Author Topic: Reuters underline the point..Obama done zilch for Kogelo and Kenya  (Read 9876 times)

Here is a teacher from Kogelo.

We thought the American government could at least bring some assistance to the area," said Stephen Okumu Obewa, a teacher who works at Senator Barack Obama Primary School, named before Obama reached the White House.

"Maybe he is interested somehow but we are not aware," he said in a scruffy school with many broken chairs and desks.

http://widerimage.reuters.com/story/obama-son-of-kenya

Re: Reuters underline the point..Obama done zilch for Kogelo and Kenya
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2015, 03:20:03 PM »
I think I have done better for my village.

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2015, 03:24:24 PM »
It very shameful for Obama. I hope he uses the next 2yrs doing something good for folks that truly love and appreciate him. The Americans don't seem to give a sh.iet.

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2015, 03:58:20 PM »
Here is what I would do:

1. Provide shoes for each and every one of those kids as part of child protection - simply ask the embassy to call UNICEF and ask them if they have undertaken a Child Protection Compliance Analysis of ..... school. The white House wants to know... end of the story
2. Renovate the entire school and provide piped water (UNICEF or some NGO)
3. Equip the library (some university in Chile or Venezuela)
4. Feed the kids and teachers daily (from my salary)

You will not be asking these people to do anything extra ordinary. They have the funds and they simply don't use them.
It very shameful for Obama. I hope he uses the next 2yrs doing something good for folks that truly love and appreciate him. The Americans don't seem to give a sh.iet.

« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2015, 04:28:58 PM »
The man is so powerful..he can hire someone like you to ran a foundation....something like "Dreams of my Father Foundation" from the books proceeds. He shouldn't not be overly concerned with what some rethugs racist will say back in the US of A. He should be concerned about what he can do about the poverty in a place that he is connected with it.

If Obama was white man who traced his roots to say Bulgaria...he would not be burden if he was assisting Bulgarians. But he has allowed himself to be boxed in.

Obama for me is a failed disgrace as far as Kogelo, Nyanza and Kenya is concerned. I really wish he can ship his ar.se out of the country as soon as possible.

He has two years to redeem himself.

Here is what I would do:

1. Provide shoes for each and every one of those kids as part of child protection - simply ask the embassy to call UNICEF and ask them if they have undertaken a Child Protection Compliance Analysis of ..... school. The white House wants to know... end of the story
2. Renovate the entire school and provide piped water (UNICEF or some NGO)
3. Equip the library (some university in Chile or Venezuela)
4. Feed the kids and teachers daily (from my salary)

You will not be asking these people to do anything extra ordinary. They have the funds and they simply don't use them.

« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2015, 04:38:05 PM »
It would be interesting to see how the county government, where this school is, has used the money allocated to it.  I would look there first before blaming Obama.

Because of devolution, I would not even go as far as blaming the National government until I am satisfied with how the county has used its money.

Even if one ignores the role of the county government, it's interesting to realize that Obama will be in a better position to help "his" people and others that need philanthropy after leaving office.

As President, he works within the legal constraints of accountability enforced by Congress. 

That said, even after leaving office, there will still be millions that he won't be able to save.

« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2015, 05:15:37 PM »
You seem to think just because county is a gov or kenya has gov; it has the same capacity as Obama or US gov. Siaya county has very little money compared to the needs. Their budget is probably equivalent to what a really tiny town in US has. And the county has to deal with 1M folks plus.

Even if all the money is prudently used....no way Siaya county can afford to build nice schools all over. If Siaya county shared the money among st the resident; it would be 30dollars per person per annum. What can that do...if you were to prudently use it yourself.

Obama is not constrained to do charity. He is not constrained to start a foundation. He is not constrained in any way to help.

That  6 yrs after becoming the most powerful man in planet earth....Obama has done zilch for Kogelo is a scandal for me. All that has been done in kogelo were done by Kenya gov, Saudis and such kind of folks.

I'm sure if Kogelo resident were interviewed today; they would express a very dim view of Obama; like Malik Obama did. The man is a FRAUD.

Obama Senior was helped by JFK. And JFK remains a great president for that and many other reason. Our little man Obama doesn't have the same heart. JFK didn't shrink and say I cannot help Africans to come over and join Harvard....until I'm out of office. And luckly so..because he died in office.

The idea that we should wait for private Obama to help us given powerful obama is constrained is ridiculous.

It would be interesting to see how the county government, where this school is, has used the money allocated to it.  I would look there first before blaming Obama.

Because of devolution, I would not even go as far as blaming the National government until I am satisfied with how the county has used its money.

Even if one ignores the role of the county government, it's interesting to realize that Obama will be in a better position to help "his" people and others that need philanthropy after leaving office.

As President, he works within the legal constraints of accountability enforced by Congress. 

That said, even after leaving office, there will still be millions that he won't be able to save.

« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2015, 05:24:32 PM »
Termie

Siaya County has no business making Obama look generous. I gave him a lot of leeway. I am not seeing anything for the troubles. There are some small initiatives that he can take without cutting sweat.

« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2015, 05:28:49 PM »
We are talking the most powerful man on planet..that right now has shutdown Nairobi and taken over Uhuru statehouses. He doesn't have to lift his finger..to help...his family. The family house was built by Saudis because the family is Islamic. Obama has done zilch. Malik is not embittered for nothing.
Termie

Siaya County has no business making Obama look generous. I gave him a lot of leeway. I am not seeing anything for the troubles. There are some small initiatives that he can take without cutting sweat.

« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2015, 06:27:01 PM »
You seem to think just because county is a gov or kenya has gov; it has the same capacity as Obama or US gov. Siaya county has very little money compared to the needs. Their budget is probably equivalent to what a really tiny town in US has. And the county has to deal with 1M folks plus.

Even if all the money is prudently used....no way Siaya county can afford to build nice schools all over. If Siaya county shared the money among st the resident; it would be 30dollars per person per annum. What can that do...if you were to prudently use it yourself.

Obama is not constrained to do charity. He is not constrained to start a foundation. He is not constrained in any way to help.

That  6 yrs after becoming the most powerful man in planet earth....Obama has done zilch for Kogelo is a scandal for me. All that has been done in kogelo were done by Kenya gov, Saudis and such kind of folks.

I'm sure if Kogelo resident were interviewed today; they would express a very dim view of Obama; like Malik Obama did. The man is a FRAUD.

Obama Senior was helped by JFK. And JFK remains a great president for that and many other reason. Our little man Obama doesn't have the same heart. JFK didn't shrink and say I cannot help Africans to come over and join Harvard....until I'm out of office. And luckly so..because he died in office.

The idea that we should wait for private Obama to help us given powerful obama is constrained is ridiculous.

I get that bit that these are his kinsmen.  His father came from among them.  He has even visited and lived among them as he sought to find out more about his absentee father.  But he doesn't come from there.  The people that really matter to him are in Chicago.  And Hawaii to some extent.  It's not because he is cold.  It's just where his roots are.  That is a fact Africans keep ignoring.

I won't claim to know what he has or hasn't done for Kogelo.  I still think that is the responsibility of the county government.  Maybe they should appeal to Obama for help and show why the money they get could not have possibly helped buy new chairs and desks if only for this one school.

« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2015, 06:29:21 PM »
Termie

Omollo,

The man comes from Chicago, where public schools are closing down due lack of funding.  Inner cities that could use some public amenity or another.  How can he be more concerned about Kogelo, a place that is near mythical to most folks in his Chicago backyard?

« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2015, 08:42:15 PM »
Politically, he can't. You have to know USA and its laws, besides what Windy City mentioned about Chicago.

« Reply #12 on: July 24, 2015, 09:14:19 PM »
Termie

Who would have imagined that Mpesa would be a revolution that is sweeping the world as we speak. Perhaps from Kogelo, he could have found the solution to the Chicago schools. Table banking or chama as we know it has spread to boardrooms in the west.

« Reply #13 on: July 24, 2015, 09:27:54 PM »
Termie,
Other U.S. presidents went out of their way to help Negroes they knew nothing about. Osama by virtue of his roots in Kenia, roots that took him here, roots that he proudly shared during the campaigns, he OUGHT to have done more....or at least pretend to have done something.

« Reply #14 on: July 24, 2015, 09:40:10 PM »
Termie

Who would have imagined that Mpesa would be a revolution that is sweeping the world as we speak. Perhaps from Kogelo, he could have found the solution to the Chicago schools. Table banking or chama as we know it has spread to boardrooms in the west.
If Kogelo can provide solutions, that would be a step in the right direction.  It would render this discussion moot.  Table banking sounds like credit unions.

« Reply #15 on: July 24, 2015, 09:42:41 PM »
Termie,
Other U.S. presidents went out of their way to help Negroes they knew nothing about. Osama by virtue of his roots in Kenia, roots that took him here, roots that he proudly shared during the campaigns, he OUGHT to have done more....or at least pretend to have done something.
vooke,

You have been shown that Obama has actually substantially increased US aid to Kenya.  I think this belief that he is not helping has taken on a religious tenor.  There is no reasoning with that.

« Reply #16 on: July 24, 2015, 09:46:27 PM »
Termie,
vooke,

You have been shown that Obama has actually substantially increased US aid to Kenya.  I think this belief that he is not helping has taken on a religious tenor.  There is no reasoning with that.
Termie,
You have been shown that is slightly more mythical than Mary Poppins.
The idea that Osama pulled some strings and tinkered with Kenia aid for better is Auntie-Hubris-esque in reverse. Those are apparitions; very visible to the believers and invisible to everyone else 8)

« Reply #17 on: July 24, 2015, 10:20:57 PM »
People, listen to me. Obama can't and will not help Kenya as long as he is president. He can't even help Chicago.  Its in the USA political system and the law. He can even be impeached for doing it. Indirectly, yes he can.

Termie,
vooke,

Termie,
The idea that Osama pulled some strings and tinkered with Kenia aid for better is Auntie-Hubris-esque in reverse. Those are apparitions; very visible to the believers and invisible to everyone else 8)

« Reply #18 on: July 24, 2015, 10:31:17 PM »
People, listen to me. Obama can't and will not help Kenya as long as he is president. He can't even help Chicago.  Its in the USA political system and the law. He can even be impeached for doing it. Indirectly, yes he can.

Termie,
vooke,

Termie,
Parkerpen,

It's a case of people crying more than the bereaved.  I will wait and hear what Auma Obama has to say on the subject.  I cannot take Malik seriously.  He wants money for another wife.

« Reply #19 on: July 25, 2015, 01:05:38 AM »
In short obama is very small man. That is why he cannot take on bigger causes globally.