Author Topic: Pundit Wamarakwet Wana kiburi sana  (Read 4101 times)

Pundit Wamarakwet Wana kiburi sana
« on: October 12, 2023, 03:40:43 PM »
They have been spreading rumors that Eliud has been blocking their son Kiptum from being a champion. I was wondering why all at sudden the stoic Kales were out there on social media fighting. Kumbe it was the usual ukabila between Marakwet and Nandi.

How bad is rivarily among Kalenjin Sub- tribes or clans. What makes marakwets so bitter?

Also, how big is the Ogiek community and are some of the Marakwet clans Ogieks? I was talking to a woman from Burnt Forest and she was calling the locals there Dorobos..telling me most do not farm and their biggest economic activity is burning charcoal in the forests. I was wondering if these were local kales or Ogieks she was talking about

Re: Pundit Wamarakwet Wana kiburi sana
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2023, 06:26:11 PM »
Obviously Athletics Kenya is a cartel against talent. By hiding behind IAAF and FIFA, the thugs in sports thrive at the expense of talented kids. Zero accountability. Given most athletes are in disciplined forces they cannot riot to expose the rot.

Kiptum's exploits have really exposed this underbelly.

« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2023, 06:56:38 PM »
Obviously Athletics Kenya is a cartel against talent. By hiding behind IAAF and FIFA, the thugs in sports thrive at the expense of talented kids. Zero accountability. Given most athletes are in disciplined forces they cannot riot to expose the rot.

Kiptum's exploits have really exposed this underbelly.

Can you explain how kiptum was blocked..or how these cartels work?

« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2023, 07:40:11 PM »
Kelvin Kiptum Cheruiyot, I think is a Keiyo, but he speaks Nandi. Maybe his father is Keiyo, and Mom a nandi because he speaks my dialect. Marakwet have non mainstream Kalenjin names like Murkomen and speaks a very different dialect most Kipsigis, Keiyos, and Nandi cannot comprehend. Anyway Nandi/Keiyo accent/dialect you cannot detect. Kipsigis accent/dialect you detect, but same 100%

« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2023, 07:52:45 PM »
Kelvin Kiptum Cheruiyot, I think is a Keiyo, but he speaks Nandi. Maybe his father is Keiyo, and Mom a nandi because he speaks my dialect. Marakwet have non mainstream Kalenjin names like Murkomen and speaks a very different dialect most Kipsigis, Keiyos, and Nandi cannot comprehend. Anyway Nandi/Keiyo accent/dialect you cannot detect. Kipsigis accent/dialect you detect, but same 100%

Is there rivarly between Keiyos and Nandis?

« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2023, 07:59:37 PM »
Never because they are same people. Rivalry between Marakwets and Keiyo may exist because they are different lingusitically and have to incorprate some Kiswahili to communicate effectively

« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2023, 08:07:03 PM »
Professor Kamar, Shollei Boss, and Buzeki are Keiyos but run in Nandi dominated Uasin Gishu and gets elected because folks cannot find the difference between a nandi and Keiyo lingustically/culture. More like Kikuyu from Kabete and Kikuyu from neighboring Gachie

« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2023, 08:13:14 PM »
Generally Nandis are very proud people; more like Maasai; They can be arrogant; this long standing pride from 18th century when they were best warriors and would make everyone sing - well except kipsigis whom Nandis have never fought as they were one people - Nandis use to beat the shiet out of rest of kalenjin sub tribes like Pokot nowadays do and of course other tribes;

Marakwet are generally considered with Ogiek and such are low caste kind of people who dont own lots of cows/burn charcoal/work for others - menial jobs .As for closeness - Kipsigis, Nandi, Lower Keiyo, lower Tugen (Lembus) are very close. Moi was Arror - close to Pokot/Marakwet - they have some adxmiture with turkanas most likely.

As for Kipchoge - he is feared and revered - not only because he is talented but also because he is a TALAI.

Almost all Kalenjin fear Talai. They attribute all the bad luck to clash with them. Most althetes who get banned or etc also claim because they clashed with Kipchoge or Sang or such. Generally, Kipchoge word is final, and he is strict disciplenarian - so you dont go to his training camp and start nonsense.

Nandis dont fear Talai that much - for us Kipsigis - people will literally leave the room if a Talai entered. Talai are thought to posses supernatural powers - and can make your life miserable if you disagree or differ with them - so people avoid contact with them - unless it absolutely neccessary.

If Kipchoge appears in Kericho town and announce he is Talai from Kapsisimwa - he will be left in town alone :(

Talai because of that fear - were expelled in kipsigis to island in Nyanza - and they cameback - live together around kericho and Kipkelion towns are squarters. In Nandi - they were expelled and live together in Kapsisimwa - where Eliud Kipchoge and Patrick Sang hails from.

Generally people dont like Talai being around them.

« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2023, 08:25:23 PM »
?lang=en

« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2023, 08:35:38 PM »
Nandi folks too fear Talai people, but just because they come from Kapsisiywo areas, it doesn't mean one is Talai. They are very few, and mostly out of Uasin Gishu areas. Back in the 60s,70s, 80s, and 90s, most Talai folks were driven out of Uasin Gishu, or really kept it under the rug. No one wanted to live with people with supernatural powers, so they were burned, and driven away!

« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2023, 08:42:25 PM »
Okay I thought everyone in Kapsisiywo was a Talai - I know Nandi has two Talai clan  branches - original - and the Maasai laibons. Anyway I am suprised Nandi fear them as much. My Nandi friend bro is Talai Kutwo (good ones or original ones) - and he was telling us how after he said his clan - everyone slowly disappeared from the scene in Kericho.

Biggest myth is that they have supernatural powers and will cause misfortunes - misfortunes always occur - so it reinforces their powers. Yes in Kipsigis land many hid under other clans. Some people when they get misfortunes - will go and attack the Talai they differed and even kill them.

Funny thing my clan is close to Talai (we share the lion totem - dont marry - etc) - and my father lived being accused of one - and being feared so much.

Nandi folks too fear Talai people, but just because they come from Kapsisiywo areas, it doesn't mean one is Talai. They are very few, and mostly out of Uasin Gishu areas. Back in the 60s,70s, 80s, and 90s, most Talai folks were driven out of Uasin Gishu, or really kept it under the rug. No one wanted to live with people with supernatural powers, so they were burned, and driven away!

« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2023, 08:48:50 PM »
Funny shiet - I heard recently -village gossip- my father left the Talai thing to me :) Orkoiyot Rv Pundit :) assuming office soon

The Orkoiyot (pl. Orkoiik) occupied a sacred and special role within the Nandi and Kipsigis people of Kenya. He held the dual roles of chief spiritual and military leader, and had the authority to make decisions regarding security particularly the waging of war.

The word predates the office it would represent among the Nandi as evinced by its presence in other Kalenjin communities e.g. Kony (ork?an, ork?andet) and Suk (werkoiyon). It was originally applied to a class of wizards who were perceived to be of a benevolent nature and were thus tolerated and were distinct from ponik, a class of wizards who were perceived to only be evil.

« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2023, 08:56:22 PM »
Funny shiet - I heard recently -village gossip- my father left the Talai thing to me :) Orkoiyot Rv Pundit :) assuming office soon

The Orkoiyot (pl. Orkoiik) occupied a sacred and special role within the Nandi and Kipsigis people of Kenya. He held the dual roles of chief spiritual and military leader, and had the authority to make decisions regarding security particularly the waging of war.

The word predates the office it would represent among the Nandi as evinced by its presence in other Kalenjin communities e.g. Kony (ork?an, ork?andet) and Suk (werkoiyon). It was originally applied to a class of wizards who were perceived to be of a benevolent nature and were thus tolerated and were distinct from ponik, a class of wizards who were perceived to only be evil.
Most people have been accused of such, and boys usually are believed to inherit the things. I suspect Eliud is not Talai, just assumptions from people or because he was raised in Kapsisywo. Eliud Mother was a single parent, and I think he never knew or met his dad, so there is no way he can be accused as such. Unless his dad was driven away from the area.

« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2023, 08:59:29 PM »
Yes it either you're one or have gone to see them if youre rich and successful. I think Eliud is Talai - definitely he is feared by other althetes. He can even order them to slow down :)

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/10/02/sports/eliud-kipchoge-talai-kenya-london-marathon.html

Most people have been accused of such, and boys usually are believed to inherit the things. I suspect Eliud is not Talai, just assumptions from people or because he was raised in Kapsisywo. Eliud Mother was a single parent, and I think he never knew or met his dad, so there is no way he can be accused as such. Unless his dad was driven away from the area.

« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2023, 09:17:38 PM »
Generally Nandis are very proud people; more like Maasai; They can be arrogant; this long standing pride from 18th century when they were best warriors and would make everyone sing - well except kipsigis whom Nandis have never fought as they were one people - Nandis use to beat the shiet out of rest of kalenjin sub tribes like Pokot nowadays do and of course other tribes;

Marakwet are generally considered with Ogiek and such are low caste kind of people who dont own lots of cows/burn charcoal/work for others - menial jobs .As for closeness - Kipsigis, Nandi, Lower Keiyo, lower Tugen (Lembus) are very close. Moi was Arror - close to Pokot/Marakwet - they have some adxmiture with turkanas most likely.

As for Kipchoge - he is feared and revered - not only because he is talented but also because he is a TALAI.

Almost all Kalenjin fear Talai. They attribute all the bad luck to clash with them. Most althetes who get banned or etc also claim because they clashed with Kipchoge or Sang or such. Generally, Kipchoge word is final, and he is strict disciplenarian - so you dont go to his training camp and start nonsense.

Nandis dont fear Talai that much - for us Kipsigis - people will literally leave the room if a Talai entered. Talai are thought to posses supernatural powers - and can make your life miserable if you disagree or differ with them - so people avoid contact with them - unless it absolutely neccessary.

If Kipchoge appears in Kericho town and announce he is Talai from Kapsisimwa - he will be left in town alone :(

Talai because of that fear - were expelled in kipsigis to island in Nyanza - and they cameback - live together around kericho and Kipkelion towns are squarters. In Nandi - they were expelled and live together in Kapsisimwa - where Eliud Kipchoge and Patrick Sang hails from.

Generally people dont like Talai being around them.

Wow you are really a moving repository of history and sociology. Thanks. This explains a lot why this girl has the impression that some of neighbors were ogieks.. is Talai a clan or some sort of craft like a medicine man or witch doctor..Yeah Eliud is a total no nonsense typical Kalenjin man. Although accounts of Jungus who visit his camp to train and shoot videos say he gives them permission but on condition they don't interfere with hid training. They say he very respectful and humble. I like the Eliud type of Kalenjins. We need more of them. Moi too was such.

Kipchoge mzee is the same. He has done a lot of good with his fame quietly. He is the kind it either business or nothing else. My dad was the same. He had no time for bullshit and small talks.

« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2023, 09:20:14 PM »
Professor Kamar, Shollei Boss, and Buzeki are Keiyos but run in Nandi dominated Uasin Gishu and gets elected because folks cannot find the difference between a nandi and Keiyo lingustically/culture. More like Kikuyu from Kabete and Kikuyu from neighboring Gachie
Usain Gishu is an almost cosmopolitan constituency. It is where almost all Western and other diaspora tribes in rv meet. So I can see. I believe recently there gas been some sort of tribal zoning.. where pre-election pacts are made to preserve seats for certain tribes

« Reply #16 on: October 12, 2023, 09:26:20 PM »
In Kikuyu we a wizardry clan. They are called Ethaga..in village there is one family who grandfather was MWIITHAGA. we feared him. They were rumored to put hex on families and they could even her your baby to get skin discoloration or shit like that. This old neighbor would extort money from women in the village by threatening to her their babies if they didn't buy him tobacco. My mum call his bluff and told him to go ahead and hex her kids. Nothing happened..they were also known as rainmaker and they could blow rain away if you angered them

« Reply #17 on: October 12, 2023, 11:06:21 PM »
In Kikuyu we a wizardry clan. They are called Ethaga..in village there is one family who grandfather was MWIITHAGA. we feared him. They were rumored to put hex on families and they could even her your baby to get skin discoloration or shit like that. This old neighbor would extort money from women in the village by threatening to her their babies if they didn't buy him tobacco. My mum call his bluff and told him to go ahead and hex her kids. Nothing happened..they were also known as rainmaker and they could blow rain away if you angered them
Those are same things most Talai ARE ACUSSED of. When there is a big wedding, they'd call Talai to chase rain away. I don't believe them but for some reason villagers believe it

« Reply #18 on: October 13, 2023, 03:59:02 AM »
Kipsigis we have like 200 clans with specialization or role s. The ones who chase rainfall are different. They are those who call rainfall. etc.Talai are known as the brain or head people - they are ones who forefell the future and bless people or events.The clans are highly specialized...and each has their own roles.

Those are same things most Talai ARE ACUSSED of. When there is a big wedding, they'd call Talai to chase rain away. I don't believe them but for some reason villagers believe it

« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2023, 06:36:24 PM »

The dude has a Rwandan coaching him.  Weird.  From the little I can gather, he is not on fraternizing terms with the Kenyan athletic community at large.  A highly gifted oddball of sorts.