Author Topic: Do People Understand what a Hustler Is ?  (Read 3774 times)

Do People Understand what a Hustler Is ?
« on: January 21, 2021, 11:19:25 PM »
This term was made famous By Jay Z in late 90s early 2000s on songs like Give It To Me -  Jay Z feat Pharell

I'm a hustler baby (I'm a hustler)
I just want you to know (Wanna let you know)
It ain't where I been (It ain't where I been)
But where I'm bout to go (Top of the world!)

Dirt of Your Shoulder -Jay Z

I'm like a young Marvin in his hey'
I'm a hustler, homie, you a customer crony
Got some dirt on my shoulder; could you brush it off for me?

So why are Odmers equating it the wrong way.

Re: Do People Understand what a Hustler Is ?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2021, 01:58:34 AM »
Oh my.. You think like Trump. Twisting the word hustler to fit your domain. A hustler lacks any morality - that's how a regular person understands it.

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2021, 06:49:43 AM »
Hustler in Kenya context means someone  struggling to make ends meet.Dictionary or US meaning is irrelevant.To hustle therefore seen in positive light. You're either formally employed or hustling in kenya context

« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2021, 08:37:53 AM »

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2021, 04:54:33 PM »
Another Hustler Song

Every day Im Hustlin Rick Ross

Every day I'm hustlin'
Every day I'm, every day I'm

« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2021, 05:02:13 PM »
And another one

Cassidy Im a hustler

I'm a hustler, I'm a, I'm a hustler, homey, yeah
Nigga, ask, nigga, nigga, ask about me, yeah

« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2021, 05:16:00 PM »
And Now back to the future

New Jack Hustler ICE T

Cause I don't wanna hear that crap
Why? I'd rather be a New Jack... Hustler

« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2021, 05:32:20 PM »
The song that made Lil Wayne, the mid 2000s anthem

Hustlers Music

I'm like, "What it do? What it do?"
There's a full court pressure, I'm just goin' for the two
If I'm open for the three, I'ma take it in a second
Even if there's one second, I'ma make it, it's nothin'
I don't take it for granted, I don't take it for nothin'
I take it for what it's worth to the dirt, motherfucker, yeah

[Chorus]
Baby, you gotta know that I'm just out here
Doin' what I gotta do for me and you, and we eatin'
So, tell me , why the f is you tripping?
I'm takin' these chances
My head to the sky, my feet on the ground
My fingers to the judge, if the money don't move
Then I won't budge, won't budge
No, I won't budge, no, Lord

See, it's a cold world, so homie, bundle up
We ain't on this grind for nothin', now get your hustle up

[Chorus]
Baby, you gotta know that I'm just out here
Doin' what I gotta do for me and you, and we eatin'
So, tell me , why the f is you tripping?
I'm takin' these chances
My head to the sky, my feet on the ground
My fingers to the judge, if the money don't move
Then I won't budge, won't budge
No, I won't budge, no, Lord

« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2021, 06:45:35 PM »

Ace Hood - Hustle Hard

Same old , just a different day (day)
Out here tryna get it (get it), each and every way (way)
Momma need a house (house)
Baby need some shoes (shoes, okay)
Times are getting hard (hard, okay)
Guess what I’mma do (What's that?)
Hustle, hustle, hustle, hard (hard)
Hustle, hustle, hustle, hard (okay, hard)
Hustle, hustle, hustle, hard (it's the good, hard)
Closed mouths don’t get fed on this boulevard

« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2021, 06:55:02 PM »
Even No 1 RnB artist said She is a Hustler
Beyonce -Diva

Na-na-na, diva is a female version of a hustler, of a hustler, of a, of a hustler

« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2021, 07:04:30 PM »
Some Reggae Too

Ky-Mani Marley -Hustler

Work at 9-5 Baby I'm a hustler
I'ma keep hustlin

« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2021, 07:26:07 PM »
Now some history . In Septemeber  2019 just after Jubilee had unveiled Mariga as it candidate  of Kibra by election Konshens was in town that Saturday . Happened to meet , Mariga , Korir snd Cheruyot at The V.I.P section of Ngong Racecourse during Konshens concert, I advised them this should be the new hustlers Unbowgable song.

Konshens -We a Hustle

Every youth have a goal and a plan
Better than than fi a beg a man
Try a thing, if you no win a still hustling

We see, we a hustle
We a hustle, we a hustle Sherlock
We a hustle, we a hustle, we a hustle
We a hustle RIVERTON, we a hustle, dews land
We a hustle way go, we a hustle mi say
We a hustle, we a hustle, we a hustle, Portmore
We a hustle, we a hustle, we a hustle, Spanish town
We a hustle, we a hustle, we a hustle, south side
We a hustle south side, we a hustle

Book fi buy, school fee fi pay
Mi meditation never ever stray
Work before mi old and grey
So all if a play station mi no play

[Hook]
We see, we a hustle

Tear out di road from town to country
Every youth say a money wi a go fa
Strength inna mi back
So mi mother can't suffer

[Hook]
We see, we a hustle

« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2021, 08:11:27 PM »
Now coming back to Mama Afrika

Wizkid-ojuelegba

Ni ojuelegba
They know my story
From holdup studio
I be hustle to work ee
Ni ojuelegba o
Me and CD
From holdup studio
We been hustle to work ee
Ni ojuelegba o
My people dey there
My people suffer
Dem dey pray for blessing eh
Ni ojuelegba o
My people dey there
Dem dey pray for blessing
For better living eh eh

« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2021, 08:29:54 PM »
In Kenya ndio huyo Nameless

Nameless -Salari

Hii ni ngoma ya wadhii wana-hustle

Salari oh, salari oh oh oh
Ninatafuta salari oh, salari oh oh oh
Salari oh, salari oh oh oh
Si tutafute salari oh, salari oh oh oh
When you see me pray I am struggling to find my way
I hustle night and day So I can feed my lovely family

« Reply #14 on: January 24, 2021, 10:21:17 AM »
Great work No Way. I am adding these to my loops.

Lazy dynasties and their captured vassals, serfs; cannot keep up with the hustlers - philosophically, dedication, the passion name it. All I see them asking is why are you jealous of our lazy bums not knowing hustlers despise that entitlement shit and madharao?  They drop their names and they are worse off than a wheelbarrow sugarcane vendor.

Anthony B is apt- Dynasty only want to raid the barn cannot plant the corn!

« Reply #15 on: January 24, 2021, 05:35:22 PM »

« Reply #17 on: January 24, 2021, 06:13:50 PM »
Great work No Way. I am adding these to my loops.

Lazy dynasties and their captured vassals, serfs; cannot keep up with the hustlers - philosophically, dedication, the passion name it. All I see them asking is why are you jealous of our lazy bums not knowing hustlers despise that entitlement shit and madharao?  They drop their names and they are worse off than a wheelbarrow sugarcane vendor.

Anthony B is apt- Dynasty only want to raid the barn cannot plant the corn!

Nice tunes , will keep this thread running till September 2022 during Rutos inauguration. The angle you bring of dynasties is a very interesting one with lots of material. Definetly will touch on that

« Reply #18 on: January 24, 2021, 06:24:20 PM »
As we proceed here is Mombasa own bred "Manigga wa Mashada" from Kizingo to Barsheba, Mwandoni to Mtopanga back in 90s they were a movement in Mombasa. They transformed to Ukoo fulani and did collabos with Mau Mau from Dandora and Kariobangi South. By late 2000s they were a household name.

Cannibal and Sharama - Street Hustler

Mi nahema hema hema na life inavyosonga
Milima na mabonde panda shuka tuko bomba
Elim kiwazim kichwani zinatugonga
Niko kwenye rim
Hustler tafuta unga
Yes I,
Kwenye conman street tafuta maslahi
Before sija-die
Oh my
When will I have my own Hyundai
Mjukuu wa Maasai

Nisemeje
Ntaonekana chizi
Nifanyeje
Oh my, na na
Nina-struggle na life
Looking for kitu fine
Nipatacho tu ni rhymes
Nina-struggle na life
Looking for kitu fine
Hopin it could be mine
Huo ni za viraka kizee
Nifanyeje
Mboga ni za kwa zima kizee
Nisemeje
Malazi ni ya makanja mazee
Nifanyeje
Kesho pia itafika mazee
Nifanyeje mie

« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2021, 04:32:29 PM »

Chris Brown -Gimme That

I'm a hustler, trust my frame and age