Author Topic: Kalenjins in south africa  (Read 7289 times)

Kalenjins in south africa
« on: May 04, 2021, 09:19:21 PM »
Kalenjins like their mvinyo. Jamaa drink in usa like they are in a marathon to beat budweiser drinking record. My buddy korir caused a blackout for a whole night after taking out two major electric poles while drunk. Another time he was rescued from railway tracks after he made a wrong turn and his car got stuck on the railway tracks. Another one from kericho is so drunk that he has this 300 pound white woman that keeps him. He is a good worker but we actually raise money for him to go home and see his ailing parents. 30 years and jamaa has nothing to his name. Not even clothes. Pombe ni hasara. Our own pundit almost died from karera from drinking in filthy nairobi bars. Nairobi bars are filthy like nonsense. They are usually built on road reserves or on top of sewers

Re: Kalenjins in south africa
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2021, 10:35:51 PM »
Same whatsapp group with kikuyu esp from Kiambu.
But agreed shida tupu...
That is why Ruto and Moi really hated alcohol.
I don't know why kalenjin like pombe.
I like it.
But I have a small bro who might like too much
Few cousins practically dependant
Few uncles.

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2021, 11:05:18 PM »
Same whatsapp group with kikuyu esp from Kiambu.
But agreed shida tupu...
That is why Ruto and Moi really hated alcohol.
I don't know why kalenjin like pombe.
I like it.
But I have a small bro who might like too much
Few cousins practically dependant
Few uncles.

It is because kalenjin male doesnot till land or do hard labor unless he is too poor. We had one tenant at my dads place, he was an engineer. A smart fella. On his day off, the first thing he did was drive to car wash get dn paper and head to bar. By 1 pm he would be wasted and then it was binge all weekend. He had kidney and liver failure at 35 years. Sad sad.

Kale men are rerserved and i think isolation makes them depressed. Kales belong in their homeland not western countries or cities. They cannot adjust well

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2021, 02:08:03 PM »
There are very few options for a man with some disposable income to socialise away from bars - dingy or affluent. Any man who is not engaged in tiring manual work will always have reserve energies and cash.

You plant maize; wait few weeks -weed; then wait 3 months - harvest; you have too much time to drink your busaa. Same with coffee, tea. Same with a zero grazed cow youthful farmer in kiambu- wake up at 3, milk rush to the dairy lorry. Go back home feed the cow in a few minutes and you have hours if not whole day to idle around unless you are engaged as a hawker in town or gikomba - why anyway you already got your cash at 3 a.m. waiting for another batch at 2 p.m.; and ain't paying rent.

Where else to socialise:

Church- many men who go to church seem totally emasculated - kanisa ni ya wamama na watoto.

Shopping malls- what a nonsense?

TV, politics - rarely get one the high unless you are invested, in the thick of the scum shit.

Exercises- Walevis have chosen only way to punish their bodies is through alcohol not frowned upon exercise. Schools made exercises and play become a punishment just like the manual labour, not a health pursuit.

Drugs- That shiet is too expensive - financially and socially. The junkies don't look sociable at all- wasted through and through. At least we are  okay with drunk presidents, junkies no, no - even likes of johos, kabogos, and sonkos, rarely do they get high on their own supply. I bet mwafrka is too poor to afford drugs except for a few get to open the errand boxes. Even alcohol we do with cheap liqours, cigarettes and some bhang.

In a bar, your money and/or social skills can get you an absolute high; excitement; good music; dance space and when into it - convenient and cheap sex from a variety of women.

« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2021, 02:14:56 PM »
Generally there are some ethnicities that appear more vulnerable to alcohol abuse and problems. Normally genes play a role in alcohol tolerance among other things like body weight/height,health and nutrition. To me Nilotes and Cushites have a poor alcohol tolerance compared to Bantus. And even among Bantus there are differences among closely related People like Kikuyus and Merus. Kikuyus have a very poor alcohol tolerance compared to Merus and generally in entire country I would put Meru alcohol tolerance at the highest followed by Luhya groups.

« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2021, 02:21:42 PM »
Funny how Njamba is quick to label Pundit and I as Kale and Luo nationalists - but not Njuri. Anyway Njamba deserve the Kalenjin Hater crown.

« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2021, 02:37:01 PM »
I do not buy the genes story, for a drunkenness is higher among males than female. Except for the slay queen generation women rarely take alcohol due to genetic influence.

For alcohol tolerance, this depends on availability of food or the money to buy the food. Those set well on choma and wet fry can imbibe beers and spirits for days thus the vitambi. Those staggering mainly have no time and money for food.

Generally there are some ethnicities that appear more vulnerable to alcohol abuse and problems. Normally genes play a role in alcohol tolerance among other things like body weight/height,health and nutrition. To me Nilotes and Cushites have a poor alcohol tolerance compared to Bantus. And even among Bantus there are differences among closely related People like Kikuyus and Merus. Kikuyus have a very poor alcohol tolerance compared to Merus and generally in entire country I would put Meru alcohol tolerance at the highest followed by Luhya groups.

« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2021, 03:38:01 PM »
Not a Kale problem by any stretch.  I have actually seen more Kiuks with that problem.  In general, it seems to be a problem among East Africans and Southern Africans.  West Africans seem to have it under control.

« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2021, 03:53:39 PM »
Meru pombe is least of their problem..miraa is dangerous drug.

« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2021, 08:26:09 PM »

Astute. They are not as hardy as the Bantu, who doubtless had a longer history with brewed beverages. Indigenous peoples the world over have a very poor alcohol tolerance, Aborigines in Australia, Native Americans in the US.

« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2021, 08:45:12 PM »
Interesting. Yes we know about lactose tolerance...not so much alcohol. But why would you think Bantus have brewed alcohol more than Nilotes...nilotes grew more millet and sorghum ...grain more ideal for beer making...and Bantus never did...maybe they made beer from bananas?
Astute. They are not as hardy as the Bantu, who doubtless had a longer history with brewed beverages. Indigenous peoples the world over have a very poor alcohol tolerance, Aborigines in Australia, Native Americans in the US.

« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2021, 08:10:40 AM »
Interesting. Yes we know about lactose tolerance...not so much alcohol. But why would you think Bantus have brewed alcohol more than Nilotes...nilotes grew more millet and sorghum ...grain more ideal for beer making...and Bantus never did...maybe they made beer from bananas?
Growing millet is one thing and having 1000s of years taking alcohol is another thing. Just like a Muslim who discovered pure alcohol but they never used it for drinking. You don't have to be learned to know this. What kind of mlevi are you? Let me give you an example here in isiolo it's common knowledge Boranas and Samburu are the worst affected by alcohol abuse BUT Merus consume the most alcohol by far. Once those Cushites or Nilotes start taking alcohol their downward trend comes quick and they deteriorate. Have been in a bar and seen a Borana just drink quarter Gilbeys and almost pass out that time I and My 4 Meru friends we have taken 3 Mzinga Gilbeys and now on 6th Tuskers. The ladies in the group drowning 7 or 8 Guinness, its common knowledge that if you want to get a Meru lady drunk buy her 8 Guinness not those sweet cider sijui guarana she will drink them like fanta. My own sister once took 11 savanna ciders at one family sitting and still drove home looking sober. Pundit those Meru barmaids have you seen them drink properly where you go?
I think CYP2E1 gene is responsible for tolerance among different races and ethnicities The way it respond to alcohol is different in each of the group.

« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2021, 08:34:24 AM »
Growing millet is one thing and having 1000s of years taking alcohol is another thing. Just like its a Muslim who discovered pure alcohol but they never used it for drinking. You don't have to be learned to know this. What kind of mlevi are you? Let me give you an example here in isiolo it's common knowledge Boranas and Samburu are the worst affected by alcohol abuse BUT Merus consume the most alcohol by far. Once those Cushites or Nilotes start taking alcohol their downward trend comes quick and they deteriorate. Have been in a bar and seen a Borana just drink quarter Gilbeys and almost pass out that time I and My 4 Meru friends we have taken 3 Mzinga Gilbeys and now on 6th Tuskers. The ladies in the group drowning 7 or 8 Guinness, is common knowledge that if you want to get a Meru lady drunk buy her 8 Guinness not those sweet cider sijui guarana she will drink them like fanta. My own sister once took 11 savanna ciders at one family sitting and still drove home looking sober. Pundit those Meru barmaids have you seennthem drink properly where you go?

Yes they are very weak compared to the Meru. Cushites and Plain Nilotes have poor mental and physical constitution. They have great endurance for hunger though, I doubt you guys can stay a week without food subsisting on milk alone. They are adapted for harsh inhospitable climate herding animals. Alcohol it is easy to surmise would necessarily require farming, settled villages and surpluses that come with growing grains not something a people on the brink of starvation have the luxury for.

« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2021, 10:38:23 AM »
Interesting. Yes I always thought it was linked to Meru consuming so much Miraa they become immune. Yes Merus that I know drink heavily. We kalenjin also drink heavily.
Growing millet is one thing and having 1000s of years taking alcohol is another thing. Just like a Muslim who discovered pure alcohol but they never used it for drinking. You don't have to be learned to know this. What kind of mlevi are you? Let me give you an example here in isiolo it's common knowledge Boranas and Samburu are the worst affected by alcohol abuse BUT Merus consume the most alcohol by far. Once those Cushites or Nilotes start taking alcohol their downward trend comes quick and they deteriorate. Have been in a bar and seen a Borana just drink quarter Gilbeys and almost pass out that time I and My 4 Meru friends we have taken 3 Mzinga Gilbeys and now on 6th Tuskers. The ladies in the group drowning 7 or 8 Guinness, its common knowledge that if you want to get a Meru lady drunk buy her 8 Guinness not those sweet cider sijui guarana she will drink them like fanta. My own sister once took 11 savanna ciders at one family sitting and still drove home looking sober. Pundit those Meru barmaids have you seen them drink properly where you go?
I think CYP2E1 gene is responsible for tolerance among different races and ethnicities The way it respond to alcohol is different in each of the group.

« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2021, 10:40:30 AM »
Yes, I think drinking after consuming heavy garb will certainly help, and indeed most bantus were settled in villages, and would brew and make merry. For most plain nilotes - drinking alcohol was reserved for a special occasion - or strictly for older people - with warrior class expected to stay away from it - and keep guard.
Yes they are very weak compared to the Meru. Cushites and Plain Nilotes have poor mental and physical constitution. They have great endurance for hunger though, I doubt you guys can stay a week without food subsisting on milk alone. They are adapted for harsh inhospitable climate herding animals. Alcohol it is easy to surmise would necessarily require farming, settled villages and surpluses that come with growing grains not something a people on the brink of starvation have the luxury for.

« Reply #15 on: May 09, 2021, 09:10:24 AM »
Suprisinglyh Malwa  (Maiywa in our place) for millet beer is a bantu word. So it appears we borrowed alcohol brewing from them.

« Reply #16 on: May 09, 2021, 10:00:56 PM »
Suprisinglyh Malwa  (Maiywa in our place) for millet beer is a bantu word. So it appears we borrowed alcohol brewing from them.

« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2021, 08:24:19 AM »
Very true. It in families. Now I understand how the whole genetics work.

« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2021, 05:46:48 PM »
Njuri - I think you're absolutly correct - growing up - we knew Gusii could handle their beer - their changaa was so lethal few kispigis drank it without diluting. Most kipisgis attributed to gusii eating ugali in the morning before drinking - and kalenjin drinking on an empty stomach. Kipsigis also ate a soft ugali while they made hard like stone ugali.

« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2021, 07:24:05 PM »
Njuri - I think you're absolutly correct - growing up - we knew Gusii could handle their beer - their changaa was so lethal few kispigis drank it without diluting. Most kipisgis attributed to gusii eating ugali in the morning before drinking - and kalenjin drinking on an empty stomach. Kipsigis also ate a soft ugali while they made hard like stone ugali.

Alcohol is about your metabolic ability to metabolize it. If yours genes cant handle this you die from alcohol poisoning or alcoholism. Chinese and Native Americans lack this gene