Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: RV Pundit on August 25, 2019, 07:56:01 PM
-
I use to think it affected those other people. My sister whose is 2yrs older than me is now sleeping possibly with breast cancer that has possibly advanced to her lungs.I had aunty married to my maternal uncle who bravely died from cervical cancer.She lives in me.My grandfather at 85yrs died I think from prostrate cancer but all along I thought we had inherited great genes.My paternal grandmother never got sick.My father at nearly 80yrs has never been admitted to a hospital.At nearly 40yrs I have never been an inpatient.I have never been to hospital until my daughter neonatal jaundice.Ee always had great genes.Never got sick
Anyway reading Kalanith when Breathe become Air now but life is fleeting.
-
Nothing prepares you to experience the mortality, or even near-death of loved ones. Nothing.
I wish your sister luck in her fight.
-
Pole, Pundit. Prayers for your sister. May the best that can come out of this for all touched by it, come.
-
Thanks Terminator & Dear Mama - hopefully she doesn't have it. They are doing ct-scan/mammography today
-
Pole Pundit, we have all been variously affected by this scourge either directly as self or close family.
You say that final scans are today, if it is what you suspect and has been found early, then it need not be a death sentence. Today's medical science (oncological science) provides very targeted treatment for tumors if they are still at original focal location. I have had close family members go through this, it is a very "personal" battle. Support your sister, the greatest gift you can all give her as she walks through is to rally around her and be there for her, comfort her. Spiritual support is also key (i know you have previously said that you are agnostic or don't believe in God!). A change of diet is also recommended.
But you also say that it has possibly spread to the lungs, meaning it has metastasized; if this is the case, then that is a different prognosis and ball-game altogether.
I leave you with this...... "If not you, who else?? Why not you...!" The good Lord left us with one big/main commandment, LOVE, for one another. What you wish for self also be what you wish for the other human being. Kalanith says much the same in his book. Great read, Very personal and touching....
Wishing her all the best!
I use to think it affected those other people. My sister whose is 2yrs older than me is now sleeping possibly with breast cancer that has possibly advanced to her lungs.I had aunty married to my maternal uncle who bravely died from cervical cancer.She lives in me.My grandfather at 85yrs died I think from prostrate cancer but all along I thought we had inherited great genes.My paternal grandmother never got sick.My father at nearly 80yrs has never been admitted to a hospital.At nearly 40yrs I have never been an inpatient.I have never been to hospital until my daughter neonatal jaundice.Ee always had great genes.Never got sick
-
Thanks, dude. I am hoping to go see her soon. I can only imagine we are walking dead.
Pole Pundit, we have all been variously affected by this scourge either directly as self or close family.
You say that final scans are today, if it is what you suspect and has been found early, then it need not be a death sentence. Today's medical science (oncological science) provides very targeted treatment for tumors if they are still at original focal location. I have had close family members go through this, it is a very "personal" battle. Support your sister, the greatest gift you can all give her as she walks through is to rally around her and be there for her, comfort her. Spiritual support is also key (i know you have previously said that you are agnostic or don't believe in God!). A change of diet is also recommended.
But you also say that it has possibly spread to the lungs, meaning it has metastasized; if this is the case, then that is a different prognosis and ball-game altogether.
I leave you with this...... "If not you, who else?? Why not you...!" The good Lord left us with one big/main commandment, LOVE, for one another. What you wish for self also be what you wish for the other human being. Kalanith says much the same in his book. Great read, Very personal and touching....
Wishing her all the best!
-
Modern lifestyle comes with modern diseases.
Most breast cancer is curable but you have to be at the right place.
-
Pole Pundito,
So I had this buddy in campo. Mum developed breast cancer. Nothing, and I mean nothing comes close to battling cancer while dirt poor. They burnt all they had,which was very little,and she succumbed. His dad caught prostrate cancer. The old man hid it from the family for about 7 months. Once they found out he refused all treatment and was gone in under a month. His philosophy was, it was pointless burdening his already overburdened family and there was no cure. He was an orphan in under 8 months thanks to cancer.
This thing is nasty
-
May the Almighty Lord deliver her through it. I pray that you find peace and comfort during this trying time my brother.
Sent from my SM-G532F using Tapatalk
-
Pole Pundit.
My aunt was diagnosed of breast cancer over 20 years ago. The doctors wanted to amputate it and she refused. She is still with us today and has lived to bury her all her 5 siblings. Mind you my aunt is of humble background and lives deep mashambani. No cancer experts were involved.
So which ever way your sister decides to take, just encourage her as one can see there are chances of fighting off this scourge.
-
Pole Pundit.
As a a fatalist, I have already made peace with myself in case of a diagnosis which unfortunately comes too late around here. I will look for morphine and all sort drugs to manage the pain - no chemo or such procedures - not with preliminary genome research showing it is not working well for nyeuthi.
-
Pole Pundit.
As a a fatalist, I have already made peace with myself in case of a diagnosis which unfortunately comes too late around here. I will look for morphine and all sort drugs to manage the pain - no chemo or such procedures - not with preliminary genome research showing it is not working well for nyeuthi.
Breastfeeding Cancer is curable these days.
-
It is not clear whether it is 'curable' or just cut away the cells through surgery or just goes into remission. As a conspiracy theorist, I feel the medical practitioners could have been celebrating too early given the billions of dollars poured into the research.
For the cases I have seen, it is too draining on self and everybody - The pain, financially, psychologically and physically. If one is over 50, for now my take is pain management and just let them go though socially people will shout about neglect.
If it took likes of Steve Jobs, seems technology will have some time catching up with this devastating cells.
Pole Pundit.
Breastfeeding Cancer is curable these days.
-
We spoke with her today.The results will released apparently on Saturday.Her lymph nodes are enlarged, hand swollen and etc.My sister has always been strong.While I was physically not strong, she was a volleyball national champion.You could never outserver her howeve much you tried.She was the school booster, neutralising the spike and setting up the spikers without losing a beat.I will at Moi referral on Thursday to see her.Something wrong is going on in my birthplace. Never felt so vulnerable.
-
We spoke with her today.The results will released apparently on Saturday.Her lymph nodes are enlarged, hand swollen and etc.My sister has always been strong.While I was physically not strong, she was a volleyball national champion.You could never outserver her howeve much you tried.She was the school booster, neutralising the spike and setting up the spikers without losing a beat.I will at Moi referral on Thursday to see her.Something wrong is going on in my birthplace. Never felt so vulnerable.
That totally sucks. Good luck.
-
Pole sana Pundit. Wishing your sister quick recovery.
-
Dear RVP, I'm very sorry to hear about your sister. My prayers are with your sister and your family at what must be a devastating time. Please ensure she eats lots of selenium so brasil nuts, vitamins and minerals. Let me know if there's anything we can do to help.
-
Pole RV Pundit. I am sorry to hear about your sister. Stay strong buddy.
-
Just heard that my sis passed away last night. She had been fine and at home. Damn fucking cancer.
-
Pole Pundit. May her soul rest in peace.
Just heard that my sis passed away last night. She had been fine and at home. Damn fucking cancer.
-
Pole sana Pundit. May your sister rest in peace.
-
Thanks guys. Honestly this is yet to register.
-
This is horrible news Pundit!! Seems like this was discovered very very late. Wish you all the strength and fortitude.
May She Rest In Peace....
Thanks guys. Honestly this is yet to register.
-
Sucks. Totally sucks. It can drive you crazy. Only time will make the pain go away. Nothing else can. Pole Pundit.
-
Thanks boss. So apparently she was taken to hospital after developing chest complication. She had had an operation to remove water in her lungs (pulmonary oedema) - cancer I guess had spread - well - she passed away at 5 am this morning. I really can't describe how I feel - except that am blank, confused and weak. I haven't been able to bring myself to cry. I think about the kids she left - and I think about their sadness - and I feel way better.
Sucks. Totally sucks. It can drive you crazy. Only time will make the pain go away. Nothing else can. Pole Pundit.
-
Thanks boss. So apparently she was taken to hospital after developing chest complication. She had had an operation to remove water in her lungs (pulmonary oedema) - cancer I guess had spread - well - she passed away at 5 am this morning. I really can't describe how I feel - except that am blank, confused and weak. I haven't been able to bring myself to cry. I think about the kids she left - and I think about their sadness - and I feel way better.
Yep, it's definitely crazy for the kids. The most one can do is be there for them. Death has this sickening finality. I have lost a sibling before and will gladly rather be the next one to go than to experience another loss like that.
-
Sorry man, death really humbles and remind us of just how fickle life really is - you stop breathing and you're done.
Yep, it's definitely crazy for the kids. The most one can do is be there for them. Death has this sickening finality. I have lost a sibling before and will gladly rather be the next one to go than to experience another loss like that.
-
Poleni. The crying helps - had a neighbour's wive back in the village collapse, just after preparing the kids for school. when the husband - boda boda guy- came back for breakfast after attending to early rising customers, she had collapsed by the fireside- a heart attack -gone! It really hit me. Quite grateful that with support the man and the kids are coping well. Very hard for the man taking up double roles as he works for fees. Requires all sort of moral and financial support.
-
Every man over 50 should be screened for prostate cancer. Women over 50 breast cancer. If caught early is is curable.
-
Pole sana
-
Oh God, I'm so very sorry to hear. She seemed like such a beautiful soul, an angel. In eternal peace no more suffering.
-
Masalkheri Bwana Mtaalam, kunradhi kwa msiba
Maulana akufaniki na faraja
Baraka ni peo isitofani lake kwetu viumbeve Mola
Haziishi wala kupungua
Kana hata kufifia
Isitoshe hazidongelewi - eti m'barizi wa fulani mkono kuzipungia
Pindi ulo moyo mtandae riziki kwao... peponi tu zapepea
Baraka isitofani!
Na'si Mu'ungu oksechi
-
When it rains it pours.My father got diagnosed with advanced malignant pancreatic cancer somewhere in kericho.I drove with him from Nakuru to Nairobi..apart from yellow eyes, stomach issues, he is fine...Praying (atheist) it's some wrong diagnosis.He had been subscribed some fucking drugs for early Parkinson disease about 3 months ago that started these issues otherwise never had issues all his life..apart from 1970s when the file says he had liver cirrhosis... don't recall my dad ever sick.He is 75 yrs old.
-
When it rains it pours.My father got diagnosed with advanced malignant pancreatic cancer somewhere in kericho.I drove with him from Nakuru to Nairobi..apart from yellow eyes, stomach issues, he is fine..Praying (atheist) it's some wrong diagnosis.He had been subscribed some fucking drugs for early Parkinson disease about 3 months ago that started this issues otherwise never had issues all his life..apart from 70s when the file says he had liver cirrhosis... don't recall my dad ever sick.He is 75 yrs old.
Sorry to hear this. May be the drugs. Check if the drugs have been banned elsewhere. Some of these drugs require blood tests to constantly monitor side effects
-
When it rains it pours.My father got diagnosed with advanced malignant pancreatic cancer somewhere in kericho.I drove with him from Nakuru to Nairobi..apart from yellow eyes, stomach issues, he is fine...Praying (atheist) it's some wrong diagnosis.He had been subscribed some fucking drugs for early Parkinson disease about 3 months ago that started these issues otherwise never had issues all his life..apart from 1970s when the file says he had liver cirrhosis... don't recall my dad ever sick.He is 75 yrs old.
Looks like it’s turning into a forgettable year. I hope they are wrong.
-
confirmed. Possibly stage 2B or 3.
-
RVP, what is going on? I have serious concerns this sounds like a curse. I will pray for you and your loved ones.
-
Pole sana Pundit, may you have the strength to go thru this time and may she rest in peace
-
Actually stage 4A.
-
Sorry pundit it seems when bad things happen they do in a series.
-
My father lights out just happened. Pretty horrible days.
-
He has rested. There is no good outcome with cancer at that stage.
-
Pole. Stay strong. I know he meant the world to you.
-
Pole sana bro. Its not easy losing a parent at any age or time but you will pull through with the benefit of time.
-
Sorry to hear that Pundit.
Yellow eyes and stomach issues is not fine. Something going on with the liver.
Parkinson's is not an African disease yet, but he may be one of the first. Does he have body tremors yet?
-
Parkinson's is not an African disease yet, but he may be one of the first. Does he have body tremors yet?
GS,
He passed on.
So sorry to hear that. I thought you recently lost a sister to breast cancer...
Too much to bear when everyone around you is not well.
-
My uncle had parkinsons for 21 years.
-
Sorry for your loss pundit. From what I have seen in Kenya most of the time there is a case of either misdiagnosis or lack thereof. I lost two uncles to cancer in about 2 years one from liver cancer and the second from bone cancer. The one from liver cancer had been told several times he had everything from typhoid to ulcers only for him st Marys to confirm it was cancer when he had less than 3 months to go. The second one I was more involved. I came to Kenya in mid 2016 and my aunt told me they were at the hospital because my uncles leg was giving him trouble. He had this lump on his thigh that he thought was from some injury but it got worse making him have to start using a cane to walk. That week he got admitted at Kenyatta hospital private wing and after about another week they discharged him after a minor surgery but decided to test for cancer. Just before I left the answer came back that it might be cancer. In September of 2016 I went back again and by then he was home on a wheel chair but looking fine. The family had decided we take him to India. When I left I asked to have his scans plus any other tests done on him. I have this Oncologist at John Hopkins I had met years before on a business trip in Houston , a Ugandan called Dr Kigundu so I decided to seek his opinion. I send him all the stuff I had and the news were really bad. My uncle already had state 4 bone cancer and it had already spread to his lungs. He advised against taking him to India because as he said he wouldnt last more than 6 months. I only spoke to my other uncle and told him to find a way of telling the family without scaring them away. The doctor even offered to prescribe some medication to help with the pain. I went back again in December and spend some time with my uncle and his family.I came back here in January and in two weeks my uncle started coughing blood. He was taken to the coptic center and in a week he was gone just like my friend has said. Remember all this time my uncles had been going to hospital and they were told nothing was that serious. As somebody said earlier always get screened especially now that you have had two family members die from cancer. In the US they are always inquisitive if you have a family history in any disease. Unfortunately not so much back there. Take heart
-
My uncle had parkinsons for 21 years.
Liar.
-
Sorry for your loss pundit. From what I have seen in Kenya most of the time there is a case of either misdiagnosis or lack thereof. I lost two uncles to cancer in about 2 years one from liver cancer and the second from bone cancer. The one from liver cancer had been told several times he had everything from typhoid to ulcers only for him st Marys to confirm it was cancer when he had less than 3 months to go. The second one I was more involved. I came to Kenya in mid 2016 and my aunt told me they were at the hospital because my uncles leg was giving him trouble. He had this lump on his thigh that he thought was from some injury but it got worse making him have to start using a cane to walk. That week he got admitted at Kenyatta hospital private wing and after about another week they discharged him after a minor surgery but decided to test for cancer. Just before I left the answer came back that it might be cancer. In September of 2016 I went back again and by then he was home on a wheel chair but looking fine. The family had decided we take him to India. When I left I asked to have his scans plus any other tests done on him. I have this Oncologist at John Hopkins I had met years before on a business trip in Houston , a Ugandan called Dr Kigundu so I decided to seek his opinion. I send him all the stuff I had and the news were really bad. My uncle already had state 4 bone cancer and it had already spread to his lungs. He advised against taking him to India because as he said he wouldnt last more than 6 months. I only spoke to my other uncle and told him to find a way of telling the family without scaring them away. The doctor even offered to prescribe some medication to help with the pain. I went back again in December and spend some time with my uncle and his family.I came back here in January and in two weeks my uncle started coughing blood. He was taken to the coptic center and in a week he was gone just like my friend has said. Remember all this time my uncles had been going to hospital and they were told nothing was that serious. As somebody said earlier always get screened especially now that you have had two family members die from cancer. In the US they are always inquisitive if you have a family history in any disease. Unfortunately not so much back there. Take heart
Very true. A family friend died recently from colon cancer. After being treated for imaginary ailments for over a year at RV General Hospital in Nax. At Mater Hospital she barely lasted a month - too late. She was early 60s.
-
Pole sana RV. How are the funeral arrangements with covid-19 hurdles?
-
Pole sana Pundit.....
Wishing you strength and fortitude during this very low period.
May He Rest in Peace....
-
You'll be surprised how horrible some doctors are. They don't really take time to do a little history and do a proper diagnosis. So be educated and ask lots of questions. Cancer is an now epidemic in Kenya due to our recent lifestyle changes. All kind of cancer. For men its mostly prostate after 50yrs. Women its breast cancer.
-
Thanks, everyone. My dad meant the world to me but I had six months to grieve before it happened. He was more than a dad - more a friend and someone I truly admired coz he was near a complete a person - big brains, big heart, big mouth (orator), big smile, big laughter, fast legs (at the 70s he could still outrun I bet even me), strong arms -- many accused my father for being a laibon or orkoiyot because they just couldn't figure out any weakness. Kalenjin have that kind of thinking - when you are exceptional - . They think you're using supernatural powers - others said he was a witch and many came to seek forgiveness for their sick relatives who had to cross my father path - he could out-think you, out-basically anything, including beating you to a bulb. Of course, my father was none of those things - he just the most hardworking man I know blessed with huge brains. He was my dad and drinking buddy since I was in first year - the first tusker I drunk he bought me at Parklands :) - and when I went back to campus - my friends thought my dad was crazy. We laid him to rest with all the corona restrictions.
-
Pole sana
-
Pole sana Punda. Losing a parent is one of the hardest thing one will go through. Fortunately you have very good memories of him this was a well spent life with him. We will all die make the most you can from being with loved ones.
-
Pole resident pundit. To higher dimensions, laibon.