Author Topic: Ruto Should Look For Another Transport CS .  (Read 2222 times)

Ruto Should Look For Another Transport CS .
« on: November 08, 2022, 05:18:03 AM »
Murkomen lacks the expertise and temperament  to lead this docket.
How Ruto got correct in some of the ministries and very opposite in others it buffling.
Murkomen is someone who requires alot of guidance in whatever he does and its evident he has always been getting it from Ruto .
 If not careful we might go back to Moi era when we lost Railways .
Remember SGR was crippled by reversing the policy of it monopolising cargo transport, Highly likely this will paralyse the public transport between Nairobi and Mombasa and if not handled carefully KPA will go now imagine that with KQ gone we will be back to the 90s failing corporations and over crowded roads.

Re: Ruto Should Look For Another Transport CS .
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2022, 07:25:10 AM »
Nonsense.We want changes in the corrupt laden stated captured ministry.Murkomen in a week has done a lot to shed the light on the mess.I hope he keeps the tempo.. whoever will cut KQ off public finances will be a hero...that money invested in building rural roads will have more impact than sustaining kQ .Ruto manifesto is clear...KQ has two years to shape up or sink.400 pilots driving 20 or 40 planes is a sign of broken system...half need to go

« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2022, 09:29:17 AM »

Same Mistake Murungaru did , pretended to be generous with intelligence information to media and public gallery only to end up messing Tourism.
Ruto has put Murkomen in that office so that state officials dont sabotage his agenda . Secondly it is one of the big Ministries where one can eat . This is well known.
Now if Ruto himself was Running the Ministry thats something else .But in this era you cannot Micromanage state affairs like in Mois era. You can see 2 simple decisions can affect the country.
Where as returning the port to Mombasa was a political good thing the effects can ruin the whole SGR project and make the Same KPA go to Chinese hands .
KQ pilots calculated the start of strike to coincide with  Rutos travelling to Egypt by the time Ruto returns to mediate the issues KQ will be in a big dent that IMF will start asking questions .
Now your thinking is perhaps what Murkomen is thinking. KQ can go down. You forget Kenya is almost in a Sri Lankan situatio with forex reserves and KQ is one of the Kenyas biggest earners of forex exchange. Tourism and Export business will be majorly impacted and this are sectors which employ alot of people.  You need to educate your self in matters aviation how Zambian and Zimbabwean Airlines stop existing and its impact on the those countries economy.
I will tell you for free Murkomen wont survive in that Ministry for long.
Kenya Railways went down with Mois regime and it took China and UhuRuto to revive the Railway transport using SGR ( ofcourse Uhuru decided to loot ) but that was more than 20 years.
Kenya Airways going down during Rutos administration will be the biggest irony because only Kenya Kwanza have ever put KQ in its Manifesto.

Now when you talk of 400 pilots do you know the Civil aviation laws governing crew rest time and layovers. How many flights does KW have ? KQ there was a time couldnt manage Newyork flights because of shortage of qualified crew. e.g. if you were to operate that route on a daily basis you need minimum of 8 crew thats JFK alone. Now factor in international routes like London, CDG, Amsterdam, Bangkok , China etc etc. Apart from that Pilots do have leave , recurrent training( most offered abroad).
Thats when I laugh when you say the airline should be run like a Matatu business , perhaps the same thinking Murkomen has . The pilots require sufficient rest time due to safety reasons or you will having incidents like ET where pilots overshoot airport coz they are sleeping of Human error related incidences .
Having said that I preety sure Ruto is getting calls left and right about the Road and Transport Ministry. Unlike say Education Ministry where you can bufle and next day recall what you said . Transport Ministry one slight decesion and you lose billions and also your agenda. ( If KPA, SGR, and KQ go down under this regime you give room to the streotypers that we are back to Mois regime and boy Azimio has been waiting for that .)

Nonsense.We want changes in the corrupt laden stated captured ministry.Murkomen in a week has done a lot to shed the light on the mess.I hope he keeps the tempo.. whoever will cut KQ off public finances will be a hero...that money invested in building rural roads will have more impact than sustaining kQ .Ruto manifesto is clear...KQ has two years to shape up or sink.400 pilots driving 20 or 40 planes is a sign of broken system...half need to go

« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2022, 10:35:35 AM »
On this one I agree with Nowayhaha. Airline and airports play a big role in terms of investment and tourism. Ethiopian have figured out Airline business they have very well trained pilots, crew and alot of aircraft. I would rate Ethiopian airlines up there with other major airlines. Big let down is their airport, worst airport ever.  All in all KQ need major re organization. It will be years before they can turn profit but the government has to keep pumping money. It will pay in the end.

« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2022, 12:47:46 PM »
I think Murkkomen is playing to public gallery everyone is fed up with KQ dramas and losses,the pilots should have choosen a better time to strike because now that's just sabotage,the question is if they are striking where will money come from to pay employees and them too.
My call is this was rather stupid from pilots.

« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2022, 01:12:59 PM »
Let summarize this way.

Ruto has appointed Ndii and his group of think tanks at State House. They are guys with come up with strategy - so we dont end up with ministers doing their own thing.

Murkomen job is easy - implement whatever Ndii and team come up.

My reading of Ndii - and the Plan is simple.

On SGR - we have to negotiate with chinese to extend the loan terms to Kenya Railway - 20yrs is ridiculous - we need 50yrs. I always thought it was 30-50yrs.

We cannot choke road transport to sustain chinese loan- we should re-negotiate china ya maji.

On Kenya Airways - I wanted it cut immediately. There are no forex KQ is bringin that it's not taking - the 40% of KQ is jet fuel - we dont produce jet fuel - and the rest are loans and leasing paid in hard currency? If we want to buy planes - we have to send forex out.

What does KQ really bring us - LOSES.

Ndii and company gave them 2yrs. I wanted it cut immediately.

We need to think budget airline for Africa - KQ as business and it's business model is DEAD. Completely dead.

KQ have two years to sort out management issues and convert their model into matatu like budget airline for Kenya and Africa. There is a lot of business in Africa for interconnection flight - because outside Nairobi, Adis and Joburg it's wilderness - Africans have to be taken out of continent - then brought back home.

This huge opportunity for KQ - just do connecting or last mile flights - with embraers - use Nairobi as Africa inter-connection hub.,

Same Mistake Murungaru did , pretended to be generous with intelligence information to media and public gallery only to end up messing Tourism.
Ruto has put Murkomen in that office so that state officials dont sabotage his agenda . Secondly it is one of the big Ministries where one can eat . This is well known.
Now if Ruto himself was Running the Ministry thats something else .But in this era you cannot Micromanage state affairs like in Mois era. You can see 2 simple decisions can affect the country.
Where as returning the port to Mombasa was a political good thing the effects can ruin the whole SGR project and make the Same KPA go to Chinese hands .
KQ pilots calculated the start of strike to coincide with  Rutos travelling to Egypt by the time Ruto returns to mediate the issues KQ will be in a big dent that IMF will start asking questions .
Now your thinking is perhaps what Murkomen is thinking. KQ can go down. You forget Kenya is almost in a Sri Lankan situatio with forex reserves and KQ is one of the Kenyas biggest earners of forex exchange. Tourism and Export business will be majorly impacted and this are sectors which employ alot of people.  You need to educate your self in matters aviation how Zambian and Zimbabwean Airlines stop existing and its impact on the those countries economy.
Kenya Railways went down with Mois regime and it took China and UhuRuto to revive the Railway transport using SGR ( ofcourse Uhuru decided to loot ) but that was more than 20 years.
Kenya Airways going down during Rutos administration will be the biggest irony because only Kenya Kwanza have ever put KQ in its Manifesto.

Now when you talk of 400 pilots do you know the Civil aviation laws governing crew rest time and layovers. How many flights does KW have ? KQ there was a time couldnt manage Newyork flights because of shortage of qualified crew. e.g. if you were to operate that route on a daily basis you need minimum of 8 crew thats JFK alone. Now factor in international routes like London, CDG, Amsterdam, Bangkok , China etc etc. Apart from that Pilots do have leave , recurrent training( most offered abroad).
Thats when I laugh when you say the airline should be run like a Matatu business , perhaps the same thinking Murkomen has . The pilots require sufficient rest time due to safety reasons or you will having incidents like ET where pilots overshoot airport coz they are sleeping of Human error related incidences .
Having said that I preety sure Ruto is getting calls left and right about the Road and Transport Ministry. Unlike say Education Ministry where you can bufle and next day recall what you said . Transport Ministry one slight decesion and you lose billions and also your agenda. ( If KPA, SGR, and KQ go down under this regime you give room to the streotypers that we are back to Mois regime and boy Azimio has been waiting for that .)

« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2022, 01:56:18 PM »

Njuri hear this from Mpesa Man

I think Murkkomen is playing to public gallery everyone is fed up with KQ dramas and losses,the pilots should have choosen a better time to strike because now that's just sabotage,the question is if they are striking where will money come from to pay employees and them too.
My call is this was rather stupid from pilots.

« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2022, 02:16:06 PM »

Ndii is an expert matters economics not matters transport. As you are matters IT . Hence the reason you think Airline is Matatu Business.
On SGR I think Ruto was conversant with the issue. He has a plan . Lets see how he is going to tackle it Hopefully Murkomen will take guidance accordingly. I would like him to succeed but he is taking this Ministry lightly like a talk show.  He might be transfered in a few months coming.
I think you really dont understand Role of Aviation in GDPs growth.
When you also talk of Embraer being the fleet of choice It confirms you dont know why KQ went from the Number 1 Airline in Africa to where it is now.
One of the reason is the ERJ Fleet. ERJ is built for U.S. and European Market not African Market. U.S. and Europe a big junk of customers are business men while in Africa its traders . KQ lost African Market to Ethopian and Middle East Carriers because when they went ERJ baggages were being left in Nairobi and taking days to reach destination while its competitors was sending wide body to destinations .Especially in West Africa ,Central and Southern Africa. You could find cargo bought by traders for Christmas reaching its destination way after Newyear hence becoming a loss for traders.

Let summarize this way.

Ruto has appointed Ndii and his group of think tanks at State House. They are guys with come up with strategy - so we dont end up with ministers doing their own thing.

Murkomen job is easy - implement whatever Ndii and team come up.

My reading of Ndii - and the Plan is simple.

On SGR - we have to negotiate with chinese to extend the loan terms to Kenya Railway - 20yrs is ridiculous - we need 50yrs. I always thought it was 30-50yrs.

We cannot choke road transport to sustain chinese loan- we should re-negotiate china ya maji.

On Kenya Airways - I wanted it cut immediately. There are no forex KQ is bringin that it's not taking - the 40% of KQ is jet fuel - we dont produce jet fuel - and the rest are loans and leasing paid in hard currency? If we want to buy planes - we have to send forex out.

What does KQ really bring us - LOSES.

Ndii and company gave them 2yrs. I wanted it cut immediately.

We need to think budget airline for Africa - KQ as business and it's business model is DEAD. Completely dead.

KQ have two years to sort out management issues and convert their model into matatu like budget airline for Kenya and Africa. There is a lot of business in Africa for interconnection flight - because outside Nairobi, Adis and Joburg it's wilderness - Africans have to be taken out of continent - then brought back home.

This huge opportunity for KQ - just do connecting or last mile flights - with embraers - use Nairobi as Africa inter-connection hub.,

« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2022, 04:32:11 PM »
Companies are run by management experts.
CEO of Kenya Airways has never flown a kite - leave alone a plane.
Ndii will know what and who to ask.
We dont want long haul flight for african traders shopping in China. Leave that big planes.
There is huge market for connecting flights in Africa.
It untapped virgin market - and that is future of KQ
The other market as nice as it seem is very brutal.
We have to become Rynair of Africa.
For Africa - we should concentrate on terminating flights - through partnership with Emirates/Klms.
Someone want to fly to middle of Congo - they come with Emirates to Nairobi - KQ pick them up and drop them in middle of the forest.

KQ is struggling but JamboJet is profitable. That is enough clues - we need to focus on budget airline.

Ndii is an expert matters economics not matters transport. As you are matters IT . Hence the reason you think Airline is Matatu Business.
On SGR I think Ruto was conversant with the issue. He has a plan . Lets see how he is going to tackle it Hopefully Murkomen will take guidance accordingly. I would like him to succeed but he is taking this Ministry lightly like a talk show.  He might be transfered in a few months coming.
When you also talk of Embraer being the fleet of choice It confirms you dont know why KQ went from the Number 1 Airline in Africa to where it is now.
One of the reason is the ERJ Fleet. ERJ is built for U.S. and European Market not African Market. U.S. and Europe a big junk of customers are business men while in Africa its traders . KQ lost African Market to Ethopian and Middle East Carriers because when they went ERJ baggages were being left in Nairobi and taking days to reach destination while its competitors was sending wide body to destinations .Especially in West Africa ,Central and Southern Africa. You could find cargo bought by traders for Christmas reaching its destination way after Newyear hence becoming a loss for traders.

« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2022, 07:17:17 PM »
Modern Airlines are run with people with expertise knowledge in Aviation.
African Aviation Market is made up of majority of traders
We dont have hoppers like U.S and Europe who want to have have a meeting by 11AM and back in their country by 5PM.
In short Intra African travel for business is very minimal in comparison to Intercontinental travel for traders and Tourists. You very well know its due to economic reasons . Investing in Africa is one of the hardest things due to conditions from taxation to corruption and security reasons. Then also aviation growth is usually tied to middle class growth which is happening at very low pace in Africa.
So when you put a Nigerian passenger to travel to Nairobi  by Emirates 777 then connect with ERJ 190 to Lagos where he is assured of misconnecting his Cargo . First Emirates will say we cant code share or have an alliance with KQ as their fleet is not upto their standards . Secondly these passengers know the fleets hence the reason they all fled away from KQ when it went Embraer .

Jambo jet is profitable because the cost of their fleet and operation is very low . When you lease second hand turbo propeller aircrafts with years of flights then ofcourse you expect to make money .

We dont want long haul flight for african traders shopping in China. Leave that big planes.
For Africa - we should concentrate on terminating flights - through partnership with Emirates/Klms.
Someone want to fly to middle of Congo - they come with Emirates to Nairobi - KQ pick them up and drop them in middle of the forest.

KQ is struggling but JamboJet is profitable. That is enough clues - we need to focus on budget airline.

« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2022, 08:59:44 PM »
KQ has 1yr to fix their problems.
Then we kill it. Painful but might be neccessary.
And work on JamboJet.
JamboJet should be given KQ routes..
Focus on bottom up budget airline - within East Africa - then slowly the rest of Africa.
To say all African travellers are traders is insanity.
Africa now has tourist/office/conference name it.
The continent is no longer that dark.
And with Afcta - we can fly to many more areas.
Jambojet has to go back to it vision to compete with buses...
And that is huge untapped market...
Even within kenya...there is scope for more market deepening.
Modern Airlines are run with people with expertise knowledge in Aviation.
African Aviation Market is made up of majority of traders
We dont have hoppers like U.S and Europe who want to have have a meeting by 11AM and back in their country by 5PM.
In short Intra African travel for business is very minimal in comparison to Intercontinental travel for traders and Tourists. You very well know its due to economic reasons . Investing in Africa is one of the hardest things due to conditions from taxation to corruption and security reasons. Then also aviation growth is usually tied to middle class growth which is happening at very low pace in Africa.
So when you put a Nigerian passenger to travel to Nairobi  by Emirates 777 then connect with ERJ 190 to Lagos where he is assured of misconnecting his Cargo . First Emirates will say we cant code share or have an alliance with KQ as their fleet is not upto their standards . Secondly these passengers know the fleets hence the reason they all fled away from KQ when it went Embraer .

Jambo jet is profitable because the cost of their fleet and operation is very low . When you lease second hand turbo propeller aircrafts with years of flights then ofcourse you expect to make money .

« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2022, 09:33:44 PM »
Finally seems somebody is making understand things.

« Reply #12 on: November 08, 2022, 10:00:55 PM »
It pilots who have realized they tested the deep wates with both feets.
They go to work without nay of their demands met

« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2022, 10:57:16 PM »
quote]He said a prolonged strike would have not only forced the closure of the airline which was losing over Sh300 million a day but also negatively impacted over 18,000 lives that depend on the airline.

"In the past 3 days, this strike has disrupted travel plans for over 12,000 customers across KQ network, forced the cancellation of over 300 flights and affected 3,500 other employees who were not part of it," Murkomen said adding that the national government is committed to the well-being of the airline.

[/quote]

« Reply #14 on: November 08, 2022, 11:19:43 PM »
The pilots are the morons here. They should have sought a meeting with Murkomen and new team. But they took drastic action. In end they have become part of the problem. Murkomen and Ruto are fresh and willing to listen. yOU DONT GO ON STRIKE DAY ONE - SABOTAGE THE COMPANY - just so you can give long lecture of how KQ is being mismanaged.
quote]He said a prolonged strike would have not only forced the closure of the airline which was losing over Sh300 million a day but also negatively impacted over 18,000 lives that depend on the airline.

"In the past 3 days, this strike has disrupted travel plans for over 12,000 customers across KQ network, forced the cancellation of over 300 flights and affected 3,500 other employees who were not part of it," Murkomen said adding that the national government is committed to the well-being of the airline.

[/b]
[/quote]

« Reply #15 on: November 09, 2022, 04:22:55 AM »

Which of their demands have not been met ?
Management removal ? Its only a matter of time.
Biggest problem with you is to think everything is a matter of competion one either has to win or lose. I though Ruto tought you there is always a win win situation.
Murkomen and Bore had asked KQ Management to advertise positions and scrap CBA. Thats the level of incompetence they have .This thing should have been solved like a week ago if Murkomen and Bore were upto the task.
One can say baby steps but it comes with a cost.

It pilots who have realized they tested the deep wates with both feets.
They go to work without nay of their demands met

« Reply #16 on: November 09, 2022, 04:28:41 AM »
They had meetings and still Murkomen and Bore couldnt resolve the standoff This has cost the company around 1.2 Billion and could have resulted to the end of KQ.
Seems Murkomen has understood the consequence  rude awakening albeit at a billion plus cost.
I dont forsee him surving that long in that post if he doesnt learn to listen the experts.

The pilots are the morons here. They should have sought a meeting with Murkomen and new team. But they took drastic action. In end they have become part of the problem. Murkomen and Ruto are fresh and willing to listen. yOU DONT GO ON STRIKE DAY ONE - SABOTAGE THE COMPANY - just so you can give long lecture of how KQ is being mismanaged.

[/b]
[/quote]

« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2022, 08:08:31 AM »
KQ and their entitled pilots need to be dropped to fend for themselves.

« Reply #18 on: November 09, 2022, 09:32:47 AM »
Look like Ramaphose is here to try see if kQ and SAA can rescue each other

« Reply #19 on: November 09, 2022, 10:17:45 AM »
A.U. Tried this by seting up Air Afrique in 90s never worked . It was also a failed project with Gulf Air and East African Airways.
You very well know how it Middle east Airlines became succesful once countries established their National Airlines .
South Africas disadvantage is its hub. Kenya Airways problem is the fleet cost . KQ just needs to fix its problems and it will be back to 2000s when SA used to envy and get angry that KQ is permitted more than 8 flights to South Africa while SA only has 2 flights to Nairobi .

Look like Ramaphose is here to try see if kQ and SAA can rescue each other