Knowledge economy is not computer economy. M-pesa ecosystem is an example of knowledge economy. Current banking revolution is mostly thanks to computers making many things possible. You know how much a hassle banking was before computers were born.There are new jobs that you can see if you've never been to kenya in last 5-10yrs. One is ubiquitious boda boda - transport sector of the economy- that now employs millions of youths - who otherwise would be idling or under employed in farms. Their earning is certainly more than what guys make in industrial area...and way better than those in Ethiopia slave factories.As for m-pesa & banking agent jobs - all you need to find out is how many safaricom and airtel agents are out there - last I checked there were 150,000 in Safcom alone - and way bigger number than that - I have seen survey of their earning (from transactions fee) -coming down to 12-30k per agent on average. That 200K is understatement considering banks have way more agents than that.All those are example of new jobs. The traditional jobs of industrial area, farming and construction work is being suplimented by new jobs - more example Uber taxis jobs - that is knowledge economy job - thanks to a simple mapping application.
You don't have to manufacture chips to take advantage of knolwedge economy. All you need are the kind of educated, innovative, and receptive people like kenyans.
As for earning - in informal sector -catching up with formal sector - you need to look for labour survey that was done I think in 2010 or about. The constant is the level of education..so I mean std 8 drop out working formally as security guard in some company - is doing less than std 8 drop out working in transport sector as a boda boda.
With the knowledge economy - we need to rethink this manufacturing is the only way out for us.
I get the knowledge economy bit. It is not IT.
About the silicon chips, I think this is precisely the kind of high-tech industry that an
educated, innovative and receptive people like Kenyans would benefit from. It requires huge investments in terms of infrastructure obviously.
There is a lot that goes into it, so it can spur the growth of related industries and services. From chemical processing industries, to real estate, to restaurants, and other things that follow such developments.
And in the process Kenya gets to master the production of something whose demand worldwide is virtually unlimited. I am saying we need a visionary that says by 2022, Kenya should be host to a factory assembling silicon chips and then gets down working on making it happening.
I don't get the impression that such a drive would take away or slow down the knowledge economy...if anything, it would just add to it. To be fair, I have no idea how or what the government should do to make that happen. Maybe attract one of the big players like intel or a rival to set up shop.