Oldie
You have nailed it. The level of poverty in kenya is what is driving all this mahandamanos. The political class has to hang onto office like a jigger embedded deep in someone's toe. They know if they leave power it will mean instant destitution. There are thousands of other kupes ticks that deep on the political class, the small crumbs they get is worthy fighting for. Amplify this within the social classes.
Without fighting poverty religiously by baking a bigger pie by increasing productivity we are doomed for another century.
Claiming that Tatu city is a utopia that beat usa or comparable to western infrastructure is taking a joke too far. I have been to Tatu city 4 times, it is not close to bum fuck Mississippi in term of infrastructure.
Mwaafrika needs to work day and night with a torch on their forehead no sleep just grind till we get out of the grinding poverty
Personally I have given up. If you read household economy surveys in Kenya the are literal horror shows of poverty
In places like Murang'a poverty porn is so lucrative because there people stuck in emergency era poverty
In Kajiado I have seen pictures and stories of aid organizations that I volunteer for. The place is just living in a past era. MAA and all Asal communities need Marshall plan
1/3 of kids have stunted growth due to malnutrition. That is why our collective intelligence is plummeting every year
The economists who were supposed to dig kenya out of poverty Akina Ndii are dying from Diabetes due to excessive consumption of government tea and mandazi.
Njamba,
As I have said umpteen times on this forum; usijiburden na problems minki minki za nchi yako na ya dunia. Siasa ni hasala tupu. Nothing will ever change. Structural change - long term prosperity for all, no disease, no malnutrition, no drug-addiction, no homelessness, blah blah blah - simply won't happen even in 1000 years from now.
It didn't happen in Egypt, it didn't happen in Babylon, it didn't happen in Persia, and it didn't happen in Rom .Yet those were the largest and richest empires in human history. It hasn't happened in Hamilikwa, now in terrible decline, which was the global hegemon for the past century. This is why those societies needed bread and circuses. Just like the American public needs the same - burgers and NFL/Grammys/Netflix etc, and Kwiinyans need empty siasa circuses to keep them engaged. And comedic political slogans like "Yes we can" that delivered zero except drone bombings of Syrian kids ang gay mainstreaming.
Look at the much-touted Singapore economic miracle. As GDP rose, so did the brutal civil dictatorship, extant to today, where dissent is suppressed to the hilt. In Singapore you can be fined for throwing chewing gum on the floor on a train, making noise after 10pm and for not flushing a toilet! (I am not kidding. Research this yourself.) Trust me I know first hand as I've been there. Changi Airport is arguably by far the best airport in the world. With gleaming high tech trains that take you into town swaa. Everywhere you go in Singapore, the people talk in hushed tones. An element of fear pervades the air. Hata the large expat community there knows that they need to zip their lips lest they suffer the consequences!
Let's segue to the Chinese economic miracle. Even worse. If ever there was an Orwellian dream state, China is he. There are hundreds of millions of biometrics-capturing cameras all over China that can identify you in milliseconds. If you as much as sneeze the wrong way, points are deducted from your social credit score. A bad credit score can mean you can't even book a flight or take your kids to school! It's laughable to think that "good change, freedom, prosperity and blah blah blah for all" will ever exist on this planet. It never has. Don't waste your precious years hoping or working towards the same.
Closer to home Kagame's economic miracle was shown to be a total farce when his chief government statistician resigned saying the dictator that would make Stalin proud consistently asked him to fudge the numbers to show a 7% plus annual growth rate that we have been fed to believe has been happening there since 1994. Kumbe in reality poverty has been increasing! That's the world we live in, blo.
A world of endless deception.Take care of your family, your relatives and possibly your home area and friends if you can, brother. Hiyo tu. Solving the rest of humanity's problems should be beyond the pale for you. You can't change the world gabsa, gabsa.
Che tried. His country is a cesspit as we speak
MLK and Malcolm tried
So did Sankara
So did Mandela
So did Lumumba
So did Aristide, who was kidnapped by US commandoes and sent into exile simply for asking for a living wage for plantation workers.
What structural long term change did they achieve that solved everyone's problems -zero.
So did Gadaffi
So did Mugabe during his final years.
What did they achieve? Zilch.
In Kwiinya
The highly intelligent Bildad Kaggia tried and died in misery running a posho mill in Makutano.
Pio got a bullet for trying
Hapa RCB-nipate online-land
Oloo died with his monstrous sheaves of tichitals having achieved nada of structural value
So did Ngugi recently na hiyo elimu na accolades zake zote.
According to Lee Njiru, Jomo's last words to the man from the wilds of Kabartonjo-Sacho were "usibebe hii nchi na kamba. Beba na raffia ya ndizi (paraphrased)" That is, resist the urge to take on the burdens of all Kwiinyans. You simply can't and never will be able to solve all their problems. The best you can do is give them empty home!
Bottom line, enjoy your life, blo.
It's too short not to.
Jana tulifika Lake Magadi tuntu tanta. I had forgotten how beautiful it is. Mahandamanos zimeisha Nairofi? Just as I predicted. Kesho huyooo back there to inspect the friends and relas in their nice sitting rooms while munching their delicious pilaus timbli tambla. Then off we go on more adventures.
Usijipee stress blathee.
Maisha ni Kujienjoy swing swangh!
Ni hayo tu.