Author Topic: Pundit-Nandi made and Destroyed Kalenjin,a sad legacy  (Read 4468 times)

Pundit-Nandi made and Destroyed Kalenjin,a sad legacy
« on: October 06, 2021, 08:45:52 AM »
I happened to travel in western Kenya and Nyanza some weeks ago and during my travel I noticed that lots of places carry kalenjin names. On asking the natives they said Nandis used to live there but left and went into interior of Kalenjin land. Am talking about areas in Kisumu like Muhoroni Koru areas and Vihiga county  among others. I was wondering if ever Nandi habited areas next to lake Victoria,as the proximity is very telling.
Something that caught my attention was the infrastructure in RV is very developed compared to Nyanza and western.
Again standard of living in Kalenjin land is very high compared to the 2, it's simple to analyse this simply by driving along the roads in nyanza and western they still build mud/brick houses but in Kalenjin land is proper concrete. Kalenjin far richer and appears to be almost on same level with Mlima on face value however deeper rural areas are very poor compared to lets say Meru where standard  build is a wooden house in deep interiors.
Anyways did nandi occupy land next to the lake?

Re: Pundit-Nandi made and Destroyed Kalenjin,a sad legacy
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2021, 09:09:06 AM »
Yes Nandi-Kipsigis occuppied most of the present day Kisumo.
My original people - the Maasai occupied Nyando valley - my own clan - Sigilai Maasai - were vanguished - and kipsigis-Nandi then occuppied it.
This is around 1850.
The upper part of kisumo - Nyando valley - towards the hill side - all the way to Kisumu town - not the homabaya leaning part.
Muhoroni - is kalenjin name - and so is Chemelil - Kiboswa - and the rest.
Kalenjin met with Luos at edge of the lake - Kisumo.

So how did Kalenjin - lose that small part of Kisumu.

Basically when Mzungu came - Koitalel who lived in Nandi hills - kept moving to evade them - and eventually mostly settled in lower plains of Nyando

After the war - Kalenjin were moved out. To either create land or to stop cattle rustling.

When Mzungu came Nandis were raiding Luos and Luhyas with such intensity - after losing their animals to riderpest - around 1870s - and were trying to restock. The Luo and Luhya cattle had not been affected by rinderpest...and so were kipsigis stealing from Gusii/Luos..

Koitalel father had been stoned to death by Nandis because the raiding of Maasai in 1870s had brought rinderpest that had wipped their cattle - so by 1880s things were desperate - and kalenjin engaged in massive cattle rustling raids against luos/luhyas - that were stopped with arrival of Brits.

Mzungu carved the land -left it fallow - and eventually wahindis asked Mzungu for land to grow sugar-cane.

Sugar belt was given to Indians - and they planted it with sugar.

When Mzungu left - Jaramogic connnived with Kenyattas to steal Kalenjin land.

I happened to travel in western Kenya and Nyanza some weeks ago and during my travel I noticed that lots of places carry kalenjin names. On asking the natives they said Nandis used to live there but left and went into interior of Kalenjin land. Am talking about areas in Kisumu like Muhoroni Koru areas and Vihiga county  among others. I was wondering if ever Nandi habited areas next to lake Victoria,as the proximity is very telling.
Something that caught my attention was the infrastructure in RV is very developed compared to Nyanza and western.
Again standard of living in Kalenjin land is very high compared to the 2, it's simple to analyse this simply by driving along the roads in nyanza and western they still build mud/brick houses but in Kalenjin land is proper concrete. Kalenjin far richer and appears to be almost on same level with Mlima on face value however deeper rural areas are very poor compared to lets say Meru where standard  build is a wooden house in deep interiors.
Anyways did nandi occupy land next to the lake?

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2021, 09:18:51 AM »
During the later half of the nineteenth century the Maasai were wracked by internal strife. At the same time a series of human and cattle epidemics swept through East Africa. Cholera in 1869 was followed within a few years by smallpox and in the 1880: rinderpest and pleuropneumonia killed most of the cattle and vast amounts of game over the whole area. The most seriously affected were the Maasai, who, weakened by these plagues, suffered a series of military defeats. By 1883 the Uasin Gishu Maasai ceased to exist as a group (Middleton l965:343) as a result of several defeats at the hands of the Nandi and other surrounding tribes. The Sigilai Maasai in the Nyando valley between the Kipsigis and the Nandi, were similarly broken.4
The decline of the Maasai coincided with a growing power among the Nandi and the Kipsigis. By 1880 the Nandi were enjoying great military success against the several tribes around them, including intermittently other Kalenjin speakers: the Tugen and Keyo. At the same time the Kipsigis consolidated their gains against the Maasai, both in the north and the south (pushing them out of Sot), the Luo, and the Gusii, whom they drove out of the area of Bureti, Thus at the time of the establishment of colonial rule the Kipsigis were in control of a very large and fertile area which, despite the later alienation of extensive areas to European ownership, made them one of Kenya's wealthiest tribes in terms of natural resources.5
https://danielsanthropology.com/rites/04/Chapter04.html

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2021, 09:19:22 AM »
Impressive and spot on reflects what I saw on the ground. The area is also very fertile and was wondering who owns all that empty land from londiani to Muhoroni.
But strictly speaking Nandi didn't touch the lake?

« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2021, 09:25:21 AM »
I would say kiboswa/kibos - the two are kalenjin words for bald headed - that is are 5kms from the lake; I think they did. Generally kalenjin avoided it because of Malaria and Tsetse fly - and they of course did not eat fish like Luos. Even now - Nandis live in Kiboswa - that is very near the lake...I 'd say the riat hills....all the way down to mamboleo...probably was kalenjin land.
Impressive and spot on reflects what I saw on the ground. The area is also very fertile and was wondering who owns all that empty land from londiani to Muhoroni.
But strictly speaking Nandi didn't touch the lake?

« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2021, 09:42:14 AM »
Njuri - I think you should read that link - it has everything about Kalenjin warfare/attitudes - and should explain many stuff people dont like me writting about

You can replace Kikuyus - with Luos/Gusii - here to understand things like Kiambaa church

https://danielsanthropology.com/rites/04/Chapter04.html

The Kipsigis valued warfare against the Maasai not only because of the potential for greater spoils, compared to raiding the Gusii or Luo, but also because the Maasai shared the greatest number of conventions about the conduct of hostilities.12 Throughout the accounts of the few survivors of the precolonial period runs the feeling that battle with the Maasai was the purest form of combat. Stress is placed on the norms against killing older people or children (the latter were taken captive), against sexual assaults on captured women, and on the many signs of surrender or truce recognized by both sides. It is reported, for example, that any Maasai who, having lost his weapons, climbed a tree during the battle was considered to have retired from the field and was not attacked even if the rest of his group were defeated. similarly, although an enemy would be killed on sight if found near a Kipsigis settlement, a Maasai who performed an act of truce would be received as a guest and rarely threatened or molested.

In contrast to this, warfare against the Gusii and Luo was much less regulated. Although some signs of surrender were recognized, informants claim that men were not taken alive. Unlike the Kipsigis, the Gusii and Luo were extremely reluctant to move about at night because of the fear of supernatural agents, a difference which gave the Kipsigis a great tactical advantage. Kipsigis informants describe raids against Gusii compounds at night in which they set fire to the roofs and slaughtered people indiscriminately as they tried to escape their houses. The Kipsigis also enjoyed success against the Luo by raiding domestic settlements at night.

Accounts of warfare with these groups lack the ambivalence between hostility and respect used in discussing the Maasai. As far as I can determine, these tactics have given the Kipsigis a reputation among the Gusii and Luo, not as superior warriors, but as something akin to barbarians.
Nevertheless, the Kipsigis recognized the Gusii as extremely dangerous in open battle because of their large numbers. They do not, however, speak of individual acts of bravery by Gusii warriors. It has been reported that Gusii men sometimes entered battle with their women behind them chiding them to attack. This would have been an intolerable offense to any self-respecting Kipsigis warrior (i.e., a "graduate" of the initiations). The Kipsigis opinion of the Luo was much more disparaging. In discussing combat against them, the Kipsigis cite numerous instances of what they consider cowardice.13

Different attitudes toward each of these tribes can also be seen in the treatment of captives. It is widely recognized that certain clans are of Maasai origin and that throughout the Kipsigis expansion Maasai captives were incorporated into the Kipsigis tribe. Women and children were also taken in wars with the Gusii, as were Gusii individuals who had fled from witchcraft in their own tribe. During the Kipsigis expansion southward a large number of Gusii families were out off and isolated in the hills east of Bomet. This group was assimilated en masse. These Gusii were so numerous that in several cases they succeeded in re-establishing their own descent group identifications within Kipsigis society. Thus there are today several ortinwek recognized to be derived from Gusii descent groups, The most prominent of these are Boguserek, Kamurwachi, Kamogu, Motoborik, and Narachek. Members of some of these ortinwek, which are still heavily represented in the eastern parts of Bomet Division, today retain a few Gusii practices.14

No clans are recognized to be of Luo origin to my knowledge and, consistent with their general opinion of this tribe, my informants insisted that very few Luo, even women or children, were incorporated into the Kipsigis.

Incorporation into Kipsigis society was marked by the ng'woset ceremony performed by the captor on his return from battle or as soon thereafter as possible (in order to establish undisputed claim to the captive). Children were adapted as members of the captor's family and became part of his oret (specific cases are known in which a Gusii mother and her children were adopted into different Kipsigis families). Older girls and women were adopted with slight variations in the ceremony as wards so that although they were incorporated into a captor's household they could also be married by him.15 Once "naturalized" by ng'woset, the captive had full rights of membership in Kipsigis society. If the captive was a child, he or she was initiated at the appropriate time with other children. Once they had learned Kipsigis customs and language (even if never losing their original accents) they were not discriminated against.16

When first contacted by the British, the Kipsigis had thus secured a strong position in the area. The Maasai were receding before the superior numbers of the Kipsigis (supported by a mixed economy in the rich soil of the hills that allowed a denser population than did pure pastoralism), and the Gusii and Luo had been driven out of the natural boundaries of the local ecological zone (the Gusii confined to a separate plateau area, and the Luo limited to the lower, drier Kano Plain). Kipsigis successes against the Gusii and Luo were due to a series of factors: a high level of aggression on the part of individual Kipsigis warriors, superior military organization based on age-grades, a lack of the intra-tribal hostilities found in these other two tribes (which the Kipsigis did not know about), and a willingness among the Kipsigis to take advantage of Gusii and Luo trepidation about fighting at night.

« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2021, 09:56:24 AM »
If British had not seperated Nandi and Kipsigis - maybe we would be independent nation like Lesotho :) - combined Kalenjin would have been hard to defeat

« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2021, 10:01:33 AM »
I thought 1992 was first war - kumbe there have been many

Kipsigis continued to settle south of the Nyangores River, in Narok District, some with the approval of the government but many in violation of regulations, Raiding on a small scale continued in the 1960s. In 1965 a series of raids escalated to a general mobilization of Kipsigis men from Sot and most of Bureti. Within twenty-four hours at least 10.000 Kipsigis were on the border. Quick government action, including the use of the General Service Unit (shock troops) restored order. Government reports placed the total number killed at twelve; the people I spoke with claimed over a hundred Maasai had been killed.

« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2021, 10:05:08 AM »
After World War I, European settlement in Kericho District developed rapidly under soldier-settler schemes. Increasingly, a major portion of the Kipsigis population became involved in working on these estates. Large numbers of single men as well as many families also moved to European farms and ranches in the Rift Valley. The average length of employment was probably no more than a few years. Here they came into contact with members of several tribes, including most importantly the Kikuyu who were spreading from their crowded reserve to the east of the valley. However, contact with other peoples was rather superficial in most cases as labor camps were generally organized on a tribal basis.

Following the war, tea estates were established in Kericho. By 1930 there were approximately 12,000 Africans employed on them; almost all of them non-Kipsigis (Manners 19671288). Prominent among this work force have been the Luo, Gusii, Kuria, Luhya, and Kikuyu. Colonial policy between the wars aimed at developing the Kipsigis, who were not experiencing the degree of land pressure found among these other tribes, as suppliers of farm commodities for these labor camps, rather than trying to promote direct Kipsigis participation in migratory labor. While this contributed to the relatively high rate of economic advance among the Kipsigis, it also maintained a certain degree of provincialism.

« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2021, 10:07:06 AM »
Kispigis-Nandi women started umalaya long time ago:

« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2021, 10:09:24 AM »
Look like clashes with Kikuyus started early. Arap Kisiara is Hon Ngeno of Narok great grandfather. He is credited for expanding Kipsigis territory to Narok - and for leading many great cattle raids that extended beyond current Narok town - and as far south as Migori.

Kikuyu shopkeepers and small businessmen have also expanded into the numerous trading centers in the district, often extending beyond the major "towns" dominated by their main competitors, the Asians. In 1965 attacks were made on Kikuyu shops by gangs of Kipsigis in an effort to drive the Kikuyu out or the smaller trading centers in the reserve. Hundreds of Kipsigis shops have also developed, though in some cases where they were in competition with Kikuyu shops the Kipsigis owners subsequently leased their businesses to Kikuyu tenants who were more successful at turning a profit. It is also significant that the first Kipsigis-owned hotel in Kericho (other African hotels are Kikuyu-controlled) was named after the most famous war leader of the nineteenth century, Arap Kisiara.

The other major influx of non-Kipsigis into the district is migrant labor on the tea estates. By 1961 34,00O Africans were employed on these estates, a great number of them with several dependents. The largest non-Kalenjin group in the district are the Luo: 33,144 in 1962 (Ominde 1968:l76). The non-Kalenjin people in the district who are involved in this migrant labor are overwhelmingly between the ages of twenty and forty-four.

« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2021, 10:10:54 AM »
The mutual disdain for Luos is long one

Another development of great interest is the employment of individual Luo men on Kipsigis family farms. While the traditional stigma associated with one Kipsigis man working for another has lessened, such employment still carries a very low statue. The Luo employed in this way are usually landless. They are generally paid below the minimum wage levels and are given very substandard housing. This work, and others such as the employment of Luo men to load trucks, reinforces the Kipsigis view that the Luo are best suited to agricultural and manual work that a Kipsigis man considers beneath his dignity (among the Kipsigis such work is traditionally done by women). During my fieldwork [over a decade before Daniel Moi became Kenya's second President] I found the average rural Kipsigis man seemed almost totally unaware of the many prominent positions held by Luo individuals in national institutions. [Of course more recently they are all aware of Raila Odinga and national politics.]

« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2021, 10:14:48 AM »
Njuri ncheke my grandfather was busy hunting yours in the mountain. He was terrorist before kenyatta made them freedom fighters - and lionized their terror activities
The majority of Kipsigis adults I knew took a view of Mau Mau that was not too different from that presented by the colonial government and the British press at the time. After independence, the Kenya Government countered this interpretation of Man Mau; those the British labeled terrorists were memorialized as freedom fighters.

« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2021, 11:54:22 AM »
Very impressive long reads. Actually this just is what people don't understand about kalenjin. They think its a recent occurence. Long history well documented,kumbe this despising Luos and mogusiii is historic. But now you at least intermarried with mogusii you are relatives.
I think this history of Kalenjin should be made more widely available to help explain the people.

« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2021, 12:03:04 PM »
Njuri ncheke my grandfather was busy hunting yours in the mountain. He was terrorist before kenyatta made them freedom fighters - and lionized their terror activities
The majority of Kipsigis adults I knew took a view of Mau Mau that was not too different from that presented by the colonial government and the British press at the time. After independence, the Kenya Government countered this interpretation of Man Mau; those the British labeled terrorists were memorialized as freedom fighters.
Pundit we dealt with bazungu and his cronies effectively. Merus were very shrewd fighters that's why you don't see any Meru Mau Mau leaders fighters caught by beberu.
Simply Merus didn't enjoy the vast numbers like quoted of the mogusii in your battles with them.
Merus used to lightly defend borders that had kambas and Kikuyus only sending scouts(Rai) to monitor the activities in the border areas and their movements. Main meru fighting force lay on the north against more potent enemies like samburu and Cushites.

« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2021, 12:06:46 PM »
I think in late 80s - you scored some victory against Maasai - in Mt kenya. Did Meru settle in Timau and such areas pre-colonial period?  Yes to survive in that area with shiftas and boranas is not easy. Kambas were able to match Maasai through deadly arrow poison - made from I think snake venom or something.

Kalenjin arrow poison were made from some fruits - and the mostly deadly from some frogs.

The fruit one could be given to each warrior - but the frog one was carried in a pot :) - only by the experts - who made it deep in the forest - and you'd have to dip it and fire it - very carefully - someone was reported to swell and bust :) upon contact.

Seem to be true

The frogs' poison is found in their skin, making them too toxic to touch. While most frogs are considered toxic but not deadly, they are distasteful to a predator and can even be fatal. The poison can cause serious swelling, nausea, and muscular paralysis

Pundit we dealt with bazungu and his cronies effectively. Merus were very shrewd fighters that's why you don't see any Meru Mau Mau leaders fighters caught by beberu.
Simply Merus didn't enjoy the vast numbers like quoted of the mogusii in your battles with them.
Merus used to lightly defend borders that had kambas and Kikuyus only sending scouts(Rai) to monitor the activities in the border areas and their movements. Main meru fighting force lay on the north against more potent enemies like samburu and Cushites.

« Reply #16 on: October 06, 2021, 12:14:23 PM »
Yes I see it was reported in 2008
http://content.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1718460,00.html
Making bows and arrows has become a communal task. Although women and girls do not fight, they assist in collecting materials for the weapons. Five bow-and-arrow construction groups of 10 members each are scattered around the town. Weapon-makers first cut the head off a 4-inch nail, which is then chiseled with a heavy hammer into a sharp edge. The nail is then coiled to fit onto a bamboo stick. A groove is cut into the bottom of the stick in order to add paraffin paper wings for the arrow to have better flight. Sometimes, the arrow is dipped into frog or snake poison before being released. The bow is made by forcefully bending hard wood and adding string and springs. The result is a four-foot bow that can shoot an arrow for over 1,500 feet.

Every Kalenjin is trained on the skillful art of making very good bows and arrows from the best trees - and oiling them so well - I dont think there are arrows or bows in any other tribe that can match kalenjin. When a person dies - his most prized arrows and bows - the best of them that he keeps - are inherited by elder son - together with his best sword.

« Reply #17 on: October 06, 2021, 01:24:38 PM »
Long history Kalenjin have but you guys have almost fcuked it up nowadays. You need riase from the slumber Kalenjin would have been quite dominant in may areas I see. But now left right and centre your only hope is Mzito who if you believe me wouldn't lift the Kalenjin as they expect.

« Reply #18 on: October 06, 2021, 01:35:14 PM »
We are done as proud rich community - overpopulation - after crazy giving of birth - has reduced farms to bantu size - but we will dominate kenya siasa and other aspect as eventually we will become biggest united tribe - baluhyas are not united.

Unless Ruto find us new land - we have to adapt to new realities - and become intensive farmers like Merus and Kikuyus.

For us to maintain old lifestyle - we need to expand into Narok - and other Maasailand - but Maasai are also increasing in population.

So basically we have to adapt - very fast.

Long history Kalenjin have but you guys have almost fcuked it up nowadays. You need riase from the slumber Kalenjin would have been quite dominant in may areas I see. But now left right and centre your only hope is Mzito who if you believe me wouldn't lift the Kalenjin as they expect.

« Reply #19 on: October 06, 2021, 02:09:17 PM »
We are done as proud rich community - overpopulation - after crazy giving of birth - has reduced farms to bantu size - but we will dominate kenya siasa and other aspect as eventually we will become biggest united tribe - baluhyas are not united.

Unless Ruto find us new land - we have to adapt to new realities - and become intensive farmers like Merus and Kikuyus.

For us to maintain old lifestyle - we need to expand into Narok - and other Maasailand - but Maasai are also increasing in population.

So basically we have to adapt - very fast.

Yes basically I could see the adaptation has begun in Kericho areas,like I said different in standard of living with mt.kenya is not as great as I thought honestly I was surprised by this. You could walk into any village or market and the activities carried out there are almost similar to ones in mt.kenya. but I bet going deeper in elgeyo marakwet,baringo,bomet things become different people get more poor.
What didn't impress me was nyanza and Western people are still poor and 30 years behind Mlima and parts of RV,this really sadden me.
I could tell its not all government neglect because Uhuru has really done infrastructure big time. The poverty comes from the methodology and mindset of the people. Most western ers rely on employment vs mlima and RV Who do business and agro business. This is main different. In My area I can tell many people who are semi illiterate but well to do coz they do agribusiness and other hustles,they grew up knowing they will never get employed and mindset was fixed then to personal uplift from an early age in primary school. As for westerners they studied hard but there was no employment. That's how it all turned up to and it was late catching up with mt.kenya