How much education did he possess wh n he said this?
I toured Tz and was surprised to learn that they have 70% of their land arable, their parks are much bigger and with more animals than any of ours, they don't have terrorism threats as such,are so integrated that tribalism is non-existent. I left feeling like they could zoom past Ethiopia but I couldn't figure why for all these years they are still struggling. Some blame Nyerere Marxist-communism leanings
@vooke, seems you are abit off today perhaps because being a Sunday your focus was on the sermon you were meant to give to your parishioners. It is as if you only read the first sentence of what Mwalimu Nyerere was quoted
and then you got lost Did you even watch the video and see how eloquent Nyere gets in explaining how Europe was so misguided in breaking up into small hamlets and calling those countries and belatedly later realize it is important for them to become a union again (European Union)?
@Kadame, gets it and has responded appropriately in her post.
..... And its so true about development. The Romans used slaves and peasants to build those buildings, ruins we see today of coliseums ..... It was humanity sacrificed for trinkets. I pray God bless our continent with 20 Nyereres, Nkurumas and Madibas, so we can build genuine development for our people, not just pretty showy things.
Least you missed it, wacha nifafanue: Nyerere says....
Development which is not development of the people may be of interest [ONLY] to historians in the year 3000; it is irrelevant to the kind of future which is created.
Development is
Ubuntu (look up this Zulu word which gave name to Linux software). Development is about HUMANITY.
It is supposed to benefit ALL humanity. If - LIKE CAPITALISM - it leaves out some, segregates and condemns some to be slaves and unequal in their own country then those artifacts built by the down-trodden will in 1,000 years exist only as ruins. In 1905 the Nandi of Koitalel Arap Samoei admired the "Iron Snake" built by coolies and colonized folks. Today what is left of it? TELL ME!
This shiny SGR is what the "dynamic duo" is calling "development", in 2100, it will be in ruins - because of corruption - means Kenyans never get value for their taxes God knows for how many years we have to pay the Chinese at the expense of no money to build schools, kenyans to afford proper nutrition, and other pressing needs for the 45 million Kenyans. IT WILL BE IN RUINS. We do not even have to wait till 3000 for Historians and Nyerere's prophesy - BUT GUESS WHAT - Nyerere's definition of DEVELOPMENT will come to fruition - Ukabila will cease and just be cultural - Tribalism and racism will not define humanity. Even Brexit will come to their senses sooner than later. Humanity is that which leaves NO ONE BEHIND. That is the greatness of TANZANIA. ETHIOPIA had a high GDP growth but reality has forced them to turn a corner in the last few weeks/months - The
Tigray had turned all other tribes into slaves.
P.S.
I once listened to Nyerere and this really moved me:
He said being a ruler is no bed of roses, if you come across a poor man sleeping on the cold street,
that is your problem. As a ruler you cannot go home and sleep soundly knowing one of those you lead is sleeping on a cold floor. Perhaps that is what informed Ujamaa.
Contrast that with Marie Anonette:
They don't have bread? Give them cake!When Kenya had a maize crisis last year:
They don't have Ugali? Why don't they eat chapati.
Kenyan leaders were courting a revolution on their hands.