Author Topic: Digital matatu in Nairobi  (Read 1937 times)

Digital matatu in Nairobi
« on: August 01, 2019, 04:57:19 PM »
Those in Nairobi, is the commutor sector being disrupted by Uber, Little, etc? Which I think would be a very opportune wakeup call to the unprofessional, chaotic operators.

https://citizentv.co.ke/business/little-cab-premiers-first-e-shuttle-in-nairobi-230311/?amp

Re: Digital matatu in Nairobi
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2019, 06:48:34 PM »
Very nice.Anything to tame and formalize transport sector is welcomed.That is the future.No need to stage.Book you trip and pay.Arrive few minutes before pickup.

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2019, 09:14:21 PM »
RV are online shuttles visible around CBD? Little, Taxify, etc. I know Mavoko is backwater despite SGR but they would be prying Lavington or Runda such routes.

« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2019, 08:07:39 AM »
There is Egyptian swirl (or something like that)- plying Langata to Thika road. They offer shuttle bus that leave on time. They are bit pricey but their buses are clean and spacious.

Anyway I think the transport sector is about to experience the advantages of fintech (MPESA) - and so are many other sectors.

Kenya is about to leapfrog.

RV are online shuttles visible around CBD? Little, Taxify, etc. I know Mavoko is backwater despite SGR but they would be prying Lavington or Runda such routes.

« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2019, 12:36:58 PM »
You mean Kenya is being digitally transformed - which hopefully reduce graft and allow economies of scale as retail & wholesale formalize and middlemen are cut out. Bigger tax base is the immediate benefit. It also very easy for MNCs kina Alibaba, Uber, Amazon, AirBnB to snap a big pie of e-commerce as all sectors are Uberized. Glossaries are available online in Palo Alto. Mama mboga, real estate agents, makanga - these dinosaurs will be redundant.

You can ascertain - as food retail goes online - a few big agribusinesses take over everything from pitch-fork Kalenjin, Gema and all subsistence quarter acre 'farmers'.  Peasantry will die with the rest of the jua kali market.

The demographic dividend is what will cause something akin to a leapfrog - Asian Tiger variety - cause a 121 worker-dependant ratio is a recipe for prosperity. Only civil war or serious instability as say US sanctions can squander the coming dividend. Hii ingine ya M-Pesa ama Ruto si leapfrog. Just organic growth. There will be challenges from automation as rich-poor gap baloon - esp joblessness - which can easily cause instability in Zamunda.

There is Egyptian swirl (or something like that)- plying Langata to Thika road. They offer shuttle bus that leave on time. They are bit pricey but their buses are clean and spacious.

Anyway I think the transport sector is about to experience the advantages of fintech (MPESA) - and so are many other sectors.

Kenya is about to leapfrog.

« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2019, 12:45:45 PM »
Those in Nairobi, is the commutor sector being disrupted by Uber, Little, etc? Which I think would be a very opportune wakeup call to the unprofessional, chaotic operators.

https://citizentv.co.ke/business/little-cab-premiers-first-e-shuttle-in-nairobi-230311/?amp

Oh my God, this is fantastic! Those kanges who hike bus fair the moment it starts raining in rush hour will be no more. They love to really exploit pple's desperation to get to work on time or to get back home in the evening.

« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2019, 01:13:11 PM »
Pressed tree bible-thumping analog crew will go extinct with makanga. If RV Pundit had half a wit as he pretends - he would be investing big in IoT - skills, networks and capital.

« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2019, 01:52:22 PM »
Why are you building kids games in Silicon Valley.
Pressed tree bible-thumping analog crew will go extinct with makanga. If RV Pundit had half a wit as he pretends - he would be investing big in IoT - skills, networks and capital.

« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2019, 03:47:41 PM »
I am automating the world - buckle up.

Why are you building kids games in Silicon Valley.