Author Topic: Power of m-pesa - safaricom will have loaned kenya more money than China  (Read 1944 times)

https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/bd/markets/capital-markets/fuliza-loanshit-sh1bn-daily-during-covid-era-2458182

And Kenyatta & Ndegwas family became more richer at the expense of hustlers . No need to celebrate it

NCBA has said it lent Sh132 billion through Fuliza in the six months to June while KCB Group disclosed loans worth Sh44 billion on the overdraft feature.

Locking down was a mistake from get go. Opening up and you can see uptick in economy already. Magufuli was not dumb.

What is the percentage of the default on the loans? Taking a loan is easy. Paying it back with interest is another issue.

That's great but to me Safaricom and Mpesa are underwhelming. They punch below their weight everywhere- which is depressing considering they are the biggest company in East & Central Africa. Mpesa should be global like Paypal, Apple Pay, Alipay, Visa - which although homebred in big economies have scaled massively across the globe. Safaricom only have 1 product - mobile pay - besides GSM voice and data services - which are the only markets they dominate. Anything with a whiff of outside competition they are a big flop- Masoko, LittleCab, cloud, streaming video/games. No hardware- they sell Huawei TVs, handsets, laptops.

You are right- they are top of the dumbest class. I predict as soon as satellites are let loose in the market: voice, data and pay will be gone. Google Loon is already here - sell that stock asap if you have any.

Well I read they have partnered with Amazon AWS after shuttering their R&D lab? Long live Safaricom!