Author Topic: Why did the kenya gov stop paying athletes who win medals  (Read 3404 times)

Why did the kenya gov stop paying athletes who win medals
« on: August 11, 2021, 11:56:25 AM »
Some countries pay even a million dollars. Kenya use to pay - under I think Balala or who?

Uhuru should pay at least 2 million shilling for each of these althetes - 10 medals - 20 million.

Nobody has sold kenya lately like Kipchoge.

Give him 10 million - I am sure there is money somewhere for the so called "Magical Kenya"

/photo/1

Re: Why did the kenya gov stop paying athletes who win medals
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2021, 06:50:49 PM »
Hapa kenya althetes will move to uganda enmass. Monthly salary of 1500 for rest of their life
https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/africa/2021-08-11-museveni-hands-over-top-range-vehicles-to-olympics-winners/

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2021, 07:07:42 PM »
This is probably the most that Kipchoge and company are going to get (a dance). Why should this surprise you? Isn't fighting for Ruto and his Turkish friend more important? By the way, don't bother Ruto about this. He's busy apologizing to his friend for getting deported.  :D

Congratulations Eliud Kipchoge, #TeamKenya: Jeff and Vicky's tribute to the marvelous Olympics team

Hapa kenya althetes will move to uganda enmass. Monthly salary of 1500 for rest of their life
https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/africa/2021-08-11-museveni-hands-over-top-range-vehicles-to-olympics-winners/
Don't steal. The Uhuruto Government hates competition.

« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2021, 07:15:50 PM »
Hii ni kazi ya CS of sport koroboi wewe. Before they even left - they should have been motivated by being told of the prize money. Ruto and turkey wametoka wapi hapa?
This is probably the most that Kipchoge and company are going to get (a dance). Why should this surprise you? Isn't fighting for Ruto and his Turkish friend more important? By the way, don't bother Ruto about this. He's busy apologizing to his friend for getting deported.  :D

Congratulations Eliud Kipchoge, #TeamKenya: Jeff and Vicky's tribute to the marvelous Olympics team

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2021, 07:19:01 PM »
No, it's a national problem. As a culture Kenyans worship the Rutos and Uhurus more than the Kipchoges.

Athletes, artists, musicians get lip service.

Hii ni kazi ya CS of sport koroboi wewe. Before they even left - they should have been motivated by being told of the prize money. Ruto and turkey wametoka wapi hapa?

« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2021, 09:39:41 AM »
Very true. That is why any third class politician ends up having national honours ati EBS, EGH etc.
Kenya should reward the Olympic medalists. They market the country more than anybody else. I have met people in remote villages in Europe and the minute you mention Kenya all that comes to their mind is athletics.

No, it's a national problem. As a culture Kenyans worship the Rutos and Uhurus more than the Kipchoges.

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2021, 01:51:26 PM »
Foreigners know more about Kenyan athletes than Kenyans themselves. But ask a Kenyan about his tribal political leader and you will get a detailed description of the thief's latest political positions.

Even more amazing, over three-quarters of the Kenyan champions come from one ethnic community of 6.4 million - the Kalenjin - who are a group of Southern Nilotic peoples indigenous to East Africa.

Numerous studies mainly by Western nations have been conducted to establish the reason behind the extraordinary success of Kenyan runners.

Studies have found significant differences in body mass index and bone structure between the Western athletes and the Kenyans who had bested them.

The studied Kenyans had less mass for their height, longer legs, shorter torsos, and more slender limbs.

Speaking to Xinhua on Tuesday, Irish missionary and athletics coach Brother Colm O'Connell who is widely known as the "Godfather of Kenyan running" explained the excellence of Kenyan runners cannot be summed into a single or a set of reasons.

"What I would put above everything else is Kenya has created a running culture that is more important than all other factors or potential factors such as genetics, good climate and rural areas of training," O'Connell said.

...While Kenya once again topped the African medal charts at the Olympics, O'Connell is concerned that the dominance is under threat from lack of good facilities as well as the collapse of the country's school structures that unearthed hundreds of champion runners in the past.

For years, the cultural argument was that Kenyans become great runners because they often run several kilometers to and from school every day but that has been debunked in recent times.

Champion Kenyan athletes either walk or take the bus to school like normal children do and since the turn of the century, many stopped running bare feet which were thought to develop good habits.

It was also previously thought that the simple Kenyan diet mainly rich in carbohydrates and protein was responsible, but the reality is champion athletes eat nothing special.

...A few European studies in Germany and Denmark concluded Kenyans enjoy a genetic advantage over other runners with the average Kalenjin capable of beating 90 percent of the global population.

Tokyo 2020 class cements Kenya's position as nation of top runners
http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/2021-08/11/c_1310121468.htm
Very true. That is why any third class politician ends up having national honours ati EBS, EGH etc.
Kenya should reward the Olympic medalists. They market the country more than anybody else. I have met people in remote villages in Europe and the minute you mention Kenya all that comes to their mind is athletics.

« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2021, 02:22:21 PM »
One more tip of the day. Excessive use of bold makes your post an eye sore. Don't scream. There is nothing you novel you're telling folks here. Once you discover COVID-19 cure -yes come and scream.
Foreigners know more about Kenyan athletes than Kenyans themselves. But ask a Kenyan about his tribal political leader and you will get a detailed description of the thief's latest political positions.

Even more amazing, over three-quarters of the Kenyan champions come from one ethnic community of 6.4 million - the Kalenjin - who are a group of Southern Nilotic peoples indigenous to East Africa.

Numerous studies mainly by Western nations have been conducted to establish the reason behind the extraordinary success of Kenyan runners.

Studies have found significant differences in body mass index and bone structure between the Western athletes and the Kenyans who had bested them.

The studied Kenyans had less mass for their height, longer legs, shorter torsos, and more slender limbs.

Speaking to Xinhua on Tuesday, Irish missionary and athletics coach Brother Colm O'Connell who is widely known as the "Godfather of Kenyan running" explained the excellence of Kenyan runners cannot be summed into a single or a set of reasons.

"What I would put above everything else is Kenya has created a running culture that is more important than all other factors or potential factors such as genetics, good climate and rural areas of training," O'Connell said.

...While Kenya once again topped the African medal charts at the Olympics, O'Connell is concerned that the dominance is under threat from lack of good facilities as well as the collapse of the country's school structures that unearthed hundreds of champion runners in the past.

For years, the cultural argument was that Kenyans become great runners because they often run several kilometers to and from school every day but that has been debunked in recent times.

Champion Kenyan athletes either walk or take the bus to school like normal children do and since the turn of the century, many stopped running bare feet which were thought to develop good habits.

It was also previously thought that the simple Kenyan diet mainly rich in carbohydrates and protein was responsible, but the reality is champion athletes eat nothing special.

...A few European studies in Germany and Denmark concluded Kenyans enjoy a genetic advantage over other runners with the average Kalenjin capable of beating 90 percent of the global population.

Tokyo 2020 class cements Kenya's position as nation of top runners
http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/2021-08/11/c_1310121468.htm

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2021, 02:41:02 PM »
Pundit,

You're back! How are things? Been busy lately?  :D

« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2021, 03:11:50 PM »
I am never busy; the luxury of my existence. You're getting there buddy. You're gonna make a lot of friends here.
Pundit,

You're back! How are things? Been busy lately?  :D

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2021, 03:16:05 PM »
By the way, Pundit, never take things between us personally. I know that all of us have our favorite political preferences. But at the end of the day, we are just people trying to live, and there are more things that unite us than divide us (I hope).

Have a good day!

« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2021, 03:19:54 PM »
Ok :)
By the way, Pundit, never take things between us personally. I know that all of us have our favorite political preferences. But at the end of the day, we are just people trying to live, and there are more things that unite us than divide us (I hope).

Have a good day!

« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2021, 02:25:12 PM »
1m each  - too little - at least gold medalist should get 5m - 3m for silver and 2m for gold. They are just 10 of them.

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/sports/sports/2001420934/tokyo-2020-olympics-kenya-gold-medalists-rewarded-sh1-million-each

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2021, 09:39:58 PM »
Do you think Uhuru and Ruto can afford to pay the athletes from their own pockets? Easily.

1m each  - too little - at least gold medalist should get 5m - 3m for silver and 2m for gold. They are just 10 of them.

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/sports/sports/2001420934/tokyo-2020-olympics-kenya-gold-medalists-rewarded-sh1-million-each

« Reply #14 on: August 16, 2021, 09:41:12 PM »
They are running for Kenya. Kenya gov is rich enough to reward such excellent althetes who put kenya on the global map.
Do you think Uhuru and Ruto can afford to pay the athletes from their own pockets? Easily.

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #15 on: August 16, 2021, 09:44:34 PM »
But why can't Ruto, for example, empty his pockets kidogo for the athletes?

They are running for Kenya. Kenya gov is rich enough to reward such excellent althetes who put kenya on the global map.

« Reply #16 on: August 16, 2021, 09:46:10 PM »
I am not Ruto spokesperson. I support Ruto and I am here to analyze issues. You are always asking nursery questions. No wonder nobody likes you. I hope in real life you're not this boring.

Never before in this forum I have seen such hostility - and it not surprising.

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #17 on: August 16, 2021, 09:48:49 PM »
I am just wondering why the so-called Hustler No. 1 of Kenya cannot give a tip to the ultimate hustlers of Kenya: the athletes. Why can't he put his money where his mouth is?

I am not Ruto spokesperson. I support Ruto and I am here to analyze issues. You always asking nursery questions. No wonder nobody likes you. I hope in real life you're not this boring.