Author Topic: Replace the glass with the heads of millions of Kenyans ...  (Read 1951 times)

Replace the glass with the heads of millions of Kenyans ...
« on: September 10, 2017, 05:22:16 AM »
and the mzungu with local "heroes" (aka The Prince & The Singh)  .... and right there is a pretty good picture of Kenya today.    But, believe it is not, there are some wananchi who apparently can't get enough!

http://www.bbc.com/news/blogs-news-from-elsewhere-41146216

Offline Kadame7

Re: Replace the glass with the heads of millions of Kenyans ...
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2017, 12:11:32 PM »
There's protesting bad govt policies and then there's being a low life. That artist is a low life.

Offline bryan275

« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2017, 12:35:26 PM »
There's protesting bad govt policies and then there's being a low life. That artist is a low life.

Madame, the artist's crime was to forcefully represent the actions of that minister. 

Are you too polite to be honest?  Or would you rather be too honest to be polite?

Offline Kadame7

« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2017, 12:59:27 PM »

Madame, the artist's crime was to forcefully represent the actions of that minister. 

Are you too polite to be honest?  Or would you rather be too honest to be polite?
Bryan, sometimes I think we don't have to support everything under the sun just because it is done in the name of the cause we support.  Some things are too much. The first time I went to SA there was a protest against the govt's failure to provide adequate bathroom facilities which consisted in splashing actual human waste on the way to/out of the airport. Sometimes I think those things go too far. Now, bring a huuuge pig with Linturi's name spelt on it... that gave me a real chuckle, lol, but only because I first saw Linturi on telly complaining about it with his heavy Meru accent just before I saw the fat pig with his name on it :lolz: But if I saw a statue of Linturi defecating with his genitals exposed, I would be disgusted and would share in his outrage.

« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2017, 04:33:37 PM »
Kadame7:  I have been amazed at how some people appreciate a coarse and vulgar joke while others including yours truly don't.  Sometimes we need artists to shock our conscience to make a point. How do you artistically make a point to a Kenyan that they should not support a tribes mate who is corrupt. An artist may find it necessary to literally shock their conscience with a crude, coarse and vulgar piece of art.  This may offend others like you and I but the test should not be whether some are offended but whether the point is made.

Bryan, sometimes I think we don't have to support everything under the sun just because it is done in the name of the cause we support.  Some things are too much. The first time I went to SA there was a protest against the govt's failure to provide adequate bathroom facilities which consisted in splashing actual human waste on the way to/out of the airport. Sometimes I think those things go too far. Now, bring a huuuge pig with Linturi's name spelt on it... that gave me a real chuckle, lol, but only because I first saw Linturi on telly complaining about it with his heavy Meru accent just before I saw the fat pig with his name on it :lolz: But if I saw a statue of Linturi defecating with his genitals exposed, I would be disgusted and would share in his outrage.