Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: Nowayhaha on January 09, 2023, 11:55:30 AM
-
https://nation.africa/kenya/news/politics/ignore-sakaja-and-stay-put-dp-gachagua-tells-matatu-club-owners-4080148
Speaking during an interview on Sunday, the DP said removing Matatus from the CBD is locking out a lot of people and businesses noting that people making noise on the congestion of Nairobi do not set foot in town but rather live in the outskirts of the city in Runda and Karen.
“Those who come to town are not complaining of congestion because that is where they source their daily bread... furthermore, when those planning to evict Matatus from the CBD will bring trains. We shall accept that they remove Matatus but for now there are no trains or buses,” he added.
The DP noted that the Matatu industry supported hundreds of other small and medium enterprises that it will be difficult for those people to cover long distances with their luggage.
Read: Rigathi, Mudavadi silent war exposed in DP’s clash with Sakaja on city affairs
“I do not have any problems with anyone… but anyone who feels that there should be a change or shift in status quo, they should first consider how it shall change the lives of Kenyans and have a dialogue about it before making any decisions,” he said.
In addition, on closure of clubs within residential areas in Nairobi, the DP noted that it would be inconsiderate to allow noise pollution, however, owners of such premises should be allowed time to fit their business with soundproof walls to minimize noise and allow co-existence.
“You are the same people who have issued these businessmen and women with licenses to operate clubs within the residential areas. You cannot wake up one day and decide to close their business, yet they have invested their money there, rather invite them for a dialogue with an ultimatum,” he said.
He further noted that businesspeople need to be treated with decorum and with the dignity that they deserve.
“I want to tell people this, keep on with your business. The government under the stewardship of President Willim Ruto has you covered and protected. Our government will not allow you to be anyone, regardless of who they call themselves to ruin your businesses,” he said.
DP Gachagua also told off critics who accused him of being a tribal leader whose only focus is presenting the interests of the Kikuyu community, noting that those calling him tribal are “disrespectful.”
“We are not tribal, and I am definitely not tribal… When Governor Johnson Sakaja was being elected, there was Margaret Wanjiru whom I asked to shelf her ambitions for the young man. Was that tribal? There was Igathe whom I rally people against, was I tribal?” he asked, adding that there was a group of people who had mooted to discredit him on tribal lines.
“Whenever anyone from the Kikuyu community speaks or they gather somewhere, they are accused of tribalism, but they turn the other way when members from another community do the same,” he said.
He vowed to speak on behalf of the Kikuyu community whenever need arises, noting that he will not be cowed to silence.
“I have spoken and as a leader I do not have to repeat myself, people should carry on with their business in every part of the country and this is not just for the Kikuyu community. Our government is pro-business people- to protect and grow these businesses,” he added.
He encouraged elected leaders to tread carefully and not upset the same people who put them in positions of power.
“We will not engage in double speak that on one hand we are promising Kenyans we are in support of their hustle and on the other hand we introduce barriers to their business. I want to urge all business people to carry on with their businesses assured of government’s protection,” he said.
DP Gachagua also noted that there was no supremacy battle between him and the Prime cabinet secretary Musalia Mudavadi.
“This is plainly about Matatus. Musalia is my friend. He is a good man. Let us not involve communities in this. It is all about Matatus and there is no politics here. It is all about business,” he noted.
-
Sakaja is counting on Rutos support/which is imaginary
Bonni Khalwale has told him point blank taking up Gachagua is suicide .
GEMA are now rallying behind Gachagua.
Sakaja will know he is a nobody simply because he has 0 votes .
-
He is clearly interfering with Sakaja gov.If Ruto cannot reign on him..Sakaja should prepare to become Azimio gov and take the bull by its horn in 2032.That should be Sakaja gamelan..Nairobi is not mathira.Sakaja got more votes in Nairobi than Ruto
-
Sakaja cannot even win any Mp seat in Nairobi under UDA.
I dont like the route Gachagua is using to to gain tract but it seems its being effective in pushing Sakaja to ODM .
-
Sakaja cannot even win any Mp seat in Nairobi under UDA.
I dont like the route Gachagua is using to to gain tract but it seems its being effective in pushing Sakaja to ODM .
Totally agreed Gachagua should have rang Ruto first and expressed his reservation against Sakaja chini ya maji and let Mzito do the ground work,Riggy G is lacking soft power which is equally important as hard power he needs diplomatic tact.
But Sakaja is to blame with his big head thinking he can take on a DP, thats why GEMA supporting Riggy G simply because Sakaja is trying to show that he can take on the most senior leader in the region,Sakaja is very green whoever likens him to Ruto needs his brains recalibrated
-
Sakaja got more votes than uda.His main rival Weta bro is going to Bungoma to take over Lusaka.Gachagua will only succeed in alienating gema in Nairobi.Sakaja game is to take both madvd and Gachagua post 2027...his path therefore is to play middle ground of uda and azimio
-
Sakajas survival and re election trajectory is only under UDA . If he aligns himself with ODM he will be impeached and it will pass in Senate . If he decides to run under ODM in 2027 he will have to fight it out with many candidates in ODM and secondly he will lose a solid 40% block and the trick him and Sonko have used since 2017 and 2022 of toping up a few tribal votes after being backed by GEMA .
He is clearly interfering with Sakaja gov.If Ruto cannot reign on him..Sakaja should prepare to become Azimio gov and take the bull by its horn in 2032.That should be Sakaja gamelan..Nairobi is not mathira.Sakaja got more votes in Nairobi than Ruto
-
Twist it how you want . In an ODM Governor nomination between Sakaja and Babu Owino in Nairobi Sakaja would be defeated by 0800LT.
Tell me where he would win under UDA ticket in Nairobi as an MP ?
Sakaja got more votes than uda.His main rival Weta is going to Bungoma to take over Lusaka.Gachagua will only succeed in alienating gema in Nairobi.
-
Sakajas survival and re election trajectory is only under UDA . If he aligns himself with ODM he will be impeached and it will pass in Senate . If he decides to run under ODM in 2027 he will have to fight it out with many candidates in ODM and secondly he will lose a solid 40% block and the trick him and Sonko have used since 2017 and 2022 of toping up a few tribal votes after being backed by GEMA .
Sakaja is already running handshake gov..that real beef btw him and Gachagua. Nairobi is not mathira.Sakaja was elected on his merit.Tribal maths have failed waitutu and recently igathe.Sakaja should ignore Gachagua and work for Nairobi. Those are people who elected him..then in 2032 he should go for president.
-
Twist it how you want . In an ODM Governor nomination between Sakaja and Babu Owino in Nairobi Sakaja would be defeated by 0800LT.
Sakaja got more votes than uda.His main rival Weta is going to Bungoma to take over Lusaka.Gachagua will only succeed in alienating gema in Nairobi.
Babu can't run and win govership..he can only excite Luos.Nairobi is very tough.Sakaja has been elected Senator and governor of Nairobi. Why would he go back to be an mp.He should win re election n then take war to Gachagua.Its depends on Ruto..if uda plays fair..he stays..dump he moves out.impeachment when Azimio control Nairobi is hard
-
2032 many people will not vote ruffian like Gachagua or weakling like madvd..so we need Sakaja as best option to replace Ruto.I don't see Ndidi or kimani outclassing Gachagua in Mt Kenya.So we need contest btw Sakaja and Gachagua
-
how many Azimio MCAs are ODM and how many are Jubilee ? asking to know
Babu can't run and win govership..he can only excite Luos.Nairobi is very tough.Sakaja has been elected Senator and governor of Nairobi. Why would he go back to be an mp.He should win re election n then take war to Gachagua.Its depends on Ruto..if uda plays fair..he stays..dump he moves out.impeachment when Azimio control Nairobi is hard
-
Sakaja is a personal friend , I ve told him focus on getting relected and go CS in 2032 .
2032 many people will not vote ruffian like Gachagua or weakling like madvd..so we need Sakaja as best option to replace Ruto.
-
I think they are only four jubilee ..rest are kavirondo of luo,luhya and gusii in odm..these are people Sakaja will run to if Gachagua incite Gema.Gachagua will bring another igathe and fail in 2027
-
Sakaja is a personal friend , I ve told him focus on getting relected and go CS in 2032 .
2032 many people will not vote ruffian like Gachagua or weakling like madvd..so we need Sakaja as best option to replace Ruto.
Riggy is hard sell..Sakaja has opportunity if he can talk nicely to luhya and kalenjin. Sakaja only real competitor is madvd.This tiff with Gachagua is perfect. Now he will need to eventually appeal to luhya and take out madvd.
-
had a look
Azimio ODM and Wiper have a total of 37 elected MCAs against the rest of 39 UDA Jubilee and Ind.
WardMCAPartyKitisuruAlvin OlandoODMParklands/HighridgeStephen GitauODMKaruraKamau ThuoJubileeKangemiHamisi SuleimanODMMountain ViewMaurice OchiengODMKilimaniMoses OgetoODMKawangwareFredrick NjoguUDAGatinaKennedyODMKileleshwaRobert AlaiODMKabiroClarence MungaODMMutuiniMartin MbuguaCCKNgandoCyrus MugoJubileeRirutaEric KiogoraUDAUthiru/RuthimituPeter MainaUDAWaithakaAnthony KiraguUDAKarenAntony MaraguODMNairobi WestJohn RexODMMugumu-IniJared OndiekiODMSouth CAbass IbrahimODMNyayo HighriseKennedy OdhiamboODMLaini SabaJohn NdileWiperLindiSamson Ochieng’ JeraODMMakinaRosemary MasitsaODMWoodley/Kenyatta Golf CourseDavidson DNGUDASarangombeLawrence OtienoODMGithuraiDeonysias MwangiUDAKahawa WestClement NgangaUDAZimmermanStephen MugoUDARoysambuSospeter GathahuIndpKahawaEutychus MukiriUDAClaycitySamora MwauraUDAMwikiKanyi SamuelUDAKasaraniMburu Jasho AnthonyUDANjiruGichunji CarringtonUDARuaiKaranja Karis JamesUDABabadogoGeophrey OdhiamboODMUtaliiAbel OsumbaODMMathare NorthOscar OtienoODMLucky SummerVictor OmondiODMKorogochoAbsalom OdhiamboODMImara DaimaEvans OkaruODMKwa Njenga––Kwa ReubenScolastica MuthoniWiperPipelineMusango MaithyaWiperKwareMoses MutindaWiperKariobangi NorthJoel MunuveIndpDandora Area IAllan MainaUDADandora Area IISilas MataraJubileeDandora Area IIIPaul MathuUDADandora Area IVDaniel OriaODMKayole NorthPaul WachiraUDAKayole CentralJeremiah KaraniUDAKayole SouthColins OmondiODMKomarockHon Chris Wanjohi GithinjiUDAMatopeni/ Spring ValleyJames KoriaUDAUpper SavannahAngila Stazo ElijahODMLower SavannahMagoba DavidODMEmbakasiNyantika RicardoODMUtawala––MihangoKiguathi Kados PaulJubileeUmoja 1Kevin Mark MugambiUDAUmoja 2Namunyu ShadrackODMMowlemWairobi MartinUDAK.SouthRobert MbatiaJubileeMaringo/HamzaPatrick MwangiUDAViwandaniAaron KangaraUDAHarambeeAntony KimemiaJubileeMakongeniJateso PeterODMPumwaniIrungu PaulUDAEastleigh NorthDabar AhmedqadarODMEastleigh SouthJuma NicholasODMAirbaseMohamed FuadODMCaliforniaAthman HashimUDANairobi CentralJohn MwanikiUDANgaraChege MwauraUDAPanganiPeter WahinyaUDAZiwani/ KariokorGerald IrunguUDALandimaweSimon MainaUDANairobi SouthEsther WaithiraUDAHospitalMark ThigaUDAMabatiniWilfred OluochODMHurumaOluoch PeterODMNgei WardRedson OtienoODMMlango KubwaSusan MakunguUDAKiamaikoJoseph KaranjaUDA
I think they are only four jubilee ..rest are kavirondo of luo,luhya and gusii in odm..these are people Sakaja will run to if Gachagua incite Gema.Gachagua will bring another igathe and fail in 2027
-
Getting 2/3 to impeach Sakaja is impossible unless Raila and Ruto agree.Nairobi sio mathira.Sakaja has to play tough balancing act...handshake lazima.He needs Raila and Ruto.Gachagua want to be in table too but approach is terrible
-
Very easy , this not parliament , attrition rate of MCAs is super high , Most know they wont make it back. Its all about money however its played giving them or denying them . Sakaja will go through what Sonko went through depends how he will manage it .
And I wish Sakaja well, what I gather is that Gachagua is playing dirty game Sakaja says it about control of Nairobi resources
Getting 2/3 to impeach Sakaja is impossible unless Raila and Ruto agree.Nairobi sio mathira.Sakaja has to play tough balancing act...handshake lazima.He needs Raila and Ruto.Gachagua want to be in table too but approach is terrible
-
Sakaja is as smooth as an eel..Gachagua is building Sakaja.Ruto will never sacrifice Sakaja..luhyas will be mad
-
These are valid points. I have never understood obsession by kanjo leaders with working matatus while health facilities, garbage, water and sewer are totally dysfunctional.
“Those who come to town are not complaining of congestion because that is where they source their daily bread... furthermore, when those planning to evict Matatus from the CBD will bring trains. We shall accept that they remove Matatus but for now there are no trains or buses,” he added.
In addition, on closure of clubs within residential areas in Nairobi, the DP noted that it would be inconsiderate to allow noise pollution, however, owners of such premises should be allowed time to fit their business with soundproof walls to minimize noise and allow co-existence.
“You are the same people who have issued these businessmen and women with licenses to operate clubs within the residential areas. You cannot wake up one day and decide to close their business, yet they have invested their money there, rather invite them for a dialogue with an ultimatum,” he said.
-
Sakaja is as smooth as an eel..Gachagua is building Sakaja.Ruto will never sacrifice Sakaja..luhyas will be mad
Since Ruto won you have become highly emotive.
You have for some reason trumpled on Moasss
How many votes can Luhyas give Ruto???
Be realistic Pundit be reasonable and pragmatic not emotional
-
Gachagua has baited Sakaja and is using him as pawn to consolidate GEMA , once you have GEMA all politicians will be running to you to cut a deal .
Sakaja just like Saitoti has been exposed . If another Luhya runs against Sakaja , it will be a tough one for Sakaja.
-
A substantial number of the MCAs are just like Sakaja. Young, watu wa mtaa thus less tribal, educated, tech savvy - we are not dealing with 90s kanjoras.
-
For me it was a wake up call in Aug 2022 elections , I thought Ruto would perform better in Samburu Turkana Masai North Eastern kisii Ukambani and in Coast .
GEMA rescued Ruto if voter turnout in GEMA had gone lesser than 2% , Ruto would be in Mashakani and the the RV pundits would be saying GEMA betrayed Ruto and calling for violence .
Since Rutow on you have become highly emotive.
-
Another Kale , list the MCAs you say are vijana wa mtaa....
A substantial number of the MCAs are just like Sakaja. Young, watu wa mtaa thus less tribal, educated, tech savvy - we are not dealing with 90s kanjoras.
-
I predicted sakaja win despite igathe tribal maths..sakaja like sonko..won more votes than their parties.Nairobi sio mathira
-
I DARE SAY ONE CAN BECOME PORK IN KENYA WITH ONLY GEMA VOTES. GEMA JUST NEEDS 95% TURNOUT,THEN KABILA CIA RUGURU MAX AT 80% THEN FAIR PLAY IN N.E,UKAMBANI.
-
For me it was a wake up call in Aug 2022 elections , I thought Ruto would perform better in Samburu Turkana Masai North Eastern kisii Ukambani and in Coast .
GEMA rescued Ruto if voter turnout in GEMA had gone lesser than 2% , Ruto would be in Mashakani and the the RV pundits would be saying GEMA betrayed Ruto and calling for violence .
Since Rutow on you have become highly emotive.
many people contributed to ruto win..kalenjin turnout at 81 percent was critical..so we're bukusu..so we're gema..so was everyone
-
I DARE SAY ONE CAN BECOME PORK IN KENYA WITH ONLY GEMA VOTES. GEMA JUST NEEDS 95% TURNOUT,THEN KABILA CIA RUGURU MAX AT 80% THEN FAIR PLAY IN N.E,UKAMBANI.
I dare say you're mad.why has gema been unable to get governor of Nairobi despite their number.
-
Wacha upuzi with your ad hominen labels. Uthamakistan error is over. No MCAs can be elected in Kanairo having not spent 20+ years hata hao wazee wa nyamakima.
-
Both won because of same tactics , run under a GEMA popular party which will make you get 80% of your vote basket and get the other 20% from your tribe mates who are supporting the other party presidential candidate.
Its not rocket science ….
Luos voted for Igathe and GEMA for Sakaja …..
I predict Sakaja win despite igathe tribal maths..sakaja like sonko..won more votes than their parties.Nairobi sio mathira
-
AnotherKale , ive asked you to name the MCAs , hiyo tuu….
Wacha upuzi with your ad hominen labels. Uthamakistan error is over. No MCAs can be elected in Kanairo having not spent 20+ years hata hao wazee wa nyamakima.
-
Both won because of same tactics , run under a GEMA popular party which will make you get 80% of your vote basket and get the other 20% from your tribe mates who are supporting the other party presidential candidate.
Its not rocket science ….
Luos voted for Igathe and GEMA for Sakaja …..
I predict Sakaja win despite igathe tribal maths..sakaja like sonko..won more votes than their parties.Nairobi sio mathira
Kidero a luo beat waitutu. Sakaja is governor because the best candidate Tim wanyonyi didn't run.Nairobi is a bit complex for mathira Gachagua
-
[You started tribal profiling early...hehe he...Ruto is kale too..and Sakaja too.ITS ABOUT THE PERSON
-
With your tribal identification skills, you will struggle picking out kanairo's watu wa mtaa even with the photos.
https://nairobiassembly.go.ke/members/elected-third-assembly/page/3/
-
AnotherKale, ive not asked photos of all MCAs , I asked you list the MCAs who you are claiming are vijana wa mtaa….
With your tribal identification skills, you will struggle picking out kanairo's watu wa mtaa even with the photos.
https://nairobiassembly.go.ke/members/elected-third-assembly/page/3/
-
Ruto is a Kalenjin and a proud one , one thing unlike you and anotherkale Gout he doesn't go around singing Kalenjin Nationalism and beating drums of war .
[You started tribal profiling early...hehe he...Ruto is kale too..and Sakaja too.ITS ABOUT THE PERSON
-
Gachagua says he wont speak about it anymore though fighting Nairobi businessmen will hsve consequences
Invalid Tweet ID
-
Too bad Kimutai is matatu owners chair and likes of Kanani city hole millionaires own bars in kanairo.
Gachagua says he wont speak about it anymore though fighting Nairobi businessmen will hsve consequences
Invalid Tweet ID
-
Ruto is a Kalenjin and a proud one , one thing unlike you and anotherkale Gout he doesn't go around singing Kalenjin Nationalism and beating drums of war .
We will not be forced to elect Gachagua in 2032 unless he changes.His tribal talk is doing damage to Ruto gov.
-
RVpundit go elect Raila your Hero , no one is forcing you to elect Gachagua. Personally Im not even vouching for him . Once Raila is out of the picture Kenyan politics will change for good . I dont forsee Raila running in 2032 …..
We will not be forced to elect Gachagua in 2032 unless he changes.His tribal talk is doing damage to Ruto gov.
-
RVpundit go elect Raila your Hero , no one is forcing you to elect Gachagua. Personally Im not even vouching for him . Once Raila is out of the picture Kenyan politics will change for good . I dont forsee Raila running in 2032 …..
Ruto is my hero.
-
You have different ideals with Ruto. Your ideals and aspirations are aligned with Raila not a bad thing .
Ruto is my hero.
-
https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2023-01-09-sifuna-to-gachagua-we-cant-be-beholden-to-tribal-blackmail/
Nairobi Senator Edwin Sifuna has come to the defence of Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja over attacks directed at him by Deputy President Rigathi Gachgua.
In a statement on Monday, Sifuna said Nairobi needs change that compels the city leadership to come up with radical measures to effect them.
"Nairobians have stated unequivocally that they want the city to change. Changing the city cannot happen by making it a large kiosk paradise or a big matatu terminus under the guise of "Kazi ni Kazi"," he said.
"In achieving this change, the Nairobi County government cannot and shall not be beholden to tribal blackmail, loose tongues or latter-day pseudo-Mau Mau and their fake "bravery".
He added:
"We must change how the city is run and one individual or tribe cannot hold all of Nairobi hostage."
Since December, there has been an exchange of words between leaders from the Mt Kenya region and those from Western Kenya.
The war of words was triggered by Gachagua, who criticised Sakaja's move to relocate long-distance matatus from the CBD to Green Park terminus.
Sakaja directed that long-distance matatus to and from Nyanza, Western, North Rift, South Rift and Central Rift pick and drop passengers at Green Park terminus in an attempt to decongest the city. The move was challenged in court by the matatu operators.
However, DP Gachagua warned Governor Johnson Sakaja on plans to eject matatus from Nairobi CBD.
He said that the removal of matatus from the CBD will disrupt business.
"I have told the Sakaja that we will have a sitting with him because we are the ones who elected him. I mobilised Kikuyus in Nairobi to vote for him. Any decision that he makes that may affect business in Nairobi, we must first sit and discuss,” Gachagua said.
“Hatutaki speedy mingi sana, twende pole pole. Hio maneno ya kutoa matatu, hio haiwezekani. Sitaki tuanze kusumbua wafanyi biashara."
The response drew a response from a section of the Western region, who asked the DP to stop attacking and micromanaging Sakaja.
The Western leader's caucus in a presser said Gachagua should stop behaving "as if he is the deputy president of only Kikuyus"
-
Gachagua need to restrain himself otherwise he starting to become a liability to Ruto gov.