NHIF is still better than counties run hospital. The way I see - we are already at 9M out of 12M households. We need a small push to ensure everyone has NHIF. That way everyone has primary health insurance. The middle class can add more insurance options.
Health sector is a mess. Gov run hospital a mess. Counties run hospital a mess. I rather we arm everyone with NHIF so people can go to private and mission hospitals.
Rather than spending billions in medical equipment and other corrupt schemes - spend 15B to ensure the 3m kenyans who don't have NHIF have it. But it has to be done in such a way that those currently paying don't go for free.
So for example all those 1.2M household in various safety nets - orphans, old, disable - should be given NHIF.
That leave us with 1.8M poor people. I know for example most tea farmers have NHIF - it easy to for example use KTDA with 0.5M farmers to give everyone NHIF through it - mandatory deduction.
The poor need to be organized - and Ruto hustler nation is good start - ensure all bodaboda, matatus, etc are in Sacco - and it would be easy to enforce say NHIF for everyone.
What happens to public hospital - they will improve - because public will choose where they go for treatment - NHIF you select hospitals that you like.
Have they been given the chance? Health sector is devolved on paper, but MoH run from Nairobi still has more personel and bigger budget than the budget for health in all counties put together. Counties even have problems paying their health workers due to cash constrains caused by delayed payments from the Treasury.
A centralised health system has and will never worked. The issue here is people running the system are not interested in devolution. That is why the biggest financial scandals that have come to light mainly emerge from the centralised health sector MoH or KEMSA as good examples.
As long as corruption is tolerated and encouraged by our top leaders, anything even noble like NHiF will always been seen very sceptical by the general population.