productivity (higher despite Russia's more grads per capita). Biggest ICT-dominated services sector in EE. All these are significantly attributed to the laptop-for-toddlers pogramme.

These are the same looping arguments that you come here to express. Kenya education systems is already not bad - quality wise (you can check ranking by wakina World Economic Forum)- it's competing with middle-income countries - In Africa - when PISA test have been attempted - it came either no 1 or 2 to Mauritius - beating even South Africa.

And Kenya GoK already do most of what you're talking about - there is long running school feeding programme now ran exclusively by ministry of education for kids in arid and semi-arid places- there is de-worming for kids nationally - there is some work being done on infrastructure through CDF and model schools - etc.

And then there is laptop project which is the most exciting.  Estonia started it and proved it works. Kenya is doing it and we shall see if it works.

While you're splitting hairs - Estonia has moved to next stage - teaching class 1 kids programming :) and here you're arguing about us teaching them basic computing.

1995.   Some date.   

Up there, I asked:

And you also wrote that