Author Topic: Pundit, how is your quarry business doing?  (Read 1482 times)

Pundit, how is your quarry business doing?
« on: May 07, 2025, 11:01:52 AM »
Swali tu moja.
I hear you have many competitors now mainly from your community. What is this you guys are seeing which other groups are not seeing?

Re: Pundit, how is your quarry business doing?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2025, 11:16:57 AM »
Ni Kubaya - I moved sites - I am in process of again.

You need to own the land.

I dont understand what you mean my community.

Big boys are Indians and Chinese.

« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2025, 11:25:56 AM »
So one can have a quarry without possesing the land?

A Kale aquintance informed me he too is that business. That is why I was wondering if it is now a Kale thing.

Maybe the dual carriageway Nairobi-Nakuru will save you. In case you are near there.

« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2025, 01:39:29 PM »
Going around Kenya, seems the construction boom fizzled in 2015. Most towns are peeling off and there are only few serious constructions save for the loan funded public whose music has stopped.

Some mega projects have not spurred a construction boom like the Eldoret Bypass.

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2025, 06:27:44 AM »

Nonsense Merus and Kikuyus control quarry business in Kenya, one of advantages they have is that they directly own the land as opposed to those asians
Pundit you know nothing about quarry business you just a jack of all trade, From Ndarugo,Kiganjo, and Meru quarries where do you see chinese,Those stones from mt.kenya are responsible for almot 80% construction in Kenya.
Pundit first buy miguu kumi mbili i will give you numerous tenders to supply mawe. I have connections to several developers.

« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2025, 07:07:48 AM »
Building blocks.
We are talking crushing gravel/kokoto
Nonsense Merus and Kikuyus control quarry business in Kenya, one of advantages they have is that they directly own the land as opposed to those asians
Pundit you know nothing about quarry business you just a jack of all trade, From Ndarugo,Kiganjo, and Meru quarries where do you see chinese,Those stones from mt.kenya are responsible for almot 80% construction in Kenya.
Pundit first buy miguu kumi mbili i will give you numerous tenders to supply mawe. I have connections to several developers.

« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2025, 09:23:57 AM »
Building blocks.
We are talking crushing gravel/kokoto
Apart from Merus and Kikuyu the only other Kabila have come across is Waria somalis, this are the ones venturing seriously in the business, Warias want to take all businesses in 10 years they will control the economy, warias are even in shipping where Kikuyus are nil, recently they also ventured into farming and even more worrying have noticed even in the petrol stations they run they are not even afraid of stocking alcohol in their convinience stores but might be rented to nywele ngumu, in housing wariars are renting properties to air bnb
All this points to one thing, extreme thirst to take over Kenya and rule with an economic  stranglehold replacing and vanquishing Kikuyu, generally warias wako na ubaya round hii and no way to stop them
Njuri will write a thread on this "Kikuyu vs Somali Economics "

« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2025, 10:38:29 AM »
Building blocks - yeah Wariah wako.
Gravel/Kokoto is mostly Indian - a few chinese also.

Nobody go to business to crush anyone.
They all want to get more money - profit - to feed 10 kids and four wives.

Somalis are doing these things in Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania, South Sudan, DRC.

There is no conspiracy. Somalis are ultimate risk takers. They fear NOTHING.
They also dont like being employed as they are kichwa ngumu.

So business is more appealing - they have created international network - have trusted relatives worldwide.

Somalis v Kikuyu is stupidty. Somalis are global community with 30 m people occupying 5 countries - Kenya, Eth, Dj, Somaliland and Somalia.

And have huge diaspora worldwide.

Kikuyu wacompete than small tribes like Kalenjin and Luhyas.

Apart from Merus and Kikuyu the only other Kabila have come across is Waria somalis, this are the ones venturing seriously in the business, Warias want to take all businesses in 10 years they will control the economy, warias are even in shipping where Kikuyus are nil, recently they also ventured into farming and even more worrying have noticed even in the petrol stations they run they are not even afraid of stocking alcohol in their convinience stores but might be rented to nywele ngumu, in housing wariars are renting properties to air bnb
All this points to one thing, extreme thirst to take over Kenya and rule with an economic  stranglehold replacing and vanquishing Kikuyu, generally warias wako na ubaya round hii and no way to stop them
Njuri will write a thread on this "Kikuyu vs Somali Economics "

« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2025, 10:52:26 AM »
Quarry business is a rent-operate-run. You are liquid, you buy/lease a stone cutting machine, you may hit quality stone or see dust. 

Even in the villages, this is the quarry business model. You are left to reclaim your land polepole or it becomes Kwareish bodies dumping site.

Biashara ya kokoto is running into headwinds with cabros taking over for public roads and even homes.

« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2025, 10:57:26 AM »
I also do not understand why it is termed Kikuyu vs. Somali fight. Kilamtu is fighting for his survival. Somalis are just better connected to one another. That is why they can build business networkd spanning around the globe. They all feel related to one another. Does a Kikuyu from Kiambu have any feelings for a Kikuyu from Kirinyaga?

Even when Kisii business people stormed Nairobi very late in the early 2000's, no Kikuyu was compalining. Btw, Kikuyus never ran supermarkets or petrol stations outside Mt. Kenya region. Somalis stregth is actually due to the weakenss of the other etnic groups. Even in Europe and RSA Somali are running retail shops.

So business is more appealing - they have created international network - have trusted relatives worldwide.

Somalis v Kikuyu is stupidty. Somalis are global community with 30 m people occupying 5 countries - Kenya, Eth, Dj, Somaliland and Somalia.

« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2025, 11:09:00 AM »
JOMO kenyatta messed up Mt kenya - told them they own kenya because they kicked Mzungu out - we have BIG PROBLEM - Ruto and Moi did a good job to reduce their nonsense.

I also do not understand why it is termed Kikuyu vs. Somali fight. Kilamtu is fighting for his survival. Somalis are just better connected to one another. That is why they can build business networkd spanning around the globe. They all feel related to one another. Does a Kikuyu from Kiambu have any feelings for a Kikuyu from Kirinyaga?

Even when Kisii business people stormed Nairobi very late in the early 2000's, no Kikuyu was compalining. Btw, Kikuyus never ran supermarkets or petrol stations outside Mt. Kenya region. Somalis stregth is actually due to the weakenss of the other etnic groups. Even in Europe and RSA Somali are running retail shops.

« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2025, 11:09:32 AM »
Just like the animosity between Kikuyu and Luo, this one lacks any grievances. Eastleigh is a go-to hub for Kikuyu traders. They have made it what it is, as Wariah delivers cheaply, and they are able to make their markups. The animosity is also hard to cultivate as it comes at a time when cheap phones (shipped by pariahs) ensure access to information to counter kina Njuri triggers.

« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2025, 11:10:51 AM »
Yes for building block - it big risk - because you may hit dust.
Kokoto is better - but margins can be low - if competition is intense.
Also running cost in diesel and electricity is a problem.
Now I want to do hydro power - and get own land
The market for quarry/building product is always there - as people are always building.

Quarry business is a rent-operate-run. You are liquid, you buy/lease a stone cutting machine, you may hit quality stone or see dust. 

Even in the villages, this is the quarry business model. You are left to reclaim your land polepole or it becomes Kwareish bodies dumping site.

Biashara ya kokoto is running into headwinds with cabros taking over for public roads and even homes.

« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2025, 11:17:32 AM »
Ruto had an easy job of working for hasoras from Day One to bury this nonsense. Building the hasora nation identity is the way to go still. Likes of Riggy/Njuri would have had nowhere to hide.

JOMO kenyatta messed up Mt kenya - told them they own kenya because they kicked Mzungu out - we have BIG PROBLEM - Ruto and Moi did a good job to reduce their nonsense.

« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2025, 01:00:06 PM »
I know quarry business in and out,Njuri immediately after Campus ventured into building materials especially sand harvesting in Tharaka would fill miguu kumi with just 4k bring it to nairobi make 50k plus, then life was super good Njuri had also some 2 nkalenjini yelow yellows then :D they helped Njuri get market shida was when young Njuri got Money the yellow yellows would drive Njuri into the wordly things, anyway Njuri quit that biz but still maintained the network, Njuri ventured into quarry i have relatives in it mbig time, for Njuri its no sweat when the machines came in Njuri was busy going to and from china to import them for quarries name them crushing machine cutting machine,profiling machine etc...Njuri only relaxed after settling down
Back to Somalis there is no problems but you can tell by the enthusiasm they have for Ruto its all directed at giving them an economic advantage.

« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2025, 01:16:20 PM »
You remind me Uganda Magulu kumi - miguu kumi.
So Njuri what are you doing currently - cattle keeping ranching.
Somali - was response to silly tribalist Gachagua.
I know quarry business in and out,Njuri immediately after Campus ventured into building materials especially sand harvesting in Tharaka would fill miguu kumi with just 4k bring it to nairobi make 50k plus, then life was super good Njuri had also some 2 nkalenjini yelow yellows then :D they helped Njuri get market shida was when young Njuri got Money the yellow yellows would drive Njuri into the wordly things, anyway Njuri quit that biz but still maintained the network, Njuri ventured into quarry i have relatives in it mbig time, for Njuri its no sweat when the machines came in Njuri was busy going to and from china to import them for quarries name them crushing machine cutting machine,profiling machine etc...Njuri only relaxed after settling down
Back to Somalis there is no problems but you can tell by the enthusiasm they have for Ruto its all directed at giving them an economic advantage.

« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2025, 03:00:32 PM »
You remind me Uganda Magulu kumi - miguu kumi.
So Njuri what are you doing currently - cattle keeping ranching.
Somali - was response to silly tribalist Gachagua.

Miguu kumi is the holy grail of transporting construction materials in Africa,if you own one your life is sorted you just need to maintain it well go for Isuzu leave those tata and FAW,shackman chinese truck however they are also good for a quick return to investments but wont last that long.
Am now mostly doing consultancy work for German international organisations in Africa its really easy money compared to my ranch in Korbessa where risk of being killed by bandits is high,i plan to leave ranching and get an international animal conservancy to run it and put wild animals ,I leave a small space for my dorper sheep, am the last in family really to care about ranching it appears and wont stress myself over it, the life is good you in touch with nature but insecurities risk everything when Njuri was younger it was fun, dealing with those turkana,samburu borana and somali bandits it was like game hunting but now too many responsibilities to take further risk.

« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2025, 03:50:28 PM »
Ok Njuri. All the best.

« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2025, 08:23:35 PM »
Do your research and stop spewing nonsense here, the hatred for mt Kenya people and trying to demonize is because they are against Ruto. I do not believe in tribalism but anyone suggesting that wariah is anywhere near mt Kenya industrious people is insane, even the Somalis will tell you who is King. A real Economist will start by telling you that the GDP in mt Kenya areas and diaspora is actually larger than most African countries, I saw someone arguing that it’s bigger than Rwanda’s economy. Let’s all start there and I have nothing against Somalis, I grew around them and in that small town, businesses were dominated by either Mt Kenya or Somalis and there was more cooperation than competition. This new Somali vs Kikuyu is all political machinations by failure Ruto, that’s what he knows best, steal and divide people by tribes etc

« Reply #19 on: Today at 12:07:02 PM »
Ngombe start here
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_counties_of_Kenya_by_GDP
Do your research and stop spewing nonsense here, the hatred for mt Kenya people and trying to demonize is because they are against Ruto. I do not believe in tribalism but anyone suggesting that wariah is anywhere near mt Kenya industrious people is insane, even the Somalis will tell you who is King. A real Economist will start by telling you that the GDP in mt Kenya areas and diaspora is actually larger than most African countries, I saw someone arguing that it’s bigger than Rwanda’s economy. Let’s all start there and I have nothing against Somalis, I grew around them and in that small town, businesses were dominated by either Mt Kenya or Somalis and there was more cooperation than competition. This new Somali vs Kikuyu is all political machinations by failure Ruto, that’s what he knows best, steal and divide people by tribes etc