Pundit, i know the ubapesa folk very well. They are onto something... just 4months into business and it is mind-blowing.
Some of the info i have been privileged to know indicate that as long as banks keep pretending that they are "very smart"; they will find their cheese gone! The paradigm shift in the market is very much a' la Mpesa..... money to mama mbogas or marikiti/gikomba market traders who otherwise cannot access the glorified brick and mortar banks. You have heard about these traders being very active around 3 - 5am; very true, a lot of these loans are sourced at these "ungodly" hours. And most of these guys don't even wait for the 10/20/30days loan period to repay....they repay right by end of day and take out another one the next morning!
Very much bottom of the pyramid stuff or banking the unbanked played out again right before your eyes. The issue that these loans are expensive is neither here nor there....afterall both MShwari (CBA) and EazzyPay (Equity) are charging these rates and escaped the so called interest rate capping and basically call the fee loan processing fee....one time off fee which they charge at say 7.5% for a 30day or 1/4year loan.
What this is showing is the real dearth of players in the market addressing this area. The big issue here is how do you regulate this? As usual the regulator is lagging behind technology and they cannot impose caveats on these players when both Equity and CBA (and now Barclays) are also in the game.
With good use of BI and Analytics as well as blockchain and AI, they will be well on their way. They probably also need a good/current credit referencing or rating platform after which they can expand even wider than they are playing currently. I take that back, with BI/Analytics, Blockchain and AI they probably can create their own credit rating tools.
We have seen these apps sprout out of Nairobi, mostly touted by some condescending expats (overpaid youngsters straight out of uni) well funded with a PE fund behind them...we don't need them; local players can pretty much do these things. They just need an enabling and supportive environment/government.
Final word, serving the government (treasury bills) and big business cannot be the comfort that the Banks will sustain on. As long as the same government has choked out the mwananchi from accessing money, the one that gets to these mwananchi is the next Equity and CBA. No need for building any infrastructure... the last mile (the branch/ATM) is the handset right in your hands. Don't wake them up....they will find their cheese well and truly moved.