Author Topic: Moi University just like other universities sinking  (Read 1295 times)

Moi University just like other universities sinking
« on: August 14, 2024, 03:00:14 PM »
It will be a crisis after a crisis. No way out of the IMF debt conditions and killing of hasora economy.

Kwa ground, only MPs and MCAs are massaging the president's bruised ego.

https://x.com/pompeonew/status/1823676247076970725

Re: Moi University just like other universities sinking
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2024, 05:15:41 PM »
I think they are on recovery. The Staff just need to give time university new funding model

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2024, 06:05:15 PM »
Kids are dropping out of universities all over. Even Njuguna admitted it is not working when handing over but globalist is obstinate.

https://peopledaily.digital/ruto-orders-withdrawal-of-university-letters/

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2024, 07:02:45 PM »
Ruto gave them 30B more - every year? That is 1B almost extra for most universities.
Nobody said their 80B debt would be fixed in a year.
But they are going to be fixed in 3-5yrs.
Give reforms time.
Kids are dropping out of universities all over. Even Njuguna admitted it is not working when handing over but globalist is obstinate.

« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2024, 11:57:22 PM »
The probem with kenya is serious inflation. Things are so expensive for the regular guy, cant afford it. Too much gov spending.

« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2024, 07:00:42 AM »
Ruto gave them 30B more - every year? That is 1B almost extra for most universities.
Give reforms time.

Punda, do you understand what public participation is? It is not just for show. Forums were called to chart way forward for universities but what was agreed isn't what was in the current university model. Same scenario with Finance bill 2023 and 2024. You send memoranda and they are simply listened to and then ignored like they were never submitted. The vetting of the msaliti Cabinet who came on board recently, all those memoranda submitted in vain. Is that public participation to you? Have people submit stuff none of which makes it to the final report? Is that how to run a country surely? How to run Sugoi farm or Kericho Tea farm is not how to run Kenya. Lecturers were in the news yesterday. NONE ABSOLUTELY NONE know where the current university model came from! No one knows apart from Luto and you!

« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2024, 07:05:17 AM »
The probem with kenya is serious inflation. Things are so expensive for the regular guy, cant afford it. Too much gov spending.
Where are you coming in with this? Dont hijack this thread Rastaman! Who sends you here? Start your own thread on inflation. Focus! This thread is about the woes specifically and uniquely facing Moi university. I watched Citizen TV yesterday. Some lady at the university was saying she voted for Ruto hoping that coming from the same area he would be best placed to address the issues affecting Moi university but to her dismay, since Ruto became President things have only gotten worse with Moi university. People stop voting your tribe just because the politician is your tribe. Punda also stop supporting a man sinking the country just coz you share a dialect. Bure kabisa!

« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2024, 12:45:31 PM »
Kumbe kumbe why do we elect leaders then - we can have council of elders - and we rule by public participation. Public participation is a chance to convince GOK -  sio lazima.

Ruto knows BEST. He is the president. 5yrs bring your candidate.

Give reforms time.

Punda, do you understand what public participation is? It is not just for show. Forums were called to chart way forward for universities but what was agreed isn't what was in the current university model. Same scenario with Finance bill 2023 and 2024. You send memoranda and they are simply listened to and then ignored like they were never submitted. The vetting of the msaliti Cabinet who came on board recently, all those memoranda submitted in vain. Is that public participation to you? Have people submit stuff none of which makes it to the final report? Is that how to run a country surely? How to run Sugoi farm or Kericho Tea farm is not how to run Kenya. Lecturers were in the news yesterday. NONE ABSOLUTELY NONE know where the current university model came from! No one knows apart from Luto and you!

« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2024, 12:59:11 PM »
You mean 3 years!

Kumbe kumbe why do we elect leaders then - we can have council of elders - and we rule by public participation. Public participation is a chance to convince GOK -  sio lazima.

Ruto knows BEST. He is the president. 5yrs bring your candidate.

« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2024, 01:20:55 PM »
What reforms? These disruptions make no sense for a broke debt-ridden Treasury. Public universities debts were due to the Treasury non remittances of its scholarships portion. Now universities are costing the courses at crazy fees higher than private universities to cover the non remittances.

Only 32% of eligible students will receive loans. According to ministry documents, the total cost of scholarships for the entire 2023 KCSE cohort is Ksh.12.45 billion. However, the government has only allocated Ksh.4.28 billion, which is sufficient to support only 48,800 students. As a result, a staggering 73,700 students will miss out on scholarships.

The ministry requires Ksh.13.76 billion to give as loans to students but only Ksh.1.39 billion has been availed, enough to support only 12,307 students joining this year

The cash crunch will also hit continuing students hard, especially government-sponsored students in private universities.

Out of a possible 67,600 students, only 6,500 will benefit from the Ksh.574.8 million availed for them, this against a required Ksh.1.6 billion, this will leave 61,000 students financially exposed.

https://www.citizen.digital/news/over-70000-students-at-risk-of-missing-out-on-government-loans-scholarships-n347363

SHIF the same shitty disruption and an obstinate government.