I dont believe that for one second. Raila fought for the constitution and institutions and largely enabled the eviction of KANU becoming central Kenyas biggest hero until Kibakis confidants began considering him a threat.
All those "scandals" of maize (not him!), kazi kwa vijana (The World Bank, yaani donor, denied any money was lost) and Molases (fake: Raila won the tender coz he pledged to revive the plant per original GOK intentions rather than sell it for parts and land like others who tendered) were pure fakery. They convinced me he had zero scandals, coz if he did, those guys would not have been scratching the bottom of the barrel to find SOMETHING, ANYTHING.
The false equivalencies just as under Kibaki and now Uhuru are excuses that tribalists give to themselves to sanitize the real reason for their choices which their conscience knows they should not be proud of: bigotry. Raila is a luo. That is the greatest sin he committed and can never be forgiven for. And my hatred of this is one of the reasons for my supporting him.
Even PEV where Kalenjin people and Kyuks slaughtered each other is sanitized and unabashedly blamed on the guy with a straight face when everyone with two brain cells knows there was no systematic or widespread killin among Luos, Luhyas or the Coast. But Raila is blamed by Gema for all that and fake scandals all because "those people" meaning Luo, shall do this/that, cannot be trusted with leadership and all manner of nonsense such as sijui he is vengeaful (he was the one who RAN to Moi's defence when NARK led by kina Moody Awori, Tuju and others wanted hin to face commissions for his past. He said leave the mzee alone, he has left....keep in mind this is the mzee who had him tortured in Nyayo house)
The only legitimate question mark on RAO to a fair observer is the 82 involvement and even then, I keep in mind that Kenya had been under a brutal dictatorship for decades and I'm not sure the level of his involvement.