I think two things; open up for international competition; then support farmers; and the let the chips fall wherever.
In old days of KFA - I believe maize farming was profitable.
And as much as we may not like it - we have more than 8M people whose "career" is farming or livestock keeping.
That is largest segment of bottom-down.
So we have to think about how gov can assist them with cheap loans and organize them into cooperatives - and the benefit from economies of scale.
Cheap loans - Quality Inputs - and then Crop Insurance - and voila we will be fine.
But first all the 8million farmers need to be organized into cooperatives and groups.
Next we move to Boda-Boda - who now maybe - 1M of them. As security measures it's critical the sector get some regulation. We have to force them into SACCOS, force them to wear some uniform of a Sacco and then as incentive assist them with cheap loans - to buy boda boda - and to save up.
Next we move to your Mpesa lady - the urban hawker - the mechanic.
All of them need to belong to SACCO/Cooperative - before they can be assisted.
In Uganda - all hawkers wear uniform - and are self-organized. The same way we copied Matatu organization from them - we need to copy how to organize informal sector - into legitimate self-respecting self-regulating business.
Nice sexy concept for nascent industry. Hapa we have tried just about everything so I'm not sure how it would plug in. Take maize. There's no incentive you can throw to make it cheaper/internationally competitive. We import because ours are bloody expensive.
I think what we need is experimenting new stuff