Author Topic: Rainy season! Farmers, nature-lovers and tree planters, kujeni hapa!  (Read 2031 times)

Offline .

First of all asante sana to Veri and the mods for the ignore list option :D!

The last thread on this same topic "ukulima is sweet" was destroyed by one soulless cretin with not an iota of joy in his life that we are all familiar with. Even if he shows up on this one, he will be talking to the wind - at least to me - on anything I post 8). Asanteni tena mods!

Christmas rainy season (Oct to Dec) is by far my favourite season in Kwiinya, especially when said rains don't fail. The countrysides turn a lush verdant green and the weather is very pleasant compared to the scorching sun and dust seasons.

If it were up to me, a 4WD double-cab Hilux would be the national car of Kwiinya. Every land owner, farmer and/or lover of our beautiful countryside in Kwiinya should have one if and when they can afford it. Nothing better than loading it up with provisions you are taking with you to the countryside home, stopping at a Rubis or Ola to fill up on petrol, check the oil and tyre pressure, pick up tree seedlings, before heading out swaaaaaaaa out of noisy Nairobi towards the villages.

Navigating through the hills, valleys and even the mud roads navguuuu with no issues whatsoever from this powerful vehicle. Sometimes on lonely stretches with the entire road and shimmering landscapes to yourself. Jamming to your mzikis. Isabeurifulthing ritru bit ritru bit.

My provisions are usually things like a 20L jug of bottled water to replace in the dispenser mashinani (you can't trust that harvested rain water for drinking purposes), perhaps a gas cylinder if the one there needs replacement, the usual groceries - coffee, sugar, cooking oil na kadhalika -- as well as lots of reading material (I find I do my most enjoyable reading while under the serene environment that mashinani comprises of.) No need to go with the ungas, veggies and nyamas and so on for obvious reasons. On the shamba everything comes to your plate fresh and/or just slaughtered. Oganic and very delicious! There's nothing tastier than that countryside organic food.

WIth the USB loaded with hundreds of songs (many from the Music-Interlude thread on this forum) and podcasts to listen to in the car, I'm all set to hit the road out of noisy Nairobi hittuuuuu. Driving on Kwiinyan highways is always interesting -- past the livestock, venal cops, crazy drivers in some cases and roadside hawkers. Always a delight for me. There's a certain joy that comes with getting out of your routines in the cities and having a road trip across our beautiful country.

When I arrive at the acres, the first thing I do is park the Hilux at my neighbour's ranch and sneak stealthily stilthuuuu slowly slowly so that the caretakers do not notice. By the way telling them in advance that you are on your way to the farm is the WORST thing you can do. Be unpredictable in your appearances so that they are always on their toes, not knowing when you will show up next, keeping things in ship shape order as a result. If you do the opposite then you are doomed. They will make sure the acres are ship shape before you arrive. They will then leave them to benign neglect as soon as you pack up and leave. Isasadthing, but that's just how all employees in Kwiinya are. Lazima you make sure wakae chonjo 24/7. To all you Statesiders with little ground experience in Kwiinya, there is one thing you need to understand and it is this. Huko majuu treating your employees with care and kid gloves is the norm and widely accepted. Employees dedicate themselves even more when you do so. Huku if you do that it doesn't work kapsa. They will think you are stupid and take advantage accordingly. Here the more you talk tough and bark orders accordingly, the more they respect and obey you. For those who want extreme obedience, I have seen one of my jiranis slap the taste out of one of his employees twafff right in front of the others for good measure, for full impact. That's when they will respect you more. I've never done it and don't recommend it, but I have seen first hand how effective it is. As Moi used to say, mwabrika ni ghichwa ngumu sana. Translation; he only responds to physical pain, torture chambers and filthy cells.  Hizo zingine ni upepo tu. He doesn't listen kabzaa. But I digress.

If I find all is in order I head back to the car and bring it in. If not, the caretakers are in trouble, buddies. Thankfully these days that is a rare occurrence.

https://i.postimg.cc/Gt533nW7/fergusonshower-1536x810-1-600x316.jpg

Once parked by the home and the farm gate is closed is when the joy really begins. Inspecting the fruit and timber trees, walking around with the godpapa hat on, ivory-tipped walking stick in tow (for pointing at things and threatening to beat up wayward employees as stated above). Gumboots ni lazima. Vacation mode has officially started. Planting the trees I have brought is supremely rewarding. Watching others you planted years ago blossom into huge sprawling ones is even more rewarding. Easy living at its best.

There's nothing as enjoyable as having a hot shower with solar heated water, off-grid. Or riding around in the pickup to retiree-neighbours ranches and catching up, getting tips and inspecting their farms, exchanging produce/honey and so on. Funnily enough most of us there are Nairobians or former Nairobians, so communing with each other is super easy.

With the advent of cellular towers everywhere and Safcom 5G routers, internet, TV and phonecalls are topnotch while there. So for those of you who love to work from home, you get to enjoy the best of all worlds in the serene countryside. I remember how during the mahandamanos in Kwiinya (that, as I predicted, went nowhere within a week or two and were quickly forgotten!)  I would be watching teargas flying flyuuuuu on the TV screens in HD. Enjoying my millet uji in the sweet comforts of my mashinani living room. A very safe distance from the capital city, while the Gen-z's cried as they wasted time on the streets. Isanenjoyable thing.

Bottom line, nothing beats country life in rural Kwiinya  for recharging and refreshing the soul. Total peace and serenity. Nature is the best therapy. 
I've said it before, one of my favourite things to do is sit by the firepit with friends at dusk as the sun sets in the horizon. Inhaling the aromas of crackling wood and roasting meat as the stars start to twinkle above. Maisha ni kunjienjoy swinngh swaanngh!

Wacha nijipange to head on there kesho. Isagoodthing.

Ni hayo tu

Happy weekend to all.

Meezy

N.B. All pics borrowed

Re: Rainy season! Farmers, nature-lovers and tree planters, kujeni hapa!
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2025, 06:28:27 PM »
Excellent thread Sir,
This year the rain has been faithful.
I had decided to plant tea in my land.
The rain has been great.
20 acres dones.
30 more to go.
All trees gone though.
I am now expert in driving backhoe and uprooting them stumps.

Agreed on Hillux and any Toyota on that matter.

« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2025, 01:45:47 AM »
Excellent thread Sir,
The rain has been great.
20 acres dones.
30 more to go.
All trees gone though.

1) How much charcoal do the stumps produce?

2) I think:
Rice.
Sunflower,
acacia,
cotton,

are better frontiers than tea?

Offline .

« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2025, 03:07:54 AM »
Excellent thread Sir,
The rain has been great.
20 acres dones.
30 more to go.
All trees gone though.

Good stuff. You must have made good money from the trees. I got a heads up from a lady on YouTube who grows Eucalyptus on several acres. She said Raiply cannot get enough trees for plywood, they are  searching everywhere, so trees are a sure bet. Very little stress (except warding off thieves who cut them for makaa and so on at night!) Raiply will come with all their lorries and machines and  harvest like mad, finishing in no time. And of course, as you know, they (eucalyptus) keep growing again. I always joke and say blue gums are perpetual passive income. I however prefer Cypress for myself. Number one the timber is very expensive. Number two it doesn't have the water needs of blue gum. Number three it's fairly fast growing and just looks pleasing to the eye. It's also a good screening plant for the fence if planted close together. Good luck to the folks on the roads outside trying to peep into your farm!

Like tea, I also like the long term concept of hardy fruit trees. You plant them once, wait a few years and they can produce perpetual passive income. Honey is also a good one if you can process from farm to branded jars. Everyone can produce honey, but branding is for a select few. If you get it on the Quickmart et al's shelves, you are on the next level - uko sawa kabsaa. But overall for me, as discussed in the Ukulima thread, farming is more of a hobby and stress release for me. The closer we are to nature and the soil, the better for the soul. Human beings have a special relationship with the soil as we are made from it.

Then there's the non-financial security in knowing that if the world goes to pot - sijui lockdowns, sijui coronascams, sijui whatever- you have a comfortable sanctuary full of all the amenities you need to survive long term into your sunset years bila any worry whatsoever. Watching beautiful sunsets and shooting the breeze with friends and family. Rat-race be damned!

Ni hayo tu

« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2025, 09:53:39 AM »
Villager collect them for firewood.
I also keep stack for my own firewood.
The whole of this year I gave out my land to villages to plant their maize/etc
To help me with clearing.
Then I remove them slowly planting section of land.
It like gov shamba system
1) How much charcoal do the stumps produce?

2) I think:
Rice.
Sunflower,
acacia,
cotton,

are better frontiers than tea?

« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2025, 09:55:35 AM »
I have done trees for 20yrs.
It easiest thing to do if you want passive income.
But I decided to get more into tea
Hopefully inshallah once I get  to 50 acres.
I can build my own small mini-factory to process special tea.
I want to slowly retire into village life.
As I age and prepare to 'die';
There were lots of beehives in my land from villagers.
There are Dorobos/Ogike who love those things.
But I dont eat honey - I am allergic to it.
I also dont like any ANIMAL - so I cant do cows or dogs or cats.

Good stuff. You must have made good money from the trees. I got a heads up from a lady on YouTube who grows Eucalyptus on several acres. She said Raiply cannot get enough trees for plywood, they are  searching everywhere, so trees are a sure bet. Very little stress (except warding off thieves who cut them for makaa and so on at night!) Raiply will come with all their lorries and machines and  harvest like mad, finishing in no time. And of course, as you know, they (eucalyptus) keep growing again. I always joke and say blue gums are perpetual passive income. I however prefer Cypress for myself. Number one the timber is very expensive. Number two it doesn't have the water needs of blue gum. Number three it's fairly fast growing and just looks pleasing to the eye. It's also a good screening plant for the fence if planted close together. Good luck to the folks on the roads outside trying to peep into your farm!

Like tea, I also like the long term concept of hardy fruit trees. You plant them once, wait a few years and they can produce perpetual passive income. Honey is also a good one if you can process from farm to branded jars. Everyone can produce honey, but branding is for a select few. If you get it on the Quickmart et al's shelves, you are on the next level - uko sawa kabsaa. But overall for me, as discussed in the Ukulima thread, farming is more of a hobby and stress release for me. The closer we are to nature and the soil, the better for the soul. Human beings have a special relationship with the soil as we are made from it.

Then there's the non-financial security in knowing that if the world goes to pot - sijui lockdowns, sijui coronascams, sijui whatever- you have a comfortable sanctuary full of all the amenities you need to survive long term into your sunset years bila any worry whatsoever. Watching beautiful sunsets and shooting the breeze with friends and family. Rat-race be damned!

Ni hayo tu

Offline .

« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2025, 08:05:21 AM »

Good stuff. I have the same dream about retiring mashinani 50% (as in spend 50% of my time there and 50% at my other retirement spot in a different smaller town out of Nairobi.) Nairobi-metro is probably the WORST place to retire, regardless of what part one lives. Too much noise, pollution, stress, contaminated food, traffic and snobbish " Nairobi-mindset" people. Those who have grown super rich (billionaires) through theft and act with impunity. In my gated community we have two. They flout all rules with impunity because they feel they are untouchable. Their money is their fortress.

Isapite.

I agree with ya on animals. I let my caretakers keep theirs on a small section of the acres but the rest I don't want a single animal on. Too much headache for too little upside. Add the stench and flies, for cows especially; not good! Besides, most of my neighbours have dairy cows, kukus and so on. If I need fresh slaughtered meat, milk and eggs, I just source from them and enjoy enjoyuuuuu bila msukosuko.

My favourite time when I am  on the farm is when God blesses us with rain. I love to put my chair in the outdoor covered verandah, pour me a good cup of coffee, listen to the patter of raindrops on the roof as the water from the gutters enters the huge above ground and undeground tanks snywaaaaaaaaaa. And into the huge pond (silanga) shpuuuuuu. One heavy rain episode and I have  enough  clean fresh water storage to survive a 1 year apocalypse. Good living at its best! A pond 1 metre deep and half an acre in size can collect millions of litres of water per rainy season. This is one secret many Kwiinyans don't understand. Still thinking that tanks alone are the only option. One huge pond investment and you're set for life.

But my passion still remains trees. Their beauty. Their economic value. Their ability to change the micro-climate especially in hot and dry areas, an their multiple uses; medicine, timber, fruits and more. Add that the bigger they get, the more beautiful and the more the economic value thereof. The old adage about money not growing on trees was wrong. Money DOES grow on trees.

Ni hayo tu

« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2025, 09:34:33 AM »
Good stuff there Oldie.
The rains been very good this year.
Infact one best year in my memory in our place
Evenly distributed; Not too much;
It was perfect time for my tea.

« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2025, 09:45:23 AM »
Going through the thread leaves me with wonder if any of you oldie and pundit even know about rural life leave alone ranch life
Firstly the Toyota hilux is being gradually but surely being replaced by the Isuzu dmax,myself I use the dmax in the ranch normally a land cruiser or a patrol type of is the go, but you have to be moneyed to do that
Keeping dorper sheep is the most easiet way to easy income and a constant full stomach especially when you have visitors  and guests popping in anytime
Planting trees and tea you have to wait years if not decades for returns. But all said country life is the best am allergic to urban life myself.

« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2025, 10:38:01 AM »
Yes I have heard good things about Dmax.
I have old reliable Harrier for rural runs.
That thing is unbeatable in muddy roads of Kuresoi.
As for what plant - it depends - where you're.
I was thinking of buying land in Kajiado for goats and sheeps.
But I dont know.
Going through the thread leaves me with wonder if any of you oldie and pundit even know about rural life leave alone ranch life
Firstly the Toyota hilux is being gradually but surely being replaced by the Isuzu dmax,myself I use the dmax in the ranch normally a land cruiser or a patrol type of is the go, but you have to be moneyed to do that
Keeping dorper sheep is the most easiet way to easy income and a constant full stomach especially when you have visitors  and guests popping in anytime
Planting trees and tea you have to wait years if not decades for returns. But all said country life is the best am allergic to urban life myself.

Offline .

« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2025, 03:33:01 PM »

Hehehehe live and let live brother. We can't all wear the same suit you wear that you think is better, brother, ama? Kila mtu na taste yake.
Isuzus have all sorts of issues beyond the scope of this post. I owned an Isuzu zamoo and it gave me headaches galore.
Agreed on country life. Especially as we age on up.
In the US I used to own an old rickety datsun pickup strictly for shamba life there. It's the best car I ever owned to date and I miss it dearly even though it didn't even have aircon. It was a real work horse and a delight to drive.

The waiting part is the best part for me  :D. To see the transformation bit by bit is like raising a child. Seeing them grow and change. Very rewarding.
Making maney flom ablod is what we did decades ago :D
Farming is just a hobby and for therapy. Iyo tu
Any income from it is a bonus.

Offline .

« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2025, 09:26:29 AM »

Farm life inspiration. Albeit from mzungus

« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2025, 03:45:30 PM »

Why are you dying already and not even 40 years old? :D

Mzee Raila died at age 80 despite having spent almopst a decade in Nyayo's dungeons. Ukiwacha pombe you can live for 55 more years. Live long enough to see your great grandkids.

« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2025, 06:13:01 PM »
Kadudu, my family and entire konoin is under serious cancer attack, sioni tukimake.

« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2025, 08:25:38 AM »

Mzee Raila died at age 80 despite having spent almopst a decade in Nyayo's dungeons. Ukiwacha pombe you can live for 55 more years. Live long enough to see your great grandkids.
Pundit is over 40 He is my senior, being in jela can actually give someone a long life like you avoid all the bad foods and risks of free life think of it, no car accidents,no obesity and other lifestyle diseases,no alcohol,you even survive global disasters like covid, political upheavals etc

« Reply #15 on: November 14, 2025, 02:48:04 PM »

Pundit is over 40 He is my senior, being in jela can actually give someone a long life like you avoid all the bad foods and risks of free life think of it, no car accidents,no obesity and other lifestyle diseases,no alcohol,you even survive global disasters like covid, political upheavals etc
Actually, not true. It is the opposite based on numerous studies here in the USA. Chronic stress from lack of freedom is the worst. Anywhere a man or a woman cannot get consistent sex, happiness, and full freedom to do what he/she wants is a killer environment! 
prison life can accelerate the aging process due to factors like stress, poor diet, and inadequate healthcare, causing inmates to show signs of aging and illness years ahead of their chronological age. Studies show that incarcerated individuals can experience accelerated biological aging, with some studies finding that prison time can add 11 months to a person's biological age, and experiences with violence can accelerate aging even more

« Reply #16 on: November 14, 2025, 03:28:16 PM »
This is inspiring, getting close to calling it a day to a life of relaxation, a few acres in Nanyuki area to grow my organic stuff, a nice upmarket apartment, a nice rural home, a substantial passive income, the USA and especially the one we have now is to come and occasionally see the kids when life gets a little too monotonous in Kenya.

Offline .

« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2025, 03:20:16 AM »
This is inspiring, getting close to calling it a day to a life of relaxation, a few acres in Nanyuki area to grow my organic stuff, a nice upmarket apartment, a nice rural home, a substantial passive income, the USA and especially the one we have now is to come and occasionally see the kids when life gets a little too monotonous in Kenya.

Sounds like an excellent plan, brother. Nanyuki and Laikipia in general is beautiful. Lolldaiga hills, Aberdares and of course the majestic Kirimara are all in view from one's verandah during coffee mornings. No wonder the wazungus stole all the land in these types of areas. They are still there in force on huge tracts of land albeit not very visible to the average Kwiinyan. What's interesting is that unlike us Africans, they live in very modest - sometimes tatty - homes on their acres. Naivasha is yet another example of this. We Africans on the other hand seem to love our huge mansions once the pockets are full. The problem with such mansions is that maintenance is a headache and telephoning someone who is downstairs or in a room far away becomes the norm! Then we die without wills always and the family starts to fight each other to death until everything we built with sweat over decades goes to the dogs!

Offline .

« Reply #18 on: November 25, 2025, 02:06:10 PM »
The one huge change I've seen during the years I've been back in Kwiinya is a simple one.
Large swathes of the middle, upper middle and upper classes have decentralized from Nairobi core and can now either live or run businesses in far flung places. Let me give you guys an example. Juzi I took a long road trip to a relatively remote part of Kenya. En route, I came across this no name town (if you could call it that - it was more of a ragtag set of shops, sparsely populated). I was shocked to find a very posh restaurant, complete with ornate wall & gate that wouldn't be out of place in Runda or Muthaiga right on the road there. Of course I had to go in and find out what was going on there. To my surprise, it turned out that the dude who owns the place is a fellow Kwiinyan -Amerikwan who lived in Texas for over 20 years! When I asked him why he chose to live and invest there, he said he despised Nairobi and just wanted to be somewhere very secluded. Add that the tarmack-road-fronting land was dirt cheap at the time of purchase. The resto was serving pretty good food too. Again, technology is flattening the bell curve of having a location advantage. These days even with just a smart phone alone, I can connect with/plug into the whole wide world! Look at this Jamyeekan lady in a remote part of southern Zanzibar, for example. Born in Jamyeeka, studied in the US, has lived in Asia+ SA plus elsewhere and has put down roots in Zanzibar. Storos like hers are now a dime a dozen, which is a great global trend IMHO.

Ni hayo tu

Offline .

« Reply #19 on: November 25, 2025, 02:10:01 PM »