Author Topic: KenyaPlato - I am into motor homes nowadays  (Read 7293 times)

KenyaPlato - I am into motor homes nowadays
« on: December 13, 2020, 08:40:06 PM »

Man - my dream is go back to working remotely on motor home - and travel initially across entire africa continent - then go into Asia - and travel the whole of it - and then maybe South America -

A nomadic software engineer if you will. I think if I give 2021 to acquire a nice van and get it built - get a remote job  or start up in 2022- I should be fine.

Re: KenyaPlato - I am into motor homes nowadays
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2020, 09:27:23 PM »
Yeah,but what will you do with your kids and wife? If yoy live with them in such close quarters it will be annoying as hell. I am getting a rental one to travel west coast.

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2020, 09:30:26 PM »
They rarely mention that you can run into issues with your disposing your shit in their commercials  :D.  In the US, you can't just park it anywhere.  There are locales, often way out of where you are trying to visit, that you need to be aware of in advance.

« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2020, 10:30:07 PM »
They rarely mention that you can run into issues with your disposing your shit in their commercials  :D.  In the US, you can't just park it anywhere.  There are locales, often way out of where you are trying to visit, that you need to be aware of in advance.

My cousin and his college buddies rented on to go from nc to vegas. They get to a camping ground and he mistoook shit pipe to be water or fuel pipe. Needless to say he sucked in sewer. There are plenty of parks where you can book in advance to use

« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2020, 11:05:11 PM »
They stay at home - this is just me - part of it to enjoy new places and new girls- I will initially be going out for say 4 weeks - then comeback. When I hit Europe/Asia/America - that will be months - only flyin back if there is a serious emergency.All dependent on getting a job as cloud or remote dev - so I can earn while on the road - but I believe if I give myself one year to build the tracks and look for such a job - I will be on the road.

Yeah,but what will you do with your kids and wife? If yoy live with them in such close quarters it will be annoying as hell. I am getting a rental one to travel west coast.

« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2020, 11:06:06 PM »
I don' like composing toilet thing - I think you can find a way to dispose sewage in most petrol stations. I will refill water in rivers :) along the way.

« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2020, 11:00:47 AM »
They stay at home - this is just me - part of it to enjoy new places and new girls....
Where were you when your age mates were 16, 22, 30, 35, 40 years?
Perhaps you are even older than 40. 24+ years ago kalenjins were a sorry lot. They had to wait for Moi to ascend to presidency before he improved their lot by filling all parastatals with iliterate, thieving  kalenjins?
Geez! You are creating a midlife crisis now and then carry Corona Virus BACK to your wife and family?  :o I won't even talk of HIV. I always knew you were an idiot.

P.S. You haven't read about this mkamba Senator who just passed on?? Bure kabisa!

« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2020, 11:17:36 AM »
My wife is about to enter menopause while I am getting started with them girls.Man this life too short.Sijui Moi or kalenjin.Fala sana.Kalenjin is a community of 6m straddling Kenya  Uganda and TZ..go to kabarak and exhume Moi..and get over it.Meantime wacha Ruto aingie for another long run.

« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2020, 12:57:12 PM »
"Midlife crisis" is a silly way to demean the residual rush of energy many men use to revive their lives once the kids are off to boarding school. It is more a golden age that combines energy, money and maturity. Enjoy it while it lasts and don't squander the kids' tuition or trust fund. You already pry the Kampala route maybe that's a good start as you're familiar with it. Cruising across jihad-hit Mozambique to RSA is no minor feat.

« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2020, 01:32:06 PM »
Precisely. I want to start with Tanzania, Burundi, Malawi, Zimbwabwe, Zambia, Botswana, Moza and South Africa. The north africa is dare devilish. West Africa and central africa impossible. But I believe I can go to Ethiopia to Adis to Kharatoum to Egypt to Israel :) then Lebanon, Greece, Italy and eventually entire Europe. I think for Asia trip - I really want to do India, China and Pakistani...Bangaldesh and related...camboadia..vietname..
"Midlife crisis" is a silly way to demean the residual rush of energy many men use to revive their lives once the kids are off to boarding school. It is more a golden age that combines energy, money and maturity. Enjoy it while it lasts and don't squander the kids' tuition or trust fund. You already pry the Kampala route maybe that's a good start as you're familiar with it. Cruising across jihad-hit Mozambique to RSA is no minor feat.

« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2020, 04:50:38 PM »
Most of Africa is unnavigable- mostly security-wise. You have to avoid Mozambique now due to jihadist nutcases - I think it's al Shaabab? Or Frelimo. You can make it through Zambia-Zim to RSA. Zim-RSA highways has some xenophobic morons torching trucks and harassing "foreigners." NFD (Ke) and Sudan stretch I doubt are safe - al Shaabab and Bedouins can execute you any time in guise of religion.

Basically Africa does not make for great tourism: you should merely worry about breakdowns or gas or weather not bandits. Here you can roam the interstate masafa marefu - since Alcapone days - save for few burglars in remore Utah. We once got the Land Rover truck door picked and binoculars disappear on the I-15 at Leeds.

Precisely. I want to start with Tanzania, Burundi, Malawi, Zimbwabwe, Zambia, Botswana, Moza and South Africa. The north africa is dare devilish. West Africa and central africa impossible. But I believe I can go to Ethiopia to Adis to Kharatoum to Egypt to Israel :) then Lebanon, Greece, Italy and eventually entire Europe. I think for Asia trip - I really want to do India, China and Pakistani...Bangaldesh and related...camboadia..vietname..

« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2020, 04:58:39 PM »
I will go slowly - that is why remote work and motorhome is important. I will go to major towns - stay for a few days - move to the next area - when I have done my research - Northern Moz is the problem - otherwise Maputo and the likes - I just need to be afraid of HIV-AIDS.

Step one 1) Import Mercedes Sprinter 4WD 2) I have it converted into Motorhome in Kenya 3) Get remote job for 1yr - take sabbatical from current gig - if not quit 3) Travel Africa in 6 months 6) Another six months do Europe or Asia.

Most of Africa is unnavigable- mostly security-wise. You have to avoid Mozambique now due to jihadist nutcases - I think it's al Shaabab? Or Frelimo. You can make it through Zambia-Zim to RSA. Zim-RSA highways has some xenophobic morons torching tracks and harassing "foreigners." NFD (Ke) and Sudan stretch I doubt are safe - al Shaabab and Bedouins can execute you any time in guise of religion.

Basically Africa does not make for great tourism: you should merely worry about breakdowns or gas or weather not bandits. Here you can roam the interstate masafa marefu - since Alcapone days - save for few burglars in remore Utah. We once got the Land Rover truck door picked and binoculars disappear on the I-15 at Leeds.

« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2020, 05:38:31 PM »
Sounds good. With remote gigs today any top creme geek - top 5% - is better off remote. You shouldn't have to put up with likes of Safaricom who shackle you for peanuts. I prefer to work in research for Grummans and such rather than factory floor wherever possible. Very flexible. You would mint top dollar for your skills here. There is lots of free-wheeling gig tourism here - apart from few foreigners, pensioners and truckers - you can literally profile these guys. Giggers on "vacation."

I will go slowly - that is why remote work and motorhome is important. I will go to major towns - stay for a few days - move to the next area - when I have done my research - Northern Moz is the problem - otherwise Maputo and the likes - I just need to be afraid of HIV-AIDS.

Step one 1) Import Mercedes Sprinter 4WD 2) I have it converted into Motorhome in Kenya 3) Get remote job for 1yr - take sabbatical from current gig - if not quit 3) Travel Africa in 6 months 6) Another six months do Europe or Asia.

« Reply #13 on: December 14, 2020, 05:42:54 PM »
Done remote work for 3yrs. I enjoyed it except my income was not stable and didn't come with freebies like educational grant for my kids. So I just want to do it for like 1yr - otherwise 8-5 job still pretty much a good deal. Sometimes they just need to see you in the office; but remotely; they will be a lot of trust issues; is he working or holidaying.
Sounds good. With remote gigs today any top creme geek - top 5% - is better off remote. You shouldn't have to put up with likes of Safaricom who shackle you for peanuts. I prefer to work in research for Grummans and such rather than factory floor wherever possible. Very flexible. You would mint top dollar for your skills here. There is lots of free-wheeling gig tourism here - apart from few foreigners, pensioners and truckers - you can literally profile these guys. Giggers on "vacation."

« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2020, 03:31:49 AM »
I don' like composing toilet thing - I think you can find a way to dispose sewage in most petrol stations. I will refill water in rivers :) along the way.

Compost toilets are perfectly safe, odor free, fly free, and ecologically sound. Not to mention dirt cheap, you only need to know what your doing.

« Reply #15 on: December 15, 2020, 01:09:27 PM »
A motor home does not allow you anonymity for debauchery. It will take a photo of a girl in deep congo naked in the car to destroy you and your wife and kids, while you have had it all.

There are affordable safe lodges, hotels, airnbs all over these days. You just google your destination call. As a budget traveller I befriend the girls to even cook for me. Very cheap and nice chicken. 

« Reply #16 on: December 15, 2020, 03:45:08 PM »
Really Nigger :)? What are you talking about? Lodges, hotels - are just expensive - esp for some of us - who sometimes just want to bang them girls for one or two rounds - and forget about them. I really cannot stand almost any girl beyond that except my wife. There a few that I like beyond that - maybe 1 - otherwise the rest - bore me to death after sex. As soon as I am done - I want them out - it's like the guilty pangs start. With motorhome - I just drive off. Anyway hotels plus al checkin.out...all that arranging for transport...man..that is not cool. I want to wake up, drive to a town, enjoy whatever is there, if I feel like staying, I stay or drive off. Nothing beat a car...that mobility and freedom.

As for photo-taking sasa hiyo ni nini - motorhome is what you design it to be - if you want cctv in there - go ahead.

A motor home does not allow you anonymity for debauchery. It will take a photo of a girl in deep congo naked in the car to destroy you and your wife and kids, while you have had it all.

There are affordable safe lodges, hotels, airnbs all over these days. You just google your destination call. As a budget traveller I befriend the girls to even cook for me. Very cheap and nice chicken. 

« Reply #17 on: December 15, 2020, 05:06:27 PM »
That would kill me. It's basically squatting in a car. There was a period in my life where I lived in my car for 2 weeks and it was awful.

Problem is also the company. If you want to hook up to power and water expect to check into a retirement campsite each night. No way could you watch Netflix at an audible volume with retired folks needing their rest.

You're basically hanging out with trailer trash.

Why not opt for overlander tours? When I was attacked in Congo by militia group... long story short I hitched a ride on a bullet proof overlander tank/bus. Group of overlanders travelling across Africa for months had come to Congo to observe gorillas. The tour guide was armed with a machine gun and looked like a darker version of Rambo.

Long story short, if you plan on motor homing across Europe, Africa or whereever these days, know that it isn't safe.

« Reply #18 on: December 15, 2020, 05:32:56 PM »
Yes seen those overlanders. For me it's important I travel and work. I cannot afford an holiday. My biggest worry is claustrophobia..i don't cover my face sleeping...in normal house..for fear of suffociation...now imagine a truck..but this covid-19 has taught me the get over it.
That would kill me. It's basically squatting in a car. There was a period in my life where I lived in my car for 2 weeks and it was awful.

Problem is also the company. If you want to hook up to power and water expect to check into a retirement campsite each night. No way could you watch Netflix at an audible volume with retired folks needing their rest.

You're basically hanging out with trailer trash.

Why not opt for overlander tours? When I was attacked in Congo by militia group... long story short I hitched a ride on a bullet proof overlander tank/bus. Group of overlanders travelling across Africa for months had come to Congo to observe gorillas. The tour guide was armed with a machine gun and looked like a darker version of Rambo.

Long story short, if you plan on motor homing across Europe, Africa or whereever these days, know that it isn't safe.

« Reply #19 on: December 15, 2020, 06:18:10 PM »
You are on hypothetical situation. Your car will easily be marked. Girls have informal networks where word spreads fast. Just talk to your truck drivers. Luring a girl to a random car is serial killer stuff. Utapatwa kwa mtaro jamaa.

The lodges make it transactional, why the guilt? Unless you don't pay. Get some standards even when drunk. Dating sites like Tinder or Craiglist make it even easier to have comfortable company. Spontaneous 100% well, well.

Lodges across Africa at 20-40 dollars are decent for a laptop worker. A $10 tip to the receptionist, bartender, uber/boda/matatu driver and you have decent girls.

Really Nigger :)? What are you talking about? Lodges, hotels - are just expensive - esp for some of us - who sometimes just want to bang them girls for one or two rounds - and forget about them. I really cannot stand almost any girl beyond that except my wife. There a few that I like beyond that - maybe 1 - otherwise the rest - bore me to death after sex. As soon as I am done - I want them out - it's like the guilty pangs start. With motorhome - I just drive off. Anyway hotels plus al checkin.out...all that arranging for transport...man..that is not cool. I want to wake up, drive to a town, enjoy whatever is there, if I feel like staying, I stay or drive off. Nothing beat a car...that mobility and freedom.

As for photo-taking sasa hiyo ni nini - motorhome is what you design it to be - if you want cctv in there - go ahead.