Author Topic: Omollo, Tis deep. What will be the footnote on the duo 2K yrs from now? Nothing  (Read 1765 times)

Offline RVtitem

Nyerere was on much higher level of political aptitude :)

It is very difficult to reproduce other politicians with his philosophy

He should've gotten a Nobel peace prize  :58:

And its so true about development. The Romans used slaves and peasants to build those buildings we admire today. It was humanity sacrificed for trinkets. I pray God bless our continent with 20 Nyereres, Nkurumas and Madibas, so we can build genuine development for our people, not just pretty showy things.

How much education did he possess wh n he said this?

I toured Tz and was surprised to learn that they have 70% of their land arable, their parks are much bigger and with more animals than any of ours, they don't have terrorism threats as such,are so integrated that tribalism is non-existent. I left feeling like they could zoom past Ethiopia but I couldn't figure why for all these years they are still struggling. Some blame Nyerere Marxist-communism leanings

How much education did he possess wh n he said this?

I toured Tz and was surprised to learn that they have 70% of their land arable, their parks are much bigger and with more animals than any of ours, they don't have terrorism threats as such,are so integrated that tribalism is non-existent. I left feeling like they could zoom past Ethiopia but I couldn't figure why for all these years they are still struggling. Some blame Nyerere Marxist-communism leanings

@vooke, seems you are abit off today perhaps because being a Sunday your focus was on the sermon you were meant to give to your parishioners. It is as if you only read the first sentence of what Mwalimu Nyerere was quoted and then you got lost  :(

Did you even watch the video and see how eloquent Nyere gets in explaining how Europe was so misguided in breaking up into small hamlets and calling those countries and belatedly later realize it is important for them to become a union again (European Union)? 

@Kadame, gets it and has responded appropriately in her post.
..... And its so true about development. The Romans used slaves and peasants to build those buildings, ruins we see today of coliseums ..... It was humanity sacrificed for trinkets. I pray God bless our continent with 20 Nyereres, Nkurumas and Madibas, so we can build genuine development for our people, not just pretty showy things.

Least you missed it, wacha nifafanue: Nyerere says....
Development which is not development of the people may be of interest [ONLY] to historians in the year 3000; it is irrelevant to the kind of future which is created.

Development is Ubuntu (look up this Zulu word which gave name to Linux software). Development is about HUMANITY. It is supposed to benefit ALL humanity. If - LIKE CAPITALISM - it leaves out some, segregates and condemns some to be slaves and unequal in their own country then those artifacts built by the down-trodden will in 1,000 years exist only as ruins. In 1905 the Nandi of Koitalel Arap Samoei admired the "Iron Snake" built by coolies and colonized folks. Today what is left of it? TELL ME!
This shiny SGR is what the "dynamic duo" is calling "development", in 2100, it will be in ruins - because of corruption - means Kenyans never get value for their taxes God knows for how many years we have to pay the Chinese at the expense of no money to build schools, kenyans to afford proper nutrition, and other pressing needs for the 45 million Kenyans. IT WILL BE IN RUINS. We do not even have to wait till 3000 for Historians and Nyerere's prophesy  - BUT GUESS WHAT - Nyerere's definition of DEVELOPMENT will come to fruition - Ukabila will cease and just be cultural - Tribalism and racism will not define humanity. Even Brexit will come to their senses sooner than later. Humanity is that which leaves NO ONE BEHIND. That is the greatness of TANZANIA. ETHIOPIA had a high GDP growth but reality has forced them to turn a corner in the last few weeks/months - The Tigray had turned all other tribes into slaves.

P.S.
I once listened to Nyerere and this really moved me:
He said being a ruler is no bed of roses, if you come across a poor man sleeping on the cold street, that is your problem. As a ruler you cannot go home and sleep soundly knowing one of those you lead is sleeping on a cold floor. Perhaps that is what informed Ujamaa.

Contrast that with Marie Anonette: They don't have bread? Give them cake!
When Kenya had a maize crisis last year: They don't have Ugali? Why don't they eat chapati:rolleyes:

Kenyan leaders were courting a revolution on their hands.

I think TZ dodged a bullet given that Nyerere was from a puny tribe.  A few thousands.  Under these circumstances distancing himself from and loudly condemning tribalism at every turn seems almost a political necessity.  My hunch is that if he were from the larger groups like Sukuma or Nyamwezi, TZ might have ended up with a national history as colorful as that of its northern neighbor.

@Termi
Necessity is the mother of all invention. You cannot take away credit from Faraday for discovering electricity or the Wright brothers for inventing flight. We recognize the effort and dish out the patents. However because your ancestors had plent of wild berries to pick and plenty of wild animals to spear, tropical sunshine, how would they have seen the need to invent gun powder or discover refrigeration, fleece jackets or build the Titanic? I said here or elsewhere, it is easy for a policeman to shoot an Evans Kidero rather than take him to court and build a case against him. Because the latter is an effort  and the lazy and intellectually-challenged cop prefers a mteremko. It is what lazy politicians from so called 'big tribes'do. Bring nothing new to the table. Looting and tyranny of numbers (real, fake or imagined)

My point is simple, you cannot diminish the immense good a human brings to this World by just dismissing it as the 'circumstances they find themselves in'. And when I say good for mankind, I am saying that Daimler-Benz may have made his Mercedes for Germany but come to Africa or to any corner of planet Earth and you will find pot-bellied looters sampling what that car has to offer. Inventions benefit the world. Mwalimu Julius Nyerere's wisdom continues to benefit the world beyond his grave. I hope you are feeling me. Please stay away from mteremko culture.

P.S. As an African, your culture demands you stop talking ill of the dead and apologize.  :rolleyes:

I think TZ dodged a bullet given that Nyerere was from a puny tribe.  A few thousands.  Under these circumstances distancing himself from and loudly condemning tribalism at every turn seems almost a political necessity.  My hunch is that if he were from the larger groups like Sukuma or Nyamwezi, TZ might have ended up with a national history as colorful as that of its northern neighbor.

@Termi
Necessity is the mother of all invention. You cannot take away credit from Faraday for discovering electricity or the Wright brothers for inventing flight. We recognize the effort and dish out the patents. However because your ancestors had plent of wild berries to pick and plenty of wild animals to spear, tropical sunshine, how would they have seen the need to invent gun powder or discover refrigeration, fleece jackets or build the Titanic? I said here or elsewhere, it is easy for a policeman to shoot an Evans Kidero rather than take him to court and build a case against him. Because the latter is an effort  and the lazy and intellectually-challenged cop prefers a mteremko. It is what lazy politicians from so called 'big tribes'do. Bring nothing new to the table. Looting and tyranny of numbers (real, fake or imagined)

My point is simple, you cannot diminish the immense good a human brings to this World by just dismissing it as the 'circumstances they find themselves in'. And when I say good for mankind, I am saying that Daimler-Benz may have made his Mercedes for Germany but come to Africa or to any corner of planet Earth and you will find pot-bellied looters sampling what that car has to offer. Inventions benefit the world. Mwalimu Julius Nyerere's wisdom continues to benefit the world beyond his grave. I hope you are feeling me. Please stay away from mteremko culture.

P.S. As an African, your culture demands you stop talking ill of the dead and apologize.  :rolleyes:

There are many leaders from minority groups who have occupied power and wielded it with brutality in favour of their people. Methinks Nyerere was a genuinely sincere leader. It wasn't just the Ukabila in TZ. Everything he did tended towards PanAfricanism and socialism.

But those would be in the minority.  Nyerere's folks are borderline glorified El Molo.  No strategic depth even if he were to stack critical offices and positions with them.  I have no reason to doubt his sincerity.  But the man was a good politician.  He could have been genuine but not necessarily ignorant of killing two birds with one stone.

His pan-Africanism can also arguably be just an extrapolation of his desire to erase ethnic boundaries.  A bigger picture to keep the locals too busy to notice he has no "real" base in TZ.  TZ paid a heavy economic price with its heavy involvement in liberation movements.

I loved the man.