Author Topic: BBI splits Ruto camp  (Read 7534 times)

BBI splits Ruto camp
« on: November 27, 2020, 07:53:10 PM »
Confusion rocks Ruto camp as sticking points in BBI dropped
Friday, November 27, 2020

Deputy President William Ruto.

Confusion has rocked Deputy President William Ruto’s camp after some proposals it had opposed were dropped by the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) team, sending the DP’s side scrambling to clothe the resistance in new narratives.

While the DP’s allies have been outspoken when contacted for comment on the BBI’s proposed constitutional reforms, yesterday, some of the vocal lawmakers interviewed were unusually reluctant to discuss their next course of action and those who spoke appeared to send mixed signals.

But there are those who still maintain their opposition, albeit introducing regional grievances.

The lack of a clear direct line of attack that the camp had sustained in the days leading up to the release of the draft constitutional amendment Bill on Wednesday was apparent, suggesting that the team had not yet fashioned a common response to the latest developments.

Yesterday, Jubilee Deputy Secretary-General Caleb Kositany, MP’s Kimani Ichung’wah (Kikuyu), Ndindi Nyoro (Kiharu), Alice Wahome (Kandara), Nelson Koech (Belgut) and Daniel Rono (Keiyo South) maintained an unfamiliar silence when reached by the Nation on their next cause of action now that the signature collection exercise has kicked off.

https://nation.africa/kenya/news/politics/confusion-rocks-ruto-camp-as-sticking-points-in-bbi-dropped-3211346

Re: BBI splits Ruto camp
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2020, 08:35:52 PM »

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2020, 08:48:32 PM »
Ruto should not support BBI. My own internet research - it very unpopular.

« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2020, 09:16:11 PM »
Malava MP Injendi makes U-turn to support BBI

•Malulu, who was initially opposed to the BBI, addressed the press at the CDF office in Malava on Friday, declaring his full support to the process in the company of all the members of county assembly from Malava constituency.

•The MP who was elected on a Jubilee ticket is a supporter of Deputy President William Ruto.

https://www.the-star.co.ke/counties/western/2020-11-27-malava-mp-injendi-makes-u-turn-to-support-bbi/

« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2020, 09:18:43 PM »
Ruto should not support BBI. My own internet research - it very unpopular.

Mobutu need to calculate very carefully. If he joins he loses momentum to Raila. He opposes he needs strong narrative to beat all the carrots. Only strong point he has now is bloated wage bill from women MPs. Staying quiet is worse as the flock scatter in all directions.

« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2020, 09:22:39 PM »
First it won't pass because it time barred. If he oppose - he can become the issue and rallying call - if he support - he risk losing popular support. The best on this is to ignore it -and get back to hustler movement.

Now I am not sure what they spoke with Uhuru for 3hours - but it appears he need to show Uhuru some goodwill for making those changes.

Mobutu need to calculate very carefully. If he joins he loses momentum to Raila. He opposes he needs strong narrative to beat all the carrots. Only strong point he has now is bloated wage bill from women MPs. Staying quiet is worse as the flock scatter in all directions.

« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2020, 09:25:05 PM »
Robina this is the epitome of desperation.
Youve really failed to study Kenyan politicians.

So just to ask you a question , you still think BBI is Railas 2022 manifesto and Ruto is ready to support  Raila.
Make up your mind.

« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2020, 09:53:57 PM »

So just to ask you a question , you still think BBI is Railas 2022 manifesto and Ruto is ready to support  Raila.
Make up your mind.

Mobutu is presently WATERMELON - hasn't made up his mind. Pundit thinks this is good but i don't agree. Watermelon like Mdvds and Kalonzo are very unpopular outside their immediate clan. When did I say Mobutu should/is backing Raila?

Yes BBI is Raila Manifesto: as in it is tailored as a suit to mask his old arse behind the carrots. Gema must decide if they want more MPs and revenues or Mobutu. Youths (aka hustlers) the same. That's why it is laughable to say Raila was shortchanged- how now? The last-minute changes were sneaked in to deny Mobutu a panya route to yes. Going to yes must be a sort of "coming out of the closet" - akin to the devil rejoining Jesus after consuming the spirit.

No it is not time-barred. Pundit has some baseless hope about Omtata or MCA running to court. But he fails to point out the illegalities. 2 years is a while and it will be bundled with the ballots as was the plan all along. Bottomline Mobutu has no room to attack Raila without raining on the BBI armor.

About my "fail to study" politics - well it next to football for me. Right below the new recipe i will try after work. I am still better than Noway the katikati analyst. :) Have you found your compass in Msambweni yet? 16th Dec you will be here with deep insights as usual.

« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2020, 09:56:28 PM »
Robina even without the courts it bound to go into 2022 and become another wet dream..timelines are impossible .Already it appears signature collection is going to be problematic as allegations of fraud swirl...okoa Kenya like where they took mpesa agent books and faked it.This will be challenged in court and at IEBC.IEBC need to verify and the process will be controversial.Remember civil societies are opposed to this.Judiciary definitely don't like being policed..don't think they will sit by.

« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2020, 10:01:12 PM »
Robina even without the courts it bound to go into 2022 and become another wet dream..timelines are impossible

There is 2 years to 2022 - that enough time. There will be 7 ballots: PORK/governor/2 senators/MP/MCA/ BBI. Raila Yes vs No Mobutu. Donge?

« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2020, 10:01:17 PM »
Msawbweni odm look likely to lose as kwale county gov oppose Boga as joho intrusion.Ruto should leave it to Mvurya to repulse joho.The same way kilifi governor has demarcated his zone.Joho without any future plan is kaput

« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2020, 10:04:03 PM »
Robina even without the courts it bound to go into 2022 and become another wet dream..timelines are impossible

There is 2 years to 2022 - that enough time. There will be 7 ballots: PORK/governor/2 senators/MP/MCA/ BBI. Raila Yes vs No Mobutu. Donge?
That okay so we can kill it with Raila.Gema will decide 50 50 or this one where everyone is on the table..I believe they will prefer 50 50 than this BBI with 600 mps, 70 executive and whole joke where everyoneis in Gov payroll.BBI is unpopular it's only uhuru who is helping it move forward to contain jakom

« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2020, 10:26:33 PM »

Make up your mind.

Mobutu is presently WATERMELON - hasn't made up his mind. Pundit thinks this is good but i don't agree. Watermelon like Mdvds and Kalonzo are very unpopular outside their immediate clan. When did I say Mobutu should/is backing Raila?

Yes BBI is Raila Manifesto: as in it is tailored as a suit to mask his old arse behind the carrots. Gema must decide if they want more MPs and revenues or Mobutu. Youths (aka hustlers) the same. That's why it is laughable to say Raila was shortchanged- how now? The last-minute changes were sneaked in to deny Mobutu a panya route to yes. Going to yes must be a sort of "coming out of the closet" - akin to the devil rejoining Jesus after consuming the spirit.

No it is not time-barred. Pundit has some baseless hope about Omtata or MCA running to court. But he fails to point out the illegalities. 2 years is a while and it will be bundled with the ballots as was the plan all along. Bottomline Mobutu has no room to attack Raila without raining on the BBI armor.

About my "fail to study" politics - well it next to football for me. Right below the new recipe i will try after work. I am still better than Noway the katikati analyst. :) Have you found your compass in Msambweni yet? 16th Dec you will be here with deep insights as usual.

Robina , you need to go back to the 90s when Moi tailor made Constituencies in GEMA to win them and it still failed , heck he even went ahead and created Thika and Maragaua districts in the hope of winning GEMA still it failed, even worse he endorsed one of their own by the name of Uhuru to stand as KANU presidential candidate in 2002 and still couldnt woo them.
See GEMA mental state is such that when they declare one an enemy its until the end of times ask Jaramogi ask Moi.
Secondly GEMA have no loyalty like to a particular Kingpin unlike Luo Nyanza and Odinga, in 92 it was Matiba , in 2007 it was Kibaki and in 2013 it was Uhuru. Simply because in 92 Matiba had the balls to defy Moi , in 2007 it was against Raila who had made them Kabila adui and in 2013 still they didnt want anything to do with Raila, pray tell me why you think 2022 will change when the common factor in last 3 elections will still be a player.

Well atleast you say for you politics is like football . A good justification why you always get it wrong. Which EPL team do you support ?

« Reply #13 on: November 28, 2020, 01:59:25 AM »
Joho - Kingi - Mvurya rivalries are big yes. Kingi is MIA... he sulks over Raila playing favorites with Joho. If BBI pass it would explode - because of regional kingpin title. Counties reduce it since everyone has their small territory. Mvurya is bigshot but he has no solid forward proposal ala Joho posturing. Joho is good campainer positioning as future DPM once 3rd tier premier poofed. Expect most of these guys to run as MP.

Mobutu biggest problem is lack of appealing alternative to BBI. Likes of pwani don't have hope of SH soon - short of pure majimbo they see 35% as better deal.

Msawbweni odm look likely to lose as kwale county gov oppose Boga as joho intrusion.Ruto should leave it to Mvurya to repulse joho.The same way kilifi governor has demarcated his zone.Joho without any future plan is kaput

« Reply #14 on: November 28, 2020, 02:13:18 AM »
Mobutu BBI conundrum

Days after missing the launch of signature collection for a constitutional referendum, Deputy President William Ruto emerged yesterday to claim he had scored a major victory for the wananchi.

On Twitter yesterday, Ruto celebrated the inclusion of an amendment to Article 11 of the Constitution to include the grievances raised by pastoralist, agricultural and coastal communities.

He said the clause was introduced after the Bomas of Kenya launch where he stated his grievances with the initial report, but also triggered other anti-BBI groups to raise their voices against the report.

“New article 11A in the BBI Constitution Bill introduced after Bomas will anchor the ordinary people’s Hustler economics of wheelbarrow, boda boda, mama mboga, pastoralists, butchers and guaranteed minimum returns on coffee, tea, korosho, sukari, maize,” Ruto tweeted.

His post yesterday was interpreted as a way of getting himself to support the BBI as well as a champion of the progressive changes to the document.

The reactions to his tweet came fast and furious. Many thought he had betrayed them into supporting the document.

“I said it on Tuesday... Wanjiku will find herself alone, abandoned for political expediency. The million-dollar question in wanjiku’s mind is this... Who is expected to shoulder the ever-growing burden of overrepresentation and creation of multiple corruption avenues?” Njaga Wanjaga responded.

City lawyer Donald Kipkorir tweeted, “For long, TangaTanga were openly hostile to BBI Constitutional Amendment saying it was creating  for Dynasties & increasing the Wage Bill! But they are now clinging on a Clause that supports “Intellectual Property” to say IP is wheelbarrows & Mama Mboga.”

Lawyer Makau Mutua, on the other hand, suggested Ruto was undecided.

“On BBI @WilliamsRuto has become a WATERMELON — a total CHAMELEON. He cannot decide if he supports, or opposes, BBI. Caught between the devil and the deep blue sea,” tweeted Mutua.

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/kenya/article/2001395456/ruto-displays-bbi-big-win

« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2020, 03:00:53 AM »
Mvurya and Kingi don't need ODM. Joho need ODM. Luo-Luhya are key part of Mombasa county. Now Raila has thrown them under the bridge - there is no regional counties - there is no term limit removal - they are just campaigning for BBI - hoping to get maybe DPM.

Now how do they get there - their only hope is to form a coastal party - and try to negotiate from there. But they are not very smart.

Joho - Kingi - Mvurya rivalries are big yes. Kingi is MIA... he sulks over Raila playing favorites with Joho. If BBI pass it would explode - because of regional kingpin title. Counties reduce it since everyone has their small territory. Mvurya is bigshot but he has no solid forward proposal ala Joho posturing. Joho is good campainer positioning as future DPM once 3rd tier premier poofed. Expect most of these guys to run as MP.

Mobutu biggest problem is lack of appealing alternative to BBI. Likes of pwani don't have hope of SH soon - short of pure majimbo they see 35% as better deal.

« Reply #16 on: November 28, 2020, 03:04:32 AM »
Ruto will kill his hustler nation with this BBI nonsense.
Mobutu BBI conundrum

Days after missing the launch of signature collection for a constitutional referendum, Deputy President William Ruto emerged yesterday to claim he had scored a major victory for the wananchi.

On Twitter yesterday, Ruto celebrated the inclusion of an amendment to Article 11 of the Constitution to include the grievances raised by pastoralist, agricultural and coastal communities.

He said the clause was introduced after the Bomas of Kenya launch where he stated his grievances with the initial report, but also triggered other anti-BBI groups to raise their voices against the report.

“New article 11A in the BBI Constitution Bill introduced after Bomas will anchor the ordinary people’s Hustler economics of wheelbarrow, boda boda, mama mboga, pastoralists, butchers and guaranteed minimum returns on coffee, tea, korosho, sukari, maize,” Ruto tweeted.

His post yesterday was interpreted as a way of getting himself to support the BBI as well as a champion of the progressive changes to the document.

The reactions to his tweet came fast and furious. Many thought he had betrayed them into supporting the document.

“I said it on Tuesday... Wanjiku will find herself alone, abandoned for political expediency. The million-dollar question in wanjiku’s mind is this... Who is expected to shoulder the ever-growing burden of overrepresentation and creation of multiple corruption avenues?” Njaga Wanjaga responded.

City lawyer Donald Kipkorir tweeted, “For long, TangaTanga were openly hostile to BBI Constitutional Amendment saying it was creating  for Dynasties & increasing the Wage Bill! But they are now clinging on a Clause that supports “Intellectual Property” to say IP is wheelbarrows & Mama Mboga.”

“On BBI @WilliamsRuto has become a WATERMELON — a total CHAMELEON. He cannot decide if he supports, or opposes, BBI. Caught between the devil and the deep blue sea,” tweeted Mutua.

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/kenya/article/2001395456/ruto-displays-bbi-big-win

« Reply #17 on: November 28, 2020, 02:43:45 PM »
BBI allows them to sneak into parliament as MP without shame - cause they position as DPM or CS. That better than status quo where they must go home. That the trick actually - your idea is that they can vote BBI and later form a party. Nope - it BBI+2022 combo. We will see soon but my bet is BBI 2022 ballot-referendum.

Mvurya and Kingi don't need ODM. Joho need ODM. Luo-Luhya are key part of Mombasa county. Now Raila has thrown them under the bridge - there is no regional counties - there is no term limit removal - they are just campaigning for BBI - hoping to get maybe DPM.

Now how do they get there - their only hope is to form a coastal party - and try to negotiate from there. But they are not very smart.

« Reply #18 on: November 28, 2020, 02:46:19 PM »
You seem not to appreciate his dilemma. It easy for armchair analyst like you to see black-&-white but not Mobutu. Half his crew are yes - go slow on the poor man.

Ruto will kill his hustler nation with this BBI nonsense.
Mobutu BBI conundrum

« Reply #19 on: November 28, 2020, 03:02:59 PM »
I don't see Ruto going Yes when there are contentious issues on it. But it's not the issue. Let BBI crew sell it. Ruto should sell his hustler nation. BBI is unpopular with kenyans.
You seem not to appreciate his dilemma. It easy for armchair analyst like you to see black-&-white but not Mobutu. Half his crew are yes - go slow on the poor man.