Author Topic: Non-corrupt Magufuli growth nosedive to 4% - while Kenya doing 6% plus  (Read 3891 times)

Ours is cooked

Well it could be - Agriculture was clandestinely rebased from 25 - to 30% of GDP now.

But anyway it very likely we will cross 100B (kshs 10 trillion) mark this year. It appears we have overtaken Angola to become the 3rd biggest SSA economy - after Nigeria & South Africa.

Kenya shs economic fundamentals are strongs - interest rate, inflation, exchange rate - are all in a sweat spot.

Any TZ recently re-based - saw 4% increased - Kenya is yet to re-base - and should be able to rebase in 2011 or around - after census number crunching.

So prepare for an economy of around 150B - when Uhuru leaves office in 2023.

Ruto will take kenyan economy to current South Africa level - 400-600B

Ours is cooked

We are back to the subjective arbitrary OUTPUTS.. -  anything to sanctify His Holiness the High Priest of Corruption.

Even if you shutter your brain - like ostrich - and pretend graft has no economic impact. Corruption as a vice alone is cancer or AIDS. The economy can skyrocket but AIDS must be fought. Because it has severe effects - sick, pain, death - regardless of GDP.

I can list the non-economic impacts of graft if you want.

You sounds like Raila. You just need to start with - We are at CROSS-ROADS. Corruption is a cancer. Why do I even take your seriously - you're pretty much empty-headed.
Even if you shutter your brain - like ostrich - and pretend graft has no economic impact. Corruption as a vice alone is cancer or AIDS. The economy can skyrocket but AIDS must be fought. Because it has severe effects - sick, pain, death - regardless of GDP.

I can list the non-economic impacts of graft if you want.

Drought is looming with the long rains already 30+ days late.

Not sure what Jubilee is banking on to handle the looming crisis: Waiting to see how far the pesa ya wazee and the Mpesa to hungry folks in the villages will stretch.

Seems people will suffer given Ruto braggadocio stance and Uhuru no concern stance unless the rainmakers come through. Though Mkenya has learnt to vumilia all sort of traumatic experiences with god and jesus.   

Well it could be - Agriculture was clandestinely rebased from 25 - to 30% of GDP now.

But anyway it very likely we will cross 100B (kshs 10 trillion) mark this year. It appears we have overtaken Angola to become the 3rd biggest SSA economy - after Nigeria & South Africa.

Kenya shs economic fundamentals are strongs - interest rate, inflation, exchange rate - are all in a sweat spot.

Any TZ recently re-based - saw 4% increased - Kenya is yet to re-base - and should be able to rebase in 2011 or around - after census number crunching.

So prepare for an economy of around 150B - when Uhuru leaves office in 2023.

Ruto will take kenyan economy to current South Africa level - 400-600B

Ours is cooked

Yes rainfall doesn't look good. We need to allow duty free import of food anytime anyday.

Not sure what Jubilee is banking on to handle the looming crisis: Waiting to see how far the pesa ya wazee and the Mpesa to hungry folks in the villages will stretch.

Seems people will suffer given Ruto braggadocio stance and Uhuru no concern stance unless the rainmakers come through. Though Mkenya has learnt to vumilia all sort of traumatic experiences with god and jesus.   

How will this work out given the hounding of those involved in duty free fertilizer, sugar and maize in the past by DCI, EACC??

Interestingly Magufuli can boost his economy by allowing cereals exports to Kenya.

Yes rainfall doesn't look good. We need to allow duty free import of food anytime anyday.

You are just regular Joe mesmerized with Ruto. Defending a corrupt politician so hard - ni kama ni babako - you're a BIMBO - falling for a snake-oil hawker like Ruto ati performer.  :) We are not here to ask you how high - my opinion is just as valid as yours. People die on the roads daily due to corruption. GDP iyo ni yako.

You sounds like Raila. You just need to start with - We are at CROSS-ROADS. Corruption is a cancer. Why do I even take your seriously - you're pretty much empty-headed.

Re: Non-corrupt Magufuli growth nosedive to 4% - while Kenya doing 6% plus
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2019, 06:23:27 PM »
Magufuli has fought corruption - and yet the economy has basically tanked - he inherited 7% growth rate from Kikwete - he has already halved that - TSHs has depreciated against the dollar - he has clamped down on democracy and freedoms.

You see the road to hell is paved with good intentions. Nyerere never stole - he died owning only a bicyle - but he left Tanzania BANKRUPT - as in completely bankrupt - and resigned in great shame. Kenyatta stole - so much - they need to invent the word for his stealing - but he left Kenya way richer - than he found it. The more he stole - the more the economy boomed.

We need to focus on OUTPUT. Tells us what you have delivered.

You are just regular Joe mesmerized with Ruto. Defending a corrupt politician so hard - ni kama ni babako - you're a BIMBO - falling for a snake-oil hawker like Ruto ati performer.  :) We are not here to ask you how high - my opinion is just as valid as yours. People die on the roads daily due to corruption. GDP iyo ni yako.

« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2019, 07:16:01 PM »
OUTPUT - a fresh unicorn like Legacy. At least dark forces is an old line. You can't pick a single metric - GDP - and insist it's the ultimate measure of all things. Can we stop fighting AIDS or cancer because the economy is vibrant? Graft is not simply an economic factor  - it is a VICE with non-economic aspects as well. A good number of road accidents are caused by corruption. We are probably seeing more cancer cases due to corruption. Terrorists bribe their way around planning massacres. Try to be dispassionate for a change.

Magufuli has fought corruption - and yet the economy has basically tanked - he inherited 7% growth rate from Kikwete - he has already halved that - TSHs has depreciated against the dollar - he has clamped down on democracy and freedoms.

You see the road to hell is paved with good intentions. Nyerere never stole - he died owning only a bicyle - but he left Tanzania BANKRUPT - as in completely bankrupt - and resigned in great shame. Kenyatta stole - so much - they need to invent the word for his stealing - but he left Kenya way richer - than he found it. The more he stole - the more the economy boomed.

We need to focus on OUTPUT. Tells us what you have delivered.

« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2019, 07:19:08 PM »
GDP is the only OUTPUT. Hii ni kali - it's like the proverbial thinking inside the box - toka hio echo chamber.

Even in China. Economy is great, but they still want freedom,  etc. Many would be happier in a poorer freer country.

« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2019, 07:20:29 PM »
Of course, we can look at other indicators - economic, socio-political and even religious - and Uhuru is doing better than Magufuli - despite the different approaches.

We need to judge leaders by what they deliver on.

OUTPUT - a fresh unicorn like Legacy. At least dark forces is an old line. You can't pick a single metric - GDP - and insist it's the ultimate measure of all things. Can we stop fighting AIDS or cancer because the economy is vibrant? Graft is not simply an economic factor  - it is a VICE with non-economic aspects as well. A good number of road accidents are caused by corruption. We are probably seeing more cancer cases due to corruption. Terrorists bribe their way around planning massacres. Try to be dispassionate for a change.

« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2019, 07:36:48 PM »
I don't know about Magufuli but graft is a really bad tumor. Which brings us to why Ruto is not the panacea or savior we need at this point. I remain unconvinced we need an omnipresent leader with glaring deficiencies like William Ruto.

Of course, we can look at other indicators - economic, socio-political and even religious - and Uhuru is doing better than Magufuli - despite the different approaches.

We need to judge leaders by what they deliver on.

« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2019, 07:02:00 AM »
Pundito,
Absence of or reduced corruption does not necessarily mean highest growth rate. Tz is still haunted by socialist experiments of Nyerere. What they have working? They are not borrowing as if there is no tomorrow unlike us so they have the capacity to catch up while we are busy blowing our chances as most of the borrowed funds go to individuals

« Reply #16 on: April 12, 2019, 11:41:37 AM »
Kikwete and Mkapa did well - with even more socials - Magufuli is entirely to blame - by attempting to be the anti-corruption tzar - you end up messing up big companies like Acacia/Barrick - and right now Kenya is trying to mess with CMC and Italy - when consequences come - thro capital flight - then don't cry.
Pundito,
Absence of or reduced corruption does not necessarily mean highest growth rate. Tz is still haunted by socialist experiments of Nyerere. What they have working? They are not borrowing as if there is no tomorrow unlike us so they have the capacity to catch up while we are busy blowing our chances as most of the borrowed funds go to individuals

Offline RVtitem

« Reply #17 on: April 12, 2019, 04:03:58 PM »
I think those figures are mere projections. Let's wait for the actual growth numbers.

It's always better to have an homegrown development than fake growth fuelled by a few whites and Chinese exploiting Africans. It's the reason why an African is worse on average in GDP rich South Africa than tz.

« Reply #18 on: April 15, 2019, 08:16:02 PM »
What's hurting TZ is not anti-corruption fight(that is a good thing), but their lack of economic freedom.

« Reply #19 on: April 15, 2019, 10:11:21 PM »
What's hurting TZ is not anti-corruption fight(that is a good thing), but their lack of economic freedom.

If I stoop to Pundit's level - of idolatry - I could pick on Nigeria or Afghanistan and showcase the evils of graft. Ignore all other factors. Of course he accuses the rest of us of wearing ODM blinkers - while he's entirely dispassionate  :)