Author Topic: The hustler pyramid scheme  (Read 2600 times)

The hustler pyramid scheme
« on: April 06, 2022, 02:49:47 PM »
The biggest problem in kenya in the last 68 years is that we have agreed that hustling can get you out of poverty. So every year since 1963 we have sent millions into informal sector without a clear policy on how to formalize these millions. Our public school system has become the ultimate pipeline for these hustlers. As our economic fortunes have dwindled the more we have encouraged the poor to stop seeking education and engage in hustles to escape poverty. In kiambu the mass movement to hustling started in the 1990s. Kids in their preteens could go into the market at the lowest end of the supply chain and earn a living. So boys started quiting school at 14 to go hustle. Most of these hustles are undercapitalized and rely on Goodluck than skills to make money. So if such a kid got into the good season in market they made a lot of money but it took only one bad season to take them down to wipe them out and send the back to the village square poor and with no hope.  Jungu realized that the hustlers were the least exploited. So in the 90s they unleashed microfinance loan sharks in suits and tight skirts. What has happened is that the once smelly gichagi waru broker is now a market pimp. With a shiny suit and fake leather shoes he has become a sonko but with less than $200 in cash flow.

This where ruto and his band of dimwitted fools are today. They are promising each other heaven on earth but the sad reality only ruto is seating pretty on top of the brothel overseeing whores work the streets.

End of rant

Re: The hustler pyramid scheme
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2022, 03:06:46 PM »
What are you saying?

Just summarize your paragraph in one sentence,Where did you get those PHDs in ambiguity?

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2022, 03:12:51 PM »
What are you saying?

Just summarize your paragraph in one sentence,Where did you get those PHDs in ambiguity?

You can't get it.

Let me summarize for your dim-witted soul. Bottomline is that we have 80% of our population in hustling. We have made hustling our solution to complex economic problems. Our school system is the pipeline into hustling and poverty. We are NOT going ever to reduce poverty. the poor are condemned to the fate of this pyramid. Mediocrity is our global product and poverty is our supply chain.

Hope this is simple for you to digest

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2022, 03:28:23 PM »
You're right on the historical context and the fickleness of gig/hustling economy as clearly demonstrated by COVID-19. You're wrong to assume that people hustle out of choice. Hustling is way for people to eke a living. Nobody encourage anybody to leave school and hustle. It's just that folks dont see any formal jobs coming - and have to create their own informal jobs - in agriculture, in retail& trade, in transport,  in food and accommodation.

Informal sector grew out of SAP that IMF/WB - that basically killed subsided manufacturing run by gov & privatized most of it - and of course population exploded in 70 & 80s - and came to fore in the 90s - before people could understand - computerization - came and removed lots of jobs - as automation was adopted.

Now we have major problem - about 15-17m adults in Kenya are hustling.

What does Ruto propose to do - get most of these hustlers into construction jobs (kazi ya mjengo building houses, roads) - and get them into manufacturing.

The housing is very easy - the plan very straightforward - we have housing shortfall - gov has land/can reduce taxes - people need to be forced to save for housing - and you can unleash chinese like construction machine - that need to build a million plus house - and employ 4 million people. The blocker here is our judiciary - housing levy need to pass - so people can  be forced to save percentage of their salary that will entitled them to mortgage - and Uhuru ulevi. Our mortgage market remain a big joke - only 25,000 mortagages in country of 25M adults. Our houses remain very expensive. Most people still find buying a plot and building is cheaper because the market has ISSUES that need fixing.

Manufacturing is tough one. I haven't heard any concrete plan.

If manufacturing can get 4million out - and 4 million in construction - you remain with 8m still hustling.

Good news - hustling or informal sector - actually beat formal jobs - in earning for same education level - except it doesnt really have any shocks absorbers (one covid or drought - informal dude is "dead" - while someone in formal employment survives). So we need to build shock absorbers for those in hustling economy.

Now 8M - who will remain as hustlers - need to be supported by providing them with cheap loans, allowing their informal business to thrive alongside formal (kiosk & hawkers should be allowed in town), reducing all these regulation & licensing fees, organizing them into saccos where they can save for the rainy day, etc.

The biggest problem in kenya in the last 68 years is that we have agreed that hustling can get you out of poverty. So every year since 1963 we have sent millions into informal sector without a clear policy on how to formalize these millions. Our public school system has become the ultimate pipeline for these hustlers. As our economic fortunes have dwindled the more we have encouraged the poor to stop seeking education and engage in hustles to escape poverty. In kiambu the mass movement to hustling started in the 1990s. Kids in their preteens could go into the market at the lowest end of the supply chain and earn a living. So boys started quiting school at 14 to go hustle. Most of these hustles are undercapitalized and rely on Goodluck than skilled to make money. So if such a kid got into the good season in market they made a lot of money but it took only one bad season to take them down to the getheri..gathering.soup kitchen. Then in the late early 90s the banking system realized this section was the biggest unexplained...one and they unleashed microfinance loan sharks in suits and tight skirts. What has happened is that the once smelly gichagi waru broker is now a market pimp. With a shiny suit and fake leather shoes he has become a sonko but with less than $200 in cash flow.

This where ruto and his band of dimwitted fools are today. They are promising each other heaven on earth but the sad reality only ruto has the means to start another brothel they can pimp for each other

End of rant

« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2022, 03:35:34 PM »
Understand my post. Construction is full of hustlers. The Chinese have eaten into this market. They will eliminate hustlers foreman, fundis...in a decade. You are an NGO guy that why you believe that the market is inefficient and all you have to is tweak this and that and you fix what is wrong.  s I have been in private sector for over 3 decades. I know the market is efficient and nothing other than redistribution of means of production will fix what is wrong. Not even productivity can fix inequality and poverty in kenya. The problem is systemic and structural

Microfinancing was supposed to leapfrog the capitalization problem. What happened it created a credit problem for the most poor. No simple solutions to our complex problems

« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2022, 03:43:40 PM »
Leave baseless polemics and stick to common sense.

We dont have any construction industry in kenya worth talking about. The few chinese in Kilimani - is nothing compared to the potential here. We have 25K mortgage. In urban centers 90 percent are renting. This is not normal. Most people are renting your grand pa derelict building that collapses on them. Kayole. Zimmerman. Name them need to be NUKED.  That is NOT how humans should live. They are no better than Kibera slums.

In most functional countries - mortagage is cheaper than renting - there is no reason why we cannot build proper, cheaper and modern housing - Mzungu used to do in 1950s - all the maringos, buruburus. Every nairobian paying rent of 8K - can be given a house - where he is paying 8K - not to your Kiambu grand pa - to - bank - with target of owning houses in 15-20yrs. This help build shock absorbers.

The housing plan is solid. Implementation is all that is needed. It will totally revolunize our housing sector. What we have now is INFORMAL HOUSING JOKE. It's juakali of housing where Kiambu man - come to Nairobi - and build slumscrappers. This is NOT NORMAL. Gov, NSSF, NHIF, Pension Funds, and Insurance funds should be building Nyayo Estate size projects - 10,000 units - and selling them cheaply - going for volume - over value - all houses in tenant purchasing scheme or rent=mortagage. This is a secured loan.

8M Kenya farmers - solution is simple - Kenya productivity is 5 times less than US or Europe and Asia - and trick is simple - we apply 5 times less fertilizers. Flood Kenya farms with fertlizers - and you have 5 times more production. You reduce food import, you have more food for people, animals and all that.

That leaves us with people who need to get manufacturing - and very very few hustlers on the streets - who are now SMES - not hawkers.

Understand my post. Construction is full of hustlers. The Chinese have eaten into this market. They will eliminate hustlers foreman, fundis...in a decade. You are an NGO guy that why you believe that the market is inefficient and all you have to is tweak this and that and you fix what is wrong.  s I have been in private sector for over 3 decades. I know the market is efficient and nothing other than redistribution of means of production will fix what is wrong. Not even productivity can fix inequality and poverty in kenya. The problem is systemic and structural

Microfinancing was supposed to leapfrog the capitalization problem. What happened it created a credit problem for the most poor. No simple solutions to our complex problems

You what ruto calls kizungu mingi jamaa
« Last Edit: April 06, 2022, 04:13:19 PM by KenyanPlato »

« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2022, 03:43:49 PM »
Most stupid idea ever been suggested here. You think like Sonko. Sonko did the same to Eastlands in Nairobi and changed the face of the residential estates. Now there are no more footpaths for pedestrians. People have to walk on the roads since the footpaths are filled with permanent kiosks and hawkers.

We cannot build an economy on hustlers. Just does not make sense. Just a lot of disorder and noise.

You're right on the historical context and the fickleness of gig/hustling economy as clearly demonstrated by COVID-19. You're wrong to assume that people hustle out of choice. Hustling is way for people to eke a living. Nobody encourage anybody to leave school and hustle. It's just that folks dont see any formal jobs coming - and have to create their own informal jobs - in agriculture, in retail& trade, in transport,  in food and accommodation.

Informal sector grew out of SAP that IMF/WB - that basically killed subsided manufacturing run by gov & privatized most of it - and of course population exploded in 70 & 80s - and came to fore in the 90s - before people could understand - computerization - came and removed lots of jobs - as automation was adopted.

Now we have major problem - about 15-17m adults in Kenya are hustling.

What does Ruto propose to do - get most of these hustlers into construction jobs (kazi ya mjengo building houses, roads) - and get them into manufacturing.

The housing is very easy - the plan very straightforward - we have housing shortfall - gov has land/can reduce taxes - people need to be forced to save for housing - and you can unleash chinese like construction machine - that need to build a million plus house - and employ 4 million people. The blocker here is our judiciary - housing levy need to pass - so people can  be forced to save percentage of their salary that will entitled them to mortgage - and Uhuru ulevi. Our mortgage market remain a big joke - only 25,000 mortagages in country of 25M adults. Our houses remain very expensive. Most people still find buying a plot and building is cheaper because the market has ISSUES that need fixing.

Manufacturing is tough one. I haven't heard any concrete plan.

If manufacturing can get 4million out - and 4 million in construction - you remain with 8m still hustling.

Good news - hustling or informal sector - actually beat formal jobs - in earning for same education level - except it doesnt really have any shocks absorbers (one covid or drought - informal dude is "dead" - while someone in formal employment survives). So we need to build shock absorbers for those in hustling economy.

Now 8M - who will remain as hustlers - need to be supported by providing them with cheap loans, allowing their informal business to thrive alongside formal (kiosk & hawkers should be allowed in town) :o, reducing all these regulation & licensing fees, organizing them into saccos where they can save for the rainy day, etc.

« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2022, 03:49:32 PM »
Why is it stupid.
You want to walk on empty footpaths or you want hopeless people to get something at end of the day.
Informal trading can be organized - so you can walk - while they can sell.
Otherwise how do you propose the poor will get formal white collar jobs.

I believe hawking and street vendors can be organized - same with boda bodas - they are stop-gap until we develop.

You cannot pull a clean Rwanda type of nonsense - and the people are so poor - many rwandese have run to Nairobi

Most stupid idea ever been suggested here. You think like Sonko. Sonko did the same to Eastlands in Nairobi and changed the face of the residential estates. Now there are no more footpaths for pedestrians. People have to walk on the roads since the footpaths are filled with permanent kiosks and hawkers.

We cannot build an economy on hustlers. Just does not make sense. Just a lot of disorder and noise.

« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2022, 03:50:06 PM »
We already have educated people.Not everyone is supposed  to go to university technical college or high school.in any society there must be a cleaner a sweeper a caterer a Boda guy a mama mboga etc

The problem with Kenya is people stealing government money and investing it in their private ventures...take the case arror and kimwarer dams.if those dams were built many professionals like engineer safety lawyer docotr would have been employed many technicians like plant operators many many labourers in cement and steel plants while Boda Boda guys and mama mboga would have supplied their services..at the same time the contractor would have funded elgeyo maralwet technical university and research...NOW this money was stolen and is being used to campaign in those campaigns hustlers in the name of polling agents party agents are being misused while the rest is being used to bu V8 from Japan and build high rise flats which are short term ventures.

The problem is simple diverting government funds from required purposes towards personal benefits.

« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2022, 03:51:36 PM »
You are another person that believes our biggest reason of poverty is corruption. Think harder

« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2022, 03:54:14 PM »
You're elevating corruption as catch all . Even if nothing is stolen - our gov budget remain small. We have to think about creative ways to grow the economy. Not worry about the little in our store.

If you're poor - you can choose to spend all the day - guarding your little maize store - or you can choose to go out there - and grow more food- the rats and thieves - will not finish you a bigger maize store.

Wealth is created by creative people - using their brains - to solve problems.

We already have educated people.Not everyone is supposed  to go to university technical college or high school.in any society there must be a cleaner a sweeper a caterer a Boda guy a mama mboga etc

The problem with Kenya is people stealing government money and investing it in their private ventures...take the case arror and kimwarer dams.if those dams were built many professionals like engineer safety lawyer docotr would have been employed many technicians like plant operators many many labourers in cement and steel plants while Boda Boda guys and mama mboga would have supplied their services..at the same time the contractor would have funded elgeyo maralwet technical university and research...NOW this money was stolen and is being used to campaign in those campaigns hustlers in the name of polling agents party agents are being misused while the rest is being used to bu V8 from Japan and build high rise flats which are short term ventures.

The problem is simple diverting government funds from required purposes towards personal benefits.

« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2022, 04:05:23 PM »
You are another person that believes our biggest reason of poverty is corruption. Think harder

Of course yes.

A corrupt Traffic police or NTSA officer makes sure vehicles are driven with worn-out tyres which affects manufacturer of tyres which means less jobs.

A corrupt Army general buys fake military instruments from Chinese to get a kickback instead of building an army equipment plant in Kenya to build equipment and create jobs.

A corrupt kemsa official buys cheap generics from india instead of having a local plant.

A president gets a 10% kickback on SGR of 80BN and hides it in Dubai Money which would have built 800km of roads and employed thousands in cement plants steel mills etc

Any corrup deal means unemployed thousands unless you cant hack it

« Reply #12 on: April 06, 2022, 04:13:57 PM »
You're elevating corruption as catch all . Even if nothing is stolen - our gov budget remain small. We have to think about creative ways to grow the economy. Not worry about the little in our store.

If you're poor - you can choose to spend all the day - guarding your little maize store - or you can choose to go out there - and grow more food- the rats and thieves - will not finish you a bigger maize store.

Wealth is created by creative people - using their brains - to solve problems.

The only way you can grow the economy is simple...GOVERMENT BORROWS MONEY,IT INVESTS THAT MONEY IN ROADS DAMS RAILS POWER GENERATION ETC that drives local manufacturing which hence grows economy.

If that money is stolen anywhere in the value chain be it borrowing or investing it means less jobs less economy

Hakuna kizungu ingine...Take the case of Kibaki,He clamped down on tax evasion and increased Kenyan tax revenue from 200BN in 2003 to 700BN in 2008,He used that revenue as some kind of collateral,borrowed money and invested in massive projects manufacturing soared people got jobs banks made money economy soared in great leap and bound.

Take the case of Uhuru,How much money did he borrow?Was it invested properly for purposes objectives?No.Did the rate of GDP growth measure with the amount borrowed?No.

Simple Maths.

« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2022, 04:21:25 PM »
Kibaki benefited from radical reforms to the economy by moi in the 90s. After "sanctions" by global lenders ended with kinaki election the economy took off. Kibaki was a brain dead zombie to have steered the economy anywhere

« Reply #14 on: April 06, 2022, 04:22:11 PM »
Gov doesn't grow the economy.
Gov taxes is 17 percent of GDP - with debt - (total budget) is 30 percent.
There is 70 percent out there that need to be grown.
Kibaki grew taxes from180 to 700B in 10yrs - not 5yrs.

Gov job is to provide infrastructure + regulation - and private sector need to be unleashed to grow the economy.

We are not developing - not because of corruption - but because of LOW IQ - because of poor leadership.

Take for example Jubilee 1.0 - delivering almost 10,000 paved roads - doubling the road paved network that took Kenyatta Snr to Kibaki 50yrs.

What did Jubilee do - simple - they relooked at building code - remove unnecessary design constraints - like building high speed rural road -  by creating straight roads - and we got 10,000 paved roads - that have opened up kenya.

Same with electricity- Kenya is now razing toward universal access - TZ too - but look at Uganda?

That problem solving and commons sense approach is what is required in other sectors like housing and manufacturing.

Give me a thief that thinks like Ruto anyday -
The only way you can grow the economy is simple...GOVERMENT BORROWS MONEY,IT INVESTS THAT MONEY IN ROADS DAMS RAILS POWER GENERATION ETC that drives local manufacturing which hence grows economy.

If that money is stolen anywhere in the value chain be it borrowing or investing it means less jobs less economy

Hakuna kizungu ingine...Take the case of Kibaki,He clamped down on tax evasion and increased Kenyan tax revenue from 200BN in 2003 to 700BN in 2008,He used that revenue as some kind of collateral,borrowed money and invested in massive projects manufacturing soared people got jobs banks made money economy soared in great leap and bound.

Take the case of Uhuru,How much money did he borrow?Was it invested properly for purposes objectives?No.Did the rate of GDP growth measure with the amount borrowed?No.

Simple Maths.

« Reply #15 on: April 06, 2022, 04:25:03 PM »
Agreed.
There is nothing the senile Kibaki did to reform or re-orient the economy.
He is spend most of his time dazed if not sedated.
The best I have heard was mere reducing of cash ratio by Mwiraria. That is all
Most of the benefits he got was done by Moi - all banking sector reforms, reforms in KRA (including it's formation), name it, all were done in 90s - which was period of many painful reforms under IMF/WB supervision.
Moi did everything - including re-orienting economy from aid (gave Kibaki economy whose budget was 93 percent self-funding - from 50 percent in 1990 - Kibaki took it to 98 percent )
Other stuff like telecommunications were already long underway before he became PORK.

The economy took off with lifting of IMF/WB/Paris club sanctions - including writting off of debts - and inclusion of kenya back to list of creditors.
That had nothing to do with kibaki.

It had everything to do with exit of Moi and democratic elections of 2002.

Kibaki benefited from radical reforms to the economy by moi in the 90s. After "sanctions" by global lenders ended with kinaki election the economy took off. Kibaki was a brain dead zombie to have steered the economy anywhere

« Reply #16 on: April 06, 2022, 04:27:54 PM »
Hawking is not the issue, but where and when.

Good exapmle. I was once on the way to Nyeri and stopped over at Sagana to buy vegetables. The hawkers there pounced on me and I could hardly even open the car door. I ended up buying nothing as it was just too much. I stopped over iin Karatina and there was a market place. I walked over, bought what I wanted and took off. That is the difference of markets to hawking.

A nation of hawkers is a dillusion. Will not work and just make it more difficult for all of us.

Why is it stupid.
You want to walk on empty footpaths or you want hopeless people to get something at end of the day.

I believe hawking and street vendors can be organized - same with boda bodas - they are stop-gap until we develop.

You cannot pull a clean Rwanda type of nonsense - and the people are so poor - many rwandese have run to Nairobi

« Reply #17 on: April 06, 2022, 04:31:51 PM »
It balance. You can get order - because even hawkers want order.
You can choose Kisumu mess - where Nyongo has cleaned up Kisumu - it look very nice - by sending 50,000 small informal traders home - to poverty.
Rwanda is very clean - but they achieve that by sending millions to rural areas - through strict regulation of doing business.

I believe hawkers can be organized like Matatus - it all need self-organization through Saccos.

Let do basic stuff - like wear uniforms, wear badget, organize your things in neat rows, do not rush into cars, let hawkers belong to sacco, let sacco officials ensure everyone is orderly - and creating order on a mess - if there is a problem - let punish the SACCO.

It can be done. It's very simple. Nobody want disorder. Hawkers do not want it either because it bad for business. But because gov doesnt listen to them - it become survival for the fittest - it become a shouting match.

Get these hawkers to belong to SACCOS - let them wear uniform like in Uganda - and let Sacco officials ensure there is order.

Hawking is not the issue, but where and when.

Good exapmle. I was once on the way to Nyeri and stopped over at Sagana to buy vegetables. The hawkers there pounced on me and I could hardly even open the car door. I ended up buying nothing as it was just too much. I stopped over iin Karatina and there was a market place. I walked over, bought what I wanted and took off. That is the difference of markets to hawking.

A nation of hawkers is a dillusion. Will not work and just make it more difficult for all of us.

Why is it stupid.

« Reply #18 on: April 06, 2022, 04:33:01 PM »
Gov doesn't grow the economy.
Gov taxes is 17 percent of GDP - with debt - (total budget) is 30 percent.
There is 70 percent out there that need to be grown.
Kibaki grew taxes from180 to 700B in 10yrs - not 5yrs.

Gov job is to provide infrastructure + regulation - and private sector need to be unleashed to grow the economy.

We are not developing - not because of corruption - but because of LOW IQ - because of poor leadership.

Take for example Jubilee 1.0 - delivering almost 10,000 paved roads - doubling the road paved network that took Kenyatta Snr to Kibaki 50yrs.

What did Jubilee do - simple - they relooked at building code - remove unnecessary design constraints - like building high speed rural road -  by creating straight roads - and we got 10,000 paved roads - that have opened up kenya.

Same with electricity- Kenya is now razing toward universal access - TZ too - but look at Uganda?

That problem solving and commons sense approach is what is required in other sectors like housing and manufacturing.

Give me a thief that thinks like Ruto anyday -

Simple Maths.

Common sense ain't that common.

We are heading to 2022/2023 financial year.

The govement will spend lets say 500BN for development projects.

That money will build roads,dams,water pans,Airports,

The 500BN will be sent to private companies which will build these projects.

These companies will buy cement and steel from devki bamburi tononoka etc

These companies will buy tippers from Tata Kenya isuzu through kcb equity finance.

That 500BN will be absorbed in the Kenyan financial system and you will have 5% gdp growth.

IF THAT MONEY IS STOLEN,ECONOMY WONT GROW....That shows you how govement manufactures money.

Am out.

« Reply #19 on: April 06, 2022, 04:35:25 PM »
Gov get money from same private sector.
It doesnt grow the money - then lend the economy.
It taxes individuals and private sector.
Economy need to grow - and gov role is very limited - at best 20 percent.
The role of gov is create infrastructure+provide regulation.
But if there is road - but nobody is creating anything - we got a problem.
Moi built roads in Baringo - but it was use to dry maize
It's even better if there is no road but people are producing.
This is our problem.
Common sense ain't that common.

We are heading to 2022/2023 financial year.

The govement will spend lets say 500BN for development projects.

That money will build roads,dams,water pans,Airports,

The 500BN will be sent to private companies which will build these projects.

These companies will buy cement and steel from devki bamburi tononoka etc

These companies will buy tippers from Tata Kenya isuzu through kcb equity finance.

That 500BN will be absorbed in the Kenyan financial system and you will have 5% gdp growth.

IF THAT MONEY IS STOLEN,ECONOMY WONT GROW....That shows you how govement manufactures money.

Am out.