Author Topic: DPP Tobiko looses another case as Kenyan Tokyo Embassy saga case is thrown out  (Read 2939 times)

Tobiko now 5 years in office and nothing to prove of it. We hear he has expanded his office to the county level but the workmanship of his team is still amateur level.
On my part I assume Tobiko is just another compromised public official. He is there to obstruct justice.

In making the ruling, a Nairobi court said the prosecution had failed to prove the case against the three.

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Ex-PS-Thuita-Mwangi--two-others-acquitted-of-Tokyo-embassy-scam/-/1056/3139228/-/7pejfs/-/index.html

It good deterrent but not good enough.Tobiko claims he had problem getting Japanase witnesses to testify. All in all, after 8yrs, Tobiko should throw in the towel this or next year.

Am sure he did not even try.
Gangster's paradise. :D :D :D

It good deterrent but not good enough.Tobiko claims he had problem getting Japanase witnesses to testify. All in all, after 8yrs, Tobiko should throw in the towel this or next year.

Only in Kenya does it take 8yrs to prosecute a high level crime. Thats progress!!!
50yrs post independence.

In the Old RCB I published a detailed Price List for various charges and how to get off.

These days since it became trickier (not impossible) to buy a judge on the open market, the Court Clerks, Investigators and State Counsels are doing good business.

I am told the charge of Robbery with violence can be easily settled at the police station for some of the proceeds. In fact the advice given to those in trouble is to sort it out with the police before it reaches the court.

Kangaroo courts are found at every police station and guess what? Wanainchi prefer them to the courts. Recently I came over a woman who had assaulted the husband's mistress. The police "fined" her 20k. She could only raise 13K. The accepted as long as the rest is cleared in a few days. If not they would re-arrest and charge her without refunding the "fine".

My take is on this: ALL parties dragged it for as long as possible until they were sure most of the proceeds had been sufficiently shared. Only then did the judge get the green light to deliver the acquittal.

I don't buy the story about Japanese witnesses not being available. The Japanese are brought up to honor authority.

Yeah. It still rife. This weekend I was with cop former prosecutor...now their job been taken by Tobiko counsel..but he still cop assisting the prosecutors...and he told me corruption in corridors have never stopped. The judge and prosecutor will find ways and means to help you. Either by telling you to "disappear" the crucial witnesses or exhibits.Everyone covers their behind. Tobiko and Mutunga can return the files...but if one has been paid...hakuna kitu. Magistrates and Judges are as corrupt as our cops.
In the Old RCB I published a detailed Price List for various charges and how to get off.

These days since it became trickier (not impossible) to buy a judge on the open market, the Court Clerks, Investigators and State Counsels are doing good business.

I am told the charge of Robbery with violence can be easily settled at the police station for some of the proceeds. In fact the advice given to those in trouble is to sort it out with the police before it reaches the court.

Kangaroo courts are found at every police station and guess what? Wanainchi prefer them to the courts. Recently I came over a woman who had assaulted the husband's mistress. The police "fined" her 20k. She could only raise 13K. The accepted as long as the rest is cleared in a few days. If not they would re-arrest and charge her without refunding the "fine".

My take is on this: ALL parties dragged it for as long as possible until they were sure most of the proceeds had been sufficiently shared. Only then did the judge get the green light to deliver the acquittal.

I don't buy the story about Japanese witnesses not being available. The Japanese are brought up to honor authority.

The so called "vetting" simply taught lessons to the bribe takers on what NOT to do. If you are a bribe-taker and still still banking your bribes then you missed the memo. Mpesa is suicide.

There are just few places where policemen still pick those coiled notes thrown by the roadside.... trusted civilian "consultants" now perform that role. I some places like the Kericho-Eldoret junction (Makutano), Likoni ferry, mai mahiu-Narok, Chavakali-Kapsabet etc there are civilians collecting the cash and handing it over.

A better system of transmitting the cash has been setup. With many running vehicles (thanks to leasing) never wonder what a dusty landcruiser hardtop from Hola is doing in Nairobi. Now that I have mentioned it, start noticing those police vehicles. The Kenya Police is just one large mafia whose main occupation is to collect money, keep some and pass the rest up the system. From before the money reaches The CS Internal security.

Each region (=former province) has a quota that must be met. Therefore all avenues have to be employed. If you are a young OCS dreaming of becoming an OCPD or higher and constantly fail to meet your "targets", you might as well drop the dream as you not only will never make that rank but face the real prospect of demotion following some cooked up case against you. That hapless Kavuludi won't help you. Thanks to Jubilee MPs Kavuludi was emasculated.

My point here is any case is as good as lost if the investigation is shoddy. Tobiko has failed in that he never cleaned up the system left to him by KANU stooges. Now that the window of opportunity has closed, there is no chance of any reforms in that sector.

Thuita may be guilty or not. We will never know. I gave up on that case when Wetangula was openly and shamelessly allowed by Marende to bribe MPs

Hehehe...so says the man who sees nothing worth pursuing in the open and shut Samuel Gichuru case.