Author Topic: Kenya is a disappointing place  (Read 4026 times)

Re: Kenya is a disappointing place
« Reply #20 on: August 30, 2021, 07:59:36 PM »
I will deal with the bugger. Kenya media is compromised

« Reply #21 on: August 30, 2021, 08:03:15 PM »
I tell you that place is a heartache. Every week like clockwise I get real sad news about death and misery. How can a country be this miserable for her citizens. Yaani you remember I told you I am helping women set up micro businesses. The one that i started helping is doing very well  then all at sudden her daughter gets ill. A 4 year old baby and like that she dies within 4 days. Cause of death, head injury. She fell at the daycare while out playing it was a small fall but she must hit her head and started bleeding internally. She is taken to KU and the fucking doctors just treated it just as nose bleeding and by the time she is taken there 3 days later it is too late. Fuck poverty. I am heart broken. I am so sad I can't stop being sad.

Poverty makes doctor not care enough to do a through checkup. Yaani how you get presented with headache and nosebleeding and bloodshot eyes and you do not investigate for possible head trauma or internal bleeding. How how? Such it is that a poor mother can not win in the fucking hell hole of a country

Poverty is not the problem, rather lack of govt policies to ensure that even the poorest have something to show for in a land of billionaires. How come no politician has complained that health care has become too expensive??? Inflation has deflated incomes of the middle class who are the bread basket of many. They can no longer afford to be alive. Any little illness costs 20k. that is the average income of Kenyans, so they depend on GOFUNDME... Is this good sustainable policy???

« Reply #22 on: August 30, 2021, 09:45:28 PM »

« Reply #23 on: August 30, 2021, 09:48:42 PM »
When an average kenyan has nothing to compare with; how will they know it's not normal.

« Reply #24 on: August 31, 2021, 12:22:57 AM »
Pole Njamba and the bereaved family. When I meet Kenyans in the states I tell them build your life here,  bring as many relatives and friends as you can. Forget about kenya...there is nothing there...gangster paradise.

Before last election we were here when uhuru mortgaged health care to some equipment manufacturer. He stole counties Healthcare funds now counties have to do with barebones....with covid, it will only get worst.

Offline mankind

« Reply #25 on: August 31, 2021, 12:50:11 AM »
I tell you that place is a heartache. Every week like clockwise I get real sad news about death and misery. How can a country be this miserable for her citizens. Yaani you remember I told you I am helping women set up micro businesses. The one that i started helping is doing very well  then all at sudden her daughter gets ill. A 4 year old baby and like that she dies within 4 days. Cause of death, head injury. She fell at the daycare while out playing it was a small fall but she must hit her head and started bleeding internally. She is taken to KU and the fucking doctors just treated it just as nose bleeding and by the time she is taken there 3 days later it is too late. Fuck poverty. I am heart broken. I am so sad I can't stop being sad.

Poverty makes doctor not care enough to do a through checkup. Yaani how you get presented with headache and nosebleeding and bloodshot eyes and you do not investigate for possible head trauma or internal bleeding. How how? Such it is that a poor mother can not win in the fucking hell hole of a country

Pole boss.  That place is a  hell hole I tell you.  As RV pointed out doctor's and mostly everyone else asses you based on how you look and then decide what services to offer.  My sister broke her leg near Mater hospital in South B trying to get away from a matatu and fell on a ditch dug by road crews. She was taken to Mater hospital and given pain killers and left sitting for hours until dawn East coast time here when I woke up and called the Human Resources boss a lady we went to college together in Michigan...then they pretend to be so nice to her.  She almost lost her leg. A lady friend of mine sister was left to die after bleeding out after a Caeserean Section at Kijabe hospital because the guy with the keys to the blood bank took them home and they couldn't reach him. What I learnt about Kenya is the police won't help much because they get bribed.  Get a good lawyer and sue the idiot.  That is the only thing that works.  I  wait for the bribes to be exchanged then go to court and make the idiots pay twice after they think they have bribed their way out.  Just  make sure you collect and keep the evidence because believe me the police make almost everything disappear after they get bribed.  Get pictures, documents, videos etc of anything you think is evidence.  A guy once hit my car while drunk and believe me the police took both him and my driver to the station but the drunk guy didn't spend more than a few minutes before he was sneaked out.  I  tried reasoning with the owner of the car that we could just agree he fix my car only to learn that he knew the base commander and was playing games.  I  sued him in court only to learn that there was no record at the police station of the accident.  Luckily I had everything in evidence.  It cost about 150k in kenyan shillings to fix the car but I sued the idiot for half a million.  It took a year but the fucker paid it.  He didn't even have insurance.  That is Kenya for you.  A hopeless dungeon for real.

« Reply #26 on: August 31, 2021, 02:11:00 AM »
Two things that work in Kenya. Have money and have very good social network - especially family. Those are people who will save you - when you dont have money. Either have money or people on speed dial who have money. Without money you wont get anything done.

I consider lawyers the worst. I will never sue anybody in kenya. The lawyers will eat all your money and come and sell your property. AVOID lawyers. Settle things through Arbitration whenever possible.

I only go to lawyers to get threatening letters - and you pay 2 or 3k - for them to draft a letter but never go beyond that - never file a case - the kenya corrupt lawyers will give you 10M bill - and next time you're being auctioned.

For me lawyers are the worst - they can decide to bill you anything, cops are just 2nd worse, and rest of proffesional, have within your social network, people who can help you, a friendly doctor you can call, and they can advise truthly - for example they will tell you if you dont have say insurance - then you need like 0.5M cash within a week - otherwise hospital doctors wont treat you - they will pretend not to know what is ailing you.

Pole boss.  That place is a  hell hole I tell you.  As RV pointed out doctor's and mostly everyone else asses you based on how you look and then decide what services to offer.  My sister broke her leg near Mater hospital in South B trying to get away from a matatu and fell on a ditch dug by road crews. She was taken to Mater hospital and given pain killers and left sitting for hours until dawn East coast time here when I woke up and called the Human Resources boss a lady we went to college together in Michigan...then they pretend to be so nice to her.  She almost lost her leg. A lady friend of mine sister was left to die after bleeding out after a Caeserean Section at Kijabe hospital because the guy with the keys to the blood bank took them home and they couldn't reach him. What I learnt about Kenya is the police won't help much because they get bribed.  Get a good lawyer and sue the idiot.  That is the only thing that works.  I  wait for the bribes to be exchanged then go to court and make the idiots pay twice after they think they have bribed their way out.  Just  make sure you collect and keep the evidence because believe me the police make almost everything disappear after they get bribed.  Get pictures, documents, videos etc of anything you think is evidence.  A guy once hit my car while drunk and believe me the police took both him and my driver to the station but the drunk guy didn't spend more than a few minutes before he was sneaked out.  I  tried reasoning with the owner of the car that we could just agree he fix my car only to learn that he knew the base commander and was playing games.  I  sued him in court only to learn that there was no record at the police station of the accident.  Luckily I had everything in evidence.  It cost about 150k in kenyan shillings to fix the car but I sued the idiot for half a million.  It took a year but the fucker paid it.  He didn't even have insurance.  That is Kenya for you.  A hopeless dungeon for real.

Offline Stockguru

« Reply #27 on: August 31, 2021, 02:53:35 AM »

Thanks FB. I have been lucky with my dad. He has been under care of Dr Gikonyo since he was in Narobi hospital and he followed him to Karen and so far it has been very good care. However you can only get this kind of care if you have a lot of money to spend on it. The horror stories of our healthcare are so many and a lot of people unfortunately have been victims.

Offline Stockguru

« Reply #28 on: August 31, 2021, 02:59:21 AM »
Pole Njamba and the bereaved family. When I meet Kenyans in the states I tell them build your life here,  bring as many relatives and friends as you can. Forget about kenya...there is nothing there...gangster paradise.

Before last election we were here when uhuru mortgaged health care to some equipment manufacturer. He stole counties Healthcare funds now counties have to do with barebones....with covid, it will only get worst.

This woman works at brookside where she makes 18K and most of it goes to living expenses. Before I helped her get her side hustle started she was always in fuliza position. Kenya is hell. This is mother had to watch her precious baby girl die as couldn't afford care at a better hospital. Kenya is hell. When my parents are gone, I will sell everything and never step in that hell again

« Reply #29 on: August 31, 2021, 06:27:21 AM »
Pole for the stress. Kenya's healthcare system, for the most part, is for profit. Corruption, lack of clear policies, and enforcement from the Government make the situation even dire. Nothing has changed from Moi error to Uhuru error, and I doubt if things will change. To transform healthcare and everything in Kenya, you need to recalibrate millions of minds, attitudes, and consciences. Once you have a clean population on those paradigms, it will be easy to tweak all sectors to function as they should. Average Kenyan is a poor broker, petty liar, and someone looking to make money legally or illegally without thinking through. It doesn't matter where they go; they will replicate the vice at any level society propels them.
A professor, for instance, can dish out grades for a booty, or a doctor can cut shortcuts for a quick shilling. I think to date, millions of Kenyans have died of flimsy errors of misdiagnosis, gross incompetence, and outright murder. On the outright murder front, I genuinely believe some doctors love killing people, especially in Kenyatta Hospital, because once they schedule you for any head-related surgery, you will not make it. I think it is 90/10 based on a mini-assessment my wife did when her nephew died because of simple brain surgery. Please don't agree or let your family members do any surgery, unless in the leg, hands, or non-life-threatening body parts. You do brain, you will head to six feet under guarantee. If you have serious money, folks can get better treatment with an independent, verified doctor with years of track record. Even with that, you will be disappointed from time to time with the scam from the doctor's astonishingly incompetent stuff all the way to the chemist's corrupt ecosystem. In short, Kenya and pain can be used interchangeably! Sadly, most Kenyans don't know, and if they Know, they don't give a damn because brokenness/poverty /corruption/incompetence/lies, and mediocrity is part of everyday life.

« Reply #30 on: September 01, 2021, 02:21:41 AM »
Pole for the stress. Kenya's healthcare system, for the most part, is for profit. Corruption, lack of clear policies, and enforcement from the Government make the situation even dire. Nothing has changed from Moi error to Uhuru error, and I doubt if things will change. To transform healthcare and everything in Kenya, you need to recalibrate millions of minds, attitudes, and consciences. Once you have a clean population on those paradigms, it will be easy to tweak all sectors to function as they should. Average Kenyan is a poor broker, petty liar, and someone looking to make money legally or illegally without thinking through. It doesn't matter where they go; they will replicate the vice at any level society propels them.
A professor, for instance, can dish out grades for a booty, or a doctor can cut shortcuts for a quick shilling. I think to date, millions of Kenyans have died of flimsy errors of misdiagnosis, gross incompetence, and outright murder. On the outright murder front, I genuinely believe some doctors love killing people, especially in Kenyatta Hospital, because once they schedule you for any head-related surgery, you will not make it. I think it is 90/10 based on a mini-assessment my wife did when her nephew died because of simple brain surgery. Please don't agree or let your family members do any surgery, unless in the leg, hands, or non-life-threatening body parts. You do brain, you will head to six feet under guarantee. If you have serious money, folks can get better treatment with an independent, verified doctor with years of track record. Even with that, you will be disappointed from time to time with the scam from the doctor's astonishingly incompetent stuff all the way to the chemist's corrupt ecosystem. In short, Kenya and pain can be used interchangeably! Sadly, most Kenyans don't know, and if they Know, they don't give a damn because brokenness/poverty /corruption/incompetence/lies, and mediocrity is part of everyday life.

U hit it right on the dot.