First, am glad to observe your worship of Ruto is lessening by the day.. as I upgrade your thinking about his incompetence.
Now equally dop your worship of M-Pesa as some miraculous invention. It's a mere app whose growth is one-dimensional. It has big potential but bimbos like Bob Collymore hawawezi. I told you just download Alipay uone some good stuff. M-Pesa
badly needs new innovation. Sio huu upuzi wa shylock. When the biggest company in the region starts squeezing every penny using semi-legal loopholes - signs of a dinosaur.
About remittances to the starving - ama impromptu harambee - all you need is M-Pesa not Fuliza. Don't conflate. And banks have existed for centuries yet we capped them, sembuse mobile loans? Just a new regulation from CBK - or an Act of Parliament if need be. There is nothing special - nor even good nor innovative - about M-Shwari or Fuliza. These are new pyramids and shylocks - damn pigs in heavy makeup. Afadhali ile kiwi ya Babu.
By the way, generally poor people are stupid. True story. We can debate it if you prefer.
Robina...these micro loans are helping figh poverty...you know poor family everytime they get a shock...like a sick relative...or jailed one....they sell their only cow or even land.. and go deeper into poverty...now they fuliza or mswhari.Besides you're too late ..we are talking entrenched billion dollars industry that is the future.Poor people are not stupid.We need empirical study here...not kneejerk let's protect the poor.We already know Mpesa lifts 2% out of povery according to some MIT study....that is just remittance from turkana in Nairobi to his mother at time of needs.These loans may even do more...so we need research to compare say Uganda poor without mobile lending and Kenya...follows those families for maybe 3yrs and come up with conclusions and recommendations..based on scientific evidence driven process...not tialalas..and tibiims that nobody even know what they means.