Exactly Njuri. There is really no good reason to go hungry in this century. We can mass produce chicken and pigs - and make those meats dirty cheap like everywhere else.The same with cereals. We need to fix land ownership, security, and irrigation of the wild north.
We need to serious intervention in maize/rice/chicken/pig mass production by giving big investors free land like Kulana - we build the dams - and give them water.
You think GMO plants do not need water?
Have you ever been to Namibia or Botswana? Just because people there get food does not mean there is no njaa. Kwani you think GMO is also in those countries?
Ok transfer Pokots to Meru Town and I hope you can keep them busy.
We need ro forcefully transfer people in cities like china does then convert the rest of country into farmland. Add GMO food and people will survive,Ruto GMO food is first step to save us,desert countries like Namibia Botswana,arab countries rely on it uko hakuna njaa and they are all desert.
Yes been to thise countries,am well travelled my friend the only countries haven't visited are west and central africa.
Namibia and Botswana are almost same dry countries with no rains but have zero hunger we experience here in Kenya. GMO Is way to go GMO foods and even animals will make hunger a thing of past,we need those broiler chickens retailing at 200 bob per kilo them and pork need to be the cheapest meats. They can easily be produced en masse like they do in Asia and Europe. Then we eat them with noodles,rice and spaghetti another cheap food which should retail at 30 bob per packet.
Of course luhyas will be against this as no ugali is there but this way to go,cheap plenty food for all,rice,noodles, spaghetti,pork and chicken with just 200 shilling a family of 5 can sleep full.
A packet of indomie noodles retails at just 30 bob for me to get full I eat 2 packets just 60 bob and a fried/boiled egg 15 shillings whenever am hungry and on the rush in the field, am a big guy and it gets me full, now simple maths family of 5 would require the the big pack consisting of 5 packets at 110 shillings then if they eat 5 eggs at 15 bob a egg its 75 so with 200 shillings a family shouldn't sleep hungry,even now most going hungry coz they are after unga ya ugali which 200 bob cant buy.
But now Kenyans we have a poor food culture those noodles and indomies just sit in the supermarket for ages no real man can buy them I just shake my head when I hear someone went hungry when indomie and sossi at 35 bob is in the shops and supermarket,we just know maize maize and nothing else if maize doesn't come from north rift then we starve .
Spaghetti 1 packet at 500g can easily feed a family of 5 with enough calories.
Now this is where we need to be Mzito Ruto already has experience,chiken farming should be done in large scale those broiler chickens should retail at 200-300 shillings and pork the same,I have been in UK and Denmark and seen thow they do intensive farming for those 2 animals,pigs are kept in small cages no more 1 by 1 meter in an area like 50 by 100 plot the Kenyans love one can put up to 200 pigs in a multiple story settings,these are very cheap to produce our government should concentrate on this excess will be exported to china and elsewhere where demand is always higher
After this Kenyans wil be compelled to eat other foods,rice,pasta actually maize farming should be left on its own if its collapses well and good but instead of farmers just harvesting maize and being paid peanuts by middle men the farmers shoud be given priority to farm new crops, government give them buy back guarantee of like 5 years Kenyans then will have forgotten maize and ugali.
Main thing now is intensive farming of chicken and pork, and introduction of GMO food crops,this is what Mzito should prioritize.