Author Topic: Kenya Gov should switch resposnibility of Mass Media regulation to owners.  (Read 1307 times)

Just enact a law that say for every violation hosted by social media site - the social media site has responsibility to remove - or CA will fine them 1m KES.

Then issues them tickets.

End of year demand they pay 20B

Or quit

Having the cake and eating it. Digital jobs pioneer despotism.

We cannot have unregulated media - mass or social - where people can pretty much do anything they want
Even here - we have moderators- though we have almost never exercised that power
X is the major problem.
Chinese Tiktok are responsive to gov needs.
Having the cake and eating it. Digital jobs pioneer despotism.

This meno mrefu is now pro censorship. Bure kabisa

Why are you a moderator here?
Quit
And lets us have moderatorless forum
Or well abduction will continue

Add me a moderator here
Quit

Ask the Korean lady owner veritas

Add me a moderator here
Quit

Have you ever seen me moderate anything here?

Veritas , add me as a moderator …….

the social media site has responsibility to remove - or CA will fine them 1m KES.

Um...these social media companies are American owned. You think a clown in kenya can tell Elon Musk what to do? Wacha mchezo.

All politicians must accept the reality that we are living in an internet age with social media, AI, chatgpt and it's just going to get even bigger. You cannot stop technological advancements. For your own success, you must learn to embrace them. Ruto needs to stop living in the village and he needs to stop getting advice from illiterate village makangas like sudi and farouk kibet.

Re: Kenya Gov should switch resposnibility of Mass Media regulation to owners.
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2025, 04:47:20 AM »
They need adverts from Kenyan companies to survive

« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2025, 05:07:54 AM »
Switch Internet off. Who needs internet!

« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2025, 02:32:01 PM »
Politicians have become a menace due to economic situation where they are the only ones who have monies to spare - stolen from basic services. They have colonised all public spaces - schools, funerals, stadiums, churches, TVs, radio.

The kids are not ceding ground on social media. They are saying you found us here leave us alone with your blue ticks or toe our lines- be accountable and WORK.

Ufool had twitter influencers but wapi?  A message on WhatsApp can spread across Kenya with screenshots what not.

« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2025, 06:06:36 PM »

Your joking right? American companies that make billions and billions of dollars need advertising revenues from a poverty stricken 3rd world country like kenya?

You clearly are not on twitter. The ad revenues are coming from American companies .

The top 10 trillion dollar companies in the world? 9 are in America. Don't joke with America.

https://www.bankrate.com/investing/trillion-dollar-companies/

Ruto was trying to raise $2 billion dollars with the finance bill and he couldn't even do that in a country of 50 million people. That's how poverty stricken Kenya is.

« Reply #14 on: January 07, 2025, 09:06:28 PM »
Why are they in Kenya then

Your joking right? American companies that make billions and billions of dollars need advertising revenues from a poverty stricken 3rd world country like kenya?

You clearly are not on twitter. The ad revenues are coming from American companies .

The top 10 trillion dollar companies in the world? 9 are in America. Don't joke with America.

Ruto was trying to raise $2 billion dollars with the finance bill and he couldn't even do that in a country of 50 million people. That's how poverty stricken Kenya is.

« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2025, 10:46:22 AM »
You already have laws on incitement, defamation, cybercrime, etc. Just enforce them. Those young men being abducted should have been stuck with jail or hefty fines for posting Ruto casket on X. Not locked up illegally without trial.

Censorship is a slippery slope - because the state has more power (and precedent) to abuse it than citizens can abuse freedom.

« Reply #16 on: January 08, 2025, 03:40:03 PM »
The despots lay the red carpet for these foreign parasites. The politicians and govt agencies lead in paying for blue badges and ads on the se platforms and Cambridge Analytica.

« Reply #17 on: January 08, 2025, 03:54:50 PM »
Jail is not working. our constitution and jurisprudence suffers from Moi-Kenyatta trauma - so suspect can take years to be nailed- plus usual backlog and etc.

Now GOk resort to kidnapping.

X and social media American owners have responsibility to clean their forums.

If not give GOK moderatorship.

You already have laws on incitement, defamation, cybercrime, etc. Just enforce them. Those young men being abducted should have been stuck with jail or hefty fines for posting Ruto casket on X. Not locked up illegally without trial.

Censorship is a slippery slope - because the state has more power (and precedent) to abuse it than citizens can abuse freedom.

« Reply #18 on: January 08, 2025, 06:15:30 PM »

If Africans can't deal with criticism then they can shut down the internet like China. In china you can't access many social media sites because they are afraid of another Tianemen square.

Poverty stricken african countries will never be able to dictate anything to anyone. Ruto should focus on his job and stop worrying about his fragile ego.

Please stop cracking jokes here.  These are global companies. Global conglomerates.  Companies like google and microsoft are all over the world, but when in comes to Africa, their real offices are in South Africa and not in a sukuma wiki economy country like Kenya. I don't believe twitter, instagram, tiktok or even facebook have offices in Kenya (facebook has what they call a content review center in Nairobi, but that's nothing)

« Reply #19 on: January 08, 2025, 07:18:44 PM »
Shut down internet for now. We need a break!

If Africans can't deal with criticism then they can shut down the internet like China. In china you can't access many social media sites because they are afraid of another Tianemen square.

Poverty stricken african countries will never be able to dictate anything to anyone. Ruto should focus on his job and stop worrying about his fragile ego.

Please stop cracking jokes here.  These are global companies. Global conglomerates.  Companies like google and microsoft are all over the world, but when in comes to Africa, their real offices are in South Africa and not in a sukuma wiki economy country like Kenya. I don't believe twitter, instagram, tiktok or even facebook have offices in Kenya (facebook has what they call a content review center in Nairobi, but that's nothing)