Author Topic: Laptops-for-toddlers, Ajira Digital, Konza City, Silicon Savanah ...  (Read 6739 times)

Going by this all elections stuff, Kenyans might have been better off with old-fashioned photocopying (or manual replication of figures), faxing (or even hand delivery), and the use of calculators (or even abaci).    And there would be plenty of money left over to buy food for all those starving Kenyans ... "international community, saidia please".

Still, as someone already observed, there have been elections, and Africans are not finishing themselves in orgies of looting, raping, killing, etc.    Surely, that has to count for something.   And it does, to the saidia-please/international-community. Once again, Kenya has shown that it is an exception on the Dark Continent .... of course, if those people mess with our people who are farming there and helping the natives, well then!

Online Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants

Re: Laptops-for-toddlers, Ajira Digital, Konza City, Silicon Savanah ...
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2017, 02:28:50 AM »
I tell ya.  At the end of the day, technology is only as good as who uses it.  I think the latest is now Silicon Savanah would rather have its basic stuff nicely tucked away in France...oh wait...maybe America, AT&T...

The proceedings were worth it if only for the entertainment value of an old school wakili who cut his teeth before digital watches were all the rage trying to explain security features and why it takes days to get access because somehow Europe and America.

Online Nefertiti

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2017, 03:00:02 AM »
Dear MOON Ki,

Please note RV Pundit will respond for the digital & economic leapfrog team.

On a separate point, why do you so despise ICT CS Joe Mucheru? He's an excellent chap outside of the political shenanigans... quite enterprising too. Unlike most Zamundans who are contented net consumers. Founding Zuku, Google, Bitpesa, afb (microlender)... now shepherding national tech. Few merit these heights.

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2017, 03:16:55 AM »
Dear MOON Ki,

Please note RV Pundit will respond for the digital & economic leapfrog team.

On a separate point, why do you so despise ICT CS Joe Mucheru? He's an excellent chap outside of the political shenanigans... quite enterprising too. Unlike most Zamundans who are contented net consumers. Founding Zuku, Google, Bitpesa, afb (microlender)... now shepherding national tech. Few merit these heights.

Dear Robina:

MOON Ki does not despise anyone.  Never, ever.  Not even ... oh, can't recall his "name" right now.   But never mind.  I'm sure CS Mucheru is an excellent chap. Top-notch, enterprising-founder type. Best of the Best.   In Kenya.  Now shepherding national tech to .... where exactly was that again?       

« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2017, 03:30:41 AM »
I tell ya.  At the end of the day, technology is only as good as who uses it. 

Some thoughts from when back  Sema-Doc or whatever was going to solve all health problems in Kenya:

I don't know what to make of the big words, like "social empowerment".   My view is this: technology can never be better than the people who use it, in the sense that it cannot fundamentally change who they are.   The failure or refusal to understand this produces the Kenyas of the world.   

Consider, for example, the notion that the moral deficit in Kenyans (w.r.t corruption) can be fixed with technology [IFMIS].  And then you have a whole cabinet secretary say that close to Sh. 1 billion is getting stolen because someone got her password ...

On health: What are the real serious problems with the healthcare system in Kenya?    Is it merely a matter of having the "right" technology?   Not really.

For Kenya to really move forward, Kenyans will have to give up on ideas such as "our people above all", "eat before the other person eats it", etc.   At the root of such attitudes are "problems" that cannot be solved with the mere application of technology; there is certainly little evidence to suggest that the most "technologically advanced" Kenyans are any more advanced on those issues than the manamba villagers.   
http://www.nipate.org/index.php?board=1;action=post2

« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2017, 03:36:58 AM »
Absolutely embarrassing state of affairs. We have definitely made major strides in the digital space, but certainly we overspell our achievements. Quite rightly we should be spending money on the right things (e.g. Food security) rather than throwing money at this wasted investment. You can imagine ~Shs.40b was put into the elections out of which about half ~Shs.20b was said to be in technology and then we are being told that it was just for statistics or a display board at Bomas!!! Why are we so wasteful....??

That said some of the stuff pichted by the so called lead counsel at the petition were toddler stuff which you don't need much IT exposure to realise a failed/cheap attempt at spin! Of course most of it was just a ruse, those servers are seated right here in .ke and in any case it takes milliseconds to connect/access a server in the real Silicon Valley, leave alone France. We keep touting and breast thumping about our Mpesa "innovation" and success and that on it runs almost 70% of our GDP then we embarrass ourselves with tales of Servers in France and America and people being woken up to fire them up

« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2017, 12:33:23 PM »
Heck! We need the toddlers to get all sort of gadgets. For people who got to see a computer when all grown up and being able to make a livelihood using the gadgets not wanting the kids to be introduced to these gadgets is unfathomable. 

Politics being a winner take it all in Africa poisons everything - church, families, businesses, academia, NGOs, you name it! I also think there is need to have some sort of 'term limits' for practicing lawyers. These fossils should mentor or let young guys do some lifting. We may need to do a golden handshake to the over 50s deadwood public service in areas like teaching and most public sector jobs. Most of the experience they have is bad experience.

Away from politics technologies work well for everybody. Sometimes, when clients don't have money or don't want to pay, they tell me that M-Pesa is 'down'.

« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2017, 01:13:05 PM »
I am struggling to understand this thread?
2013 - systems failed.
2017 - Systems worked.

Again unless you've tried to roll out tech stuff in an entire country as backward as kenya like IEBC or MPES and succeeded like they've done - you need a lot of KUDOS.

Small hitches here and there..are expected.

US of A under Obama rolled out 5B website  for  ObamaCare that failed :) on day one. That is damn website that cost 2 SGRS from Nairobi to MOmbasa and back - and it failed.

« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2017, 03:56:26 PM »
Heck! We need the toddlers to get all sort of gadgets. For people who got to see a computer when all grown up and being able to make a livelihood using the gadgets not wanting the kids to be introduced to these gadgets is unfathomable. 

Unfathomable, eh?   You've missed it again.  By a couple of light years.   Where did you get the idea that nobody wants kids to have the gadgets?  I want all kids, everywhere, to have all things.  But, first, I want to see them fed, healthy, clothed, sheltered, etc. 

Let me try, again, and point out a few things.

Not too long ago, none other than His Excellency President U. Kenyatta sent an "urgent plea" to the "international community" for food for Kenyans.    That---Kenyans begging for food---was "routine".  Supposedly it was because rains had failed, as if it was  the first time that had happened.    Yet the annual spending on the laptops for toddlers far exceeds what goes in for all of irrigation and water for the entire country.

Something like 20-25% of Kenyan kids under five will suffer permanent damage (stunting) to their bodies and brains because of poor nutrition.   Many more will not survive because of small, easily preventable diseases.  Yet instead of focusing on feeding them and ensuring that they are healthy, it is gadgets that are considered a big deal.  What kind of idiot buys his kids fancy gadgets and then goes off to beg to get them food? 

Kenya talks about industrialization, but apparently that is to be done by people who have B.A.s in humanities from "universities" atop shopping malls.   How do I know that?    From noting that, for example, the spending on laptops for toddlers is three times what is being spent on TVET.

Are you starting to get the idea? 

« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2017, 04:07:12 PM »
You still persist with shockingly ignorant arguments. US of A has malnutrition problem. It also has obesity problem. Are you suggesting we stop everything and focus on that. What about the 75% of the kids who are okay? They wait until the poor families in this world are able to provide balance diet to their kids?

It doesn't work like that. GoK job is to juggle as many things as possible affecting 45M people. If in a year we reduce malnutrition by 1-2%; we have done great; We do the same for food insecurity; we done great (of course it would be long time before we stop begging); we do the same for all the other problems; child mortality; illeteracy; etc.

Look at China - as late as 2005 - China was begging for food - and that time it was developing rabidly, building cities and mega trains - but If I recall the UN was still financing school feeding there. In fact China around 2005 turned around from being beneficiary to donor.

And I know this first-hand - coz I saw China turn from UN beneficiary to UN donor.

http://www.wfp.org/node/534

In short you can sacrifice or short-change 40M people to feed poor 5M people. Those people facing disaster like drought - deserve every help - just like victims of tsunami or katrina. It nothing to be ashamed of. Calling for international appeal when a country that depend on rain is hit by drought is NOT SHAMEFUL.

Unfathomable, eh?   You've missed it again.  By a couple of light years.   First, where did you get the idea that nobody wants kids to have the gadgets?   Let me try, again, and point out a few things.

Not too long ago, none other than His Excellency President U. Kenyatta sent an "urgent plea" to the "international community" for food for Kenyans.    That---Kenyans begging for food---was "routine".  Supposedly it was because rains had failed, as if it was  the first time that had happened.    Yet the annual spending on the laptops for toddlers far exceeds what goes in for all of irrigation and water for the entire country.

Something like 20-25% of Kenyan kids under five will suffer permanent damage (stunting) to their bodies and brains because of poor nutrition.   Many more will not survive because of small, easily preventable diseases.  Yet instead of focusing on feeding them and ensuring that they are healthy, it is gadgets that are considered a big deal.  What kind of idiot buys his kids fancy gadgets and then goes off to beg to get them food?

Kenya talks about industrialization, but apparently that is to be done by people who have B.A.s in humanities from "universities" atop shopping malls.   How do I know that?    From noting that, for example, the spending on laptops for toddlers is three times what is being spent on TVET.

Are you starting to get the idea? 

« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2017, 04:14:20 PM »
You still persist with shockingly ignorant argument. US of A has malnutrition problem. It also has obesity problem.

Is the USA begging for something as basic as food from anyone?   

It doesn't work like that. GoK job is to juggle as many things as possible affecting 45M people. If in a year we reduce malnutrition by 1-2%; we have done great; We do the same for food insecurity; we done great (of course it would be long time before we stop begging); we do the same for all the other problems; child mortality; illeteracy; etc.

Do what exactly?   Galana?    :D

Calling for international appeal when a country that depend on rain is hit by drought is NOT SHAMEFUL.

On the face of it, no.   But not when it happens again and again and again, with warnings given again and again and again ... without any lessons apparently being learned.  Taxpayers in the countries that are always called upon to feed Kenya are getting tired of it .... asking, for example, why a country that cannot feed itself is still blowing money on laptops for toddlers, etc.   

« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2017, 04:17:08 PM »
There are indicators that we use to measure progress - of malnutrition, food insecurity, name it. You quote the figures or graph showing we are doing badly and we can discuss. But to suggest that we should stop everything else and focus on 1 or 2 problems is to take a country for singleton simpleton. A Gov is a gov with varied and complicated needs. Of course we have priorities - maybe 1,000 priorities in each sector - but we must invest in Nuclear Technology (even if training 5 nuclear scientist) as much as we invest in Galana.

It also help to devolve GOK - because if you look at this country - there are many counties (majority) who've never had serious problem with food insecurity ( I am yet to see my eyes on yellow maize!!) - those have advanced and need laptops and such kind of stuff - then you have the turkanas or manderas - who need nutritional intervention.

Online Nefertiti

« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2017, 04:32:05 PM »
I am struggling to understand this thread?
2013 - systems failed.
2017 - Systems worked.

Again unless you've tried to roll out tech stuff in an entire country as backward as kenya like IEBC or MPES and succeeded like they've done - you need a lot of KUDOS.

Small hitches here and there..are expected.

US of A under Obama rolled out 5B website  for  ObamaCare that failed :) on day one. That is damn website that cost 2 SGRS from Nairobi to MOmbasa and back - and it failed.

« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2017, 04:34:02 PM »
I am opposed to lap tops for government primary schools simply because we cannot afford it and it is really not that necessary for a good education. I'd rather the government introduce a lunch program for children so that they do not have to run home and back to eat during lunch time and come back hungry for the afternoon classes.  I believe that from std. one to around std. 8, the government should concentrate its resources on basic fundamental education for all.  I believe all children in Kenya are entitled to an education until at least 12 years of education. However in secondary education, the government can include laptops if they can afford it. Some of our most brilliant minds in computer today probably never interacted with computers until they reached university.  Kenyan kids are already interacting with all kinds of computer based gadgets at a very early age privately and we do not need to take away monies that could be used to educate all children and to feed the children to introduce them to technology.

There are indicators that we use to measure progress - of malnutrition, food insecurity, name it. You quote the figures or graph showing we are doing badly and we can discuss. But to suggest that we should stop everything else and focus on 1 or 2 problems is to take a country for singleton simpleton. A Gov is a gov with varied and complicated needs. Of course we have priorities - maybe 1,000 priorities in each sector - but we must invest in Nuclear Technology (even if training 5 nuclear scientist) as much as we invest in Galana.

It also help to devolve GOK - because if you look at this country - there are many counties (majority) who've never had serious problem with food insecurity ( I am yet to see my eyes on yellow maize!!) - those have advanced and need laptops and such kind of stuff - then you have the turkanas or manderas - who need nutritional intervention.

« Reply #14 on: August 30, 2017, 04:36:31 PM »

I would see that---external hacking---as a very different type of issue from the type that is being discussed in Kenya.   

« Reply #15 on: August 30, 2017, 04:40:29 PM »
The only way to leapfrog in this world is to do the unthinkable. It to do visionary kind of stuff. Not the usual boring stuff. We all know the future world is TECHNOLOGY. Technology ran by Computer Chips. We have evidence from country like Estonia that in 1990s -as early as 1995 - made a bold bet and gave every kid a computer. Estonia then was just poor ex-colony of Russia. But look at Estonia now? And compare it to other Russian ex-colonies that followed the conventional way.

And if you're not convinced - look at M-pesa.

I am excited about this laptop problem - because it's visionary - it's bold. GoK should do "normal stuff" yes but should spare some money+time for experimental stuff. That is what companies do - they have small budget for R&D - to make bets on the future - and those bets when they pay off - really do pay OFF.

That is why we need to get visionary people like DR Bitange Ndemo in GOK policy circles - and have less and less of Dr Ndoom Ndii & Moonki here - tunnel vision folks who just see doom!. The guys 10 yrs ago were saying why do africans need a phone? why do poor starving turkana person need a smart phone for or a computer - give them food!

Most of countries in the world that suceeded - begin from Egypt ancient empire, spain, britain, US, china and name them - did the unthinkable - they dared to dream - they dared to have vision - and it paid off. Spain dared to dream about new world they had no idea. They had this crazy idea - and they found a whole continent America - and for 500 yrs Spain just sat back and brought all the GOLD in  South America - and made merry. 500 yrs of merry - thanks to Colombus and Crazy Spain Kings who financed crazy expedition.

Out of nearly 200B plus education budget - we are taking a bet with 17B for kids to do the unthinkable in Africa or third world - getting each one of them a computer - what is 17B in kenya - that is little money that we can throw as R&D/Experimental policy.

MOi fed us with milk and we didn't go far. :D

I am opposed to lap tops for government primary schools simply because we cannot afford it and it is really not that necessary for a good education. I'd rather the government introduce a lunch program for children so that they do not have to run home and back to eat during lunch time and come back hungry for the afternoon classes.  I believe that from std. one to around std. 8, the government should concentrate its resources on basic fundamental education for all.  I believe all children in Kenya are entitled to an education until at least 12 years of education. However in secondary education, the government can include laptops if they can afford it. Some of our most brilliant minds in computer today probably never interacted with computers until they reached university.  Kenyan kids are already interacting with all kinds of computer based gadgets at a very early age privately and we do not need to take away monies that could be used to educate all children and to feed the children to introduce them to technology.

« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2017, 04:46:42 PM »
 I believe the unthinkable here is mass education for all Kenyan children for primary and secondary education. No child in Kenya should be out of school for any reason other than health until they are 18 years of age. My next emphasis on investment would be on vocational schools.  We need plumbers, electricians, carpenters, farmers, nurses, masons, etc.

The only way to leapfrog in this world is to do the unthinkable. It to do visionary kind of stuff. Not the usual boring stuff. We all know the future world is TECHNOLOGY. Technology ran by Computer Chips. We have evidence from country like Estonia that in 1990s -as early as 1995 - made a bold bet and gave every kid a computer. Estonia then was just poor ex-colony of Russia. But look at Estonia now? And compare it to other Russian ex-colonies that followed the conventional way.

I am excited about this laptop problem - because it's visionary - it's bold. GoK should do "normal stuff" yes but should spare some money+time for experimental stuff. That is what companies do - they have small budget for R&D - to make bets on the future - and those bets when they pay off - really do pay OFF.

« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2017, 04:48:04 PM »
Countless countries including kenya have done that - nothing doing. The unthinkable thing is to give every kid laptops, lay fiber to every school and watch those kids in 18yrs.
I believe the unthinkable here is mass education for all Kenyan children for primary and secondary education. No child in Kenya should be out of school for any reason other than health until they are 18 years of age. My next emphasis on investment would be on vocational schools.  We need plumbers, electricians, carpenters, farmers, nurses, masons, etc.

« Reply #18 on: August 30, 2017, 04:53:56 PM »
The only way to leapfrog in this world is to do the unthinkable. It to do visionary kind of stuff. Not the usual boring stuff. We all know the future world is TECHNOLOGY. Technology ran by Computer Chips. We have evidence from country like Estonia that in 1990s -as early as 1995 - made a bold bet and gave every kid a computer. Estonia then was just poor ex-colony of Russia. But look at Estonia now?

At the time, how were Estonian kids doing in terms of food, health, clothing, shelter, etc.?

A neat invention by the British.

« Reply #19 on: August 30, 2017, 04:57:10 PM »
Not any different from say Albania kids.
MPESA is not invention. It very simple App. Many had invented it, tried it and failed at it. In kenya it worked because kenyan (people, gok, safaricom) were visionary enough to experiment on it. Many countries have tried to copy it - but they are still far from kenya. That is the advantage that come with being visionary. Many tried to copy spain and made expedition to South America - but they found all the gold mines gone. They had to become poor farmers :). The same with those trying to compete with US in tech - it always a catch up.

Kenya has a chance here. These kids in 20yrs will be amongst the most sought after workers of 21st century.

At the time, how were Estonian kids doing in terms of food, health, clothing, shelter, etc.?

A neat invention by the British.