I"d say all of the above (you can now send money via an app called wave direct to someone's MPESA account) app of course was created by a mzungu so it's trustworthy.
The other thing is and I keep repeating it here...young kenyans are just NOT working. They are begging. They are desperate. They are harassing their relatives for money all the time. Whatever ruto does, if it doesn't resolve this unemployment issue it's going to become a failure.
I've said before what young kenyans are doing now is youtube and you have 2 groups -- the mulot wash wash guys who are creating channels and putting links in there and scamming people and another group that is trying to create genuine content (they have realized that they are lots of kenyans abroad that miss home and that want to see video's of kenya and they are posting these video's and asking for donations through mpesa and patreon so they can keep creating content) - this generation has given up on trying to get jobs.
But it's a problem because you cannot have 35 year old men just sitting on the couch all day talking about nonsense and then asking for mpesa donations. Men need to do real jobs (construction, plumbing, electrical work, building things, etc) the average 30 year old man in kenya today has become like a village grand-mother, sitting on a couch gossiping online and calling that work.
Just saw this stat and I'm not sure if it's true?
Diaspora remittances as a percentage of GDP ? 3.5%.