Author Topic: Uhuru has actualized. He is after legacy- He wants to prove his kid bro he is  (Read 5112 times)

Without any deep understanding - empirical evidence - Britam asset management, Centum and other RE investors have been minting losses. Which tells you ptoperty market is bad or saturated. It is actually much better to buy stock especially if you are a good speculator or let fund managers do it for you. Real estate peaked in 90s and is now downhill. Ties partly to population, partly GDP.

Bottomline investment ROI is based on your knowledge of the sector. So I stick to tech. Diaspora folks in 2010 did pool property investment in Kenya. Malindi and Nai. The returns are dismal while my bitcoins have shot 100K% (1000X). Bought at 10usd now at 10K usd.

Pundit, the appreciation of prices in real estate will never be like between 2003 and 2010. It does not make logic that land in Nairobi costs the same as in Geneva. At least in Geneva you can see why the prices are so high. What is the hype about land in Nairobi?

Kenyattas sold land in Thika to some South Africans to develop Northlands. Unlike what many people think, Northlands is no longer in the hands of the Kenyattas. Now the prices the South Africans paid were so high, that the poor fellows despite developing the land they have not been able to sell any of the industrial parcels. The prices are just too high even to compete with Tatu City.

My friend that river road research..real estate return the last few decades outdoes all other passive investment.Solid research.That is why most Kenyans are into it.In the meantime let me know when I can send you 2m for an acre of land in Ruiru..even 5m an acre you cannot get in kericho town.Youre looking at rental returns alone like the house is built on cardboards n will expire in 10yrs.Thst house n land annually appreciate too...in 25yrs that house will be worth 750m.
This is laughable. You are from the school of thought that property prices only go up irrespective of the economic activity of the area. Direct me to that solid research that compares real estate to treasury bills( safest passive investment) over decades. Honestly the mortgage (Tbills rate) can't be higher than return rate of an investment and that be a positive investment. In finance if an investment takes 15yrs to be realized you have to discount the current price. Finally selling 5000( valuing) isn't the same as selling 1 acre. Why do you suppose the koinange sold their land at 10m acre and its more valuable than ruiru?

Pundit, the appreciation of prices in real estate will never be like between 2003 and 2010. It does not make logic that land in Nairobi costs the same as in Geneva. At least in Geneva you can see why the prices are so high. What is the hype about land in Nairobi?
Kweli kabisa, Kadudu. I visited relatives in SA with a posh beach property, very beautiful and cozy. I was shocked when they told me they had shelved their plans to sell it and then use the money for sthing in Kileleshwa: they could not afford a mere apartment in Kileleshwa! I thot then it was crazy that a Kilileshwa apartment would be more expensive that that gorgeous home, with a pool and everything and asked the same question: Kwani Nairobi/Kenya kuna nini? What exactly is driving up those prices hiyo kiasi? I knew then there was sthing fishy abt housing/land in Kenya but I did not understand what it was.

KenyanPlato, your story on Uhuru is not very accurate. Uhuru never made a political move without consulting his mum. He had no access to funds on his own. His relationship to his brother Muhoho has always been intact, despite Uhuru's failings. Uhuru's campaigns were always financed by his mum with the blessing of all family members. They knew, if Uhuru gets to the top their investments will be paid back tenfold as is the case now since 2013.

Also the idea of naming Uhuru as his successor was not Moi's but of his son Gideon. By 1998, it was Gideon who was running the show in Kenya. He was know in the ruling circles only as "chairman". Gideon chose Uhuru as he knew the weakness of his childhood friend. The trick was to get Uhuru win the presidency and Musalia Mudavadi was to his running mate. Now Gideon planted his old friends from Musalia's homeground namley Kegodes, who were to blemish Musalia's name and he was to loose the parliamentary election. With the old constituition, Musalia would have then not be able to be named VP and here is where Gideon came in. He would have taken that role.

Moi did not name Uhuru his successor for his own sake, but for that of Gideon. These are the real dynasties and not those imagined by Ruto's allies of today.

Nice story - except Ruto was not just passer-by - but one of the key players in making Moi name Uhuru. Yes you're right - Gideon upstaged Biwott & Saitoti - and he did that will help of Ruto - who knew politics. Gideon by then did not know one Kiswahili word...and knew zero Kalenjin word. They were rich boys with unlimited access to Moi and power levels - but with no experience how to use politically - except to loot and go play casino & polo abroad. In background was naive Raila as always thinking Moi was preparing the way for him.
KenyanPlato, your story on Uhuru is not very accurate. Uhuru never made a political move without consulting his mum. He had no access to funds on his own. His relationship to his brother Muhoho has always been intact, despite Uhuru's failings. Uhuru's campaigns were always financed by his mum with the blessing of all family members. They knew, if Uhuru gets to the top their investments will be paid back tenfold as is the case now since 2013.

Also the idea of naming Uhuru as his successor was not Moi's but of his son Gideon. By 1998, it was Gideon who was running the show in Kenya. He was know in the ruling circles only as "chairman". Gideon chose Uhuru as he knew the weakness of his childhood friend. The trick was to get Uhuru win the presidency and Musalia Mudavadi was to his running mate. Now Gideon planted his old friends from Musalia's homeground namley Kegodes, who were to blemish Musalia's name and he was to loose the parliamentary election. With the old constituition, Musalia would have then not be able to be named VP and here is where Gideon came in. He would have taken that role.

Moi did not name Uhuru his successor for his own sake, but for that of Gideon. These are the real dynasties and not those imagined by Ruto's allies of today.

I am still waiting for your bank details and title deed for 2-5M acre of land in Ruiru.

If you're willing to stick to empirical data - then you'll know you're wrong - but you'll dismiss them as Cyton?Kenya stock market iko wapi saa hii - pure cries and wailing. My friends who went that path are the most virulent haters of UhuRuto. I hope you're not one of them.

As for treasury bonds...if you borrow the money from commercial banks...invest in a plot like majority of Kenyans....or your treasury bonds..you know how stupid that will be.

Kweli kabisa, Kadudu. I visited relatives in SA with a posh beach property, very beautiful and cozy. I was shocked when they told me they had shelved their plans to sell it and then use the money for sthing in Kileleshwa: they could not afford a mere apartment in Kileleshwa! I thot then it was crazy that a Kilileshwa apartment would be more expensive that that gorgeous home, with a pool and everything and asked the same question: Kwani Nairobi/Kenya kuna nini? What exactly is driving up those prices hiyo kiasi? I knew then there was sthing fishy abt housing/land in Kenya but I did not understand what it was.

Geneva is like 50M for 2bedroom house at minimum.Nairobi is 5m. Once Nairobi is like Geneva..prices will rise too..so it's good investment in Nairobi. In Geneva you gotta be careful...or well you're basically parking your money.

Kenyattas sold 100 acres I think to South Africans - near Nairobi sewage. The prime land still intact.

Kenyattas sold land in Thika to some South Africans to develop Northlands. Unlike what many people think, Northlands is no longer in the hands of the Kenyattas. Now the prices the South Africans paid were so high, that the poor fellows despite developing the land they have not been able to sell any of the industrial parcels. The prices are just too high even to compete with Tatu City.

And this gragh should settle the debate in Kenya.It's not even close. Just buy land and build houses if you cannot do active investment.
https://cytonnreport.com/research/investment-options-in-kenyan-market

Pundit, as usual you have to bring in Ruto's name. Ruto was a spectator in the political field in 2002. He even played a smaller role than Cyrus Jirongo. Ruto only emerged as the Kalejin kingpin when he allied himself with Raila against the will of Moi in 2005. At that time Gideon did not need Ruto but the opposite.

Nice story - except Ruto was not just passer-by - but one of the key players in making Moi name Uhuru. Yes you're right - Gideon upstaged Biwott & Saitoti - and he did that will help of Ruto - who knew politics. Gideon by then did not know one Kiswahili word...and knew zero Kalenjin word. They were rich boys with unlimited access to Moi and power levels - but with no experience how to use politically - except to loot and go play casino & polo abroad. In background was naive Raila as always thinking Moi was preparing the way for him.

Pundit, how dare you compare Nairobi to Geneva? You have to be honest and admit Nairobi will never be like Geneva. Maybe in 2120.

Geneva is like 50M for 2bedroom house at minimum.Nairobi is 5m. Once Nairobi is like Geneva..prices will rise too..so it's good investment in Nairobi. In Geneva you gotta be careful...or well you're basically parking your money.

Kenyattas sold 100 acres I think to South Africans - near Nairobi sewage. The prime land still intact.

This eighth at Kamakis is going for Kshs. 3.5m. That places an acre at 28. Given its location, means an acre around Ruiru -  Thika road and the bypasses could be anything from 10m up to 50m.
https://www.buyrentkenya.com/listings/residential-land-for-sale-kamakis-ruiru-edl0098

Online KenyanPlato

Kadudu
I know what I am talking about.

Don't challenge me on matters politics Kadudu. I started watching Ruto in 2001. You really know very little in politics. Ruto started in 1998 (immediately after the election in 1997 dec) with Y2K young member pushing for KANU reforms (KANU B) - and when that didn't work - they formed UDM. Jirongo was first one to run back to KANU after he started becoming broke. The quartet left was Kirwa, Kapten, and Ruto.

Mid 2000 - Ruto got tapped in by Moi as Ass Min in Office of the president - and he proved himself so much - he became only Ass minister to be allowed to sit in Cabinet.I started noticing him around that 2001 - because nobody could defend KANU (with all his evils) like Ruto could and leave you nearly convinced. I knew he had rare propaganda talent there.

By 2002 - Ruto had become KANU Organizing Secretary or Director of Elections - Uhuru was one VC - and they were running circles around Saitoti and Raila (considered an outsider in KANU anyway). Gideon was CLUELESS politically but had direct access to Moi.

Come 2002 - Ruto became Minister of State in dying days of MOi - he was barely 35 yrs then.

And when KANU lost - a new election was done - in 2003 - and Ruto took KANU SEC GENERAL - Uhuru the Chairman - and Gideon Moi was nowhere to be seen :)

Raila never made Ruto. Ruto was already KANU sec general and Kalenjin leader (appointed by all sacred KANU MPS).

Ruto was only Kalenjin brave enough to talk and Kiraitu arrested him.

This was long before LDP fall out - with NAK -and we get into 2005.

Pundit, as usual you have to bring in Ruto's name. Ruto was a spectator in the political field in 2002. He even played a smaller role than Cyrus Jirongo. Ruto only emerged as the Kalejin kingpin when he allied himself with Raila against the will of Moi in 2005. At that time Gideon did not need Ruto but the opposite.

I stated part of your comments are not correct.

Kadudu
I know what I am talking about.