Author Topic: Hive off aberdares and resettle Turkanas  (Read 2876 times)

Online KenyanPlato

Hive off aberdares and resettle Turkanas
« on: March 18, 2019, 11:01:34 AM »
These morons need to move away from the inhabitable lands they are in right now or global warming will melt them to coals

Uhuru kinyasa should resettle them in rift valley .there is plenty of arable land

Re: Hive off aberdares and resettle Turkanas
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2019, 12:17:27 PM »
I think we need trucks to go round collect them turkana & baringos during drought to come work the farms for some pay. I know some were brought to kericho to replace the Nyarwadas after they left - and bazungu said they were terrific workers - they don't get tired.

Those turkanas could be feeding your cows in Githunguri, digging farms and even toilets like Banyarwada use to do.

These morons need to move away from the inhabitable lands they are in right now or global warming will melt them to coals

Uhuru kinyasa should resettle them in rift valley .there is plenty of arable land

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2019, 01:21:28 PM »
Why Aberdares? You want to make a desert of the place? Since when do you now clear forests to settle cattle herders? Btw, Kenya has less than 2% forest coverage and you want to reduce this further. Recommended by the UN is forest coverage of 8-10%. We should instead think of reforestation of Turkana.

Online Nefertiti

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2019, 01:58:08 PM »
Kenya needs mass reforestation. Idle youth, NYS, prisoners - everyone should be utilised to plant trees. That's the only way we can reverse years of destruction. Otherwise Kenya is slowly becoming Ethiopia famine country.

« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2019, 03:54:40 PM »
Why Aberdares? You want to make a desert of the place? Since when do you now clear forests to settle cattle herders? Btw, Kenya has less than 2% forest coverage and you want to reduce this further. Recommended by the UN is forest coverage of 8-10%. We should instead think of reforestation of Turkana.

Yep.  I know they are sitting on massive water table.  It seems like that is something the government could spend some resources on figuring how to harness.

« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2019, 04:19:04 PM »
If people are starving it means livestock were the first to perish. And since turkanas are pastoralist their source of income has been decimated. To address hunger in Turkana or anywhere else one has to address incomes. People die out of poverty not lack of food. Increasing productivity of the pastoralist by growing feedstuff for livestock, better breeding etc is whats needed . Its sad that the average carcass of beef is 110kg instead of 220kg, by doubling the takeoff weight for beef animals you double incomes. Soon in the rainy season there'll be floods in turkana, this should be the opportune time to plant feedstuff for livestock. Turkana,westpokot,lakipia,marsabit, wajir, tana river and garissa can produce enough meat to feed COMESA.

Online Nefertiti

« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2019, 04:45:10 PM »
Just open food bank for Red Cross to deliver. We are talking avoiding death not investment. Turkana are no entrpreneurs - give inept GoK years to reach such level.

If people are starving it means livestock were the first to perish. And since turkanas are pastoralist their source of income has been decimated. To address hunger in Turkana or anywhere else one has to address incomes. People die out of poverty not lack of food. Increasing productivity of the pastoralist by growing feedstuff for livestock, better breeding etc is whats needed . Its sad that the average carcass of beef is 110kg instead of 220kg, by doubling the takeoff weight for beef animals you double incomes. Soon in the rainy season there'll be floods in turkana, this should be the opportune time to plant feedstuff for livestock. Turkana,westpokot,lakipia,marsabit, wajir, tana river and garissa can produce enough meat to feed COMESA.

« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2019, 04:54:23 PM »
Just open food bank for Red Cross to deliver. We are talking avoiding death not investment. Turkana are no entrpreneurs - give inept GoK years to reach such level.
Yes we need to do that  right now to save lives, hell we should even move the strategic grain reserve closer to vulnerable areas. However we also need a longterm solution, which should involve empowering the residents to earn a real living for themselves. Investing in  livestock productivity should be part of that. 

« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2019, 04:55:32 PM »

:D hk is always on the lookout for investment opportunity.  He is right though; just in a long term kind of way.  I mean, ultimately not having food boils down to being unable to afford to put it on the table at that given time.

« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2019, 04:58:58 PM »
We had solved this - so I thought - just m-pesa everyone affected by drought 2-3k a month - enough money to buy food - and you can solve that. There are probably 100K household in turkana - so giving each 3k - is just 300M - Turkana county can do that. Do it for duration of dry period - maybe 3-4 months - and nobody dies. With that 3k - those people can afford to buy one sack of maize or rice - and survive the month.

Online Nefertiti

« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2019, 09:02:04 PM »
I thought so too.. a year or so back. As usual Ruto give eloquent speech while bodycount mounts. Kingereza miingi :D

We had solved this - so I thought - just m-pesa everyone affected by drought 2-3k a month - enough money to buy food - and you can solve that. There are probably 100K household in turkana - so giving each 3k - is just 300M - Turkana county can do that. Do it for duration of dry period - maybe 3-4 months - and nobody dies. With that 3k - those people can afford to buy one sack of maize or rice - and survive the month.

Online Nefertiti

« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2019, 09:19:42 PM »

:D hk is always on the lookout for investment opportunity.  He is right though; just in a long term kind of way.  I mean, ultimately not having food boils down to being unable to afford to put it on the table at that given time.

hk is pie in the sky... give starving folks agribusiness tutorial  :) Better be simple like Njamba.

« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2019, 10:34:15 PM »
I read somewhere that the massive water table was a hoax or the water was unusable. Something like that.

« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2019, 10:36:13 PM »
I thought so too.. a year or so back. As usual Ruto give eloquent speech while bodycount mounts. Kingereza miingi :D

Who is willing to bet that the Turkana billions will be stolen before they leave Nairobi?

Online KenyanPlato

« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2019, 11:40:01 PM »
I say we disovle Turkanas tribe and distribute 26,968 Turkanas to each  remaining tribe.

« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2019, 04:58:33 PM »
I read somewhere that the massive water table was a hoax or the water was unusable. Something like that.

https://www.voanews.com/a/kenya-turkana-water-unfit-for-human-consumption/2674350.html

Apparently it's useless.  Because there no industries or power generation plants that could use cooling in those areas I guess.

Offline yulemsee

« Reply #16 on: March 21, 2019, 03:12:41 PM »
Yes, too salty, needs serious treatment before it can be used

« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2019, 06:10:16 PM »
Many countries like in the Arabian Pennisula used water from the oceans whic happens to be salty, but is desalted before use. Salty water is not an excuse.

« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2019, 06:42:33 PM »
Many countries like in the Arabian Pennisula used water from the oceans whic happens to be salty, but is desalted before use. Salty water is not an excuse.

To be fair, the Turkana don't have any idea of how useful their resources are.  They are still literally wandering nomads.  Their county should be at the forefront of finding appropriate solutions to their unique problems.  I blame their government.

« Reply #19 on: March 21, 2019, 07:06:33 PM »
You find such communities everywhere in the world - who simply refuse to take advantage of modern human life - and decide to stick to old hard way. You see in red Indians aka Native Americans in US. You see them in pretty much every country. People insisting on living the old dream and refusing to take advantage of all the tools that modernity accord them.

Maybe gov just need to move there with force - and modernize the pokots, turkanas, rendiles, samburus, maasais, okieks & dorobos and force them into modern life by basically banning all the so called culture and traditions.

That is basically what Mzungu did to many Africans in Kenya who were insisting on walking around town half naked in smelly leather. They basically force them to modernize.

To be fair, the Turkana don't have any idea of how useful their resources are.  They are still literally wandering nomads.  Their county should be at the forefront of finding appropriate solutions to their unique problems.  I blame their government.