Author Topic: Kenya's Death Nail? It's Anti-Intellectual Society  (Read 3525 times)

Kenya's Death Nail? It's Anti-Intellectual Society
« on: August 26, 2024, 05:11:21 PM »
I have a few people visiting me from Kenya and the one thing I"m noticing about all of them is their total anti-intellectualism.  They don't want to talk about serious subjects and their discussions are limited to talking about nyama choma joints, women, drinking and cracking jokes.

A society like this can NEVER make progress or move towards advancement. There's no science, engineering, manufacturing...if what I am seeing is a microcosm of the larger country, then they is simply no hope for that society.   You cannot have a country where the majority of the people are dunda heads who think that every day should be a social event, a nyama choma eating or drinking day or a party.

They seem to know nothing about the wider parts of sub-saharan Africa and why it's so poor and can't seem to link it to the lack of production, lack of manufacturing, lack of science...I felt like I was literally talking to brain dead people.

The people on nipate are a very rare breed of Kenyans. We are in the minority.

Re: Kenya's Death Nail? It's Anti-Intellectual Society
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2024, 05:29:25 PM »
Wealth with little to no effort - by any means necessary
It’s ok to be corrupt
You don’t have to work.
That’s todays Kenya

« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2024, 06:06:27 PM »
Wealth with little to no effort - by any means necessary

This leads to a society where nobody is forced to use their brains to produce anything. It's just looking for tenders, eating nyama choma, dancing and drinking and I can see this brain dead effect on the Kenyans visiting me.  It's a form of brain dead escapism that is very scary to see.

« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2024, 08:08:20 PM »
I think they delayed introducing taxes for the wealthy to the point it’s almost impossible
Those who have it worship it while others can’t feed themselves
Middle class disappearing
They could have raised the taxes to build schools, hospitals etc.

« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2024, 08:32:36 PM »
Middle class disappearing

These are the one's in denial and the one's that don't want to face their reality.  The one's that want to talk about women and nyama choma and other nonsense.

Offline lelewela

« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2024, 10:14:33 AM »
It is even worse , if you sit with some of the MPS, PSes and Ministers you will completely lose hope for a better Kenya. That is why I am in business and will try my best to send my kids to ivy league universities.

Mafrica is after easy money, women pants and pombe, no other akili. That is why people come from India and China, and do wonders in our continent.

Only hope if the diaspora, and i mean the successful ones to try to setup factories in Kenya.

I have a few people visiting me from Kenya and the one thing I"m noticing about all of them is their total anti-intellectualism.  They don't want to talk about serious subjects and their discussions are limited to talking about nyama choma joints, women, drinking and cracking jokes.

A society like this can NEVER make progress or move towards advancement. There's no science, engineering, manufacturing...if what I am seeing is a microcosm of the larger country, then they is simply no hope for that society.   You cannot have a country where the majority of the people are dunda heads who think that every day should be a social event, a nyama choma eating or drinking day or a party.

They seem to know nothing about the wider parts of sub-saharan Africa and why it's so poor and can't seem to link it to the lack of production, lack of manufacturing, lack of science...I felt like I was literally talking to brain dead people.

« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2024, 01:09:02 PM »

You are 100% correct. Most students in Kenya get their grades through corruption. If you want to get all the sexual favors you can dream of, be a teacher in Kenya, especially college instructors and professors. Same in government offices. Meaningful Advancement can only be done through sexual favors, or money. Try having any intellectual discussion with anybody in your family or friends. They easily gravitate to tenders and stupid things that don't make sense. Most of Kenyans, by the way, support Trump, if you ask them why, they think he is strong and will kick out illegals including Kenyans. If you still had hope for Kenya, you need serious meds!

Offline lelewela

« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2024, 01:15:07 PM »

"Most of Kenyans, by the way, support Trump, if you ask them why, they think he is strong and will kick out illegals including Kenyans"  This is true  :D :D :D

You are 100% correct. Most students in Kenya get their grades through corruption. If you want to get all the sexual favors you can dream of, be a teacher in Kenya, especially college instructors and professors. Same in government offices. Meaningful Advancement can only be done through sexual favors, or money. Try having any intellectual discussion with anybody in your family or friends. They easily gravitate to tenders and stupid things that don't make sense. Most of Kenyans, by the way, support Trump, if you ask them why, they think he is strong and will kick out illegals including Kenyans. If you still had hope for Kenya, you need serious meds!

« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2024, 05:30:54 PM »
Ni god manze. Jesus. Amen amen.

Sijui tafuta pesa wachana na siasa.

« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2024, 05:41:05 PM »
There is no evidence he kicked Kenyan immigrants in his term.  I am in support of Trump for isolationism and noninterventionism. Likely he will tell Putin aache ujinga and withdraw Ukraine funding. 

Those supporting Kamala are compelled mainly by identity. Heck, supporting Vegetable Joe till it became too embarrassing is the height of anti-intellectualism.

"Most Kenyans, by the way, support Trump, if you ask them why, they think he is strong and will kick out illegals including Kenyans"  This is true  :D :D :D

« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2024, 08:50:17 PM »
There is no evidence he kicked Kenyan immigrants in his term.  I am in support of Trump for isolationism and noninterventionism. Likely he will tell Putin aache ujinga and withdraw Ukraine funding. 

Those supporting Kamala are compelled mainly by identity. Heck, supporting Vegetable Joe till it became too embarrassing is the height of anti-intellectualism.

"Most Kenyans, by the way, support Trump, if you ask them why, they think he is strong and will kick out illegals including Kenyans"  This is true  :D :D :D

Trump is running to stay out of prison - nothing else.
You dont know Trump, Until you have lived near Atlantic City.

« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2024, 09:13:34 PM »
They easily gravitate to tenders and stupid things that don't make sense.

You cannot change an intellectually stagnant society. Even in Asia, it was dictatorships that had to force change on their stagnant societies. At this point, there's just no hope for that society. If you can immigrate and leave, leave ASAP and just never go back (go only to visit your aging parents, that's it)

« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2024, 01:23:49 PM »
It started during Moi era, we saw it coming. I could see it all over the village and the change was very quick. In the seventies and early eighties, we were all growing up admiring academics and academia. We all dreamt of alliance, Mangu or the prominent national schools. Kids used to study in groups from different schools during the holidays. An admission to Nairobi university made you King, it was highly coveted. In comes Moi and his corrupt cabal, all of sudden there is a cabal of the most uneducated, unintelligent humans driving the biggest cars and flashing millions, it’s culminated with YK92 with Ruto and crew. All of a sudden, there was a huge cultural change from intellectualism to people admiring village idiots with money. All the kids now wanted a quick buck, how you get it doesn’t matter, steal, rob, kill, corrupt etc cheating in school became prevalent, I have met people with college education in Kenya who are barely literate, it became the norm. It’s a sad state of affairs to expect these people to produce an Asian Tiger in Africa.

« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2024, 02:03:22 PM »
It started during Moi era, we saw it coming. I could see it all over the village and the change was very quick. In the seventies and early eighties, we were all growing up admiring academics and academia. We all dreamt of alliance, Mangu or the prominent national schools. Kids used to study in groups from different schools during the holidays. An admission to Nairobi university made you King, it was highly coveted. In comes Moi and his corrupt cabal, all of sudden there is a cabal of the most uneducated, unintelligent humans driving the biggest cars and flashing millions, it’s culminated with YK92 with Ruto and crew. All of a sudden, there was a huge cultural change from intellectualism to people admiring village idiots with money. All the kids now wanted a quick buck, how you get it doesn’t matter, steal, rob, kill, corrupt etc cheating in school became prevalent, I have met people with college education in Kenya who are barely literate, it became the norm. It’s a sad state of affairs to expect these people to produce an Asian Tiger in Africa.
You are right to some extent, but you think Ruto's 2-year period caused all these in a short time? The reality is that Kibakis 10 years MASSIVE CORRUPTION and Uhuru's 10 years EXTENDED MASSIVE CORRUPTION AND INCOMPETENCE caused most problems in today's Kenya. I think Moi's 8-4-4, despite incompetence in leadership, was much superior to Uhuru's corrupt CBC education system. It will take the next 5-10 years to make it better, or a lot of Kenyans will come out with shorted brains!

« Reply #14 on: August 29, 2024, 03:52:36 PM »
Revisionist nonsense. Kenyatta carried on colonial apartheid discriminative anti mwafrika intellectualism.

Evil colonialists killed mwafrika working class - potters, brewers, herbalists, blacksmiths, name it to make us a market as he ships raw materials. Land and livestock were stolen. These cottage industry is what has developed and fuels China and Indian economies. But here it has been brutal crackdown on hasoras.  Even likes of Gates were cottage hasoras. Silicon Valley is a digital gikomba or Kariobangi light industries.

Kenyatta killed pre and post independence intellectuals which mzungu did not kill and started detaining likes of Ngugi for dreaming a Hollywood in Kamirithu. 

You are right to some extent, but you think Ruto's 2-year period caused all these in a short time? The reality is that Kibakis 10 years MASSIVE CORRUPTION and Uhuru's 10 years EXTENDED MASSIVE CORRUPTION AND INCOMPETENCE caused most problems in today's Kenya. I think Moi's 8-4-4, despite incompetence in leadership, was much superior to Uhuru's corrupt CBC education system. It will take the next 5-10 years to make it better, or a lot of Kenyans will come out with shorted brains!

« Reply #15 on: August 29, 2024, 04:00:29 PM »
Brakes are slamming hard on immigration. This is official after UK riots.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has said he plans to lower the number of low-wage, temporary foreign workers and permanent residents being let into Canada.
At the same time, Canada’s unemployment rate has increased to 6.4% in the last two months, with an estimated 1.4 million people unemployed across the country.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c23lee2z7zyo

You cannot change an intellectually stagnant society. Even in Asia, it was dictatorships that had to force change on their stagnant societies. At this point, there's just no hope for that society. If you can immigrate and leave, leave ASAP and just never go back (go only to visit your aging parents, that's it)

« Reply #16 on: August 29, 2024, 04:11:42 PM »

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has said he plans to lower the number of low-wage, temporary foreign workers and permanent residents being let into Canada.
At the same time, Canada’s unemployment rate has increased to 6.4% in the last two months, with an estimated 1.4 million people unemployed across the country.

Maybe in other countries. The US will always have open, porous borders because the American Chamber of Commerce and small businesses want employees, which are very hard to find nowadays. American economy is booming and almost every business, small or large, is hiring/looking for employees. A new report came out yesterday that the record Biden-Harris economy made 500K Americans millionaires from their record 401K portfolio, which gives thousands of them capital to start small businesses, thus needing more employees. The biggest hurdel in America is not capital, but finding employees.

« Reply #17 on: August 29, 2024, 04:55:35 PM »
This is a situation in nearly all economies. Kiambu young men refuse to work for peanuts thus immigrants. Kalenjin refuse to pick tea thus Gusii tea pickers.

Those immigrating to the US and Canada already are well to do in terms of Kenya's poverty index. They can easily afford the $3K plus for immigration. Have rentals. This is mostly aspirational immigrants.

Those going to Saudia, Lebanon, now that is where it is about poverty.

Maybe in other countries. The US will always have open, porous borders because the American Chamber of Commerce and small businesses want employees, which are very hard to find nowadays. American economy is booming and almost every business, small or large, is hiring/looking for employees. A new report came out yesterday that the record Biden-Harris economy made 500K Americans millionaires from their record 401K portfolio, which gives thousands of them capital to start small businesses, thus needing more employees. The biggest hurdel in America is not capital, but finding employees.

« Reply #18 on: August 29, 2024, 05:31:13 PM »
It not poverty for maid - who get paid 5-10k - in Nairobi - to get paid 30K in Saudi Arabia.

Let the people move.

I agree with RVHH - US has capital - you just need to be hardworking and stay out of drugs - and you will make money.

Beauty of US - is CHEAP CAPITAL.

« Reply #19 on: August 29, 2024, 07:31:33 PM »
How come millions are struggling with student loans it is becoming an economic/campaign issue despite dollar printing criminal enterprise availing 'cheap capital'?

https://www.cfr.org/backgrounder/us-student-loan-debt-trends-economic-impact

It not poverty for maid - who get paid 5-10k - in Nairobi - to get paid 30K in Saudi Arabia.

Let the people move.

I agree with RVHH - US has capital - you just need to be hardworking and stay out of drugs - and you will make money.

Beauty of US - is CHEAP CAPITAL.