Author Topic: Peter Ndengwa of Daegeo/EABL to head Safaricom  (Read 7484 times)

Re: Peter Ndengwa of Daegeo/EABL to head Safaricom
« Reply #20 on: October 25, 2019, 02:34:20 AM »
I swear this is not a dig at ours truly :D ... i don't even like this gay geek. Bill gates sounds alot like MJ from first-hand accounts I've heard - constantly yelling the f** word n all

My First BillG Review
by JOEL SPOLSKY

The next day was the big BillG review.

June 30, 1992.

In those days, Microsoft was a lot less bureaucratic. Instead of the 11 or 12 layers of management they have today, I reported to Mike Conte who reported to Chris Graham who reported to Pete Higgins, who reported to Mike Maples, who reported to Bill. About 6 layers from top to bottom. We made fun of companies like General Motors with their eight layers of management or whatever it was.

In my BillG review meeting, the whole reporting hierarchy was there, along with their cousins, sisters, and aunts, and a person who came along from my team whose whole job during the meeting was to keep an accurate count of how many times Bill said the F word. The lower the f***-count, the better.

Bill came in.

I thought about how strange it was that he had two legs, two arms, one head, etc., almost exactly like a regular human being.

He had my spec in his hand.

He had my spec in his hand!

He sat down and exchanged witty banter with an executive I did not know that made no sense to me. A few people laughed.

Bill turned to me.

I noticed that there were comments in the margins of my spec. He had read the first page!

He had read the first page of my spec and written little notes in the margin!He was flipping through the spec!He Read The Whole Thing!reallyHow did I know that? January and February WHAT?John SculleySculleyJohn Sculley was the MBA-type running Apple into the ground.Is Ballmer going to be another John Sculley, who nearly drove Apple into extinction because the board of directors thought that selling Pepsi

Read the whole story for a good tech laugh --

https://www.joelonsoftware.com/2006/06/16/my-first-billg-review/

« Reply #21 on: October 25, 2019, 06:51:56 AM »
When did Safaricom turn from telecom selling airtime to software company

« Reply #22 on: October 25, 2019, 12:16:52 PM »
 :) :) i see what you did there Robina.... you have so much loathing for the Pepsi guy, you want to pop him everywhere; that was referring to Jim Manzi not John Sculley. A good read!

Let's be honest the MBA business type guys created value for these companies. John Sculley was brought in to steady Apple which was bankrupt at that point; Steve Jobs at this point was up shit creek, didn't know what to do to rescue the business. The Sculley types simply over stayed their welcome and forgot about innovation once the turn-around had happened. They should have gone back to basics of what the business was about, moved on or listened a little more to the techies. But they grew big egos!

Mind you also that Steve Jobs wasn't really a techie but rather a calligrapher. He turned his passion into billions.

The tragedy is that Safcom will not transform unless it has some real competition at its doorstep and is shaken and woken from its complacency. The various players in the Fintech space need to create a competing app platform/ecosystem that competes with Mpesa for similar services and nibble away at its market dominance. Then they will jolted from their reverie. For now, they will continue on auto-pilot, after all they are minting billions (for now) and in huge margins unheard off in any of the other Vodafone subsidiaries across the world.

Quite frankly, a techie CEO for Safcom would only make sense if you create a holding entity and assign techie managers (domain experts) to the various business units while the holding company looks at the business side of the whole and ensures that the various entities/units are delivering on revenue and bottom line targets. Until such time, you will need a business guy at the helm who ensures that his various unit leaders have competence in the assigned responsibilities. IS the Board/Vodacom/Vodafone interested in making Safcom the predominant technology (yes Pundit, technology, not telecom) behemoth in Africa outside South Africa?? Would they? I doubt they have even imagined this leave alone entertained the thought!

I swear this is not a dig at ours truly :D ... i don't even like this gay geek. Bill gates sounds alot like MJ from first-hand accounts I've heard - constantly yelling the f** word n all

My First BillG Review
by JOEL SPOLSKY

The next day was the big BillG review.

June 30, 1992.

In those days, Microsoft was a lot less bureaucratic. Instead of the 11 or 12 layers of management they have today, I reported to Mike Conte who reported to Chris Graham who reported to Pete Higgins, who reported to Mike Maples, who reported to Bill. About 6 layers from top to bottom. We made fun of companies like General Motors with their eight layers of management or whatever it was.

In my BillG review meeting, the whole reporting hierarchy was there, along with their cousins, sisters, and aunts, and a person who came along from my team whose whole job during the meeting was to keep an accurate count of how many times Bill said the F word. The lower the f***-count, the better.

Bill came in.

I thought about how strange it was that he had two legs, two arms, one head, etc., almost exactly like a regular human being.

He had my spec in his hand.

He had my spec in his hand!

He sat down and exchanged witty banter with an executive I did not know that made no sense to me. A few people laughed.

Bill turned to me.

I noticed that there were comments in the margins of my spec. He had read the first page!

He had read the first page of my spec and written little notes in the margin!He was flipping through the spec!He Read The Whole Thing!reallyHow did I know that? January and February WHAT?John SculleySculleyJohn Sculley was the MBA-type running Apple into the ground.Is Ballmer going to be another John Sculley, who nearly drove Apple into extinction because the board of directors thought that selling Pepsi

Read the whole story for a good tech laugh --

https://www.joelonsoftware.com/2006/06/16/my-first-billg-review/

« Reply #23 on: October 25, 2019, 02:32:38 PM »
It called analogy
When did Safaricom turn from telecom selling airtime to software company

« Reply #24 on: October 25, 2019, 02:51:04 PM »
Good. At least you don't punch above your paygrade like ours truly. I don't personally "loathe" Sculley or Collymore or Ndegwa - anymore than I loathe Uhuru. Pepsi dude did it long before my arrival on the scene. It's an impersonal assessment. I think Collymore was Sculley enough - he milked the bejesus outa M-pesa - another sales and PR guy is overstretching. There were ZERO innovations during Collymore tenure - unless you consider tariffs, bundles and predatory shylock as innovation. That's why only 12 yo M-pesa is ripe to scale to Ethiopia :( - nothing worth mentioning in that preceding window.

Very true what you say about Safcom - they will be complacent until shaken. Hopefully not by a fatal blow. Mucheru and CA - if they broke them up or declared a monopoly - would be friendly fire that can save them. Ideally as you suggest they could go Alphabet and let Tusker guy run M-pesa - while the startups attempt meaningful things - but that's a big IF am afraid. No hope of local disruption either - what with Pundit types all over the place. :) Safcom will not survive Big Tech or real competition in the current state.

I hope we will not be here to grace the funeral.

:) :) i see what you did there Robina.... you have so much loathing for the Pepsi guy, you want to pop him everywhere; that was referring to Jim Manzi not John Sculley. A good read!

Let's be honest the MBA business type guys created value for these companies. John Sculley was brought in to steady Apple which was bankrupt at that point; Steve Jobs at this point was up shit creek, didn't know what to do to rescue the business. The Sculley types simply over stayed their welcome and forgot about innovation once the turn-around had happened. They should have gone back to basics of what the business was about, moved on or listened a little more to the techies. But they grew big egos!

Mind you also that Steve Jobs wasn't really a techie but rather a calligrapher. He turned his passion into billions.

The tragedy is that Safcom will not transform unless it has some real competition at its doorstep and is shaken and woken from its complacency. The various players in the Fintech space need to create a competing app platform/ecosystem that competes with Mpesa for similar services and nibble away at its market dominance. Then they will jolted from their reverie. For now, they will continue on auto-pilot, after all they are minting billions (for now) and in huge margins unheard off in any of the other Vodafone subsidiaries across the world.

Quite frankly, a techie CEO for Safcom would only make sense if you create a holding entity and assign techie managers (domain experts) to the various business units while the holding company looks at the business side of the whole and ensures that the various entities/units are delivering on revenue and bottom line targets. Until such time, you will need a business guy at the helm who ensures that his various unit leaders have competence in the assigned responsibilities. IS the Board/Vodacom/Vodafone interested in making Safcom the predominant technology (yes Pundit, technology, not telecom) behemoth in Africa outside South Africa?? Would they? I doubt they have even imagined this leave alone entertained the thought!

« Reply #25 on: October 25, 2019, 03:10:37 PM »
Wish Peter Ndegwa the best at Safaricom. He has a tall order there. :) :) :)

« Reply #26 on: October 25, 2019, 04:01:29 PM »
Such a dwarf but he has exceeded expectations

« Reply #27 on: October 27, 2019, 02:27:36 PM »
He is a small guy. I thought leadership is a reserve for tall guys

« Reply #28 on: November 01, 2019, 12:35:10 PM »
Safcom says they prefer either their own greenfield license or jv with Ethiotel (as if there was any other choice), meaning they haven't quite decided how they want to proceed! If they dilly dally like this, they will miss out altogether. This is going to be very keenly competed for.

The price tag of $1b for the license fee sounds about half what the offers will be. Meantime, they will need to pump in quite a tidy sum for the infrastructure to achieve Ethiotel coverage; MJ is being a bit economical with the truth.

Ethiopia network outside Addis isn't much to talk about, just as "expansive" as it was for Safcom when they started rolling out. Patches of coverage in the main towns and sparse in-between. Infrastructure build-out is going to be bigger in scale than it was in Kenya. I would suggest tie-up with Ethiotel... that is what will give it the advantages it has had here in Kenya including state-capture to roll out Mpesa in Ethiopia, otherwise a fresh license won't give it the protectionism that it has enjoyed here.

See MJ's comments here: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2019-11-01/safaricom-sees-1-billion-price-tag-for-ethiopian-license

Pundit, we don't anymore have telco business in the strict sense... disruption is shaping up that industry and certain strategies wont work anymore. Premium Content and Cross Industry Alliances, Mergers and Acquisitions are the new normal. The AT&T and Vodafone that you quote are now unified businesses and are looking for consolidation up the value chain to survive. Content is king and if you don't control content you will be history. Robina has been telling this.... that is how Google has shaped up with Alphabet and Facebook has done similar to control the content value chain as well as dominate the space. You know who owns, whatsapp, youtube, vimeo etc.... You will see a huge drive at revenue optimization, optimization with no compromise; decreasing margins mean rationalization of operational cost. Digitization in customer support for improved efficiency, IOT, Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence (Robotics, Chatbots) etc. These and 5G are the trends that are shaping the industry.

Safcom wont go to South Sudan, or Somalia there is no value in going to a market where conditions are not favorable and Safcom can't compete in that kind of market. In Kenya, it has benefited immensely from state capture and a relatively easy environment. It has had an easy ride. Ethiopia would be good for them if they can get in, but they will need some bit of helping to get ahead. A bit of what they got here....buying into Ethiotel (state telco) and benefiting from some state protection otherwise if they were to go for an independent license and build from scratch, they won't hack it.

Let us be honest buying into Ethiotel or building a new network would require deep pockets. Safcom doesn't have that money and will require a big brother (Vodacom or Vodafone) to stand by it and syndicate some big greens. A couple of billion dollars for a 49% stake. Ethiopia remains one of the biggest market available globally for a new wave of investment. It is going to be competed for aggressively.

Telco operators are now mostly looking to "rent" the infrastructure that they operate on. This gives them flexibility to do other things and be innovative from a technological view. So today you have new providers who offer purely infrastructure co-location e.g. cell towers, fiber infrastructure, data centres, satellite infra etc... This is a new market that has opened up and some of the MNO's simply ceded/sold off their tower infrastructure to independent service providers and used that money on other ventures and emerging unique offerings. Soon we will also see the re-emergence of VNO's (virtual network operators) who own no infrastructure at all and concentrate on only some niche offerings e.g. mobile money (with voice as a freeby!) piggy-backing on someone else's infra...

So, in short, if you were the one advising Safcom and insisting to them that they are a telecom company....they will be receiving very bad advice! There is no demarcation between a tech company, a telecom company and a consolidated business with different lines of business!

Safaricom is not a tech company - it's more a telecom company like AT&T or Vodafone- and I think if Ndegwa concentrates on the core business he will just be fine - and so will the company.  Voice is going down - data and m-pesa are going to be their salvation - and nicking Ethiopia would be the holy-grail. Now that they are not being shackled by Vodafone - Safaricom should try to expand to countries like South Sudan, Somalia and name them - using M-PESA are their launching pad. They have cash - and are paid handsome dividend -  that money can be invested in snapping companies and regional expansion.

« Reply #29 on: November 02, 2019, 11:03:18 AM »
I still bet against the Tusker dwarf.

« Reply #30 on: November 02, 2019, 03:14:13 PM »
Look like Vodacom & Safaricom will jointly bid..maybe Vodacom will do telecom and Safaricom the mpesa.They may have to break the bank to Wade off MTN and Orange and Vietnamese who want the Ethiopian pie also