You guys totally misunderstood the meaning of knowledge economy ...
Of course. And we are grateful to you for enlightening us.
But I think there is alternative that kenya is showing possible. Nothing novel here...other countries have done this..although they've financed it using oil (Arab Emirates) or tourism money (sychelles).
We don't have any serious oil; so we can skip the Emirates.
Seychelles: A truly bizarre example. The place has a total population of about
97,000---less than some small surburb in Nairobi!---that, moreover, growing very slowly.
Other suggestions (or "models" as you call them) for how Kenya will finance its great leap forward?
Back to the 24m problem..we have about 2-3m in formal jobs -either in gov or private sector..nobody has big problem with that..some few(maybe 1/4) in agricluture sectors are doing well enough..we already are doing well in service sectors...lots of new jobs employed as m-pesa/bank agents (maybe anything 200,000), tourism sectors employs hundrend thousands, about 300,000 are now employed as security guards, we have nearly 1m involved in boda boda riders and transport sectors as drivers/touts, about 1m maybe employed in Mjengo jobs, then new class of SMES doing trading, you have guys working in the ever expanding formal retails..supermarket attendants as far better jobs than shopkeer, folks working as cyber attendants...all these jobs have been shown to pay as equally well as formal jobs...such a teacher or doctor...for the same level of education.
Interesting figures. If I may query just one: how do you arrive at "maybe 200,000" for MPESA/bank agents?
I'm sure there are many employed as watchmen, touts, boda-boda operators. I don't know how much they make. Do they make enough to get out of poverty?
What does "for the same level of education" mean when comparing a doctor with supermarket attendants and cyber attendants?
Lastly, out of the 24m you started with, how many do you have left?
Find out how large an industrial park you'll need to employ 200,000 people.
That simple, huh?
...and we can take advantage of knowledge economy straight to first world. Estonia has done it. It is not industrial power.
There are things Ethiopia can do...go the China way..and there are things Kenya can do..go the Estonia way
Estonia is another odd one. Apart from the advantages it has from being a member of the EU and from its geographical position (esp. w.r.t to Russia), it has a tiny---and shrinking---population:
1.3 million is about the size of Mombasa. Also, looking at its economy by sector, I don't see much of "knowledge economy". The top 4 sectors in 2015: manufacturing (15%), real estate (10%), wholesale and retail trade (12%), transport and storage (8%). And so on.