Author Topic: Acting President William Ruto  (Read 10525 times)

Acting President William Ruto
« on: October 06, 2014, 04:23:51 PM »
I don't see the joke. This happens without drama and need not be a matter of signature.

Offline Mintos

Re: Acting President William Ruto
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2014, 04:27:29 PM »
Appointed bwana. Wacha Aruto-deh asikie trappings of power for the 2 or 3 days Uhunye is away.

But I wonder why this is not done e.g when Uhunye went to New York for 5 days last week?

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2014, 04:28:15 PM »
It is automatic.  But I think he needs to say it, for the benefit of his tribal cabal.

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2014, 04:32:15 PM »
It is automatic.  But I think he needs to say it, for the benefit of his tribal cabal.
Even if he didn't say but left, the DP would take over.

Offline Higgins the genius

« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2014, 04:41:48 PM »
Omollo, it because when he goes out, he goes as the president. Now he will be a raja. He can't even use airforce one. He wil be Uhuru Kenyatta. Ruto will be sworn in an in history, as the sixth president of Kenya.

Offline bryan275

« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2014, 04:42:29 PM »
Omollo, it because when he goes out, he goes as the president. Now he will be a raja. He can't even use airforce one. He wil be Uhuru Kenyatta. Ruto will be sworn in an in history, as the sixth president of Kenya.

I agree with Higgins....

« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2014, 04:49:14 PM »
Higgins is right.  I was wrong.  It is not automatic.

Here is article 147.

147. Functions of the Deputy President                              

(1) The Deputy President shall be the principal assistant of the President and shall deputise for the President in the execution of the President's functions.
(2) The Deputy President shall perform the functions conferred by this Constitution and any other functions of the President as the President may assign.
(3) Subject to Article 134, when the President is absent or is temporarily incapacitated, and during any other period that the President decides, the Deputy President shall act as the President.
(4) The Deputy President shall not hold any other State or public office.
http://www.klrc.go.ke/index.php/constitution-of-kenya/130-chapter-nine-the-executive/part-2-the-president-and-deputy-president/315-147-functions-of-the-deputy-president

Offline bryan275

« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2014, 04:50:56 PM »
Swali ni these Kales turn when they hold power... this could end up in a Moi-type mess of Mwakenya, Nyati house....white car renditions etc...

« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2014, 04:51:42 PM »
Higgins is right.  I was wrong.  It is not automatic.

Here is article 147.

147. Functions of the Deputy President                               

(1) The Deputy President shall be the principal assistant of the President and shall deputise for the President in the execution of the President's functions.
(2) The Deputy President shall perform the functions conferred by this Constitution and any other functions of the President as the President may assign.
(3) Subject to Article 134, when the President is absent or is temporarily incapacitated, and during any other period that the President decides, the Deputy President shall act as the President.
(4) The Deputy President shall not hold any other State or public office.
http://www.klrc.go.ke/index.php/constitution-of-kenya/130-chapter-nine-the-executive/part-2-the-president-and-deputy-president/315-147-functions-of-the-deputy-president
On second thoughts.  I think I am right.  It is automatic.

Offline Kichwambaya

• Regular
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2014, 04:55:00 PM »
Ouru is just being a drama queen to milk sympathy for this ICC maneno.  All this drama was not neccessary.

« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2014, 04:59:29 PM »

I am puzzled.  Please explain.   As far as I can tell:

* When he travels to JKIA and board the plane, it will be as President, and you will be able to tell that from the kelele and sycophants around him.

* When he is on the plane, he will be President.

* When he arrives in Amsterdam, he will be President and will be treated as such: according to Dutch government protocol, he will be treated as a head of state on a private visit, allowed to use the VIP lounge at the airport, and given one Dutch government official to escort him around.

* While there, you bet the Kenyan Embassy will treat him as President.

* The relevant Kenyan law does not distinguish between Citizen Uhuru and President Uhuru.

« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2014, 05:09:53 PM »
The only difference he could make is resign office. Then I would place him in very high esteem.

« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2014, 05:23:22 PM »
I take back my remark on what the law says.    According to the Daily Nation:

"He said he will revoke Article 147, section 3, to appoint Mr Ruto as Acting President"

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/politics/LIVE-Uhuru-addresses-Parliament/-/1064/2477016/-/iksxmjz/-/index.html

:D

« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2014, 05:28:53 PM »
I'm getting lost here. I always thought  this was automatic.

Offline Mintos

« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2014, 05:30:27 PM »

Wololo! will the intelligentsia agree to this?

« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2014, 05:36:03 PM »
Help me contribute to to the Falling Standards Thread. :D :D
I take back my remark on what the law says.    According to the Daily Nation:

"He said he will revoke Article 147, section 3, to appoint Mr Ruto as Acting President"

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/politics/LIVE-Uhuru-addresses-Parliament/-/1064/2477016/-/iksxmjz/-/index.html

:D

« Reply #16 on: October 06, 2014, 05:38:36 PM »
Absolutely. Using this to his advantage.

Ouru is just being a drama queen to milk sympathy for this ICC maneno.  All this drama was not neccessary.

Offline Brynn

« Reply #17 on: October 06, 2014, 05:42:34 PM »
Uhuru knows if this ICC maneno goes south he will need the kale ululations he enjoyed during campaign season. It's time to revive Ruto by dangling that carrot to thirsty kale. Some are already having ***sms on dot come hehehe.

« Reply #18 on: October 06, 2014, 05:42:51 PM »
Can somebody post  article 134. This sound like a political circus. Ruto in my view has always been acting PORK everytime Uhuru is absent. Where Uhuru get the power to appoint DPORK an acting PORK is beyond me.

Okay so we are on Harambee avenue.

« Reply #19 on: October 06, 2014, 05:44:04 PM »