Author Topic: Lessons from Biwott Death: Do Not Neglect Your Own People  (Read 5126 times)

Lessons from Biwott Death: Do Not Neglect Your Own People
« on: July 20, 2017, 02:53:52 PM »
and say such things like: They will develop at their own speed.

This vehicle is carrying the dead body of a man who, in life, had the power to order any road to be tarmacked or even cemented:

Re: Lessons from Biwott Death: Do Not Neglect Your Own People
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2017, 03:20:03 PM »
There is this gold plated and 'bulletproof ' coffin doing rounds and I think the little bit I can make of the one in that hearse is different

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2017, 03:31:54 PM »
That is a HUGE mistake. That grave will never be safe from marauders and fortune hunters. Give them a small opening like tribal clashes and they will exhume the body leave it in the marble grave and make off with their loot.

I think in Kenya the man who set an example I would prefer to follow is Jean Marie Seroney. He was wrapped in cow skin in accordance with Nandi culture and buried in a grave without any cement or marble. He is as dead as anybody else and I haven't heard that he has suffered any poverty or distress of any kind in death.

« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2017, 03:34:33 PM »
and say such things like: They will develop at their own speed.

This vehicle is carrying the dead body of a man who, in life, had the power to order any road to be tarmacked or even cemented:

The guy being dead probably couldn't bothered if he was dragged around in a wheelbarrow.  But I get your point.  Alas, in Kenya, there are many admirers.

« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2017, 03:45:02 PM »
Come on folks, beyond was a good man, the eulogies point to all kinds of bursaries, harambees and other communal achievements. Biwott got a bad name because during Kanu days it was suicidal to libel the president. So he was the punchbag who took all the flak from the opposition, media, activists, name it. He was not as evil as was made out.

It is easy to tell the next Biwott if Ruto becomes PORK: Murkomen another Elgeyo Marakwet.

« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2017, 04:51:16 PM »
There is this gold plated and 'bulletproof ' coffin doing rounds and I think the little bit I can make of the one in that hearse is different

There's no gold plated nor bulletproof coffin

« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2017, 04:52:05 PM »

« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2017, 04:54:51 PM »

When I grow down, I will buy a Hummer Limousine and convert it to a hearse specifically for this!

« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2017, 04:56:18 PM »
Elgeyo Marakwet is a whole county. These photos do not prove neglect or irresponsibility seriously. There are multiple footpaths and earthen patches in most countrysides.

« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2017, 05:23:42 PM »
Robina

May be. But I have seen extremely bad roads in Elgeyo Marakwet.

« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2017, 08:20:27 PM »
Not golden

Invalid Tweet ID

« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2017, 09:46:34 PM »
Not golden

Nicholas Biwott has been subjected to the most awful posthumous vicious propaganda. The norm in Africa is the man was untouchable in life and you couldn't hit him, then you lost, suck it up and praise him.

But lately we release diatribe.

« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2017, 10:09:14 PM »
Not golden

Nicholas Biwott has been subjected to the most awful posthumous vicious propaganda. The norm in Africa is the man was untouchable in life and you couldn't hit him, then you lost, suck it up and praise him.

My rule of thumb is give them some time.  A week for the mourning folks.  After that, just say the truth about them.

Offline Kadame5

« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2017, 06:44:18 AM »
Termi, what is the meaning of this for you: "An oryctolagus cuniculus is feeding on my couch"? I think you've had that or some version of it ever since I discovered the dark world of nipate last election season.

Offline Kadame5

« Reply #14 on: July 21, 2017, 06:57:00 AM »
I don't have much in the way of eftens but I grew up knowing that Biwott was Kenya's mafia don or something and took it forgranted that he had killed a beloved minister called Ouko and a beautiful British flight attendant called Julie Ward as well as all the witnesses/involved, besides looting untold billions of our money. I just recently learned he wasn't involved in the Julie Ward case, so one of my parents or uncles/aunties may have wrongly indoctrinated me on that one.

It's hard now to think of him any other way than as the ominous shadow of a cloud that stretched over Kenya from behind the President for the longest time. That was the unquestioned truth even in my primary school wacha secondary school. Yaani even little kids knew that about Biwott. If it was false, then someone sure butchered that guy's rep in the most total way possible, pun intended. Talk about effective propaganda. I think literally everyone I know/have ever known in Kenya sees him that exact same way and takes those things forgranted in the same way we take forgranted that Moi was president before 2002. May he rest in peace. God only knows what he did/didn't do. Mi enyewe sijui.

« Reply #15 on: July 21, 2017, 09:13:20 AM »
Not golden

He was a thug with a calm demeanor. His death is almost celebrated in some circles. Politicians won't speak out because they need the votes.

How often have you heard Babu rebut the claim that Okoyu fought for independence? :lolz:

« Reply #16 on: July 21, 2017, 06:05:58 PM »
Termi, what is the meaning of this for you: "An oryctolagus cuniculus is feeding on my couch"? I think you've had that or some version of it ever since I discovered the dark world of nipate last election season.

A certain species of rabbit is feeding on my couch.   Oryctolagus cuniculus is the scientific nomenclature.  I should replace it with you are in the wrong room.

From Douglas Adams, Last Chance to See.  Funny guy.  Pick one of his books and read, if your ribs can take the punishment.

You are in the wrong room

https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/364786-after-a-moment-or-two-a-man-in-brown-crimplene

« Reply #17 on: July 21, 2017, 06:10:57 PM »
I don't have much in the way of eftens but I grew up knowing that Biwott was Kenya's mafia don or something and took it forgranted that he had killed a beloved minister called Ouko and a beautiful British flight attendant called Julie Ward as well as all the witnesses/involved, besides looting untold billions of our money. I just recently learned he wasn't involved in the Julie Ward case, so one of my parents or uncles/aunties may have wrongly indoctrinated me on that one.

It's hard now to think of him any other way than as the ominous shadow of a cloud that stretched over Kenya from behind the President for the longest time. That was the unquestioned truth even in my primary school wacha secondary school. Yaani even little kids knew that about Biwott. If it was false, then someone sure butchered that guy's rep in the most total way possible, pun intended. Talk about effective propaganda. I think literally everyone I know/have ever known in Kenya sees him that exact same way and takes those things forgranted in the same way we take forgranted that Moi was president before 2002. May he rest in peace. God only knows what he did/didn't do. Mi enyewe sijui.

He was fingered by Troon.  Granted the guy asked for him to be investigated.  He was "arrested and locked up" by Moi for a few days - that in itself was unimaginable and spoke volumes about his level of involvement.  Time does erase the impact of events and their meanings.  If a guy last committed a brutal murder decades ago, was not punished for it and is not named OJ Simpson, there is a tendency to even sympathize with the butcher.

« Reply #18 on: July 21, 2017, 06:21:15 PM »
Troon was Ocampo. Kenyans thought he would bring international expertise - but he ended up collating and collecting any rumours - and at end of day denied the victims justice. The lesson we learnt is that to be careful before calling the so called experts.
He was fingered by Troon.  Granted the guy asked for him to be investigated.  He was "arrested and locked up" by Moi for a few days - that in itself was unimaginable and spoke volumes about his level of involvement.  Time does erase the impact of events and their meanings.  If a guy last committed a brutal murder decades ago, was not punished for it and is not named OJ Simpson, there is a tendency to even sympathize with the butcher.

« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2017, 06:23:43 PM »
Troon was Ocampo. Kenyans thought he would bring international expertise - but he ended up collating and collecting any rumours - and at end of day denied the victims justice. The lesson we learnt is that to be careful before calling the so called experts.

It still took vanishing and terrified witnesses for Ocampo to go away.  It seems like we each pick whatever lessons are convenient.