Author Topic: Why Kenya's 6.3% GDP growth is voodoo  (Read 9435 times)

Re: Why Kenya's 6.3% GDP growth is voodoo
« Reply #40 on: May 14, 2019, 09:05:34 AM »
You are so wrong... numbers LIE - cause they can be massaged or real metrics overlooked. Anecdotal evidence does not lie - you get a feeling of the ground live. Try it. What planet is this where real estate is booming? Mavoko? :) Cement sales have plateaued over 4 years - the same period you say construction has boomed. Of course the SGR is the big "construction" that has "boomed".

You say Britam or Centum can't predict the future... so who can? RV Pundit?? O yes they can - it's called data mining - predictive & analytical off-the-shelves are a dime a dozen - SAS, Tableau, name it. Any big-time investor or fund manager literally models projections day & night for a living. It's their core job to predict and yet they have not gone "low income housing" - do you think these veteran investors and hedgers are fools? Nope - it's cause halloo - slum dwellers have no income to pay for the housing. Uhuru know this, Rotich this, Ruto know this. So they came up with a knee-jerk 3% PAYE now in the courts.

The point remains - hard infra-led growth - by GoK public sector - is not felt mashinani where it matters. We know "long term" the urban and rural roads will bear fruits in investment and growth - also the power when it goes cheap. But with the skyrocketing debt GoK will not afford either free housing, subsidized power, SEZ tax breaks nor such cash incetives. Cause Njiraini & Rotich need all the pennies for Big 4 and debt repayments. It will be a while before we can see returns on the hard infra. Am not saying we will not. But you know my views on the SGR as a misplaced priority.

You're running on empty in a topic you're ill-prepared in - just shouting Ruto or Pundit this or that. There has been slowing of credit to private sector thanks to interest capping but not many Kenyans are complaining about banks loans killing them. It's a dicey situation. Yes digital loans have pretty much made up for the credit freeze. Hopefully, someone starts tracking the numbers that Tala, Branch and all these 50 digital lenders are doing. It surely must be crazy.

« Reply #41 on: May 14, 2019, 09:42:47 AM »
Anecdotal evidence from a well-known negativo NASA card-carrying member has very little if any value. Let focus on data. KNBS do a great job referencing the cement data with real estate. The real estate sector is struggling because of wait-n-see attitude during the election and now with big 4 housing agenda promising to disrupt the market. The gov has the ability to fix real estate sector main bottlenecks (land - nearly 30% of the cost if not more) and horizontal infrastructure (roads, sewage, electricity that developers have to factor) - and of course gov is trying to deploy economies of scale by forcing everyone to contribute to this - so we can get big developers who are more efficient to come and turn the sector around. I say give them time. It's just one year.

We need all the infrastructure - roads, power, rails - and their multiplier effect may not be visible to the naked eye immediately - but over time it pays off.We saw the same nonsense when Thika SuperHighway was being constructed - that it was very expensive --ohoo Kibaki should have built Mombasa-Malaba - the main artery first - about a Billion Kshs for every KM - but we know by now - it's pretty much paid off.

The fact is the economy has been grown on average at round off of 6%. That is the indisputable fact that cannot be countered by anecdotal evidence of NASA economist like Ndiii.

You are so wrong... numbers LIE - cause they can be massaged or real metrics overlooked. Anecdotal evidence does not lie - you get a feeling of the ground live. Try it. What planet is this where real estate is booming? Mavoko? :) Cement sales have plateaued over 4 years - the same period you say construction has boomed. Of course the SGR is the big "construction" that has "boomed".

You say Britam or Centum can't predict the future... so who can? RV Pundit?? O yes they can - it's called data mining - predictive & analytical off-the-shelves are a dime a dozen - SAS, Tableau, name it. Any big-time investor or fund manager literally models projections day & night for a living. It's their core job to predict and yet they have not gone "low income housing" - do you think these veteran investors and hedgers are fools? Nope - it's cause halloo - slum dwellers have no income to pay for the housing. Uhuru know this, Rotich this, Ruto know this. So they came up with a knee-jerk 3% PAYE now in the courts.

The point remains - hard infra-led growth - by GoK public sector - is not felt mashinani where it matters. We know "long term" the urban and rural roads will bear fruits in investment and growth - also the power when it goes cheap. But with the skyrocketing debt GoK will not afford either free housing, subsidized power, SEZ tax breaks nor such cash incetives. Cause Njiraini & Rotich need all the pennies for Big 4 and debt repayments. It will be a while before we can see returns on the hard infra. Am not saying we will not. But you know my views on the SGR as a misplaced priority.

You're running on empty in a topic you're ill-prepared in - just shouting Ruto or Pundit this or that. There has been slowing of credit to private sector thanks to interest capping but not many Kenyans are complaining about banks loans killing them. It's a dicey situation. Yes digital loans have pretty much made up for the credit freeze. Hopefully, someone starts tracking the numbers that Tala, Branch and all these 50 digital lenders are doing. It surely must be crazy.

« Reply #42 on: May 14, 2019, 10:33:22 AM »
I always try to cross-reference data - from Hass/Cyton/Knigt Frank - together - with Cement stats - together with KNBS - and Banking sector reports- We also have building approvals plans by Nairobi & Mombasa city council providing crucial data - should give us an overall of how the sector is - Not Robina anecdotal evidence walking around Two Rivers.

KNBS does a good job cross-referencing their data anyway.

I thought I alluded to the flattening of cement demand and the reasons for that. And it linked to banking sector lending gov and reducing exposure in real estate amongst other sectors. Real estate is also leading in bad and doubtful loans that banks have to aggressively. provision for.

SGR phase 2 has been under construction.... I think cement or real estate is down due to banks refusing to lend, 2017 election blues and now Uhuru housing agenda is making most developers adopt a wait -n-see attitude.

Banks are the only booming sector because they are lending to the government almost exclusively nowadays

Pundito , you shouldn't be quoting Hass and Knight Frank or Cytonn reports. It is in their interest to paint a rosy picture of their industry so they can keep drawing more capital. If you want to know the state of real estate look at cement manufacturers. How are they doing? Or what is our cement consumption?

Consumption is down to 4-year low which roughly coincides with SGR commencing:

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2001316334/demand-for-cement-drops-to-four-year-low

Things are thick

https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/economy/New-house-approvals-dip-to-four-year-low/3946234-5032080-14qubuuz/index.html

In short, the extra spike in cement demand by SGR is over,and the real estate is not doing as well. You say banks are pulling out of real estate? Why would they pull out of a booming sector? Burning their fingers is a good reason which may explain the growing non-performing loans to the industry. And why would credit to a booming industry go bad? Glut perhaps

« Reply #43 on: May 14, 2019, 10:46:36 AM »
I get your point. We disagree though on when cement consumption leveled. I can check again but I think the apex was 2015/2016 -  If I can recall when Moi was leaving we had like 1.2M metric tonnes of cement consumption/production - that increased to 2M by 2007 - and by time Kibaki was handing over power - it was around 4.5M  - around 5.7M in 2014- and by 2016 Jubilee had taken it to 6.7m - and in 2017 with elections it came down to 6.5M (general slow down of the economy & credit freeze) - and now it's down to 5.8M or about (2018).

So as you can see cement consumption dropped from 2016 - with credit freeze, election slowdown and now big 4 housing lull - I think this is short term lull before the storm!

Uhuru need to get Big 4 Housing Agenda off ground - and those 500,000 units will led to increase cement consumption.

There is huge wait-n-see because gov has indicated it will alter the game - so no financier will fund real estate - buyers are also waiting to see - Uhuru brand new Chinese 3M units.

https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/economy/New-house-approvals-dip-to-four-year-low/3946234-5032080-14qubuuz/index.html

In short, the extra spike in cement demand by SGR is over,and the real estate is not doing as well. You say banks are pulling out of real estate? Why would they pull out of a booming sector? Burning their fingers is a good reason which may explain the growing non-performing loans to the industry. And why would credit to a booming industry go bad? Glut perhaps

« Reply #44 on: May 14, 2019, 11:00:21 AM »
Anecdotal evidence is from my own eyeballs - not Ndii - his is data based. Britam actually targets middle-income commercial & residential housing - Ngong Road, Thika Road, Outer Ring and such middle- or low-class locales - with increasingly dismal results. Here's more anecdotal evidence from the independent media.  8) 8)

Struggling shopping malls and what it means for Nairobi
By MILLICENT MWOLOLO, @milimwololo mmwololo@ke.nationmedia.com
September 21st, 2017  4 min read

Thika Road Mall, popularly and simply known as TRM, is one of the few that have weathered current economic crisis. PHOTO | FILE

https://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/news/struggling-shopping-malls-nairobi

Rent goes down as space bubble threatens to burst
by CYNTHIA ILAKO @LadyKanyali
Counties
20 December 2018 - 00:00

Front view of the newly build Karen Waterfront on August 28,2018.  e building will host retail shops. /ENOS TECHE

An oversupply in commercial retail space boosted by increased development of malls has led to high competition, especially in the low-end market.

Despite retail space being at the centre of new real estate developments in the country, mall owners have had to reduce rent prices to stay afloat in the highly competitive market.

Kenya Retail Sector report 2018 shows developers have had to reduce rent by 6.2 per cent to Sh132.1 per square foot compared to Sh140.9 last year. This is 14.72 per cent lower than Sh154.9 rent charged per square foot in 2016.

The glut in commercial retail real estate has also led to a decline in non-residential developments.

Kenya National Bureau of Statistics data shows the value of non-residential buildings approved between January and June dropped 35.57 per cent to Sh37.58 billion compared to Sh58.33 billion the same period

last year.

This in turn resulted in a 27.7 per cent decline in the value of approved building plans during the review period to Sh100.76 from Sh128.67 over the same period last year.

Shopping malls, especially in low end areas, now have to compete for footfall with second tier supermarkets and stalls.
https://www.the-star.co.ke/counties/2018-12-20-rent-goes-down-as-space-bubble-threatens-to-burst/

Tenants now demand lower rent as malls bubble bursts
Dominic Omondi  09th Sep 2018 00:00:00 GMT +0300

Greenspan Mall in Donholm estate taken on 29th December 2015. [Wilberforce Okwiri, Standard]

Greenspan Mall in , the investment firm also owns Bay Holdings and Highway House, all of which received lower rents in the period under review.

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/business/article/2001295008/tenants-now-demand-lower-rent-as-malls-bubble-bursts

And here's some of that "booming" middle class residential. :)

Empty house and broken home
BY DAVID ONJILI
10th April 2019

Maxwell Onyande won the American Green Card and successfully relocated with his family in April 2018. Before departure, he had been living in a gated compound in Katani area of Syokimau, Machakos CountyHe estimated about Sh70, 000 in monthly rent. Two years down the line, his house is vacant despite lowering the rent to Sh35, 000.The occupancy to date is not more than half despite having been on sale for over a year now. This scenario continues to replicate itself in many residential properties within Nairobi and its environs.

In Hurlingham areaJames admits that many Kenyans have put a strain on themselves by going for mortgages to purchase houses and when they lose their jobs the situation is unbearable. He says that he would rather build a home in his upcountry county of Siaya than purchase one in Nairobi because the mortgage is very high. Renting seems a viable option to him going by the exorbitant prices the real estate property developers are charging on property.

http://www.nairobibusinessmonthly.com/empty-house-and-broken-home/

« Reply #45 on: May 14, 2019, 11:34:41 AM »
Construction
2.10. Growth of the construction sector decelerated to 6.6 per cent in 2018 compared to 8.5
per cent in 2017. Notwithstanding the slowed growth, increased construction activities were
evident in 2018 especially the ongoing construction of phase two of the Standard Gauge
Railway (SGR) and other public investments in transportation infrastructure. The growth
was reflected in the increase in consumption of cement from 5,856.6 million tonnes in 2017 to
5,948.7 million tonnes during the period under review. The growth was also partly attributed to
notable increases in the importation of key construction materials. For instance, the quantity
of cement imported increased while that of iron and steel bars rose two-fold in 2018. Growth
in the length of roads constructed slowed to 9.5 per cent in 2018 compared to 30.6 per cent
in 2017. Further, slowed performance was manifested in the uptake of credit to building and
construction sector that increased marginally (1.8 per cent) in the review period compared to
6.8 per cent growth in 2017.

Credit reduced marginally by 0.5% - still nearly 370B was advanced to the sector.Credit advanced
to real estate decreased marginally by 0.5 per cent from KSh 370.7 billion as at end of 2017 to KSh 368.7
billion as at end of 2018
. In the public sector, commercial banks credit to the National Government
increased by 16.9 per cent to KSh 956.3 billion while credit advanced to the County Governments increased by 9.2 per cent to KSh 4.3 billion as at end of 2018. Credit to enterprises, parastatal bodies and
other public entities decreased by 10.9 per cent to KSh 96.6 billion as at end of 2018.

« Reply #46 on: May 14, 2019, 11:53:53 AM »
KNBS on electricity - Kenya approaching 3,000MW and electricity demand is starting to rise.

Total installed electricity capacity increased from 2,339.9 MW in 2017 to 2,711.7 MW in
2018. Total electricity demand increased by 7.9 per cent to 11,182.0 GWh in 2018 compared
to 10,359.9 GWh in 2017. Domestic demand for electricity increased from 8,410.1 GWh in
2017 to 8,702.3 GWh in 2018. There was additional electricity generation of 360 MW to the
grid from Lake Turkana Wind Power Project (310 MW) and Garissa Solar Power Project
(50MW). The Early Oil Pilot Scheme started producing 2000 Barrels per day (bbl/d) from
Ngamia and Amosing fields in 20

« Reply #47 on: May 14, 2019, 12:16:36 PM »
Yes. It's why we call it voodoo or pie-in-the-sky - or Ndii "portal" - cause only Rotich and the elites and Fuliza & Equity shylocks feel it. Mashinani hakuna kitu - pesa onge. Betting is just like alcoholism or drug addiction - a sector which flourish at big negative impact on society. Binge borrowing is one of the drivers of betting - with easy access - a sector that GoK fight to discourage by confiscating machines and heavy taxes.

You have no real growth outside the hard infra and banking. Just future projections and hope - which springs eternal. :)

The fact is the economy has been grown on average at round off of 6%. That is the indisputable fact that cannot be countered by anecdotal evidence of NASA economist like Ndiii.

« Reply #48 on: May 14, 2019, 12:27:07 PM »
Hope springs eternal. Any actual strategy to achieve it - except milking the tiny working class. Which of course has already run into legal headwinds - no consultaion or law in place. "Slum upgrade" has been tossed about for years. Housing is as complex as manufacturing to crack - cause the market forces determine what people must pay - unless Uhuru can pull 5 or 10B usd from his hat. It's a noble agenda but not holding my breath. MILLIONS of folks are homeless slum dwellers. 50%+ of Nairobi is slum dwellers. 2M folks just Nairobi. Trouble is their pocket not high rents.

Nobody is disagreeing that real estate is struggling - but I agree with Uhuru - that this low hanging fruit - the big 4 housing agenda - will unlock the real estate and double it.

« Reply #49 on: May 14, 2019, 12:57:07 PM »
7% single-digit increase in consumption - despite the 3X last-mile connections?  8) 8) Means the overwhelming bulk of the last-miles peasants have never flipped the switch. Too costly - which is why they were on firewood or kerosene in the first place. Mbeca. The hard infra myth - this is hardly new phenomena.

KNBS on electricity - Kenya approaching 3,000MW and electricity demand is starting to rise.

Total installed electricity capacity increased from 2,339.9 MW in 2017 to 2,711.7 MW in
2018. Total electricity demand increased by 7.9 per cent to 11,182.0 GWh in 2018 compared
to 10,359.9 GWh in 2017. Domestic demand for electricity increased from 8,410.1 GWh in
2017 to 8,702.3 GWh in 2018. There was additional electricity generation of 360 MW to the
grid from Lake Turkana Wind Power Project (310 MW) and Garissa Solar Power Project
(50MW). The Early Oil Pilot Scheme started producing 2000 Barrels per day (bbl/d) from

« Reply #50 on: May 14, 2019, 01:01:06 PM »
Money supply is increased - But I guess we have to find your real economy.

4.7. Table 4.2 presents various money supply aggregates for 2014 to 2018. In 2018, money supply
(M1) grew by 6.6 per cent in 2018 compared to a 5.8 per cent growth in 2017. Quasi money deposits
held by commercial banks and other deposit taking institutions increased by 9.7 per cent in 2018
compared to 10.9 per cent in 2017. deposit. Money supply (M2) grew by 8.0 per cent resulting to
overall liquidity growing by 10.9 per cent to KSh 4,550.9 billion in 2018.

Yes. It's why we call it voodoo or pie-in-the-sky - or Ndii "portal" - cause only Rotich and the elites and Fuliza & Equity shylocks feel it. Mashinani hakuna kitu - pesa onge. Betting is just like alcoholism or drug addiction - a sector which flourish at big negative impact on society. Binge borrowing is one of the drivers of betting - with easy access - a sector that GoK fight to discourage by confiscating machines and heavy taxes.

You have no real growth outside the hard infra and banking. Just future projections and hope - which springs eternal. :)

« Reply #51 on: May 14, 2019, 01:10:06 PM »
3X increase - is from 2013 - not annually - When Jubilee came - electricity connection was about 2.5m - now it about 6.5M accounts -

These are Kibaki electricity numbers - 2.5M customers consuming 1,300MW - with the installed capacity I think around 1,500mw.

And Jubile in six or so years has - taken it to 6.5M customers consuming twice about 2,700MW (nearly doubling it) - consumption has also doubled from 6,500 GWH to now  11,182.

In short Jubilee has done a great job in just six years - and in ten years when Uhuru hands the baton to Ruto - the picture will be very clear.

Yes Jubilee had targetted 5,000MW - but they are closer to 3,00MW now. Uhuru is just 2,000MW short - from achieving what NDii thought was impossible vision.

7% single-digit increase in consumption - despite the 3X last-mile connections?  8) 8) Means the overwhelming bulk of the last-miles peasants have never flipped the switch. Too costly - which is why they were on firewood or kerosene in the first place. Mbeca. The hard infra myth - this is hardly new phenomena.

« Reply #52 on: May 14, 2019, 01:10:19 PM »
Pundit if 80% of the last-mile folks flipped the switch - there would be instant countrywide blackout. For inept fools like Uhuru & Eugene - or Chelugui - who can't deliver Galana or simple dam. Tough luck with public housing. Uhuru should just focus on food and universal health. I mean Tugens n Turkanas were dropping dead a month ago - since independence - big full granaries in Eldoret and Kitale just needing TRANSIT - sembuse housing? Big 4 is over ambitious - especially housing and manufacturing. Focus resources and attention to food - most BASIC item since eternity - awachane na pipedreams.

« Reply #53 on: May 14, 2019, 01:38:46 PM »
We need people who are ambitious and visionaries. Basic - how do you propose we deal with Turkana or Baringo - truck people maize in Eldoret or you mean release gov maize for free for every starving Kenyan? Do you know how difficult it is to drive from Eldoret to Turkana - and without fixing infrastructure - how you cannot fix what ails turkana - (insecurity, drought, etc) - we need roads, telecommunications and the whole shebang in turkana - for turkana and part of baringo - to emerge from wilderness.

But you'll dismiss building roads in turkana as useless - you rather we somehow feed turkanas?

We have these arguments before - when computers came - some said African didn't computer or phones - they needed food - when m-pesa started - some here said - turkana needed food - not m-pesa -

Turkana need all the infrastructure you enjoy in San Francisco - roads, broadband, name it.

Pundit if 80% of the last-mile folks flipped the switch - there would be instant countrywide blackout. For inept fools like Uhuru & Eugene - or Chelugui - who can't deliver Galana or simple dam. Tough luck with public housing. Uhuru should just focus on food and universal health. I mean Tugens n Turkanas were dropping dead a month ago - since independence - big full granaries in Eldoret and Kitale just needing TRANSIT - sembuse housing? Big 4 is over ambitious - especially housing and manufacturing. Focus resources and attention to food - most BASIC item since eternity - awachane na pipedreams.

« Reply #54 on: May 14, 2019, 06:46:24 PM »
The DIMWIT Uhuru can't hack any of these - these are Kibaki spillovers. Already the fool is "missing" after Ruto crew scared him. :) Labda Ruto - despite his unwashed, ungroomed nature he has energy and fiat to ensure some progress. You need more SOUND THINKING in a leader - like lame old Kibaki - which lacks in Uhuru. Ruto big energy but hare-brained. Acts before thinking. It's why you agree Nairobi-Macha-Kiambu-Kajiado metropolis is the ripe hanging fruit - but your smart alec starts with where old line already exist.

Yes we need infrastructure - and other inputs- we just disagree here and there on priorities and approaches. And "China Model". Lovely debating you - the Ruto passion shines through. Hope you are not as corrupt. And don't turn Ndii into another Almighty Jezebel - his opinion just like ours doesn't stop Uhuru or Ruto from thinking.

We need people who are ambitious and visionaries. Basic - how do you propose we deal with Turkana or Baringo - truck people maize in Eldoret or you mean release gov maize for free for every starving Kenyan? Do you know how difficult it is to drive from Eldoret to Turkana - and without fixing infrastructure - how you cannot fix what ails turkana - (insecurity, drought, etc) - we need roads, telecommunications and the whole shebang in turkana - for turkana and part of baringo - to emerge from wilderness.

But you'll dismiss building roads in turkana as useless - you rather we somehow feed turkanas?

We have these arguments before - when computers came - some said African didn't computer or phones - they needed food - when m-pesa started - some here said - turkana needed food - not m-pesa -

Turkana need all the infrastructure you enjoy in San Francisco - roads, broadband, name it.

« Reply #55 on: May 14, 2019, 07:30:54 PM »
Kibaki of the yore -60s,80s and 90s was great - the Kibaki that became PORK was mostly senile.It's like Raila now - he is senile - just like everyone will become when age takes it toll.

The Kibaki that I supported in 90s was not the Kibaki that became PORK. Most of you are supporting him NOW but he basically squandered an opportunity to right Moi wrongs and got us to near civil war in 2007.Imagine calling the armed forces to quell protestors and the international community to mediate.2007/2008 remain kenyan lowest moment - Ochuka nightmare didn't last a night.

He should have done a better job managing politics. The economy after Moi was only going up. It really had no option except to grow.

UhuRuto are the real deal for me. I know most of you just like criticism but in the dynamic duo - I saw a very effective lean machine that gots a lot done - that managed the politics and unity of the country - and we are really in a sweet spot. Yes things could be better - but look at Rwanda -or TZ - Kagame is doing 7% - Uhuru is doing 6%. We probably lose that 1% to corruption but I won't cry about that.

Jubilee has done great. Greater than many want to acknowledge. Somebody that takes 50B economy and doubles it in 6yrs cannot be a failure. They started from NARA (4% - ignored the rebasing for argument sake) - and so it was harder for them - compared to starting from the recession (-1.7%) like Kibaki - they had all ICCs and shenagians.

I think you're very wrong when it comes to Ruto. I know you probably think I support Ruto because he is my tribeman. That part is true - but I truly think Ruto is the kibaki of the yore - he definitely lacks the economic depth - but he is nevertheless ambitious, brilliant, hardworking and energetic -I believe the transformation we will see under Ruto will be massive.

As regard corruption - I think it's a necessary evil for Ruto to be able to compete with Uhurus and generally finance his politics. Sonko has shown us you can be corrupt jailbird but still get the job done. Kagame kills a few folks once in a while - so did Obama - it just those things you've got to do because politics is a dirty game.

What matters is the PROVEN TRACK RECORD. Not long theories like Raila. We also don't need folks with rear view - with huge axe to grind like Raila - we need to move forward - and forget about historical stuff that are so intractable - and in WSR this country will make great strides forward...with Raila...we will be back to civil war scenarios.

We need visionaries like Bitange Ndemo who can imagine the future. We don't need people reminding us about our lost past.

The DIMWIT Uhuru can't hack any of these - these are Kibaki spillovers. Already the fool is "missing" after Ruto crew scared him. :) Labda Ruto - despite his unwashed, ungroomed nature he has energy and fiat to ensure some progress. You need more SOUND THINKING in a leader - like lame old Kibaki - which lacks in Uhuru. Ruto big energy but hare-brained. Acts before thinking. It's why you agree Nairobi-Macha-Kiambu-Kajiado metropolis is the ripe hanging fruit - but your smart alec starts with where old line already exist.

Yes we need infrastructure - and other inputs- we just disagree here and there on priorities and approaches. And "China Model". Lovely debating you - the Ruto passion shines through. Hope you are not as corrupt.

« Reply #57 on: May 15, 2019, 07:15:56 AM »
RV unless you're 60 like Omollo I don't see how you supported the Kibaki of yore in 60s to 90s. If you're 20s or 30s you are limited to Ruto ageset if you're ageist. Save for senility age is a non-issue - you need sober mature thinking not hyperactivity.

« Reply #58 on: May 15, 2019, 07:31:46 AM »
About economic development, I might be wrong about Ruto - but you're wrong to state "Kenya we are on the cusp of a revolution" or "we are on the verge of prosperity". No we are not. You acknowledged in the past that it will take 50-100 years to rise to developed market status. The "cusp" or leapfrog and 50-100 years long wait can't be true at the same time.

« Reply #59 on: May 15, 2019, 08:50:19 AM »
I don't need to live in 70s to know Kibaki was brilliant. I grew up in 90s (became politically aware) and my father was big kibaki supporter - I think in 92 & 97 - the 3 kibaki votes got in our entire constituency - were definitely from my family.I noticed Ruto brilliance when I was at UON - in the sunset of Moi. I thought anybody who could boot Biwwott & grp from the kitchen cabinet was some serious talent - and obviously by now - everyone knows Ruto is a gifted politician.
RV unless you're 60 like Omollo I don't see how you supported the Kibaki of yore in 60s to 90s. If you're 20s or 30s you are limited to Ruto ageset if you're ageist. Save for senility age is a non-issue - you need sober mature thinking not hyperactivity.