I'm kinda like Omollo and Fairandbalanced.
Like Omollo in that I will not be voting in 2022 despite the fact that I'll be home this time around, which is the only thing that makes me genuinely scared for Raila. I don't believe any of Pundit's grandiose predictions about sijui Ruto has 100% Luhya (surely, Pundit, unakunywa nini siku hizi?) and 70% Coast etc etc. I think the main groups that supported NASA 2017 are still largely anti-Ruto. What TRULY worries me for RAO's chances is the apathy described by Omollo, because I'm in the same camp and I have been staunchly RAO since 2007. There's nothing on earth that will make me cast a vote for Ruto but I have no intention of standing in queue all day to vote, even for bwana Raila. No amount of guilting me about irresponsibility will make me do it, either, so save the lectures. I'm just done with project .ke.
Like Fairandbalanced, I'm even more disillusioned with American politics. I am decidedly convinced that their duopoly of parties and it's toxicity to its wider culture is a deliberate scheme by super Capitalists there to keep the average Joe playing ping pong while the real stuff remains the same. I don't buy into "that other side is the enemy" and I never will. The enemy has its fangs in both sides and it's not letting go.
So I'm as apathetic about politics, both at home and the States, as one can possibly be. I literally don't care who is president of the US. I can't say I don't care who is president in Kenya (I don't want Ruto) but it's not so much that I'm motivated to queue for hours. Ndii also convinced me that Jubilee soooo screwed up the economy, it makes little difference now who is running it. If Raila is president in September, 2022, the only thing I'll celebrate is that it'll be the end of this twenty-year national saga that started in 2002 and we can move on from that "this side owes this/that" politics. That's all. I won't celebrate the chance for a great economy or constitutionalism or nothing. This country is totally screwed for at least a few decades, thanks to the disaster duo known as Uhuru and Ruto, and the people who helped them in 2013 and 2017 will bear that on their own conscience. Hiyo tu.