That safaricom/m-pesa "support" is probably the difference btw these SMES & informal business going burst or surviving. Now imagine if we had more safaricom - Banking (Equity bank agent banking - insurance companies (offering policies at agents/broker) - retail ( Nakumatt/Tusky running small stores) - real estate ( agency for managing rents) - name any services - and all these can have huge multiplier effect. i think what information technology has done is to make service trade able and sophisticated. Therefore the manufacturing multiplier (which is highest - about a factor 10 from what I have read ) can easily be replace with innovative service driven sectors like what Safaricom is doing in communication & banking.
See my questions above, as well as the photos of two of the jobs "supported" by Safaricom.
This safaricom multiplier effect is clearly demonstration that services can replace manufacturing going forward.
"
Proof by one example" rarely works. Otherwise one could take any single large company or industry and make such an argument. For example, what is the "multiplier effect" of tourism? Should we on that basis argue that tourism in Kenya can replace manufacturing?
You also seem to believe that it is easy to develop companies like Safaricom and products like MPESA (mobile money etc.), whence statements like "
If we had 1 Safaricom size companies in say 10 service sub-sectors". Safaricom has been around for 20 years, and MPESA has been around for 10 years. How many companies and innovative products of those types has Kenya produced in that period?
You suggest things like "
Nakumatt/Tusky running small stores". Do you understand why supermarket chains, anywhere in the world, are not in the business of running small stores and in fact do better if more small shops go under? If what you suggest were viable in Kenya, could it have occurred to the owners of Nakumatt and Tusky, or are they idiots?
You also suggest things like "
insurance companies (offering policies at agents/broker)". Presumably such ideas have never occurred to such companies, even though they have been around for years and years? And have you considered the base market? People will use Safaricom's products on an on-going basis and quite frequently; similarly they will make use of retail outlets. How many Kenyans even care for insurance policies?
Services can replace manufacturing: Nobody has ever argued against that (although your one-example "proof" is not the way to go.) To see that obvious fact, it suffices to look at many "developed" economies. The issue is the stage in economic development at which it happens. Roughly: for that to happen, you need a large enough populace with large enough disposable incomes; that means jobs, and decent-paying jobs at that; and manufacturing has been shown as a very reliable way to go about that. (I am here excluding "services" like shining shoes, selling roasted maize by the roadside, ... which obviously cannot replace decent jobs in manufacturing.)