But he also led to financial deepening in Kenya.
He saw our financial/banking access rise from 15% or about to nearly 100%.
This through Mpesa and Agency banking regulation loosening.
This I believe is what makes Ruto interested in Prof Njunguna brains.
The new guy - Opus Dei is big on integrity - but is also keen to stymie growth in digital lending - he see his role as regulator - and protector of public interest.But what are you regulating or protecting - a tiny banking elite? A country with only 15,000 mortgages?
The hustler way is to look at issue from bottom up. To re-arrange the deck. There is nothing to regulate - we gotta build the banking or financial industry first.
Move 15K mortages to 5Million mortages.
Move the 1M people who get bank loans to 20M people.
Then you bring in Opus Dei - to run the integrity system - and the works.
So indeed the proof is perfect match for Hustler Nation
Prof Njuguna should be a shamed person in Kenya. He colluded with Imperial Bank directors to loot the bank's funds. He and his wife were guests of Imperial Bank boss on a paid trip to Thailand. Bure kabisa. We will not even mention Chase Bank saga whic played out under his watch. Actually the man fits perfectly to the Hustler Nation.
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/business/article/2000219498/former-central-bank-of-kenya-cbk-governor-linked-to-imperial-bank-scam