Author Topic: 500 shs is a lot of money for the poor  (Read 1095 times)

500 shs is a lot of money for the poor
« on: December 08, 2022, 07:09:18 AM »

Moe
@moneyacademyKE
World Bank says about 10 million non-poor Kenyans who make over Sh233 per day and mostly depend on agriculture are at risk of slipping back into poverty due to sky-high inflation and drough

Re: 500 shs is a lot of money for the poor
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2022, 10:21:21 AM »
Kenya is truly a very poor country that's why kadogo economy is thriving. The only way out of poverty is production of goods and provision of services.

« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2022, 11:09:56 AM »
Somethings are better kept simple...Kenyan currency has lost value.

Two or three years ago ..500 Bob would feed you for five days..5kg unga gunia which used to cost I think 250 and kitunguu ya 30 Bob nyanya ya 80 Bob and two cabbages worth 60 bob.and 80 Bob cooking oil...In today's Kenya,500 Bob can't last more than two days.

Kenyan especially labourers still earn the same but the prices of commodities have sky rocketed.very sad state of affairs.

« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2022, 02:51:11 PM »
Kenya is truly a very poor country that's why kadogo economy is thriving. The only way out of poverty is production of goods and provision of services.

Very well said. Meanwhile I dont see any policy pushing for local manufacturing. Giving pple mpesa money is useless, because they will use it to buy cars and then these cars get repossessed and then back to poverty. If they manufactured simple stuff like nuts and bolts they'll add value to the economy.

« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2022, 03:21:16 PM »
Somethings are better kept simple...Kenyan currency has lost value.

Two or three years ago ..500 Bob would feed you for five days..5kg unga gunia which used to cost I think 250 and kitunguu ya 30 Bob nyanya ya 80 Bob and two cabbages worth 60 bob.and 80 Bob cooking oil...In today's Kenya,500 Bob can't last more than two days.

Kenyan especially labourers still earn the same but the prices of commodities have sky rocketed.very sad state of affairs.

Yes. As simple as you  put it.

« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2022, 06:24:56 PM »
First step is for people to have less kids. That will reduce their expenditures. For men and women to delay marriage until they are 30yrs.

Gov should go out there and encourage people to marry very late. That alone will save a lot of money because babies are expensive.

With 500shs as a single person - you can survive and thrive - infact you're middle class. 5 dollars is what world bank use for upper middle class.

Next is this "producing goods and services" - for me - whatever you do to earn a living - do it - if it's being in the transport sector- boda boda - you're producing transport services - moving goods and services.

Otherwise it dogmatic to imagine we should "manufacture" stuff - people should figure out how to hussle - get 500shs and survive with it - till tomorrow. Delay child bearing.

Offline lelewela

« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2022, 06:34:58 PM »
I know a  family  (5 members) who moved from Laikipia to Nairobi, the mother is the bread winner  and they spend 500 shillings (100 shs each) . So 500 my friend is a lot for so many people

Moe
@moneyacademyKE
World Bank says about 10 million non-poor Kenyans who make over Sh233 per day and mostly depend on agriculture are at risk of slipping back into poverty due to sky-high inflation and drough

« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2022, 07:12:05 AM »
With 500shs as a single person - you can survive and thrive - infact you're middle class. 5 dollars is what world bank use for upper middle class

Is this a joke? You can thrive on $5 dollars? kwani how poor is kenya? is this $5 dollars per day? What?!

Also, the issue of kids, what I am seeing now is too many men having kids with multiple women (too many baby mama's) They need to start discouraging this but I don't know how.  Too many 27/28 year olds with 5 kids spread out amongst 4 baby mama's.

« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2022, 07:43:48 AM »
First step is for people to have less kids. That will reduce their expenditures. For men and women to delay marriage until they are 30yrs.

Gov should go out there and encourage people to marry very late. That alone will save a lot of money because babies are expensive.

With 500shs as a single person - you can survive and thrive - infact you're middle class. 5 dollars is what world bank use for upper middle class.

Next is this "producing goods and services" - for me - whatever you do to earn a living - do it - if it's being in the transport sector- boda boda - you're producing transport services - moving goods and services.

Otherwise it dogmatic to imagine we should "manufacture" stuff - people should figure out how to hussle - get 500shs and survive with it - till tomorrow. Delay child bearing.

The point is to increase productivity on every economic activity. For example the current so called middle class can be traced from increase in productivity in agriculture. Something as simple as construction, increasingly there's adoption of electrical and mechanical tools, this has led to increase in productivity, which has resulted to higher wages. In every sphere of economy if productivity was increased earnings would follow .