Pundit, you seem like a decent chap who can string together some decent output if you direct your energy with ambition
, why aren't you running your own shop and employing the many youth looking for jobs! Instead you take a day job and fulminate to us about Hardworker Ruto. Is Nipate taking up too much of your valuable time to run your own biashara and asking us to join you and taking it to the next level?
Now you are talking; and exactly what Safcom should be doing. Someone said they have outsourced all their thinking and innovation including devops to Chinese and Indians such that these fellows are using Kenya as a test lab. Safcom doesn't own any of the IP and will be left holding nothing when the tide changes. In fact, Huawei now owns the M-Pesa IP after the so-called transfer of MPesa servers from Germany to Kenya. Soon Huawei will be replicating MPesa like services in markets where they have dominance.
Safcom should have grown their Cloud business beyond just being a hardware plant to be a large Cloud Services provider with AWS, GCP and MS Azzure come seeking collaboration with them as an african peering point. That is the problem of stealing someone pitch deck and not knowing the ultimate end-game and ending up not converting the real dream! Positioning for Cloud, SAAS, and cloud native apps is the way to go. Micro-services utilizing Docker and K8s containers and building open API's around this creates a viral ecosystem that can grow to another huge captive customer base that assures new business for the telco service provider.
I manage mobile payments in 10 countries dealing with several providers..then I manage solar pay as you go systems..making sure your mother can turn her solar light..then I manage back end services..for our mobile apps stack...lots of docker & K8s..we have like 32 servers although I manage only docker containers...we have devopps & infrastructure team but we are still a startup kind of with few hands on the deck...and I build all of these apis & syncing services..that is huge responsibility.We commit to be SLA of 99.5% so monitoring all that and having alerts firing before things go wrong is key.We were two guys in the back end ...the other guy PhD Msungu from ivy league.. recently quit so I am one man team doing all that.I don't build games with unity like you.I do real work that affect lives of 1 million of our clients...with dependants.. meaning the impact of my work is possibly 5-10m real people.Safaricom for context deal with 30-40m real people...not kids playing Minecraft like my daughter..or playing some data science analysis crap..and spinning crazy ideas backed by machine learning and AI..mumbo jumbo for tech witchcraft