Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: KenyanPlato on August 30, 2021, 02:57:06 PM

Title: Kenya is a disappointing place
Post by: KenyanPlato on August 30, 2021, 02:57:06 PM
 I tell you that place is a heartache. Every week like clockwise I get real sad news about death and misery. How can a country be this miserable for her citizens. Yaani you remember I told you I am helping women set up micro businesses. The one that i started helping is doing very well  then all at sudden her daughter gets ill. A 4 year old baby and like that she dies within 4 days. Cause of death, head injury. She fell at the daycare while out playing it was a small fall but she must hit her head and started bleeding internally. She is taken to KU and the fucking doctors just treated it just as nose bleeding and by the time she is taken there 3 days later it is too late. Fuck poverty. I am heart broken. I am so sad I can't stop being sad.

Poverty makes doctor not care enough to do a through checkup. Yaani how you get presented with headache and nosebleeding and bloodshot eyes and you do not investigate for possible head trauma or internal bleeding. How how? Such it is that a poor mother can not win in the fucking hell hole of a country
Title: Re: Kenya is a disappointing place
Post by: Georgesoros on August 30, 2021, 03:29:09 PM
That is a very sad story. Imagine if you visit the 20million who live below the poverty line the story is the same.
SADDEST thing is professionals are not really professionals. They are trained killers. Even a 4yr old can diagnose and treat better than some of those public doctors.
Dont give up!!
Post by: KenyanPlato on August 30, 2021, 03:41:59 PM
That is a very sad story. Imagine if you visit the 20million who live below the poverty line the story is the same.
SADDEST thing is professionals are not really professionals. They are trained killers. Even a 4yr old can diagnose and treat better than some of those public doctors.
Dont give up!!

Thanks pal. After that the mother and her family are now in debt in tune of over 80k

Man kenya Healthcare is shit. Right now I am in court with a quack that almost killed my nephew. Administered a drug without proper evaluation and the drug is not even approved to be used on kids or to be used in kenya. Had to spend a fortune in mp shah to reverse the effects of that drug. I have dcio Pangani thinking he can play games with me. I will get him fired in due time. I went to medical board and found out the quack was not licensed and was a former nurse that was fired and decided open clinics all over nairobi masquerading as a medical doctor.
Post by: RV Pundit on August 30, 2021, 03:50:03 PM
Very sad. Doctors will first ask for the cover. if it's no cover or NHIF. They will let the baby die...because head injury ICU cost would be too much. I saw it with my dad - the first thing is to asses - how poor or rich - then proceed with treatment or give you panadol...

This is why we need to fix healthcare...because it keep poor in perpetual poverty cycle.

We need to do away with cash payment of healthcare - everyone should be insured.

I tell you that place is a heartache. Every week like clockwise I get real sad news about death and misery. How can a country be this miserable for her citizens. Yaani you remember I told you I am helping women set up micro businesses. The one that i started helping is doing very well  then all at sudden her daughter gets ill. A 4 year old baby and like that she dies within 4 days. Cause of death, head injury. She fell at the daycare while out playing it was a small fall but she must hit her head and started bleeding internally. She is taken to KU and the fucking doctors just treated it just as nose bleeding and by the time she is taken there 3 days later it is too late. Fuck poverty. I am heart broken. I am so sad I can't stop being sad.

Poverty makes doctor not care enough to do a through checkup. Yaani how you get presented with headache and nosebleeding and bloodshot eyes and you do not investigate for possible head trauma or internal bleeding. How how? Such it is that a poor mother can not win in the fucking hell hole of a country

Post by: KenyanPlato on August 30, 2021, 03:52:24 PM
One laywer told me that 80% doctors in nairobi are quacks
Post by: KenyanPlato on August 30, 2021, 03:54:33 PM
We need proper socialism in Kenya. A deep socialism to take care of our people and move them out of abject poverty. Capitalism won't do it and can't do it
Post by: RV Pundit on August 30, 2021, 03:54:57 PM
No. They are NOT. To become a doctor at UON or etc is no joke. Those in kenyatta and such places are overworked - but they still do a good job. It's about money. Poor woman with kid with head injury. They will let the baby die.This they do daily. They know by time they recommend even MRIS and all that...you cannot afford them. The tests alone may run to 50-100k. Poor woman cannot even raise fare back home.

Kenya doctors on a daily basis decide who dies and live - based almost entirely on your pocket - or even your appearance. If you do not have good insurance....nhif sijui...or worse even no NHIF...they will send you home with panadol...and hope you survive miracously.

Post by: KenyanPlato on August 30, 2021, 04:01:34 PM
No. They are NOT. To become a doctor at UON or etc is no joke. Those in kenyatta and such places are overworked - but they still do a good job. It's about money. Poor woman with kid with head injury. They will let the baby die.This they do daily. They know by time they recommend even MRIS and all that...you cannot afford them. The tests alone may run to 50-100k. Poor woman cannot even raise fare back home.

Kenya doctors on a daily basis decide who dies and live - based almost entirely on your pocket - or even your appearance. If you do not have good insurance....nhif sijui...or worse even no NHIF...they will send you home with panadol...and hope you survive miracously.

I am saying those with clinics claiming to doctors but have no credentials. The medical board is useless
Post by: RV Pundit on August 30, 2021, 04:04:29 PM
Well, that is true, diploma in clinal medicine from MTC need to be banned. Someone should either be a nurse or a doctor. The Diploma in Clinical Medicine - are the one responsible as "doctors" in most clinic and in gov hospitals. Most REAL doctors complain those are guys responsible for most of wrong diagnosis because they have half-backed education. They are neither nurses or doctors.

You only find that Diploma in Clinical Medicine I bet in kenya. Seem mostly in East Africa and few countries do you find that Diploma in Clinical Medicine....suppose to provide a gap to fill in if there are not enough doctors...but it's better to just train more doctors...and have the rest as nurses.

I am saying those with clinics claiming to doctors but have no credentials. The medical board is useless
Post by: KenyanPlato on August 30, 2021, 04:14:11 PM
This particular guy has 10 clinics on thika road corridor with no nursing license or doctor credentials. He is working with a cartel of pharmacists and others to stay open
Post by: RV Pundit on August 30, 2021, 04:18:05 PM
Normally the medical board act on such - most of them - buy or rent credentials of a real doctor and pharmacist - and hang them on the wall. In kenya almost every pharmacist has sold theirs to someone to start a chemist shop with - going rate as high as 500k per year.

So you can bet he has the paperwork. There is online or phone app to check if they are registered. They would have registered by renting someone credentials.

This particular guy has 10 clinics on thika road corridor with no nursing license or doctor credentials. He is working with a cartel of pharmacists and others to stay open
Post by: Arcadian_Dreamer on August 30, 2021, 05:18:14 PM
Very sad. Doctors will first ask for the cover. if it's no cover or NHIF. They will let the baby die...because head injury ICU cost would be too much. I saw it with my dad - the first thing is to asses - how poor or rich - then proceed with treatment or give you panadol...

This is why we need to fix healthcare...because it keep poor in perpetual poverty cycle.

We need to do away with cash payment of healthcare - everyone should be insured.

Here in Stato, it is the opposite, those who pay by cash are preferred by health providers, I regularly get 5% to 10% discount because I pay for routine visits with cash. I don't pay for dental services with insurance it is overpriced and covers very little even the best plans - learned this the hard way. Insurance at least public version is seen as not paying enough and not on time. Insurance is not a panacea my fren, it will lead to inflation of health care prices. There is a whole literature out there if you are intellectually curious. That is why the US has the highest health care price in the world, it is gobbling up more and more percentage of their GDP every year. Insurance should be reserved for truly catastrophic unforeseen cases like say you get hit by a car. This has been the premise of insurance when it was created, it was not meant for everyday groceries.

KP, welcome to the nihilist worldview pal.

Life is cruel and meaningless, all efforts to ameliorate it would come to naught.

Those who get it will be at peace.

Post by: KenyanPlato on August 30, 2021, 05:20:06 PM
Normally the medical board act on such - most of them - buy or rent credentials of a real doctor and pharmacist - and hang them on the wall. In kenya almost every pharmacist has sold theirs to someone to start a chemist shop with - going rate as high as 500k per year.

So you can bet he has the paperwork. There is online or phone app to check if they are registered. They would have registered by renting someone credentials.

He has no paperwork not even a single license on the wall
Post by: RV Pundit on August 30, 2021, 05:31:52 PM
Then have him reported - Medical board are in upperhill.
Post by: RV Pundit on August 30, 2021, 05:33:16 PM
But in Europe and Asia it's working. US lack of primary compulsory basic insurance cover is the problem. Medicaid should be for everyone. Then commercial component would be small..

Here in Stato, it is the opposite, those who pay by cash are preferred by health providers, I regularly get 5% to 10% discount because I pay for routine visits with cash. I don't pay for dental services with insurance it is overpriced and covers very little even the best plans - learned this the hard way. Insurance at least public version is seen as not paying enough and not on time. Insurance is not a panacea my fren, it will lead to inflation of health care prices. There is a whole literature out there if you are intellectually curious. That is why the US has the highest health care price in the world, it is gobbling up more and more percentage of their GDP every year. Insurance should be reserved for truly catastrophic unforeseen cases like say you get hit by a car. This has been the premise of insurance when it was created, it was not meant for everyday groceries.

KP, welcome to the nihilist worldview pal.

Life is cruel and meaningless, all efforts to ameliorate it would come to naught.

Those who get it will be at peace.

Post by: KenyanPlato on August 30, 2021, 05:41:30 PM
Then have him reported - Medical board are in upperhill.
Already did got him arrested. Dcio..is playing with the case and I will get his nuts squeezed
Post by: RV Pundit on August 30, 2021, 05:47:54 PM
Nice. Such quacks need to be in prison. Get Medical Board involved. Otherwise the Police will get bribed. But with medical board...he is kaput.

Like that Mugo Wa Wairimu

https://twitter.com/kmpdcofficial?lang=en

Already did got him arrested. Dcio..is playing with the case and I will get his nuts squeezed
Post by: Georgesoros on August 30, 2021, 06:28:48 PM
Problem in Kenya is nobody enforces or checks on anything to ensure it is safe. The county that gave them license to operate did not check credentials? The bank that gave the loan did no background check?
Post by: KenyanPlato on August 30, 2021, 07:10:47 PM
Nice. Such quacks need to be in prison. Get Medical Board involved. Otherwise the Police will get bribed. But with medical board...he is kaput.

Like that Mugo Wa Wairimu

https://twitter.com/kmpdcofficial?lang=en

Medical board has isued all the paperwork necessary. They were very cooperative
Dcio ndio ako na ujinga
Post by: RV Pundit on August 30, 2021, 07:15:58 PM
Those are very corrupt. You may need to pull strings if you know their bosses. Otherwise for them it's the start of bidding war btw you and the other guy. This case for them is an opportunity to shake serious money from that clinic.

Involve the media;

But they will definitely charge him or her - then along the way - drop the case or finish the evidence - once the guy has paid good money

If medical board were one pursuing it - then there might be some luck

Medical board has isued all the paperwork necessary. They were very cooperative
Dcio ndio ako na ujinga
Post by: KenyanPlato on August 30, 2021, 07:59:36 PM
I will deal with the bugger. Kenya media is compromised
Post by: Georgesoros on August 30, 2021, 08:03:15 PM

Poverty is not the problem, rather lack of govt policies to ensure that even the poorest have something to show for in a land of billionaires. How come no politician has complained that health care has become too expensive??? Inflation has deflated incomes of the middle class who are the bread basket of many. They can no longer afford to be alive. Any little illness costs 20k. that is the average income of Kenyans, so they depend on GOFUNDME... Is this good sustainable policy???
Post by: Fairandbalanced on August 30, 2021, 09:45:28 PM
Pole sana Njamba. I have stated here before that the Kenyan healthcare system is nothing but a death mill. I have had several relatives over the years  go through the mill, it’s all about money without empathy or care for the patient. My father in law fell ill last year, we took him to the so called good private hospitals in Kenya, my wife who is a healthcare profesional was listening to the so called doctors and wanting to blow their head off, she was literally treating her father from here and telling them what to do, the guy eventually recovered but my wife said that if the family had followed the treatment recommended by these doctors, he would be dead and buried. These doctors are too busy colluding with cartels to care about the patients. I once took my family on vacation to Mombasa, when we came back to Nairobi, we wanted to get tested for Malaria as a precaution. We went to this establishment in Westlands, looks very professional, Kenyans working there but owned by an Indian lady. As we were waiting, these idiotic Kenyans just sat there, no hurry, talking on their phones etc I thought it was in and out thing, 45 minutes later the Indian lady walked in, she overheard my kids accents, came over and inquired long we had been sitting there. She repeatedly apologized but also screamed at this Kenyans so bad that I felt sorry for them. It happens she schooled in New York and has to deal with this lack of urgency and empathy from Kenyans all the time. If you have no money in Kenya, you survive only through the grace of God. It’s also amazing how resilient Kenyans are, they are conned at schools, hospitals, grocery stores, money stolen by the elite yet they keep chugging along with astronomical cost of living brought on by this corruption.
Post by: RV Pundit on August 30, 2021, 09:48:42 PM
When an average kenyan has nothing to compare with; how will they know it's not normal.
Pole sana Njamba. I have stated here before that the Kenyan healthcare system is nothing but a death mill. I have had several relatives over the years  go through the mill, it’s all about money without empathy or care for the patient. My father in law fell ill last year, we took him to the so called good private hospitals in Kenya, my wife who is a healthcare profesional was listening to the so called doctors and wanting to blow their head off, she was literally treating her father from here and telling them what to do, the guy eventually recovered but my wife said that if the family had followed the treatment recommended by these doctors, he would be dead and buried. These doctors are too busy colluding with cartels to care about the patients. I once took my family on vacation to Mombasa, when we came back to Nairobi, we wanted to get tested for Malaria as a precaution. We went to this establishment in Westlands, looks very professional, Kenyans working there but owned by an Indian lady. As we were waiting, these idiotic Kenyans just sat there, no hurry, talking on their phones etc I thought it was in and out thing, 45 minutes later the Indian lady walked in, she overheard my kids accents, came over and inquired long we had been sitting there. She repeatedly apologized but also screamed at this Kenyans so bad that I felt sorry for them. It happens she schooled in New York and has to deal with this lack of urgency and empathy from Kenyans all the time. If you have no money in Kenya, you survive only through the grace of God. It’s also amazing how resilient Kenyans are, they are conned at schools, hospitals, grocery stores, money stolen by the elite yet they keep chugging along with astronomical cost of living brought on by this corruption.
Post by: patel on August 31, 2021, 12:22:57 AM
Pole Njamba and the bereaved family. When I meet Kenyans in the states I tell them build your life here,  bring as many relatives and friends as you can. Forget about kenya...there is nothing there...gangster paradise.

Before last election we were here when uhuru mortgaged health care to some equipment manufacturer. He stole counties Healthcare funds now counties have to do with barebones....with covid, it will only get worst.
Post by: mankind on August 31, 2021, 12:50:11 AM

Pole boss.  That place is a  hell hole I tell you.  As RV pointed out doctor's and mostly everyone else asses you based on how you look and then decide what services to offer.  My sister broke her leg near Mater hospital in South B trying to get away from a matatu and fell on a ditch dug by road crews. She was taken to Mater hospital and given pain killers and left sitting for hours until dawn East coast time here when I woke up and called the Human Resources boss a lady we went to college together in Michigan...then they pretend to be so nice to her.  She almost lost her leg. A lady friend of mine sister was left to die after bleeding out after a Caeserean Section at Kijabe hospital because the guy with the keys to the blood bank took them home and they couldn't reach him. What I learnt about Kenya is the police won't help much because they get bribed.  Get a good lawyer and sue the idiot.  That is the only thing that works.  I  wait for the bribes to be exchanged then go to court and make the idiots pay twice after they think they have bribed their way out.  Just  make sure you collect and keep the evidence because believe me the police make almost everything disappear after they get bribed.  Get pictures, documents, videos etc of anything you think is evidence.  A guy once hit my car while drunk and believe me the police took both him and my driver to the station but the drunk guy didn't spend more than a few minutes before he was sneaked out.  I  tried reasoning with the owner of the car that we could just agree he fix my car only to learn that he knew the base commander and was playing games.  I  sued him in court only to learn that there was no record at the police station of the accident.  Luckily I had everything in evidence.  It cost about 150k in kenyan shillings to fix the car but I sued the idiot for half a million.  It took a year but the fucker paid it.  He didn't even have insurance.  That is Kenya for you.  A hopeless dungeon for real.
Post by: RV Pundit on August 31, 2021, 02:11:00 AM
Two things that work in Kenya. Have money and have very good social network - especially family. Those are people who will save you - when you dont have money. Either have money or people on speed dial who have money. Without money you wont get anything done.

I consider lawyers the worst. I will never sue anybody in kenya. The lawyers will eat all your money and come and sell your property. AVOID lawyers. Settle things through Arbitration whenever possible.

I only go to lawyers to get threatening letters - and you pay 2 or 3k - for them to draft a letter but never go beyond that - never file a case - the kenya corrupt lawyers will give you 10M bill - and next time you're being auctioned.

For me lawyers are the worst - they can decide to bill you anything, cops are just 2nd worse, and rest of proffesional, have within your social network, people who can help you, a friendly doctor you can call, and they can advise truthly - for example they will tell you if you dont have say insurance - then you need like 0.5M cash within a week - otherwise hospital doctors wont treat you - they will pretend not to know what is ailing you.

Pole boss.  That place is a  hell hole I tell you.  As RV pointed out doctor's and mostly everyone else asses you based on how you look and then decide what services to offer.  My sister broke her leg near Mater hospital in South B trying to get away from a matatu and fell on a ditch dug by road crews. She was taken to Mater hospital and given pain killers and left sitting for hours until dawn East coast time here when I woke up and called the Human Resources boss a lady we went to college together in Michigan...then they pretend to be so nice to her.  She almost lost her leg. A lady friend of mine sister was left to die after bleeding out after a Caeserean Section at Kijabe hospital because the guy with the keys to the blood bank took them home and they couldn't reach him. What I learnt about Kenya is the police won't help much because they get bribed.  Get a good lawyer and sue the idiot.  That is the only thing that works.  I  wait for the bribes to be exchanged then go to court and make the idiots pay twice after they think they have bribed their way out.  Just  make sure you collect and keep the evidence because believe me the police make almost everything disappear after they get bribed.  Get pictures, documents, videos etc of anything you think is evidence.  A guy once hit my car while drunk and believe me the police took both him and my driver to the station but the drunk guy didn't spend more than a few minutes before he was sneaked out.  I  tried reasoning with the owner of the car that we could just agree he fix my car only to learn that he knew the base commander and was playing games.  I  sued him in court only to learn that there was no record at the police station of the accident.  Luckily I had everything in evidence.  It cost about 150k in kenyan shillings to fix the car but I sued the idiot for half a million.  It took a year but the fucker paid it.  He didn't even have insurance.  That is Kenya for you.  A hopeless dungeon for real.
Post by: Stockguru on August 31, 2021, 02:53:35 AM

Thanks FB. I have been lucky with my dad. He has been under care of Dr Gikonyo since he was in Narobi hospital and he followed him to Karen and so far it has been very good care. However you can only get this kind of care if you have a lot of money to spend on it. The horror stories of our healthcare are so many and a lot of people unfortunately have been victims.
Post by: Stockguru on August 31, 2021, 02:59:21 AM
Pole Njamba and the bereaved family. When I meet Kenyans in the states I tell them build your life here,  bring as many relatives and friends as you can. Forget about kenya...there is nothing there...gangster paradise.

Before last election we were here when uhuru mortgaged health care to some equipment manufacturer. He stole counties Healthcare funds now counties have to do with barebones....with covid, it will only get worst.

This woman works at brookside where she makes 18K and most of it goes to living expenses. Before I helped her get her side hustle started she was always in fuliza position. Kenya is hell. This is mother had to watch her precious baby girl die as couldn't afford care at a better hospital. Kenya is hell. When my parents are gone, I will sell everything and never step in that hell again
Post by: RV Heavy Hitter! on August 31, 2021, 06:27:21 AM
Pole for the stress. Kenya's healthcare system, for the most part, is for profit. Corruption, lack of clear policies, and enforcement from the Government make the situation even dire. Nothing has changed from Moi error to Uhuru error, and I doubt if things will change. To transform healthcare and everything in Kenya, you need to recalibrate millions of minds, attitudes, and consciences. Once you have a clean population on those paradigms, it will be easy to tweak all sectors to function as they should. Average Kenyan is a poor broker, petty liar, and someone looking to make money legally or illegally without thinking through. It doesn't matter where they go; they will replicate the vice at any level society propels them.
A professor, for instance, can dish out grades for a booty, or a doctor can cut shortcuts for a quick shilling. I think to date, millions of Kenyans have died of flimsy errors of misdiagnosis, gross incompetence, and outright murder. On the outright murder front, I genuinely believe some doctors love killing people, especially in Kenyatta Hospital, because once they schedule you for any head-related surgery, you will not make it. I think it is 90/10 based on a mini-assessment my wife did when her nephew died because of simple brain surgery. Please don't agree or let your family members do any surgery, unless in the leg, hands, or non-life-threatening body parts. You do brain, you will head to six feet under guarantee. If you have serious money, folks can get better treatment with an independent, verified doctor with years of track record. Even with that, you will be disappointed from time to time with the scam from the doctor's astonishingly incompetent stuff all the way to the chemist's corrupt ecosystem. In short, Kenya and pain can be used interchangeably! Sadly, most Kenyans don't know, and if they Know, they don't give a damn because brokenness/poverty /corruption/incompetence/lies, and mediocrity is part of everyday life.
Post by: Georgesoros on September 01, 2021, 02:21:41 AM
Pole for the stress. Kenya's healthcare system, for the most part, is for profit. Corruption, lack of clear policies, and enforcement from the Government make the situation even dire. Nothing has changed from Moi error to Uhuru error, and I doubt if things will change. To transform healthcare and everything in Kenya, you need to recalibrate millions of minds, attitudes, and consciences. Once you have a clean population on those paradigms, it will be easy to tweak all sectors to function as they should. Average Kenyan is a poor broker, petty liar, and someone looking to make money legally or illegally without thinking through. It doesn't matter where they go; they will replicate the vice at any level society propels them.
A professor, for instance, can dish out grades for a booty, or a doctor can cut shortcuts for a quick shilling. I think to date, millions of Kenyans have died of flimsy errors of misdiagnosis, gross incompetence, and outright murder. On the outright murder front, I genuinely believe some doctors love killing people, especially in Kenyatta Hospital, because once they schedule you for any head-related surgery, you will not make it. I think it is 90/10 based on a mini-assessment my wife did when her nephew died because of simple brain surgery. Please don't agree or let your family members do any surgery, unless in the leg, hands, or non-life-threatening body parts. You do brain, you will head to six feet under guarantee. If you have serious money, folks can get better treatment with an independent, verified doctor with years of track record. Even with that, you will be disappointed from time to time with the scam from the doctor's astonishingly incompetent stuff all the way to the chemist's corrupt ecosystem. In short, Kenya and pain can be used interchangeably! Sadly, most Kenyans don't know, and if they Know, they don't give a damn because brokenness/poverty /corruption/incompetence/lies, and mediocrity is part of everyday life.

U hit it right on the dot.